Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If You Could Change One Law?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

Public nudity.

Mandatory, in all non-overweight girls under the age of 30.

• Registered Users Posts: 490 ✭✭Chefburns

@ElasticMan. By the way you don't ban ISPs, you ban an IP address. An ISP is an internet service provider, such as Eircom or Vodafone. An IP address is an internet protocol address, which is unique to every computer. Surely your computer course taught you that!!!

Edit: also the law I'd change is any politician who lies about their promises get's a prison sentence!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭ElasticMan

Chefburns wrote: »
    @ElasticMan. By the way you don't ban ISPs, you ban an IP address. An ISP is an internet service provider, such as Eircom or Vodafone. An IP address is an internet protocol address, which is unique to every computer. Surely your computer course taught you that!!!

Edit: also the law I'd change is any politician who lies about their promises get's a prison sentence!.

I don't know, I never said I pay attention. However from what I understand, you can shut people off from their ISP (something which they were planning to do in America to illegal downloaders), which would be more effective than banning their IP since they can just go and obtain a new one illegally.

ElasticMan wrote: »
    I don't know, I never said I pay attention. However from what I understand, you can shut people off from their ISP (something which they were planning to do in America to illegal downloaders), which would be more effective than banning their IP since they can just go and obtain a new one illegally.

Ha sounds like some of my lectures!!:rolleyes: Yes you can shut people off by getting their ISPs to close their connection but simply swapping from Eircom to Vodafone would fix it! Also the only way you can get a new IP is by getting a new computer or hacking into another computer and hiding behind their IP adddress.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Ha sounds like some of my lectures!!:rolleyes: Yes you can shut people off by getting their ISPs to close their connection but simply swapping from Eircom to Vodafone would fix it! Also the only way you can get a new IP is by getting a new computer or hacking into another computer and hiding behind their IP adddress.
    Or a simple proxy.Youd think these fancy "Computer Courses" would tell people these things

I was under the impression that if your ISP had blocked you then you wouldn't be able to connect straight to a proxy as you had to do that via the internet. I could be wrong here but i thought it went your computer via internet to a proxy then out to the internet via their IP address. If I'm wrong please do correct me! Always nice to learn some thing new!

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

I was under the impression that if your ISP had blocked you then you wouldn't be able to connect straight to a proxy as you had to do that via the internet. I could be wrong here but i thought it went your computer via internet to a proxy then out to the internet via their IP address. If I'm wrong please do correct me! Always nice to learn some thing new!

I was talking about the displaying of IP addresses more actually

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

People caught spitting in public should have to pay a hefty fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

Also the only way you can get a new IP is by getting a new computer or hacking into another computer and hiding behind their IP adddress.

nah your ip address is almost definitely dynamically assigned which means it will change every so often without you even having to do anything

perhaps you were referring to the mac address which is specific to your computers network hardware

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Metallitroll

i wanna defy the.. logic of our sexxlaws

indough wrote: »
    nah your ip address is almost definitely dynamically assigned which means it will change every so often without you even having to do anything

perhaps you were referring to the mac address which is specific to your computers network hardware

always mixing them up!!!:rolleyes: cheers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Murder for the incorrect use of the apostrophe shouldn't be punished by law.

Silly cannabis laws should be changed also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

I'd make it lawful to slap seven shades out of **** out of any wannabe hardman scumbag over the age of 14.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

Lower the age of consent ;):rolleyes:

Joking

Yes but in the imaginary society I created, obviously your name would be blacklisted so you wouldn't be able to switch from Eircom to Vodafone that easily, you'd be shut off from the internet entirely. I didn't realise this thread suddenly became based on fact, it's meant to be an imaginary scenario. I'd work out the kinks later :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

yesno1234 wrote: »
    Lower the age of consent ;):rolleyes:

Joking

Ah I didn't see the joke part until I went to post.

seanybiker wrote: »
    Ah I didn't see the joke part until I went to post.

Do tell us what you were going to say before you saw the joking part :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

I think murder is really bad for this country. We should ban it

Your ideas sound interesting but Im still not convinced.

Tell us more..............

• Registered Users Posts: 866 ✭✭✭RussellTuring

You are a very ignorant person. It's amazing that you don't want to respect someone's right to believe in 'fairy tales', yet everyone is suddenly supposed to support the right for homosexuals to marry. If you don't respect someone's rights, why should they respect yours? Either it works both ways or not at all.

You are hilarious. I don't think you can make a good estimation of my level of ignorance or enlightenment based on one post which just happens to show opinions which are different to your own. I, unlike you, do support human rights. I don't believe anyone should be preferentially treated because of their religion or lack thereof, as is currently the case in Ireland, with a blasphemy law that infringes on my right to criticise what I see as a delusional belief in things that have so far not been demonstrated to exist in any convincing way.
    A law I'd change; if someone breaks into my house with the intent of harming my family and stealing our possessions, I want the right to protect myself. Not to back down and give them whatever they want, then sheepishly call the guards after they leave with the likelihood of them escaping justice.

Yes, you should be allowed to defend yourself and your family if you feel they are in danger.
    Another thing, a life sentence should mean a life sentence. I was watching a show on tv recently and heard someone say words to the effect of 'Well, he got a life sentence so he won't be out now for another 15 years.' Why do the criminals get preferential treatment? You end someone's life, ruin their family's lives, and you get out again in 15 years or less? Rapists should get life, murderers should get life. The government want to know how to make the country profitable again and increase revenue? Public hangings. Charge €20 per head to attend. I'll personally apply for a job as executioner. They won't be as eager to kill or rape if they have the possibly of a death sentence looming over their heads.

What gives such an abstract idea such as the government a right to take the life of a person? Who decides what is deserving of death? I find your callousness with human lives quite shocking. In any research I have seen on the subject, jurisdictions which introduced or removed death penalties saw little if any change in the crime rates either way, but I would appreciate it if you could show me any research that points to the contrary.
    Some laws that should never be changed:

Legalising cannabis
    Legalising same sex marriage
    Lowering the legal drinking age, increase it if anything

Why these laws in particular? Prohibition, referring to the first and third topics above, does not work. People like altering their states of mind. We have done for a long time and probably will for a long time to come. Legislating against this only serves to punish those who make a choice about their own lives.

What you are proposing in these three is to impose your morality on others. This is exactly the kind of attitude against which my post was directed. Not everyone agrees with you and as soon as people like you realise this and stop trying to make everyone else get in line with your ideas, the better off we will all be.
    I'd regulate the hell out of the internet. Remove anonymity. Ban users who abuse the internet for life. Ban people who illegally download music/movies. Remove all pornography sites from the internet. The internet's main purpose should be to educate, not to play games or watch pornography or download illegally. Ye're only codding yourselves by frittering your lives away by indulging in this rubbish.

Why, why, a thousand times why? The Internet's purpose is whatever we decide it is. It can be used for disseminating both education and pornography; Just like cinema, theatre and literature. But a free society allows these things to be used however the majority of people choose.
    What a joke of a century this is, enlighten yourselves.

Try it yourself.

You are hilarious. I don't think you can make a good estimation of my level of ignorance or enlightenment based on one post which just happens to show opinions which are different to your own. I, unlike you, do support human rights. I don't believe anyone should be preferentially treated because of their religion or lack thereof, as is currently the case in Ireland, with a blasphemy law that infringes on my right to criticise what I see as a delusional belief in things that have so far not been demonstrated to exist in any convincing way.

Yes, you should be allowed to defend yourself and your family if you feel they are in danger.

What gives such an abstract idea such as the government a right to take the life of a person? Who decides what is deserving of death? I find your callousness with human lives quite shocking. In any research I have seen on the subject, jurisdictions which introduced or removed death penalties saw little if any change in the crime rates either way, but I would appreciate it if you could show me any research that points to the contrary.

Why these laws in particular? Prohibition, referring to the first and third topics above, does not work. People like altering their states of mind. We have done for a long time and probably will for a long time to come. Legislating against this only serves to punish those who make a choice about their own lives.

What you are proposing in these three is to impose your morality on others. This is exactly the kind of attitude against which my post was directed. Not everyone agrees with you and as soon as people like you realise this and stop trying to make everyone else get in line with your ideas, the better off we will all be.

Why, why, a thousand times why? The Internet's purpose is whatever we decide it is. It can be used for disseminating both education and pornography; Just like cinema, theatre and literature. But a free society allows these things to be used however the majority of people choose.

Try it yourself.

Who do you think you are? I didn't ask you to go through my whole post point by point. In my original post only the first 2 or 3 lines were directed at you, not the entire post you egotistical non-entity. If you think I'm going to respond to your post point by point in return then you're sadly mistaken. To be frank, you're not worth the effort. So let's just say that I'm right and you're wrong and call it a night. Night :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Who do you think you are? I didn't ask you to go through my whole post point by point. In my original post only the first 2 or 3 lines were directed at you, not the entire post you egotistical non-entity. If you think I'm going to respond to your post point by point in return then you're sadly mistaken. To be frank, you're not worth the effort. So let's just say that I'm right and you're wrong and call it a night. Night :cool:

He has every right to pick apart or rip holes in your posts, especially when you come out with idiotic suggestions such as "regulating the hell out of the internet". He doesn't need your permission to do so. You come across, quite frankly, as a know it all that knows **** all. The fact that you perceive only yourself to be right and dismiss anybody elses opinion makes you the egotistical non entity.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Make alcohol and cigarettes illegal

• Registered Users Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭phill106

Make people do an iq test and psychological test to make sure they are not bat **** crazy before allowing them to post on the internet...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭AhSureTisGrand

You are incredibly mundane. Please stop clogging up this thread with your vacuous, throwaway one line retorts. It's laughable for you to claim I'm ignorant of the internet when I'm actually doing a computer course at the moment. It would be quite easy to ban someone's ISP or perhaps suspend it for a set period depending on the severity of the crime. To remove anonymity, people's IP addresses could show up with every post they make. Use your head.

You know that most modems change the IP address every time you reset them? Anyway, the average user can do little with an IP address. You can try and trace it with a site like this but location-wise, you'll only get what city they're in or some town they're near. You nearly touched on the fact that anonymity isn't guaranteed in the first place. The Gardaí can often trace someone's IP address to their home by going through their ISP (if you or I tried that, we'd be told to feck off). So the idea of "removing anonymity" is rather redundant, seeing as their isn't much anonymity to remove.

On a side note, I suppose you'd get rid of After Hours, seeing as it's — by most accounts — a waste of time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭AhSureTisGrand

I believe in a traditional Ireland, which doesn't include illegal immigration and interracial relationships.

Dude... wait... wtf?

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭Zebbedee

People caught spitting in public should have to pay a hefty fine.

On a footpath perhaps but not on a road.

• Registered Users Posts: 866 ✭✭✭RussellTuring

In other words, you can't argue you point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

phill106 wrote: »
    Make people do an iq test and psychological test to make sure they are not bat **** crazy before allowing them to post on the internet...

AH:answerOr vote
    or drive
    or procreate
    or be anywhere in public between the hours of 00:01 and 23:59 :pac:

Serious answer
    Not a big fan of IQ tests. Being good at puzzles doesnt preclude one from idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Your posts make me physically nauseous ElasticMan and actually frightened me. Horrible to think people like you with your kind of hateful attitude exist in this world. It makes me so sad :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Do I only get to change one?

I'd legalise and regulate the prostitution and illicit drugs industries.

I'd pass a law (similar to Perjury) that put in place a ten year mandatory sentence for any politician who can be shown to have deliberately lied while speaking in their official capacity. The size or subject matter of the lie wouldn't come into it.

I'd pass a law granting the courts the ability to sentence anyone convicted of cruelty to children or animals to an indefinite term in a criminal psychiatric facility. Only to be released if/when a panel of psychiatrists agree that they are no longer at risk of re-offending.

For starters.....