Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boycott Asian produce

• Registered Users Posts: 8,377 ✭✭✭cml387

Aldi Irish ribeye and striploin steak.

You won't get better.

Emm steak I mean.

• Registered Users Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Racists

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Racists

Does it count as Racism if I hate all people equally?

Especially Canada. To nice those Canadians are, up to something I tell ya...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Racists

Asian racists?

• Registered Users Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Sonics2k wrote: »
    Does it count as Racism if I hate all people equally?

Especially Canada. To nice those Canadians are, up to something I tell ya...

Canadians don't count.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,021 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

In general id be a free trade kinda guy (free movement of goods services AND PEOPLE across borders) although I would go along with the notion of targeted tariffs on goods from countries whose economies were based around sweatshop/slave/child labour unless there is clear evidence of serous attempts to improve conditions in these places. This can be as much for selfish motives as anything else since it levels the playing field for Western workers.

Arbitary "boycotts" of individual countries is a pretty crude/blunt instrument however (although perhaps justified in the case of apartheid era South Africa and more recently Israel)

• Registered Users Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Khyra24

Are we taking your money by growing cheap potatoes? *throws a potato to Sonics2k so he can fend off the Pandas* Hmm...Potato sushi...

Canadians don't count.

I approve greatly.

Khyra24 wrote: »
    Are we taking your money by growing cheap potatoes? *throws a potato to Sonics2k so he can fend off the Pandas* Hmm...Potato sushi...

*makes Poitin*

Pfft, and people wonder why we love potato's!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Seriously though people should try and buy Irish as much as possible. Support your own.

Why? Ireland has been a ripoff and overvalued for years. If a foreign product is of the same quality and is cheaper than an irish product, i'm buying the foreign product and so will 99.9% of people, its simple economics.

Ireland simply cant compete and wont ever be able to compete in the manufacturing industry again because of lower wages in other countries.

Its time to get out of the manufacturing industry and move Irish people into industries where we as a country can create a niche, specialise in and compete sucessfully in, areas like R&D, education, etc. We have a very highly educated workforce who demand high wages, do we want to put them on assembly lines?

*makes Poitin*

Pfft, and people wonder why we love potato's!

Lol then you can buy the cheap asian produce and profit by making alcohol! There, you've solved your job dilemma.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

You leave the potatoes out of this.

Lol then you can buy the cheap asian produce and profit by making alcohol! There, you've solved your job dilemma.

Whoa whoa whoa whoa there crazy person!

You want us to make, produce, bottle and then sell alcohol?

Sure, after all the hassle and time we put into making it surely we get to drink some of it.. just a little... a drop!

We drank it all :(

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭BickNarry

You want us to boycott the Asians who we already expolit for cheap labour because you lost your job?

I'd say we do away with Neoliberal politics and look for something fairer fr all of us.

Whoa whoa whoa whoa there crazy person!

You want us to make, produce, bottle and then sell alcohol?

Sure, after all the hassle and time we put into making it surely we get to drink some of it.. just a little... a drop!

We drank it all :(

Alright, if you want we can make your bottles and sell your alcohol for you but you'll only get 0% of the profits and we'll be getting all your money because you'll love our cheap potato alcohol! You just can't beat our prices! YEAHAH

Like all Irishmen, I have a strong and profound knowledge of finance and business.

So I accept your deal!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,377 ✭✭✭cml387

Who were we supposed to boycott again?

Like all Irishmen, I have a strong and profound knowledge of finance and business.

So I accept your deal!

Glad we could do business! Now the only way you'll be able to make your money back is if you give us a happy ending. Oh wait...we're in that business too...

cml387 wrote: »

Canadian Panda vegetable powered electronics salespeople.

Try to keep up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Dont worry about the boycott, odds are everybody in this thread is chinese anyways

http://news.yahoo.com/s/yblog_thelookout/20110303/us_yblog_thelookout/the-most-typical-face-on-the-planet

We're all a great bunch of lads

Glad we could do business! Now the only way you'll be able to make your money back is if you give us a happy ending. Oh wait...we're in that business too...

I don't think that's an industry we should venture in to...

*thinks of typical Irish girl on night's out*

*run like hell*

Hazys wrote: »
    Dont worry about the boycott, odds are everybody in this thread is chinese anyways

http://news.yahoo.com/s/yblog_thelookout/20110303/us_yblog_thelookout/the-most-typical-face-on-the-planet

We're all a great bunch of lads

Must be depressing to be named the most typical face. :(
    I don't think that's an industry we should venture in to...

*thinks of typical Irish girl on night's out*

*run like hell*

Ahhh, don't say that. Irish girls are sexy they are.
    cml387 wrote: »

It doesn't matter anymore! I think the main point of this thread is to never eat again if you want to save money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

I try to buy irish but you get feck all in dunnes for your money ? robbers
    most of the clothes, gift items, toys etc are made in china or similar places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,920 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

No my food!! I need that to fend off the incoming Panda Invasion!!

All your bases belong to us

Nooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4eqUtK61SOs
    (Contains swearing)

Don't deny it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Metallitroll

Ahhh, don't say that. Irish girls are sexy they are.

do you like irish eyes? i like asian eyes.. sorta like a pair of slits gees on a face, perfect. when i look into those eyes its like looking into.. :/

but i mean that in all sincerity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,920 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Nooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4eqUtK61SOs
    (Contains swearing)

Don't deny it!

We just needed some porn

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Seriously though people should try and buy Irish as much as possible. Support your own.

Only if it is price competitive, otherwise no imo exception being fresh food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 average citizen

I hate all the out of touch privileged d4 kids with their "love your neighbour" "share the wealth around the world" attitudes.

Sure, the countries we outsource jobs to "need" the money more than us. Who cares? It's a dog eat dog world out there. Us Irish need to look out for ourselves. If the all the wealth in the world was spread out evenly we'd have....well we'd have less than we do now :mad:.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,082 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

the more you buy asian produce the more jobs we lose simple.

cheap to buy now means no money to buy it later

ban or lock this mods if ye must but the truth should be made available to all

more like nothingbetter1D