Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

Teams will always be missing players though. Cavan would also have been missing players that evening. It’s rare any team has their first choice starting 15.

I don’t have a great knowledge of the Louth team but their podcaster that was invited onto WAC was of the opinion they had targeted the Cavan match so I am going by his learned opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭blowitupref

According to a Mayo GAA podcast Gearoid McKiernan and James Smith are ruled out through injury this weekend. Paddy Lynch returned from injury but only got 20 minutes after a year out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭mogue77

We Are Cavan had confirmed those points a couple of weeks ago. They were discussed here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,372 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 shanemcgerts

Is there a chance Paddy could be among the subs?

I don’t really see the point of this argument. Cavan hadn’t Paddy Lynch and god knows whoever else, because I’m not bothered actually checking. This type of stuff is very juvenile as teams will never have their full team.

The bottom line is Cavan played Louth in the League last year and this year and beat them both times. They are not a side I’d be noting based on either performance. Fair play to them for the win at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭tazman06

Pod has it that McKiernan and Lovett the only ones missing for this weekend. Maybe with James Smith, Lynch, Cormac O'Reilly, Oisin Brady back fit, and Clarke some time under the belt that we look a lot better than vs Tyrone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 shanemcgerts

Damien also said that there’s one player who had a setback but waiting on confirmation - wonder who that is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Blue47

We'll have Evan Crowe too to share the midfield workload with Clarke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 hatefulrory

I was surprised listening to the pod that they were puzzled at the lack of excitement about the senior game. We suffered a heavy defeat against Tyrone and are now facing into a mission impossible group starting with a repeat of a fixture we got hammered in last year. What is there to be excited about?

Good interview from the Minor manager, he is impressively well spoken. The lads on the pod were very positive about Dermot's influence at the minor game.

It's not an argument, it's an opinion, and exactly why we have discussion forums. The poster said that Craig Lennon played and scored 6 points which is untrue.

You are also entitled to your opinion that and to suggest that Louth were at full tilt and targeting the points. My opinion is different in that they were missing 5 first team players and while wanting to win were not at full strength and the Championship was their main target all year.

The opinion re Louth targeting the game was not mine - as I pointed out it was a Louth podcaster who WAC had on. I know sweet **** all about Louth or Louth GAA.

Re them being at “full tilt”, they played their best available team on the day, as did Cavan, and it was the podcaster, whom I’d expect to have knowledge if he has a following, who said they had rested players or not risked them in the game before.

Did you not say before you’re from Louth? You’ve a lot of interest in Cavan for a Louth man.

Post edited by Cavan_King on

Think they said Lynch again, but hard to know as they circled around this for a bit

Very true. We're definitely looking a lot stronger than vs Tyrone. That's at least 6 starters back? Maybe that's the time to catch a team like Mayo on the hop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Blue47

Galligan said only Gearoid and Darragh Lovett are out but on WAC they said Lynch pulled up in training but they didn’t know how serious it was. We should still have Oisin Brady, James Smith, Cormac O Reilly, Evan Crowe and Conor Madden available for selection, a lot of players there who can take on and beat a man. We just need to go out and bring the game to them.

1000145831.jpg

Teams are out

Good to see the Westmeath manager took time out from his schedule to encourage his fellow Gowna man (and relation the podcast reckoned).

His role as Gowna Development Manager continues even when he’s half the week in Mullingar.

Post edited by Cavan_King on

I agree, not too many intercounty managers are out driving on their home county's minor sides. Great to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭baconsarnie

I’m not sure what Galligan has to gain from giving false information but my understanding is James Smith was told he had ligament damage and would be out for 8 weeks from the Tyrone game which was 4/5 weeks ago. The hope was he might be able to do some running this weekend.

The podcast have now addressed this and also the fact that Conor Madden is not in the squad.

Paddy Lynch twinged his hamstring last weekend. I don’t see why he’d be risked. Mayo are 1/6 on with the bookies.

He must have been busy tonight with his other role. Didn’t see him in Breffni. Westmeath play London tomorrow so must have flown today. I wonder which job pays better? Must be Westmeath as the GDM should be there to watch what is essentially a development panel under his remit.

Good win for the minors and they are getting players back - Crowe & Graham both got playing time. No requirement for a star outfield showing from the goalie tonight. He was very composed between the sticks which is where they need him.

Still room for improvement. A few stray balls and some wasted chances. They’re a talented bunch and have scoring forwards so would be good to rattle Tyrone.

That was a very good performance from the minors. I thought Jake Brady, Danny Brady and Michael Smith were the best Cavan players on show but most of them played well.

McConnell ability to kick from distance is a real addition. If the opposition breach the three up it's usually being punished by a two pointer.

They look exceptionally well organised, management have to take a lot of credit. Tough assignment in the final now.

Nothing you said really matters a jot so stop trying to be right all the time. Like most people you're no expert but seem to get into arguments all the time. And i'll post wherever here if i like as long as it's within the rules.

Jeez that minor game was a tonic. Great to see a bunch of young lads just going at it like that. They seem well organised, able to think and solve as the game progresses, and have a manager who seems able to problem solve and adjust and give clear instruction to the lads. That's also 2 games in a row they've come out from the break with an obvious plan based on what they learned and enacted it well. Think we've a nice few lads on that team who we'd look to progress through the grades to feed through too. Best goalkeeper I've seen at underage for us in quite a while, with a lovely kick of a ball. Looking forward to this final now

I thought I spotted him in the stands, but didn't draw attention to himself like last week. Although he's meant to be in London for tomorrow for Tailteann Cup game. Unless he flies out tonight

I’m not trying to be right all the time. I’m just pointing out you’re wrong. You came in here with an initial point that Louth had lost to Cavan in the League because their focus was on the Leinster Championship.

As I said, I don’t know much about Louth or Louth football but that was a direct contradiction of what a Louth podcaster had said to WAC at the time of the game - I believe he was from “Louth & Proud” and said they had targeted the Cavan game and rested or not risked players for games prior to it, referencing the Roscommon game.

You then made excuses about Louth not having players but, as I pointed out, it’s rare a team will have a full squad for any match.

I’ll revert back to the facts of the matter. Cavan played Louth twice in the League in the last two years and beat them both times.

I didn’t say you couldn’t or shouldn’t post here. I just pointed out it’s strange a Louth person has such interest in another county when I don’t even think there’s a Louth thread. Again, I may be wrong - I’m not going to bother checking, it’s not like I always want or expect to be right.

Did Cavan breach the 3 up at one point and he gave a free from the midfield mark? It’s hard to know at times what’s happening with so many new rules.

The Donegal 15, who looked lively after coming on at HT, also scored a point at one stage but it was brought back for a free?

We thought we breached it too. But seems ref had given a free for a throw ball I think

Game apparently possibly next Sunday evening at 5.15 in Armagh.