Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭scoopmine

Cannot see Moynagh playing he has had very little football this year. Flanagan to go CB in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Looking forward to this game now but also nervous- I know we have a hell of a lot of experience and most of the lads have won Ulster at either minor or Under 21 but this Monaghan team are no pushovers. Hopefully the lads can do it tonight - should be a good night for ball too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

The team:

Couldn't make it in to Breffni due to babysitting duties but following it on Anglo-Celt blog - seems like a cracking game - 5 points each..

Cavan lead 8 to 6 at half time.

Cavan goal 1-8 to 0-6..

I couldn't make it either for the same reason! Cavan lead 1-8 to 6 at the minute and playing very good football by all accounts.

Monaghan goal - level now - squeaky bum time..

This is not good for the heart - level at full-time. Extra time coming up.

3pts up half-time extra time..

Tom Joad wrote: »
    3pts up half-time extra time..

Cavan appear to have very good strength in depth. Madden, Dillon and Duke all coming off the bench.

The seniors could do with that.

Here's to kicking on in the second half of extra time.

All over Cavan by 4 - fantastic result that will stand to the team... Monaghan are a very good team too. If we can transfer this belief and hunger to the senior team we could have good times ahead..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭cavan4sam

great win with great heart
    these lads dont know when they are beaten
    lots of work to do yet but a great start

Great stuff in Breffni last night. When Monaghan went 1 up with only a few minutes left to play I thought that was it. But the lads dug deep and got the game level and then could have had the win but kicked 3 consecutive wides against a resolute Monaghan defence. But fair play to Madden and O'Reilly for going for the score to win it, often nobody would want to take on the responsibility.

Dara McVeety was man of the match in my book. He got on a lot of ball, did the simple thing, picked the right pass, ran into space when it was there for him. I don't recall him making one mistake all game. Gerard Smith also played very well, very good on the ball. Jack Brady is playing in the playmaker role once again and doing very well at it, he has great vision and awareness. Feargal Flanagan is a real warrior, he put his body on the line countless times over the game. He's prone to the odd brainfart but will never be found wanting for determination.

Our Midfield is weak. Argue just didn't have a good night, I remember him in the Minor Ulster Final and thought he was excellent at breaking the ball to a Cavan player. He seemed a bit lost last night. Turloc Mooney could be a better midfield option if he can get fully fit, he operated in the middle for a period last night and make 3/4 fantastic fetches.

Down up next, another very good side by all accounts. Ran Tyrone close in the Minor in 2010, disposed of Monaghan with relative ease last night. Let's hope the lads can get focused again after a great effort from each and every one last night.

Is Kevin Tierney injured or is he overage?

Lemlin wrote: »
    Is Kevin Tierney injured or is he overage?

He is overage he is the same age group as Barry Reilly..

scoopmine wrote: »

He is overage he is the same age group as Barry Reilly..

He must be injured that he isn't in the senior panel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Glad to see Cavan got through in the end. Hopefully they can do the three-in-a-row in Ulster and we end up with three of the four AI semi-finalists being Hastings Cup teams.

Oh, and only a week to go until the Rossies invade Breffini ;)

Syferus wrote: »
    Glad to see Cavan got through in the end. Hopefully they can do the three-in-a-row in Ulster and we end up with three of the four AI semi-finalists being Hastings Cup teams.

Don't wreck the place because we'll all be down in Aughrim...:D

Syferus wrote: »

Two weeks actually. We play Wicklow Saturday, there's a week break and then we play ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Two weeks actually. We play Wicklow Saturday, there's a week break and then we play ye.

:pac: The All-Ireland has warped my sense of time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,392 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

Read in the Celt the other day about the County Board striking a deal with the VEC for use of facilities at Dun Ui Neill barracks on the Dublin road. Sounds like a good idea, they have an existing pitch, gym and canteen to be used in conjunction with Breffni Park facilities as part of a centre of excellence. Good news for Cavan football and hurling to get the use of a facility like this free of charge in return for coaching and training VEC teams.

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    Read in the Celt the other day about the County Board striking a deal with the VEC for use of facilities at Dun Ui Neill barracks on the Dublin road. Sounds like a good idea, they have an existing pitch, gym and canteen to be used in conjunction with Breffni Park facilities as part of a centre of excellence. Good news for Cavan football and hurling to get the use of a facility like this free of charge in return for coaching and training VEC teams.

All the right moves are being made in the county to give us a bright future alright.

Apparently the Wicklow game is in danger of being postponed. The County board haven't confirmed yet but there are rumours.

Most club league games this weekend also appear to have been postponed.

Apparently the Wicklow game is in danger of being postponed. The County board haven't confirmed yet but there are rumours.

Most club league games this weekend also appear to have been postponed.

I noticed that the hurling scheduled for Aughrim tomorrow has been moved to Arklow - must be worried about the pitch cutting up!!

Game confirmed although its given snow in Cavan tonight!

Cavan team to play Wicklow in Aughrim 2moro Sunday 24th March at 2.30pm:
    JReilly, OMinagh, JMcEnroe, PReilly, JHayes, AClarke, JMcCutcheon, TCorr, GMcKiernan, CMackey, DGivney, MReilly, NMcDermott, EKeating, MDunne.

scoopmine wrote: »
    Game confirmed although its given snow in Cavan tonight!

Cavan team to play Wicklow in Aughrim 2moro Sunday 24th March at 2.30pm:
    JReilly, OMinagh, JMcEnroe, PReilly, JHayes, AClarke, JMcCutcheon, TCorr, GMcKiernan, CMackey, DGivney, MReilly, NMcDermott, EKeating, MDunne.

Happy enough with that team. The only player I'm not happy to see starting is Martin Reilly but he's been a mainstay this year.

Good to see McCutcheon and Hayes back. The backs need to ensure they don't give away handy frees.

A start for Keating is a big bonus too. The ball needs to be delivered into him. He's very capable of winning it but he needs to stay in there and not roam down the pitch which he has a tendency to do.

I like that team but we really need to find the right position for Givney soon if he's not going to be playing as a midfielder (and to be fair Mossy Corr deserves his place at midfield along with McKiernan). Agree re Keating - he can do serious damage around the square if he stays there - no point him coming out the field to win ball and pump it in if there is no-one to win it.

Tom Joad wrote: »
    I like that team but we really need to find the right position for Givney soon if he's not going to be playing as a midfielder (and to be fair Mossy Corr deserves his place at midfield along with McKiernan). Agree re Keating - he can do serious damage around the square if he stays there - no point him coming out the field to win ball and pump it in if there is no-one to win it.

I wouldn't mind seeing a twin towers approach with Givney and Keating both in the full forward line and Dunne playing off them for breaking ball.

I'm wondering how the team will actually line out tomorrow too.

I wouldn't mind seeing a twin towers approach with Givney and Keating both in the full forward line and Dunne playing off them for breaking ball.

I'm wondering how the team will actually line out tomorrow too.

It's another option all right and something you could see happening - put the two of them up there and have Dunne and Mc Dermott feeding off breaks - you could then leave McKeever and Mackey to sit and protect the backs but to be the link men to carry ball and get it up to the lads.

As I've said here before the big positive at the minute is that we have now options both in terms of players and systems.