Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All ye oul wans and oul fellas out there! Wakey wakey, rise and shine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

Excellent, Rube! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 28,080 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Been missing the last few days, computer troubles, not entirely fixed yet. I see Rube has been minding ye though (and being rude about my singing!) I will be back when I can get sorted.

Must be the weather, we are having h'internet problems too, and also, and as well! Grrrr! :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭Rubecula

weather really is shocking lately ugh

• Registered Users Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

I may have mentioned this before but, as none of us is getting any younger, it's worth repeating: 'Ott'n ospitul in Emmerdale is fantastic. Tonight, while glued to Tuesday's thrilling episode, I was flabbered to learn that Chastateh has Post Trawmahik Stress Sindrum but then I remembered 'Ott'n ospitul. They'll cure that in a week, no probs.

Then, Diyann gets stabbed, and they discover she has stomach cancer too. Well, 'Ott'n ospitul removed the cancer overnight and the life-frett'nin stab wounds have all gone away. 'Ott'n ospitul's post-op chemo only takes a week so Diyann will be back in't pub well before Christmas.

Rubbeht gets shot but, other than a few "ouches", he's grand now, so he is, thanks to 'Ott'n ospitul.

The airhead who works (works?) in't caff had a brain tumour but, sure enough, 'Ott'n ospitul sorted surgery, and chemo in......days, I think.

Kehn had a life-frett'nin brain injury but, other than having a 1970's hairdo for a few days, he too is grand now.

And Andah had a life-frett'nin arm injury which 'Ott'n ospitul cured in less than a week, without any muscle wastage or even armhair removal.

Even the otherwise invisible child Ambah had some sort of life-frett'nin condition which they cured between visits from the parents.

Lawrull was an alco for a whole fortnight but, after a few visits to't cownsillah, she's on the wagon for good.

I'm on the edge of my seat waiting to see how long it takes 'Ott'n ospitul to cure Ashlah's dimentia.

I have asked before but does anyone here know the address of 'Ott'n ospitul? Do you think if I went to Yawksha and had a little lie down on a park bench, that 'Ott'n ospitul would take care of me? My social diary is empty in a couple of weeks time. Better still, Maybe we could arrange an overnight in 'Ott'n ospitul on the dreaded New Year's Eve. Hmmm..........good plan, eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I have absolutely no idea what any of that is about.

Well I followed it but might have to take exception to the mutilation of the Yorkshire accent - wiv bits ov Lundun frown in. I have to admit however, and I do not watch the goings on in Emmerdale, that their cure rate does seem to be remarkable.

I have no doubt this is due to the excellent NHS service. There again, I note from relatives who have the benefit of that service, that getting a GP's appointment in under a week is remarkable, and signing on with a new dentist virtually impossible.

Anyone notice that Chuckie has left the building?

Jellybaby1 wrote: »
    Anyone notice that Chuckie has left the building?

Indeed I did. sent her and her OH my greetings via email and via her daughter, but no response at all. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

Rubecula wrote: »
    Not music related, but I worked on these big old beauties, and despite their purpose, I am very proud to have done so. (5 mins video)

dont know how i ended up here but any way

not really a plane person but just happened to be in Bournmouth this summer during an air show and the vulcan bomber was making its last public appearance , it was an absolute stunning machine , the power of it could nearly be felt in the air.

dont know how i ended up here but any way

not really a plane person but just happened to be in Bournmouth this summer during an air show and the vulcan bomber was making its last public appearance , it was an absolute stunning machine , the power of it could nearly be felt in the air.

And many of them had more powerful engines too.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,633 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

I'm escaping for the night so hussssh, not a word to Matron now please. If anyone asks I've taken to my bed with a bout of the vapours.

Meanwhile I'm off over the border to a little show reminiscent of "The Good old Days". Singers, magicians, jugglers, comedians but most importantly...YourrrrSelffffff!

leonardsachs.jpg

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

And CHIEFLY..........YOURSELVES!!!! Enjoy the night OG.

The boss at work criticised the lads after I gave them a tea break. I blew my top sadly. Big time.

May find I am out of a job by 2016.

Still, nobody calls my lads lazy to my face when they have been working their socks off to cover for the other shift.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Standing up to unfairness is an admirable character trait Rube.
    In the spirit of being fair, you could always approach the boss and apologise for the way you reacted but make it clear that you wont apologise for the spirit of what you said. Hopefully over the weekend the boss will have had time to reflect and will be more amenable to hear your views

He was actually off work today :?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I thought you were an oulfella. What are you doing still working? It's not worth it. ;)

That is...truly horrible.

Well granted it is not quite as bad as some of the desperate supermarket music I have heard recently. I went so far as to complain in Woodies about the awful tuneless noises coming from the speakers a couple of days ago, it was so bad I couldn't concentrate on what I was looking for, and left.

The yule goat is a tradition far older than Christmas in the Scandinavian countries. The singing of the goats represents completely my attitude towards this current modern interpretation of a winter festival.
    I'm all about the Humbug. :)

So would you get rid of the whole thing OG or add in some different stuff, or adapt or what? Would you celebrate mid-winter/a Christian festival at all?

OG, a nice honey and lemon gargle nightly will cure that old throat! Don't, just don't take me up wrong! Just, DON'T!

looksee wrote: »
    So would you get rid of the whole thing OG or add in some different stuff, or adapt or what? Would you celebrate mid-winter/a Christian festival at all?
    To be honest I've not really got a problem with the religious aspect of Christmas, each to their own and all that. However the commercialisation of Christmas and the feeding frenzy that businesses undergo is very ugly to see.

It somehow seems to be less an occasion as in previous years. It's not about the tradition any more as the tradition has been neatly bundled up in tinsel and sparkles and sold back us.

I'd dearly love to see a winter festival. A proper spring, summer and autumnal festival would be good too - if we can have them without the gross greed and monetisation.

I know that makes me sound like the "Scrooge" who "wouldn't spend christmas" and trying to cast a shadow over everything like a "Grinch".
    Bah!

Yes, I would not argue with any of that!

I wouldn't argue with you OG, although my own preference would be for the Christian Christmas to the Disney and Coca-Cola Christmases. At this stage I just want to get through it without any major problems, it seems to be the time when people get hit with health issues. I want us all to get through it and come out the other side with all our bits, and minds, intact.

Unsure about how and when I will be on over the festive days so a quick Merry Christmas to all my friends/victims and other dignitaries here in O&O.

As Dave Allen used to say/ Goodnight and may your God go with you.

See you soon

Rubes

Happy Christmas Rube, hope you have a lovely time, and to all O & O's out there, Happy Happy Happy Christmas, everyone! :)

I have 4 litres of bathtub gin flavoured with this years crop of whitecurrents. I may be blind by new year.

Happy Yule all...

...cos I'm not your normal goat.
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTLZ4QtNxPWytEQaNhrqFVTGIZ6DdmJQJiGDFBxJUCanwTdgA8u

The only word I noticed was 'Utah'. :rolleyes: