Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WTF? Developer gets elected for Wexford who owes €40,000,000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Delicious irony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Perhaps you can give us some insight, as a constituent in Wexford... why vote a guy in thats the epitomy of all thats wrong in the country?

http://www.wexfordyouthsfc.ie/

He owes the Irish Taxpayer nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,225 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Perhaps you can give us some insight, as a constituent in Wexford... why vote a guy in thats the epitomy of all thats wrong in the country?

How is he the epitome of all that's wrong in the country? Lots of business people owe money.. developers on the same scale as Wallace tend to have large loans relative to other business owners.

He's not trying to wiggle his way out of paying those loans back.. he's not moving abroad to avoid anything.. he's still servicing his loans.

Who did you vote for btw?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 husky2012

frist long haired td in dail? time for a change

LMAO, they are not being serviced... he owes 40 million that he nor his business can ever hope to repay

He has the "foreign" banks onside costing the Irish people nothing

thats all that matters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

He is a businessman, he made choices that were affected by the global situation and, he will tell you himself, some poor personal decisions. What does he do then?? Does he throw himself at NAMA, does he flee to the USA??? No, he stays in this country, he faces his debts and makes arrangements with his bankers while still paying back what he owes. He may still go down, but not before he has done his best to honour his commitments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭dashboard_hula

Apparently the mans quite popular, as he's seen as upfront and honest about his issues. He doesn't take well to pink one little bit, but the man stood legally and was elected legally. There's obviously something about him that's known to his constituency that people trust him for - and in fairness, to be elected to the Dáil while being a known property developer (jesus I make it sound like he's a drug dealer) is a pretty tough thing to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭tweedledee

****ing BANANA REPUBLIC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭bobblepuzzle

Aye, posters on here confirm that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Brenireland

Lad is a pure gob****e don't know what he's going to do in the dail.

Aye, posters on here confirm that
    Confirm what??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 813 ✭✭✭wiger toods

sonic85 wrote: »
    just palermo jerseys
    juve one's as well!:pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,630 ✭✭✭baldbear

Fair play to Mick. He hasn't been declared bankrupt and is actually paying his debts back to the banks not like alot of feckers!

He has invested alot in soccer and actually gave something back to his community with Wexford Youths. Back when the Iraq war started he put up a few protest banners and then lost some building contracts from the government.

He's actually a good develepor!!!

38740_2.JPG

baldbear wrote: »
    Fair play to Mick. He hasn't been declared bankrupt and is actually paying his debts back to the banks not like alot of feckers!

He has invested alot in soccer and actually gave something back to his community with Wexford Youths. Back when the Iraq war started he put up a few protest banners and then lost some building contracts from the government.

He's actually a good develepor!!!

38740_2.JPG

And because of those banners he never got another building contract from Dublin City Council

• Closed Accounts Posts: 319 ✭✭Ban Ki Moon

People should have to do an I.Q test before being allowed to vote, What a bunch of morons they are in Wexford for voting this guy in. He was being interviewed on newstalk early today and he just sounded like one of those lads that you would find in a pub on a tuesday morning, and every other morning for that matter. Did anyone tell some of the people of Wexford what actually happened in this country over the past decade and who was to blame for it ?

Aside from Wexford ****ing youths what are his policies,he was ****eing on about an u-17 match today after been elected wtf?,At least enda has 5 points,But this guy with his pink shirt is cuckoo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

The fundamental lack of understanding as to how money, finance and loans work displayed by posters is astounding.

Everyone* owes money. The average national personal debt is about 200% of household income. If i recall correctly.

Do we know if this fella is actually making money on his property. There is a good chance they might even be returning a profit for him. Just because he developed does not make him incompitant or evil. Sure If we took that approach we should never build another thing. THE PROBLEM WE HAVE IS DEVELOPERS WHO DEVELOPED STUPIDLY.

Aside from Wexford ****ing youths what are his policies,he was ****eing on about an u-17 match today after been elected wtf?,At least enda has 5 points,But this guy with his pink shirt is cuckoo.
    You've too many letters there in the title of the club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

He should have no trouble fitting in so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Here's a bit about the man himself, if you think he is a slimy scumbag developer after reading that then there is something wrong with you.

http://www.businessandfinance.ie/index.jsp?p=413&n=427&a=2095

He made some bad business decisions, but at least he has the balls to stick around and face the music unlike many of the other developers. He has donated a fortune into his local community, not to win votes or to further his own agenda, he did it simply because he felt it was the right and decent thing to do. His outspoken views against the government and their ruinous policies and tax breaks for developers cost him loads of work during the boom years. IMO we need more people like him in this country and I wish there was a man like him running in my area so I could vote for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭HoneyRyder

oldyouth wrote: »
    What the f*** does it matter what ANYBODY owes providing they are making their monthly payments. Reel your neck in

It matters a lot. Owing 40 million shows he isn't very good at decision making for a start. But I'm not worried about that when it's his own business, but electing him to government where he'll be making decisions on the country's behalf makes it everyone's business.

All debts aside,from what I've gathered his policies are wexford youths & America's attack on Iraq,Meanwhile Ireland is going down the swanny...

Well done Wexford,great contribution.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭wexfordia

People should have to do an I.Q test before being allowed to vote, What a bunch of morons they are in Wexford for voting this guy in. He was being interviewed on newstalk early today and he just sounded like one of those lads that you would find in a pub on a tuesday morning, and every other morning for that matter. Did anyone tell some of the people of Wexford what actually happened in this country over the past decade and who was to blame for it ?

Well I didn't vote for him ! :D

orourkeda wrote: »
    He should have no trouble fitting in so.

True that :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

I think fair play to him..

As far as I know he is a decent ordinary bloke (well except for the hair)

People do the ol keyboard warrior bitching about wanting change and FF are all ****e..

Then this man stands up for what he believes in = change is needed..

and people rip the piss out of him..

Did any of you stand up for what you believe in and put yourself forward in the general election?

I would say let him prove what he can do before he is ripped asunder.

I still haven't seen any proof that he owes €40,000,000 and anyway what if he does, many businesses have debts, it's the way the world works.

All debts aside,from what I've gathered his policies are wexford youths & America's attack on Iraq,Meanwhile Ireland is going down the swanny...

We thank you for patronising our feeble attempt at civic responsibility. One day we aim to be like you, but it may take time for us to get to grips with democracy

foxinsox wrote: »
    I think fair play to him..

As far as I know he is a decent ordinary bloke (well except for the hair)

People do the ol keyboard warrior bitching about wanting change and FF are all ****e..

Then this man stands up for what he believes in = change is needed..

and people rip the piss out of him..

Did any of you stand up for what you believe in and put yourself forward in the general election?

I would say let him prove what he can do before he is ripped asunder.

I still haven't seen any proof that he owes €40,000,000 and anyway what if he does, many businesses have debts, it's the way the world works.

Ah here,Change isn't an issue,but this lad is taking the piss!
    He's a soccer fan who likes wheel barrows!,
    Bertie ahern was a soccer fan who ****ed up the country and now lives in a cupboard with a really nice selection of biscuits..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,630 ✭✭✭baldbear

He's honest. I think thats why he got elected. Wexford people must be just sick of politicians talking through there holes. He's definatly an ecentric but i look forward to hearing from him and Ming Flanagan!!

Anyway it doesn't matter who got in we are still bollíxed!!!

oldyouth wrote: »
    We thank you for patronising our feeble attempt at civic responsibility. One day we aim to be like you, but it may take time for us to get to grips with democracy

Here,Here.

Ah sure look,He seems to be a sound chap,but he ain't a politician.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭rolion

Here's a bit about the man himself, if you think he is a slimy scumbag developer after reading that then there is something wrong with you.

http://www.businessandfinance.ie/index.jsp?p=413&n=427&a=2095

He made some bad business decisions, but at least he has the balls to stick around and face the music unlike many of the other developers. He has donated a fortune into his local community, not to win votes or to further his own agenda, he did it simply because he felt it was the right and decent thing to do. His outspoken views against the government and their ruinous policies and tax breaks for developers cost him loads of work during the boom years. IMO we need more people like him in this country and I wish there was a man like him running in my area so I could vote for him.

I'm shocked to see where this guy landed !!
    I know him since 2001-2002,when he worked on South William Street,doing the pavement ! Working shoulder-to-shoulder with others.
    He used to come in the restaurant where i worked for lunch or dinner,with his lads working for him...Always nice,polite,smilling and ...his long hair ! Tipping always for the staff...no sign of superiority either !
    Nice to know that a "normal" person is up there,looking for us ! The Q is: is he going to be in the SYSTEM or against the system !??? With us or against us ??

Re loans...his problem ! Not mine...i remmember banks calling me and asked for limits increased,better deals for loans and so on,putting moneys in my hands. Blame him / us ??? Blame the greedy banks...

Fair play to him and good luck...