Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WTF? Developer gets elected for Wexford who owes €40,000,000

• 26-02-2011 11:26PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭

Seriously... WTF!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Probably getting the €200,000 dole from NAMA aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

Bit of clarification/expansion on that statement would be lovely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

I'm sure he'll be living in a hostel and his salary will be deducted until the debt gets paid :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

I was a bit perplexed when i heard him announce he was running on vincent browne. But i thought he wouldn't have a hope being a broke developer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,225 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Does his election somehow change the fact that he owes money? afaik about him, he's been very outspoken against other reckless developers and the banks which provided them with money

OP is talking about Mick Wallace btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭sarahlulu

sollar wrote: »
    I was a bit perplexed when i heard him announce he was running on vincent browne. But i thought he wouldn't have a hope being a broke developer.

He looked as though he was a bit perplexed when he announced it too!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,275 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

If he owed me €40m I might be bothered, but then only if I didn't think I'd be getting it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Seriously... WTF!!!!!!!!!!!

I didn't know anything about him till today, but from the brief interview from when he was elected: He didn't build anything in the arse end of nowhere, it was generally built with a view to profit in Dublin, all his properties are occupied and generating rent, he's not in Nama, and all his loans are with foreign banks, as he was badmouthing our banks for ages.

I'm not sure if that's all true, but that's what he said. I'm a bit surprised that he's getting a vote though. He's a developer. People should be picking up the arms of developers to beat bankers to death with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭sonic85

sure with the building trade banjaxed he needs some way of paying it back. a TDs salary will be a start :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

just goes to show what kind of government people want dont it
    if i owed the bank 4 grand i would be hounded till death yet he and the other bankers/developers walk scott free with there hidden cash fancy houses and cars just diabolic if you ask me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Apparently he won't be wasting any money on suits and ties....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭sonic85

galwayrush wrote: »
    Apparently he won't be wasting any money on suits and ties....:D

just palermo jerseys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

Yeah he might even treat himself to a new pink poloshirt to celebrate. That one he had on today and on the vincent show looks a bit haggard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Bernice101

its great isnt it! He reminds me of one of the members of Bon Jovi with his curly locks!!! we are going to have some alternative folk in the dail, i really hope joan collins gets in in dublin, she sounds like a real champion.

I thought it was very unfair that candidates from such parties as the "New Ireland Party" were presented on the baled paper as being non party, it lost them votes for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Do a bit of research before starting threads:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Anyone got any link to him owing 40 million ?

Not that I am saying he doesn't, just that he was on Newstalk Radio a few weeks ago and he said he was not bankrupt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

Snakeblood wrote: »
    I didn't know anything about him till today, but from the brief interview from when he was elected: He didn't build anything in the arse end of nowhere, it was generally built with a view to profit in Dublin, all his properties are occupied and generating rent, he's not in Nama, and all his loans are with foreign banks, as he was badmouthing our banks for ages.

I'm not sure if that's all true, but that's what he said. I'm a bit surprised that he's getting a vote though. He's a developer. People should be picking up the arms of developers to beat bankers to death with.

So we have, on the face of it, a good developer who ran,and is running a successful business, has not defaulted on paying his LOANS and is now competing in a market that has fallen through its arse due to the actions of the Banks and Gov. He was critical of the Banks and Gov for fecking up the market by artificially stimulating and encouraging competition.

He is now looking at a longer repayment period on the loan in his business. Why should he not have the right to run for GOv and try to make a difference. Its surely better than keyboard warriors criticizing a man for his chosen profession. He does not appear to have done anything wrong or dodgey?

He has a tax clearance cert unlike that fcuking scumbag Bertie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

maglite wrote: »
    He does not appear to have done anything wrong or doggy?
    He may have done, but I really don't think his sex life should be brought into this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Snakeblood wrote: »

The bold part is as a direct result of the part in Red.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭bobblepuzzle

Do a bit of research before starting threads:rolleyes:

I beg your pardon?!? A developer who owes 40 mil due to greed should not be representing anyone in the Dail! I don't give a ****e if his properties are in Dublin or elsewhere!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

TheUsual wrote: »
    Anyone got any link to him owing 40 million ?

Not that I am saying he doesn't, just that he was on Newstalk Radio a few weeks ago and he said he was not bankrupt.

Just because you're not bankrupt doesn't mean you don't owe money. Most of the country owes money to someone, very few of us are bankrupt.

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/builder-in-poll-race-has-euro40m-debts-2527520.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

And it also helps that Mick Wallace is a sound skin who has done a huge amount for the youth in his own area, as well as being a man who never shied away from telling it like it is. I was delighted to see him elected, he is a very smart cookie and a breath of fresh air. His workers like him too. His developments in dublin are high quality and vibrant and add to the city in a positive way. And I don't have a good word to say about nearly anybody, usually. Go for it Mick.

Solnskaya wrote: »
    And it also helps that Mick Wallace is a sound skin who has done a huge amount for the youth in his own area, as well as being a man who never shied away from telling it like it is. I was delighted to see him elected, he is a very smart cookie and a breath of fresh air. His workers like him too.

He's a developer that owes 40 million due to greed like all the rest... deal with that point please instead of the ****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

I beg your pardon?!? A developer who owes 40 mil due to greed should not be representing anyone in the Dail! I don't give a ****e if his properties are in Dublin or elsewhere!
    What the f*** does it matter what ANYBODY owes providing they are making their monthly payments. Reel your neck in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

If he is declared bankrupt, doesn't that mean he can't serve in the dail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

He's a developer that owes 40 million due to greed like all the rest... deal with that point please instead of the ****e

His expenses should cover it.

His loans are being serviced he has dealt with his banks

HE IS NOT WALKING AWAY FROM HIS COMMITMENTS

unlike so many in his business

oldyouth wrote: »
    What the f*** does it matter what ANYBODY owes providing they are making their monthly payments. Reel your neck in.

Perhaps you can give us some insight, as a constituent in Wexford... why vote a guy in thats the epitomy of all thats wrong in the country?

His loans are being serviced he has dealt with his banks

HE IS NOT WALKING AWAY FROM HIS COMMITMENTS

unlike so many in his business

LMAO, they are not being serviced... he owes 40 million that he nor his business can ever hope to repay