Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Labradoodles

• 18-02-2011 10:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6

Does anyone know any reputable breeders of labradoodles/goldendoodles? I see them from time to time on donedeal.ie, buyandsell.ie etc but would much prefer to buy from someone who is recommended. I'm in Kerry so Munster would be ideal but I'm willing to travel pretty much anywhere in the country for one, I've been looking for so long!

Any help would be greatly appreciated :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Just an FYI - a labradoodle is pretty much a mongrel, it's a hybrid of two pure breeds. (Even then they're not always two pure bred dogs that are mated) There are no 'reputable breeders' as such, all you can do (as with seeking any breed/any dog) is make sure you're careful when viewing pups/dogs, see them in their home & surroundings, interact with them, maybe make sure they've been checked over by a vet first. Make sure all their vaccinations & worming & defleaing are done and I honestly (if you end up paying for one) wouldn't bother paying much for one.

If you can be swayed from a 'labradoodle' maybe look at rescues/shelters for a similar dog that might suit you.

• Registered Users Posts: 392 ✭✭golden8

If you want a non shedding Labradoodle make sure what type the dog is either a F1 or F2, the designer breed is not stable so you could get a shedding one or a non shedding one. Also make sure the bitch had a hip score as both labs and poos suffer from hip dysplasia. Generally for a non shedding labradoodle what to look for is the hair is it a labrador hair (that would shed) or Poodle which is a non shedding, but downside for that one is hair needs. Either way do your research and if it ticks the boxes for you good luck.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 6,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cherry Blossom

There are no such breeds and therefore no reputable breeders, if you search this forum for "designer dogs" the pitfalls have been stated many times over on numerous threads on this forum.

• Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭Groom!

Also just to mention from a grooming point of view...they are considered a large breed dog and do need regular grooming so you would need to budget for that. Even though some of them are not supposed to shed, they do.

I never cease to be amazed at the variation in this so called "breed".

Some of them are very handsome and some of them are so "unusual" looking! They can range from chocolate brown (obviously chocolate lab), to grey, to golden to white to black. You could have anything from a standard poodle to a toy poodle in the mix, so size can vary too.

I'm sure you've done your research but I just wanted to let you know my experience of them.

As one of the above posters mentioned, you could quite easily find one in a rescue - without the grand title of "labradoodle", but could be a lab/poodle cross.

Good luck

• Registered Users Posts: 4,973 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Someone I know recently got one and said the breeder is keeping a record of the mother and father and their mother and father in the hope that one day they will be recognised as a breed here and she will have an established line, she told my friend that the where registered with the UK KC and she even had a vet give the pup a prepubertal gonadectomy so that it cant be mated from in the future, yes a prepubertal gonadectomy on an 8 week female pup in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭ISDW

Someone I know recently got one and said the breeder is keeping a record of the mother and father and their mother and father in the hope that one day they will be recognised as a breed here and she will have an established line, she told my friend that the where registered with the UK KC and she even had a vet give the pup a prepubertal gonadectomy so that it cant be mated from in the future, yes a prepubertal gonadectomy on an 8 week female pup in Ireland.

They're not though, they're not a recognised breed in the UK, well not by the Kennel Club anyway, they might be registered with another registration agency maybe but not the KC.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,973 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

ISDW wrote: »
    They're not though, they're not a recognised breed in the UK, well not by the Kennel Club anyway, they might be registered with another registration agency maybe but not the KC.

Thats what I thought but it was only said in passing conversation with him and I could not tell him for sure off the top of my head if the UK KC had started to recognize the Laberdoodle as a new breed.

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭Quick

I have been on the lookout for a decent labradoodle in Ireland for the past year but have not been happy with what's on offer. Seems a lot of people are out to make a quick buck. A lot of people are just getting a labrador and a poodle and mating them with checking for hip displasia, checking elbow scores or doing any optigen testing of the parents, grandparents etc.

I have been doing some research and will hopefully have a 7th gen Australian labradoodle in May. I will be heading outside of Ireland to get the pup. If it's a dog that happy, healthy and suits my family then I do not see the problem. Just because a dog is registered with the Kennel club doesn't make it healthy. I don't mean to pick on the breed but, The average life expectancy of a bulldog is about 8 years at a push. Many of them suffer from hip displasia and about 80% are delivered by Caesarian section cause their heads are too big to be born naturally.

My wife suffers from asthma and I know that labradoodle are not totally non shedding, but ever little helps. We also hope to expand our family in the next few years and this type of dog will be well placed around children.

Anyway that's my two cents on the subject, let the argument begin :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

Sorry, but i think you will find that they are not totally non shed dogs. The labrador sheds so it takes some of the genes from that so its not going to be totally non shed so you just need to be aware of that.

If you want a non shed dog would you not just go for a poodle, bichon etc that are known to be non shed or very low shed without having to go and pay money for what is effectively mongrels as they are not a recognised breed?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Quick, while I am totally against the breeding of dogs for cash, esp breeding mongrels. I do think you could get a dog with very similar shedding and temperment traits without having to buy a mongrel, but I have to say I am really really impressed with how much research you have done and the lengths you are going through to get a well bred pup. If more people did that while looking for any breed, we'd have a lot less trouble with farmers in this country because people would be avoiding them. Fair play.

andreac wrote: »
    Sorry, but i think you will find that they are not totally non shed dogs. The labrador sheds so it takes some of the genes from that so its not going to be totally non shed so you just need to be aware of that.

If you want a non shed dog would you not just go for a poodle, bichon etc that are known to be non shed or very low shed without having to go and pay money for what is effectively mongrels as they are not a recognised breed?

Andrea I did say that they are not totally non shedding and I never said they are a recongised breed. The shedding is part of every animal apart from those awful hairless cats! Its minimised from the back cross breeding of the first gen labradoodles with 2nd and 3rd gen etc..

Whispered, thanks. I do know its not a breed to be honest if some panel of judges from the kennel club say its a breed in 5 years time I dont really care. I like the look of the dogs, the laidbackness (excuse the made up word) and the energy they have. Each to their own I suppose. I am happy with the labradoodle and looking forward to it wrecking my house for the first 6 months!! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

Quick wrote: »
    Andrea I did say that they are not totally non shedding and I never said they are a recongised breed. Please reread my post.

Whispered, thanks. I do know its not a breed to be honest if some panel of judges from the kennel club say its a breed in 5 years time I dont really care. I like the look of the dogs, the laidbackness (excuse the made up word) and the energy they have. Each to their own I suppose. I am happy with the labradoodle and looking forward to it wrecking my house for the first 6 months!! :)

Ooops, sorry, didnt see the "not" the first time so apologies:o

I was saying about the recognised breed in the sense that there are non shedding recognised breeds out there already, that i mentioned, so maybe you could look into getting one of those if its a non shed dog you are looking for.

Ok no worries :)

I have spent ages on getting in contact with a "breeder" and I think I would go mental if I had to start all over again researching differnt dogs. I started off with a kerry blue, then a labrador, then a jack russell.

The parents are expecting a litter in April and I have my name down for a pup already.

I also had to do a mini power point presentation to convince the wife a dog is only going to add to a household!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11 nickyh59

I'm in a similar situation to you. I fell in love with these dogs in Canada and my sister has one. I have been looking in Ireland for an Australian Labradoodle where both parents have had all the health checks and that have the coat type and look that I like. I couldn't find what I was looking for here. Lots of ads for Lab/poodle crosses looking to make a quick buck.
    I found a breeder in Scotland who I'm heading over to visit and I like the conversations I have had so far. I don't expect to get a puppy now until June or July but since dogs live for years and become part of the family I can wait.

Hi Nicky, I think we might be headed to the same place. Would you send me a pm with where you are going to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Sarah2022

Thanks for all the replies guys, they were very helpful. I have done my homework on the 'breed' and think I know what to look out for now with regard to health checks etc. And as was mentioned above, plenty of pedigree dogs have numerous genetic complaints that come from over-breeding the lines. It looks like I'm going to have to go further afield at this stage; could anyone who is in contact with a breeder in the UK/Scotland etc send me on the details please? Half of us could end up with sibling labradoodles :):):)

I'm headed to Lomond Hills Labradoodles in Fife Scotland but it looks like it will be a few months time. I know that a puppy from there recently came to Kildare. All I know is that I spoke to the breeder liked the conversations I had with her and checked everything I possibly could. My only worry is that the pup can't leave until 11 weeks of age which is normal for ASD's as they are members of the Aussy association and follow their rules. In that case socialisation between 8-11 weeks is crucial but the breeder will, I think do what I ask and make sure the puppy is exposed as much as possible to people, children and lots of machines and noises.
    I will probably go by boat from Belfast or Larne to pick up the puppy.
    PS I must be mad, but I am very excited. I know three dogs with the same lines and they are super pets and adorable looking.

I will do the grooming myself and will buy a really good clippers and all the necessary combs, brushes and scissors.
    Best of luck to you. Hope we can doodle together sometime

Nicky, I know of a lab poodle cross who came to Kildare from Scotland about a year ago (maybe slightly longer) and is up for re-homing because the owner had no clue just how much exercise and grooming this breed needs. Seemingly very high maintenance.

I wonder if in any way related to your future pup.

I wonder where that dog is? People don't realise exactly what they are taking on with these dogs. I am well used to grooming Maltese and Old English Sheepdogs and they don't come worse than that!
    If you can send me any details about that particular dog I would be grateful as I may be able to help. Thanks

Whispered wrote: »
    Nicky, I know of a lab poodle cross who came to Kildare from Scotland about a year ago (maybe slightly longer) and is up for re-homing because the owner had no clue just how much exercise and grooming this breed needs. Seemingly very high maintenance.

I wonder if in any way related to your future pup.

Oh thats sad, if the breeder is as responsible as it sounds, they would probably take that dog back, if they knew about it. I think if you could let Nicky have the details, maybe let the breeder know? If I bred any pups I would want to know if something happened and they weren't going to stay with the person I allowed to have one of them.

The Breeder I am in touch with wants to know of problems and will re home dogs herself in the case of something going wrong. That is normal for all responsible breeders so I don't know what has gone wrong in this case.

nickyh59 wrote: »
    The Breeder I am in touch with wants to know of problems and will re home dogs herself in the case of something going wrong. That is normal for all responsible breeders so I don't know what has gone wrong in this case.

If its the same breeder Nicky, the owners probably just haven't told them, it happens all the time, with dogs from responsible breeders and from rescues with the same policy:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭suziwalsh

This is not to offend anyone at all and mods if it should be deleted or moved to another thread please feel free. I know I won't be liked for this comment and I know its everyones choice to do what they want but I just cannot understand well 1. why anyone would pay for a dog 2. why anyone would leave the country and bring in another dog into Ireland.

I just can't understand it, but then I also don't understand why it bothers me so much and I wish there was that little switch I could turn off in my head everytime someone asks me for help with a dog or puppies etc. I really wish I didn't care.

I don't understand what with Ireland having to export approximately 25,000 dogs and pups to other countries every year to find homes that people have to go abroad to get a dog or indeed why people are buying dogs for family pets. Now I understand those who wish to show their dog and go down that route but for those who just want a loving family pet to enjoy and take care of why there is not the availability here in Ireland to suit those families and why so many of us are take by a "breed" or recognised cross breed....

Why don't people take the chance and look to see what dogs need a home here....I mean a rescue recently rehomed a 10 week old goldendoodle pup and there is every type of dog out there. Why don't people trust those who work with dogs every single day to tell them the truth. I work with dogs as a career and in a voluntary capacity. I have an honours degree in zoology from ucd, a masters in animal behaviour and animal welfare from edinburgh uni, fetac level 6 in dog training, qualified puppy trainer from irish guide dogs among a huge list of qualifications I have, just so I can be sure to give the right advice when needed. I have rehomed thousands of dogs and pups here in Ireland and work with countless other dogs. So I fail to understand even when people ask me advice and I make suggestions about a rescue dog or pup...they are doubtful. What is the big hang up with a breeder or a dog needing papers or having to be a particular cross...is it just the way we have gotten here in Ireland. I wonder now in the recession will that change the way people think?

When I am asked to find a dog for someone (like most rescues) I go into huge detail and spend the time finding the right dog. There is rarely an issue and definately never one to the dogs temperament.

Anyway apologies for the rant and I do wish everyone the best with getting their dog, I am honestly just so curious why people with people who go overseas and cannot understand how there is not a dog in Ireland out of the hundreds of thousands who are born here do not suit your families needs and the thousands upon thousands we send abroad to the UK, Sweden, Italy to find homes would not be perfect for a family here seen as those other countries see the potential. I can't stand that we are known by other countries for our irresposibility to animals. We unfortunately are all being made to clean up the banks mess and maybe we should have to clean up our dog "mess" too.... I know I am not responsible for any of the dogs here in Ireland with regards to being dumped overbred etc and why should I try to change things, unfortunately if I could find the off switch in my head I would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Sarah2022

Hi Suzie, I do know it sounds a bit mad to be going abroad to get the right dog, I think most of us who are considering it have admitted that it sounds a bit nuts!!! But I have my heart set on this hybrid. I've had rescue dogs all my life, and each and every one of them was special and I wouldn't have traded them for anything. However a labradoodle is something I've wanted since I heard about the breed several years ago, and unfortunately there just doesn't seem to be any responsible breeders in Ireland. As some of the other members have noticed, there seems to be no shortage of backyard breeders who have no idea what they are doing and who are just out for a quick buck. Most of them wouldnt have a clue about the health implications of cross-breeding, let alone have their dogs vet checked, and I wouldn't want to support this kind of 'business'. It seems a real shame in this country that there isn't a better system of regulating the people who get to call themselves 'breeders'.

Sarah, I echo all your sentiments above. I too, have had rescue breeds and also Pedigree dogs who had inherited illness through unscrupulous breeding. I too have set my heart on an Australian Labradoodle and the breeder has given me all the test results from the parents. Responsible ASD breeders desex all their family pet puppies to stop the possibility of backyard or puppy farm breeders. I think we are both responsible and I wish you the best of luck with your quest. Please do keep me posted on how you get on. I frequent the Doodlekisses forum where there is a lot of great people with a huge resource of info for all Doodle lovers.

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭murphthesmurf

We've recently moved here from the UK. These types of dog are becoming more and more popular. If it is for allergy/asthma problems you are getting one, then be very carefull. There is no gaurantee how the dog will turn out. I have seen labradoodles that look just like a labradoor with hardly any poodle in them. Ideally you would want at least a 3rd generation dog. My partner and eldest son are allergic to dogs, so we went the 'hypoallergenic' dog route. There are many different breeds. After much research we found an Irish Water Spaniel, we had to do 2 x 300 mile round trips to get him, once to be vetted by the breeder then again to collect him 2 weeks later. Looks like no other dog i've ever seen.

Many thanks for that, actually allergies are not the issue but I do like either the curly or the shaggy coat. The puppy I am getting is 6th Gen Australian and both parents have all their health testing and more. The F1 and F1b crosses are haphazard and look a lot like shaggy retrievers!

Best of luck to all....I still am baffled by it all though

I have always wanted a french bulldog, however could never justify buying one let alone travelling for one. Maybe one will come up in rescue but if not I will fall in love with another dog with the ideal temperament that will be even cuter.

I will never understand how people work (myself included) how we are so taken with looks etc. like a an animal is an object....like an iphone or similar. We are all far to complicated for my little brain :)

ISDW wrote: »
    If its the same breeder Nicky, the owners probably just haven't told them,
    I suggested going back to the breeder, but the owners are happy to hold onto him until a great home is found so would prefer to not put him through the travel etc. I didn't want to push it as I would probably be the same. So not a reflection on the breeder at all. Chances are they have no idea.

It's not a typical "Oh I need to rehome because blah blah...." case. The lady realised she doesn't really have the ability to give the dog what he needs long term, so she has a walker coming in twice a day etc. Really making an effort to keep him happy until he is homed. She has also already turned down 2 home offers because she feels the home wasn't right for the dog. He wasn't neutered and someone offered to buy him for stud, and she promptly went off to neuter him :D I don't know if she'll ever find the "right" home, but she is handling the rehoming herself because she doesn't think anybody else will find the perfect place for him. I'm guessing he'll still be there is a few years. ;)

If she is looking for a great home for him....I would have one :)