Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

I'm not really interested in the side shows of fans arguing who is a nasty team etc. Both teams were mixing it today and that's something Galway badly need to do in the right manner. However, there was some needless stuff Galway got involved in which distracted us too i felt.

Positives were that our defensive approach for the majority of the game was very strong. Everyone knew their job and even if Dublin weren't at full tilt they struggled for long stages to make any impact. There were a lot of changes today but players still knew their jobs. To level it at the end didn't matter a toss with regards to the table but for morale it was important not to have lost that game.

Disappointments today were 3 glorious goal chances spurned. Playing top teams particularly later in the year you need to Bury those chances. Having a 3 point leading and blowing 2 of them through needless messing around at the back was hugely frustrating. The continual kickouts to the right half back positon in the 2nd half was a bit demoralising to see too even allowing for the wind.

I'd expect Dublin to win the league final comfortably enough but longer term these games are what Galway need if we are to step up a level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭spiritcrusher

I have to say, the pile up in the middle of the field towards the end was absolutely hilarious. It was like a cartoon, made even funnier when a Dublin appeared to sprint toward the pile, launch himself into the air and dive on top of everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

I have to say, the pile up in the middle of the field towards the end was absolutely hilarious. It was like a cartoon, made even funnier when a Dublin appeared to sprint toward the pile, launch himself into the air and dive on top of everyone.

That was Philly McMahon - he definitely wanted to get involved!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

He hasn't lost his boyish sense of fun :)

Sounded pretty bizarre even on the wireless!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Beffs

threeball wrote: »
    Bonniedog wrote: »

This league was all about seeing if we could survive at the top table. Running Dublin close today is a confirmation that we can hang with the top teams. I suspect the league final is a bonus which would be nice to win but wouldn't get too bent out of shape as long as we didn't take a trimming.

Dublin didn't start about half of their guaranteed summer starters, including the most important one - Cluxton. I wouldn't be getting too carried away with today proving that you can hang with the top teams. Until you can do it against the too teams, when they are at full strength, in the summer, games like today are utterly meaningless. The Rossies found that out the hard way 2 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Beffs

This league was all about seeing if we could survive at the top table. Running Dublin close today is a confirmation that we can hang with the top teams. I suspect the league final is a bonus which would be nice to win but wouldn't get too bent out of shape as long as we didn't take a trimming.

Dublin didn't start about half of their guaranteed summer starters, including the most important one - Cluxton. I wouldn't be getting too carried away with today proving that you can hang with the top teams. Until you can do it against the too teams, when they are at full strength, in the summer, games like today are utterly meaningless. The Rossies found that out the hard way 2 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Tellyium

Whatever happens in the league final ( or even on May 13th) I think the fact that people are sitting up and taking notice of us again is a reflection on the fact that we are going in the right direction. We’re not even being patronized by the Dublin fans here which is a good sign 😜 ( might be different in two weeks). It’s not that long ago that we were slaughtered by Mayo, knocked out by Antrim and barely getting over Waterford. Since about 2003 anything positive about Galway football was down to lazy journalism (tradition, great forwards, kick and catch etc etc) until now and even now there’s an angle that we’re foregoing our traditional approach for something ugly. I think we’re getting to be a team that will be taken seriously, but we need to take confidence from the league and kick on in the championship, making sure there is no repeat of Kerry 2017 or Tipp 2016.

Beffs wrote: »

I dont think Galway are getting carried away. Certainly not the supporters who by their nature are probably the most pessimistic fans in the world! However, Galway also didnt start a number of guaranteed championship starters. And I would suggest they didnt start their most important one too in Comer. They started their 3rd choice goalkeeper, a corner back who I think might not make the 26 v Mayo (although he did ok today), a half back line where it is far from guaranteed any of the 3 will be starting in championship, a midfielder who started only his second inter-county game ever (the first being last week), 2 wing forwards who are very unlikely to start in May, and a full forward whose role this year will probably be an impact sub!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,010 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

spurshero wrote: »
    Jeepers the dubs can’t take it at all. Love to dish it out though . One thing to be a bad loser but to be a winner with no class is a lot worse .

Eh, nobody won the game, it was a draw. :D:D:D:D:D

If Galway think that was a defeat though, all the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,032 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Philly jumped about 10 yards through the air to land on top of a scrum of players right at the end there. Was hilarious to be fair. Even the Dubs around us were laughing.

Listen both sides were at it there during the last 15 minutes depending on who was ahead at the time and who was trying to slow down the opposition.

The biggest ruck of the game was right before the last Galway score when Comer won a free and Dublin players literally held onto everyone in a maroon jersey attempting to stop the quick free. Ref moved it forward and there was still a load of wrestling going on and then everyone piled in pulling and dragging. Galway did similiar when they were in the lead.

But both sides were at it so best to move on.

However backroom and coaching staff of teams should not be getting involved with players and Jason Sherlock was constantly on the pitch and ended up shouldering Barry McHugh in the back on the sideline. McHugh was just in a light tangle with a Dublin player which had absolutely nothing to do with Sherlock until he involved himself. Coaches should not be getting involved with players. Full stop. That is a big no no as far as I'm concerned and it can lead to much nastier stuff and he should be suspended for it being honest.

Really enjoyed the game. Was a great cut to it especially during the 2nd half. Dubs are a super side even understrength (and to be fair Galway were understrength themselves). Felt like a game where both sides were introducing themselves to each other knowing there may be a few more meetings between them over the next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭grbear

I'd have to agree with all of that. Not sure what Sherlock's game was to be honest. He seems sound enough whenever he is interviewed but he was awful narky yesterday and kept trying to get involved with any Galway player that came withing roaring distance. Silly carry on and he's probably gotten himself a ban now.

I enjoyed nearly all of that match yesterday. Went in with very low expectations but instead we got a game with a serious cut to it and excitement right up until the last minute. With the exception of O Gara it was all handbags with no properly nasty belts. A lot of pushing and shoving which didn't look good but not dangerous.

There are some ferocious eejits online trying to stir up bitterness between Galway and Dublin supporters but there wasn't any of that in the crowd afterwards. Had a few words with a couple of Dubs on our way to the exit and it was all in good spirits. No nastiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭Pdoghue

Philly jumped about 10 yards through the air to land on top of a scrum of players right at the end there. Was hilarious to be fair. Even the Dubs around us were laughing.

Listen both sides were at it there during the last 15 minutes depending on who was ahead at the time and who was trying to slow down the opposition.

The biggest ruck of the game was right before the last Galway score when Comer won a free and Dublin players literally held onto everyone in a maroon jersey attempting to stop the quick free. Ref moved it forward and there was still a load of wrestling going on and then everyone piled in pulling and dragging. Galway did similiar when they were in the lead.

But both sides were at it so best to move on.

However backroom and coaching staff of teams should not be getting involved with players and Jason Sherlock was constantly on the pitch and ended up shouldering Barry McHugh in the back on the sideline. McHugh was just in a light tangle with a Dublin player which had absolutely nothing to do with Sherlock until he involved himself. Coaches should not be getting involved with players. Full stop. That is a big no no as far as I'm concerned and it can lead to much nastier stuff and he should be suspended for it being honest.

Really enjoyed the game. Was a great cut to it especially during the 2nd half. Dubs are a super side even understrength (and to be fair Galway were understrength themselves). Felt like a game where both sides were introducing themselves to each other knowing there may be a few more meetings between them over the next few years.

It's hilarious how you think it's fine to 'move on' when players are at it on the pitch, but it's a big no no when mentors get involved. It shows how the endemic neanderthal wrestling rubbish that goes on towards the end of games has become so ubiquitous that people have become blase about it. The blather about it being all part of the game is then trotted out. I was at the game on Sunday and it was disgraceful really. I strongly agree with the suggestion of Condenser above about giving frees and black cards for those offences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,240 ✭✭✭dinneenp

Here's a few photos of mine of the fighting towards the end of the game.

Cheers,
    Pa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭nootroc

Would like a few of the lads to have shown a bit of composure in front of goal like the Corofin boys when clean through on goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Redo91

nootroc wrote: »
    Would like a few of the lads to have shown a bit of composure in front of goal like the Corofin boys when clean through on goal.

I know he is a back but Sweeney's miss in the second half when he just swiped at the ball on the ground and sent it high and wide was the worst of the lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 edwynk9

What will be the starting team come championship?

I'd go with the following:

Lavelle
    Sweeney
    Sean Andy
    Kerin
    Heaney
    Bradshaw
    Liam Silke
    Conroy
    Cooke
    Brannigan
    Daly
    Shane Walsh
    Ian Burke
    Damien Comer
    Army

edwynk9 wrote: »

Lavelle
    Sweeney
    Sean Andy
    Kerin
    Heaney
    Bradshaw
    Liam Silke
    Conroy
    Cooke
    Brannigan
    Daly
    Shane Walsh
    Ian Burke
    Damien Comer
    Army

I'd say Armstrong will be an impact sub this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭grbear

Over the last few matches I think McHugh has moved from a possible to a definite starter as far as I'm concerned. He is Galways best free taker and his overall game has improved over the course of the league.

grbear wrote: »
    Over the last few matches I think McHugh has moved from a possible to a definite starter as far as I'm concerned. He is Galways best free taker and his overall game has improved over the course of the league.

I'd start him too. Frees might become an issue if you dont start him. And he has done well from play this year (which he didnt do in last years league).

Lavelle
    Sweeney
    Sean Andy
    Kerin
    Heaney
    Bradshaw
    Liam Silke
    Conroy
    Cooke
    Brannigan
    Daly
    Shane Walsh
    Ian Burke
    Damien Comer
    Army

I wonder will Daly make the team for Mayo now. Out injured for the winter and he hasn't played a minute of league football. I think he's fit again as he came on late in the Sigerson final but no sign of him yet. I'm sure he's a long way behind the rest conditioning wise.

That said he's probably too talented to leave off as long as he shows up well in training. One of the few who can kick long range points consistently.

I wonder will Daly make the team for Mayo now. Out injured for the winter and he hasn't played a minute of league football. I think he's fit again as he came on late in the Sigerson final but no sign of him yet. I'm sure he's a long way behind the rest fitness wise.

Doesnt look good for him alright. Sunday might not be a bad day to give him some football if he is in any shape to get involved.

I'll give a stab at a team:

Lavelle

Kyne
    O'Kelly
    Kerin

Kelly
    Bradshaw
    Silke

Conroy
    Cooke

Heaney
    Daly (if fit). Ian Burke if Daly is not fit.
    Walsh

McHugh
    Comer
    Brannigan

I'd be pretty confident that if some of the Corofin lads were around during the league, they would have played themselves into the team. However, it is hard to change a winning team. Based on the AI final, if Power starts, then I would certainly be looking at starting Farragher - they seemed to have a very good understanding. It will be very interesting to see how Corofin guys are integrated back into the panel. Do you play them at all in the league? Do you bring them into it as quickly as possible? It would be harsh on lads like F. Burke, Cunningham, E. Wynne, E. Finnerty, R. Finnerty who have been togging out on the bench in January & February and then dropped for the league final! It's a hard one to judge - Corofin lads did nothing to get Galway there but that wasn't their fault either. And you would want to give yourself the best chance of winning which is probably by having some of the Corofin lads on the bench......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭mjp

Any footage anywhere of o Gara's strike on o Ceallaigh. Sunday game didn't show any of the footage as we're probably too afraid of upsetting Jim Gavin.
    Game wasn't covered on TG4 highlights show lastnight either which was quiet strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

I'd be pretty confident that if some of the Corofin lads were around during the league, they would have played themselves into the team. However, it is hard to change a winning team.

It's not unusual to have players coming back after the league and it's early days yet in the overall context. Whatever happens in the Mayo game we will need those extra players come the Summer. Liam Silke and Ian Burke would be two to come back in and probably Daly aswell once he is properly fit.

But the form the team have shown throughout this league campaign means that nobody will be walking straight back into the team and that's a good thing. There will be huge competition for places now and yes it's true that the likes of Ian Burke and Daly will have a fight on their hands to regain their place but they'll be there in the mix with everyone else and picking a starting 15 for Castlebar won't be easy.

For the league final I'd imagine KW will mostly stick with the same players that got us there. But after that it's game on again and a couple of good performances in February/March has never guaranteed anyone anything come championship time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Lavelle
    Sweeney
    Sean Andy
    Kerin
    Heaney
    Bradshaw
    Liam Silke
    Conroy
    Cooke
    Brannigan
    Daly
    Shane Walsh
    Ian Burke
    Damien Comer
    Army
    I'd say Armstrong will be an impact sub this year.

Yeah, can't see Armstrong in from the start, McHugh is a near certainty on form. I'd doubt he'll start Daly for Mayo either

C. Sweeney isn't up to that level, and either way Kyne will definitely start

jr86 wrote: »
    Yeah, can't see Armstrong in from the start, McHugh is a near certainty on form. I'd doubt he'll start Daly for Mayo either

C. Sweeney isn't up to that level, and either way Kyne will definitely start

I agree about Sweeney. However, I think he has more to offer than his brother. Also, I think KW will probably start him in the HB line even though I wouldn't. He has shown a lot of faith in those guys in this league campaign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Liam Silke is apparently off stateside for the summer.

ClanofLams wrote: »
    Liam Silke is apparently off stateside for the summer.

Would be a significant loss. I have no doubts that he would have started at either corner back or wing back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,255 ✭✭✭cosatron

Would be a significant loss. I have no doubts that he would have started at either corner back or wing back.

You couldn't blame him, his allot of football done at 23. I wonder will kevin walsh will have a look at dylan wall. very impressive on paddy's day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Condenser

cosatron wrote: »
    You couldn't blame him, his allot of football done at 23. I wonder will kevin walsh will have a look at dylan wall. very impressive on paddy's day.

Wall, Molloy, Power and Burke will be included I'd say. Any of them would push the first 15 never mind being a good replacement. Certainly Burke has more to offer up front than Sweeney. Michael Farragher has to come into the reckoning too after his last few displays for Corofin. He provided a great outlet for Powers kickouts.

cosatron wrote: »

Fantastic in Galway club championship matches last year too. It's hard to throw a lad into a Galway - Mayo game for a debut when he hasn't even played a league match. I don't think Wall has even played U21 for Galway but I could be mistaken on that.