Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,946 ✭✭✭threeball

until today I thought the vitriol pointed at Cillian O'Connor that he got away with a lot was just sour grapes, but had to change my mind today, he got a player sent off very cleverly, even though at first viewing I thought it was a bang on black card, he also in the first half made contact twice with a Galway players face, the Galway Player got booked! and also when he got his yellow in the second it imo should have been red as he clearly struck the Galway player twice after the initial foul.

He's unbelievably niggly and constantly diving and faning injury. Refs really need to tighten up on players like him. Keegan gets away with about 3 black card offences a game.

Robson99 wrote: »
    COC was cute for the black card. Went down like a sack of spuds. But the ref was shambolic for it... two yards away... just tried to even it up.

O Connor should have been on at least yellow at that stage for slapping Bradshaw in the face too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭LoveMeSexy

The sour grapes from the Mayo crowd is making this win all the sweeter! Great win though, the end was heart in mouth stuff but we would have definitely lost that game 3/4 years ago, we're going somewhere in the near future, fair play lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Kickouts an all time low??? We won every single short kick out in the second half. Every single one, and conceded zero direct from them. We won well over half our long kickouts.
    I've watched this back again and you're far closer to the mark than I was. Lavelle made a couple of howlers but his kickouts hit their man on the short, even if he put them to all the way to Leisureland and a well marked Kyne. His choice of who to pass to is a mix of poor decision-making on his part and lack of support from the backs. His long-range kickouts were excellent however and FOC and Conroy at least got a paw to most of them. I just hate seeing a keeper go on a solo. That's Breathnach, Power and Lavelle we've had in recent memory fond of leaving the box.
    I swear you could come on this thread after winning an AI and there would be ppl giving out. A superb win against a top side, only reason it was close was a pox lucky goal. Thought we gave it everything and good tactics second half, if the first wasn't great
    Ah but what's a discussion board without miserable souls like myself to argue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,014 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Fair play diabheal, one of our best contributers. Cant disagree with much you say.

Negativity is more directed elsewhere. As a GAA county i think we're doing ok and massively exciting times ahead hopefully

I remember in Castlebar in 2014 Colm Boyle nailing Damien Comer with a perfect shoulder. Today the shoe was on the other foot and Damien Comer's hit on Diarmaid O'Connor near the end when the momentum was all with Mayo was a key moment. It showed that Galway may have been bullied in the past but there is now a tougher edge to them.

Undoubtedly the sending off had an affect but to me Mayo looked like a team who've just hit the wall. None of their big names really hit their stride and really Galway should never have been in the position they were towards the end.

As a child who grew up idolising Ja Fallon, amd maybe later Joyce, you kinda think ya grow out of having sporting hero's. But christ, Comers go about him would make ya wanna don the boots again. A hero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭O.A.P

Galway by 1 point
    That's all that matters.
    I was brought to my first Galway v Mayo match 44 years ago but I was never as nervous as I was today, not sure if that's just age though.
    Hopefully we can win Connacht now and push on maybe to the semi final.
    More important that we remain in division 1 and build a team that can defend as well as it can score
    D Comer sure was the man of the match , Army was spot on with the frees and Galway won the midfield bar the last 10 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

LoveMeSexy wrote: »
    The sour grapes from the Mayo crowd is making this win all the sweeter! Great win though, the end was heart in mouth stuff but we would have definitely lost that game 3/4 years ago, we're going somewhere in the near future, fair play lads.

What sour grapes?I see the majority of Mayo fans congratulating Galway.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Steve The Barman

John Maughan is an ass of a Man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Fair play, lads. Hope ye go and finish the job in Connacht now. Good to have a competitive provincial championship.

As a player, I have great time for Cillian O'Connor as a straight footballer, his last minute point in the drawn game against the dubs last year, and his general composure from frees etc. But my god he's some cheating little maggot. Two years ago in Salthill he won a close game by fooling Finian Hanley et al to put their hand across so he could pull on it and drag himself down continuously. Today he conned the ref into black carding Tom Flynn and scamming an easy point when Galway had possession. He couldve been sent off before this. This is potentially the best footballer weve had in connacht since Joyce, completely ruining his legacy by cheating and cowardice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭jam83

It was a great day as a Galway person. I watched the Sunday game. You'd swear mayo beat galway handy the way they ran the footage. All about mayo mistakes etc. Jesus can they not play the first 60 seconds of the match, galway get 2 points from play to set the tone, all that? ****ing anyone watching would swear galway played ****e all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭fearruanua

jam83 wrote: »
    It was a great day as a Galway person. I watched the Sunday game. You'd swear mayo beat galway handy the way they ran the footage. All about mayo mistakes etc. Jesus can they not play the first 60 seconds of the match, galway get 2 points from play to set the tone, all that? ****ing anyone watching would swear galway played ****e all day.

Have to agree. Sunday game footage of the game last night was cat. Great galway start, two scores from play in the first 40 seconds not shown at all. They never showed the comer hit either, which was a huge turning point at that stage of the game. I know they have a lot of games to show but the editing could have been a lot better.

jam83 wrote: »

The Sunday game "analysts" always do this sh1t. Spend their entire time talking about the team they think should have won and how they will win the all Ireland now and barely speak about the actual winners of the game. Same goes for the footage as you said.
    How Tomas O Se is an analyst I will never know. He's everywhere yet he's barely literate. Very poor at expressing an opinion or even moving away from constant clichés. Far too many Kerry pundits in the media in general with the only one really worth his salt being O Cinneide who has been put out to grass by TG4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭MfMan

Delighted to win but an awful lot of worries.

A very poor performance defensively but the sweetest win in a long time. A lot of Mayo fans around us in the terrace giving guff and they were bucking by the end :D Say what you will and they have some lovely fans but they're a very cocky bunch.

I think the less said about the backs the better but Cathal Sweeney was super. His best showing in maroon. I pick him out as a weak link a lot but he did the business.

Comer needed more ball but he was ripping the Mayo backs to shreds. Daly decent but was chasing shadows a lot of the match. Army great from the frees but he didn't offer much more than McHugh would have.

Thought midfield on both sides were poor and bypassed.

We should have finished it with 5 to go and every single chance we wasted. Cummins should have pointed long before he was fouled. Sice should have pointed. GOD wasted a great chance too.

Kickouts were an all-time low. Haemorrhaged scores and Lavelle never aimed at a free GOD.

Not sure we've improved at all since last year tbh. Tactically weak and a ropey fullback-line we don't protect.

Mayo will improve in the backdooor. Never should've taken Moran off and AOS was shocking. Be great to meet them again later in the year when they'll be in-form.

Agree with most of that. particularly re: Sweeney who surprised me a lot on the upside. I did think we weren't great; our forwards didn't operate near top gear, our HB line, while good individually, as a unit were still too porous while Wynne was anonymous, Silke adequate and Kyne had a poor day overall, especially in the first half. On the plus side, midfield was good where FOC had a very good outing IMO, Mike Daly impressed on his big game debut and will improve more; Shane Walsh was so-so but was double-marked a lot of the time. Not sure was Comer really MOTM, didn't look fully match-sharp I thought - GOD or Heaney were other candidates.

For me the biggest takeaway from the day though was that this Mayo team is now sadly finished and the downward momentum away from their peak of the past 5 years will gather pace. The likes of Parsons, SOS, Vaughan, Cafferky aren't good enough (any more) while their great defensive warriors Higgins and Boyle are in football terms on their last legs. Though admittedly a man down, they hadn't the nous or ability to fashion an equaliser in the closing stages with all the momentum. Their forwards just haven't got it, but taking off Moran and McLaughlin didn't help either. Did any Mayo sub make an impact?

Mind you, if Galway drew (and de facto lost) wee Danny would deserve a good bollocking for not converting that last chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

MfMan wrote: »
    Agree with most of that. particularly re: Sweeney who surprised me a lot on the upside. I did think we weren't great; our forwards didn't operate near top gear, our HB line, while good individually, as a unit were still too porous while Wynne was anonymous, Silke adequate and Kyne had a poor day overall, especially in the first half. On the plus side, midfield was good where FOC had a very good outing IMO, Mike Daly impressed on his big game debut and will improve more; Shane Walsh was so-so but was double-marked a lot of the time. Not sure was Comer really MOTM, didn't look fully match-sharp I thought - GOD or Heaney were other candidates.

For me the biggest takeaway from the day though was that this Mayo team is now sadly finished and the downward momentum away from their peak of the past 5 years will gather pace. The likes of Parsons, SOS, Vaughan, Cafferky aren't good enough (any more) while their great defensive warriors Higgins and Boyle are in football terms on their last legs. Though admittedly a man down, they hadn't the nous or ability to fashion an equaliser in the closing stages with all the momentum. Their forwards just haven't got it, but taking off Moran and McLaughlin didn't help either. Did any Mayo sub make an impact?

Mind you, if Galway drew (and de facto lost) wee Danny would deserve a good bollocking for not converting that last chance.

Thought comer was very poor in the first half. Missed a couple of scorable chances and lost some balls he should've held onto. But he was great in the second half. I wouldn't have given him man of the match though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭jam83

Was it diarmuid o Connor in the 2nd half who went to ground and when he didn't get the free he threw an almighty tantrum banging the ground and looking like a right diva? Reminded me of how cillian protests to referees. Ive no time for those lads the more I see of them.

Great result. The atmosphere was great. Yeah Galway had a spare man but they gifted mayo a lot too and that csn be rectified in the coming years as the team evolves and improves.
    Like galways tackling has come on leaps and bounds from where it was 2 or 3 years ago.
    The kickouts were heart attack stuff at times. But most were perfect and set up attacks. They've worked on the hand passing interplay no end too. That final passage where they worked it from the corner out along the line, to brannigan and eventually set Cummins through on goal was great play. That slickness wasn't there a few years ago.
    The team is improving. I don't care if mayo had 14. Galway gifted them the goal, nearly gifted a 2nd one only for some crazy goalmouth scrambling and mayo couldn't score a point to save their lives there at the end.
    Galway forwards like comer, daly and walsh took on their men in the first half and swung over points with the wind.
    Mayo forwards there at the end were ballooning them wide.
    It's an upward curve for galway and it was a great day. It's a game that'll live in the memory for me, it meant so much to everyone there, players and supporters on both sides.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Back to the hurling. Did anyone hear about a challenge game between Portumna and Turloghmore last week? Joe Canning marking Daithi Burke. Daithi was left with the two front teeth knocked out of his head by all accounts....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Back to the hurling. Did anyone hear about a challenge game between Portumna and Turloghmore last week? Joe Canning marking Daithi Burke. Daithi was left with the two front teeth knocked out of his head by all accounts....

was championship

fearruanua wrote: »
    Have to agree. Sunday game footage of the game last night was cat. Great galway start, two scores from play in the first 40 seconds not shown at all. They never showed the comer hit either, which was a huge turning point at that stage of the game. I know they have a lot of games to show but the editing could have been a lot better.

Off the ball this evening had a good ol post mortum of poor Mayo and about 30 secs on Galway who "werent great". Yet again another Kerry doofus Michael Quirke. The fat lump couldnt last more than 20 mins in any game he ever played and now hes an "analyst".

Only the Galway hurlers could manage to destroy the morale in camp with an all ireland going a begging.

Championship and accidental i was told, no fighting afterwards.

I think the Burke/Canning thing is people putting 2+2 together since they played on each other.

Is Canning a dirty player?... not at all.

One thing that hasn't been noted on the Mayo game is the crowd differential.

We were badly outnumbered at a home game which is embarrassing really.
    When it happened two years ago it made a bit more sense based on 2013 and the general level of results.

But to be Connacht champions, League champions and have Mayo outnumber us in our own stadium is far worse than anything I've seen labeled at the hurlers(where we've had 2/3rds of the crowd in Tullamore on more than one occasion).

Wonder what's happened to our support.
    The matches were always 60/40 to the home team up to the last 2010s.

Championship and accidental i was told, no fighting afterwards.

Some freak accident to take out two front teeth despite a faceguard. Must have been the butt of a hurl. Think ill get the young fella to wear a mouth guard too in future if thats a possibility.

His head smashed the ground I think upon landing. They'll be making the same 5 hour trip up and down to Portlaoise as the rest of us all going well.

Mayo outnumber every teams support nearly tbh. Half their county live in Galway, they have no other teams to support and little else to distract them up there. With their team going well, theyre always going to outnumber us. It was about 60/40. I was encouraged by the amount of Galway tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Heraldoffreeent

Mayo outnumber every teams support nearly tbh. Half their county live in Galway, they have no other teams to support and little else to distract them up there. With their team going well, theyre always going to outnumber us. It was about 60/40. I was encouraged by the amount of Galway tbh

:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

i absolutely love the Galway Mayo rivalry. Played 86 times, both won 40 and 6 draws. There can't be many sporting rivalries that is so even over such a long time??? I always enjoy playing Mayo more than any other game, even the all Ireland series. There's just something so special about those games. The players yesterday from both sides were really throwing their bodies in the firing line. Such an immense contest.

Sice gave Aidan O'Shea an absolute bollocking after the big man came on for Mayo. O'Shea eventually complained to McQuillan arms flailing and the Galway fans in the terrace cheered it as much as any point we scored. Between that and Comer's shoulder it made some difference from Duane getting floored by Dillon pre-match. The pride is definitely back in the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭fearruanua

Accidental by all accounts and heard that the teeth had been damaged before so probably wouldn't have taken much to damage them again.