If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭limo_100

Karen112 wrote: »
    I wouldn't mind but this is a third calver who carried a hard blue last year and calved herself....put PAM on her this year and got a bull that could nearly get up on a cow already:o

a well at least you where there and everything is ok thats the important thing. U'll have to put a picture up off him:)

we have a cow in calf to DEZ and shes after carrying 305 so far. shes a fecking new sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭feckin day gone again!!

Rooney would know alot about dirty cubicles!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

limo_100 wrote: »
    a well at least you where there and everything is ok thats the important thing. U'll have to put a picture up off him:)

The vet was sure the calf was dead until he was shaving her and we noticed the calf jumping. It was a bit of a race after that. Problem is he has fluid on the lungs and a bit of a swollen head. Hope to get a drop more beestings into him later now, he's a bit dopey, had to give it to him with a dosing gun this evening. Now I'm all out so have to strug the cow...shes not the most sociable of things either in the crush with her scar I'll bet:(

Ah well, live calf! Touch wood he turns out ok.

(No one round her in Leitrim with beestings no?) Might save me a few bruises....:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 same 130

hi karen how much is a section in leitrim

same 130 wrote: »

No idea yet.....it goes on the a/c. Last one we had averaged €220 or so but that was a few years ago. I'll let you know when the bill arrives!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 same 130

had one 2years ago e300 on the spot this year the same vet is e330

Eek.......ours tend to be decent enough....hopefully!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

2 in the last couple of months. €250 includes a follow up visit the next day and 5 days worth of antibiotics.
    Bearable when you have a live cow and calf. Lot of work in a section.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

had a surprise visit from the eastern fisheries board on tuesday:eek: was a problem with the river that goes through our farm, i havent been down that way since november. Lady was very nice we sourced the problem and she came back today and all is ok, really should have gone down that way regularly over the winter, lesson learned the hard way and all is dandy now thank god:)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,961 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

whelan1 wrote: »
    had a surprise visit from the eastern fisheries board on tuesday:eek: was a problem with the river that goes through our farm, i havent been down that way since november. Lady was very nice we sourced the problem and she came back today and all is ok, really should have gone down that way regularly over the winter, lesson learned the hard way and all is dandy now thank god:)

Let me guess.....You left the poacher net behind you the last time you were down there?:P

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭KCTK

Quick one, any of ye dairy guys or girls have any thoughts on contract rearing of replacement heifers or is it likely to be something that wont be thought about until after 2015?

whelan1 wrote: »

You should have told her that the Eastern Regional Fisheries Board as an organisation has not not existed since July 2010.
    She must be caught in a time warp:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

real rough day today. got a call this morning, the old man was after getting malled by a cow. for any of you who like ourselves keep a cow just because shes good (but a demon b***h) put her on a hook. hes a factured jaw, crushed chest bone, fractured ribs24 stitches across his face, broken teeth (the last few) and may have to get his spline removed. just get her culled. she has four prong marks in her shoulder and it didnt stop her.

Bizzum wrote: »
    You should have told her that the Eastern Regional Fisheries Board as an organisation has not not existed since July 2010.
    She must be caught in a time warp:D
    she needs to change her car so:Das that is what was written on it, correct title is "inland fisheries ireland"

1chippy wrote: »
    real rough day today. got a call this morning, the old man was after getting malled by a cow. for any of you who like ourselves keep a cow just because shes good (but a demon b***h) put her on a hook. hes a factured jaw, crushed chest bone, fractured ribs24 stitches across his face, broken teeth (the last few) and may have to get his spline removed. just get her culled. she has four prong marks in her shoulder and it didnt stop her.

Jaysus. Rough day indeed. I'm sorry to read that. Hope the old boy gets through it as well as he can.
    It should be a warning to us all. No cow is worth that.

holy fook, he's lucky to be alive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Jeez chippy I wish him a speedy recovery. All those on the FL22 thread be warned!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Christ, sorry to her that. Hope he gets well soon.
    Just for the rest of us, did ye know she was wild before this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

christ, hope he makes a full and fast recovery.

agree completely, no weanling is worth keeping an angry old b*tch for :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭topgeas

bull attacked me last summer. got to gap in time. he was hangin up that evenin. life is too short.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

we knew she was cross. I was allways nervy working anywhere round her. even when feeding she would just plough her way through anything to get to the first fork of silage. smashing cow but. the two best we have are going the other ones more nervy than vicious, but just came to the conclusion she has to go. she was calved a week and we decided to put her out with a few quieter cows rather than have her charging the gates everytime we entered the shed. dad just decided to take them in because of the wet weather he was keeping well clear of her calf but she still malled him. wont get near the value as in the marts but wouldnt like to see anyone else hurt. is there any ejits out there specialising in wicked stock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

she has four prong marks in her shoulder and it didnt stop her.

meant to say, fair play to him for getting a shot in there!

its very hard to read stories like that i have to say. We've being lucky enough i suppose he don't have any wild cattle including the limos. we find that since we started doing ai that the cows have become very controlable in our situation anyway

Sorry to hear that chipy, hope he'll be ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Christ lad, hope he'll be alright! I have had a few close calls with some of our own, you couldn't be too careful with them.

we knew she was cross. I was allways nervy working anywhere round her. even when feeding she would just plough her way through anything to get to the first fork of silage. smashing cow but. the two best we have are going the other ones more nervy than vicious, but just came to the conclusion she has to go. she was calved a week and we decided to put her out with a few quieter cows rather than have her charging the gates everytime we entered the shed. dad just decided to take them in because of the wet weather he was keeping well clear of her calf but she still malled h.im. wont get near the value as in the marts but wouldnt like to see anyone else hurt. is there any ejits out there specialising in wicked stock?

Jaysus, that is very rough of her. But some just can't be tamed at all. Hope yer auld man is ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭weefarmer

Not nice to hear that atall, hopefully he has a good recovery!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

anyone notice that the better farm part of the comic is missing about the sucklers.sponcer has pulled out is that correct,like reading it as to see what i should be doing this week:o.chippy sorry to her about the boss,i would love to be over her when shes in the box and whistling to get her to put head up to give it her last thought, bang

leg wax wrote: »
    anyone notice that the better farm part of the comic is missing about the sucklers.sponcer has pulled out is that correct,like reading it as to see what i should be doing this week:o.chippy sorry to her about the boss,i would love to be over her when shes in the box and whistling to get her to put head up to give it her last thought, bang

My teagasc man said they were looking for a few new recruits this year. I think it was a 3 yr deal for the lads that were in it, and a good few have their time up. Will you go for it legs?