Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

johngalway wrote: »
    Just spent the last two hours before dark out on a foggy, drizzly and then rainy hill. Got a phone call that there was dogs chasing sheep, grabbed the rifle and off I went after making a couple of calls myself. Found a spot where a sheep had been put into a stream, lots of wool about but no ewe, either she got out herself - unlikely with dogs at the scene, or was removed by someone. Heard dogs barking twice in one spot but could see SFA.

As we all broke up for the night someone discovered the dogs had been out that morning :rolleyes: Why the fcuk people don't lift the phone sooner I'll never know :mad:

Off out at first light to walk the bogs, holes, lakes and streams.

Got myself into awful neighbour bother after I took the gun to his (wife's) dog that was chasing my cows. Had them terrorised for a few weeks until I caught him in the act. It's no joke to find cows on your front lawn that were a mile away the night before:o
    Eventually had to get the guards to explain the rights to him.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

limo_100 wrote: »
    ya c hes not an easy calving bull i was expecting a decent sized calf. av u used him yet??
    No,
    But I plan to, next year. I would like to hear how others got on with him too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Karen112 wrote: »
    Got myself into awful neighbour bother after I took the gun to his (wife's) dog that was chasing my cows. Had them terrorised for a few weeks until I caught him in the act. It's no joke to find cows on your front lawn that were a mile away the night before:o
    Eventually had to get the guards to explain the rights to him.....

Yep, a visit from the boys in blue often calms the rantiest of ranty panties :pac: That or a letter! If it turns out these belong to who I think they belong to I'm none too worried about neighbourly relations as we're not on good terms anyway! They never lock in their dogs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Yep, a visit from the boys in blue often calms the rantiest of ranty panties :pac: That or a letter! If it turns out these belong to who I think they belong to I'm none too worried about neighbourly relations as we're not on good terms anyway! They never lock in their dogs.
    I can't see why farmers don't report irresponsible dog owners to the county council, the damage dogs do on sheep farms every year is serious, any time that I have done it, it has been sorted pronto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Just spent the last two hours before dark out on a foggy, drizzly and then rainy hill. Got a phone call that there was dogs chasing sheep, grabbed the rifle and off I went after making a couple of calls myself. Found a spot where a sheep had been put into a stream, lots of wool about but no ewe, either she got out herself - unlikely with dogs at the scene, or was removed by someone. Heard dogs barking twice in one spot but could see SFA.

As we all broke up for the night someone discovered the dogs had been out that morning :rolleyes: Why the fcuk people don't lift the phone sooner I'll never know :mad:

Off out at first light to walk the bogs, holes, lakes and streams.

Cattle are work, sheep are a vocation!!

just do it wrote: »
    Cattle are work, sheep are a vocation!!

Best way to meet the neighbours they say :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

ya c hes not an easy calving bull i was expecting a decent sized calf. av u used him yet??
    we have used him hoping for heifers. have got either 4 or 5 bulls so far no heifers but have to say he puts serious cattle. they get great weights at d weanling stage give the calf time he could surprise u

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Anyone going to Elphin on the 14th Nov for the Mc Gee Reduction sale.

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/beefcattle/2672439

Serious looking stock in the pics!

Bizzum wrote: »

I may be.
    This animal made me laugh! http://www.donedeal.ie/donedeal/classifieds/viewFullPhoto.jsp?cid=8532008&ad=2672439

A free, teeny weeny cow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

serious looking cattle indeed, cows seems to have serious muscle, would you be worried about calving some of those cows?

These are the guys that had the Beef open days? They produce the BB weanlings.
    Serious looking cattle. Maybe Legs will go !!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

pakalasa wrote: »
    These are the guys that had the Beef open days? They produce the BB weanlings.
    Serious looking cattle. Maybe Legs will go !!:D
    no wont be going :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,254 ✭✭✭limo_100

we have used him hoping for heifers. have got either 4 or 5 bulls so far no heifers but have to say he puts serious cattle. they get great weights at d weanling stage give the calf time he could surprise u
    bad luck a well u'll get heifers this year. were they born small last year for ya??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

I may be.
    This animal made me laugh! http://www.donedeal.ie/donedeal/classifieds/viewFullPhoto.jsp?cid=8532008&ad=2672439

A free, teeny weeny cow!
    :Dlol. Took me a minute to cop it though

Had a long walk about the hill this morning. Made some rain last night, stream where the wool was, was at least 1 foot higher today. Checked the marsh and all the streams, some lakes and cut away bog holes, saw no sign of anything.

Local Garda was about so dropped into him for a long chat about that and certain people not locking up their dogs.

Waste of a feckin day all in all!

serious looking cattle indeed, cows seems to have serious muscle, would you be worried about calving some of those cows?

Certainly the heifers anyway!
    Anyone on here calving that type of heifer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

They are serious animals alright. But to me i don't think they are suitable for breeding as they have too much muscle. Perhaps I'm wrong. The best looking cows and heifers don't always male the best cows overall. Jusat ask yourself, if they were that good, why would he be selling them? Wouldn't you sell your cull cows and keep these on, or am I missing something?

What are they worth? €2000? They'I go more though if lads go cracked and fall in love with them. Madness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Muckit wrote: »
    They are serious animals alright. But to me i don't think they are suitable for breeding as they have too much muscle. Perhaps I'm wrong. The best looking cows and heifers don't always male the best cows overall.

What are they worth? €2000?

they may be worth a bit more id say, 900kg culls making 1800 :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

bad luck a well u'll get heifers this year. were they born small last year for ya??
    as far as i can remember they were all handy calves not too big or too small and just looked back on records all unassisted calvings. when u say small how small do u mean??

Muckit wrote: »
    They are serious animals alright. But to me i don't think they are suitable for breeding as they have too much muscle. Perhaps I'm wrong. The best looking cows and heifers don't always male the best cows overall. Jusat ask yourself, if they were that good, why would he be selling them? Wouldn't you sell your cull cows and keep these on, or am I missing something?

What are they worth? €2000? They'I go more though if lads go cracked and fall in love with them. Madness

The amount of milk they'd produce would be a concern to me aswell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

they may be worth a bit more id say, 900kg culls making 1800 :eek:

Sold good culls there myself last Wed in bsloe. 836kg limo made €1550. 1800 is mad money!

Anyone else think they have bullish looking heads on them? I never like to see that in heifers. Too much condition too for my liking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

went to mart with 2 br/fr bull calves today got €200 each, price back a bit, nearly all frbull calves there today, not near as many buyers... still happy enough, they where 2 weeks old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

pakalasa wrote: »
    I never like to see that in heifers. Too much condition too for my liking.

got a big surprise today, was callibrating feeders in parlour... they are supposed to give out 1kg per pull... some where giving out 2.2kg:eek: while one was giving out .5kg.... also got my goal tonight have lost 3 stone !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭jerdee

Well done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Good Stuff Whelan. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭mjcom4d

Well done

whelan1 wrote: »
    got a big surprise today, was callibrating feeders in parlour... they are supposed to give out 1kg per pull... some where giving out 2.2kg:eek: while one was giving out .5kg.... also got my goal tonight have lost 3 stone !

Congrats!! :D Tell me your secret, All the walking I do at work and still no change in me!

joined slimming world, theres a lad in our group has lost nearly 12 stone in the last year:eek: