If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

I thought it was 15th Sept. for chemcial fertiliser
    But 15th Oct. for organic fertiliser?

Now - I dont have slurry, so I wouldnt be very certain, just had it in me head that 15th Sept aplied for bag stuff only? :confused:
    thats what i thought too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

whelan1 wrote: »
    got a letter today from the sfp office about an over claim on a bit of land 0.2ha :rolleyes: just wondering will this slow my das payment and my sfp initial payment fook it anyway, got a letter about a month ago looking for my farmyard and sent that straight back
    Louth women:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

I thought it was 15th Sept. for chemcial fertiliser
    But 15th Oct. for organic fertiliser?

Now - I dont have slurry, so I wouldnt be very certain, just had it in me head that 15th Sept aplied for bag stuff only? :confused:

thought it was 14 th Sep for Reps ,

must check with my planner to find out for sure , could be wrong of course wouldn't be the the first time

lovely morning here spreading to day in any case , it wont grow much in the storage tanks

BTW the 15th is the first day of closed season 14th is last day for spreading most ppl get this wrong

I know FYM is October

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

snowman707 wrote: »
    thought it was 14 th Sep for Reps ,

must check with my planner to find out for sure , could be wrong of course wouldn't be the the first time

lovely morning here spreading to day in any case , it wont grow much in the storage tanks

BTW the 15th is the first day of closed season 14th is last day for spreading most ppl get this wrong

I know FYM is October

Re closing dates & REPS - see page 80 in link below
    http://www.agriculture.gov.ie/media/migration/farmingschemesandpayments/ruralenvironmentprotectionschemereps/ruralenvironmentprotectionschemereps/latestrepsschemereps4/REPS4FamersHandbook_LowRes.pdf

It states prohibited times start
    Chemical Fertiliser - 15th Sept
    Organic Fertilisers - 15stOct
    Farmyard Manure - 1st Nov

Altho now I read it again, it does clearly state 15th is the first prohibited day. I didnt cop that when I read it last time...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

We got slurry out on some ground about two weeks ago, well blackened..
    I was going through grazing rota in my head (not that we're too fancy here) and wondered how long do you wait.. We usually wait until no sign of slurry at all, my neighbor spreads with the cattle on the field, reckons they'll eat the headlands until the grass is ready and they know best?

quick question for a friend, do you need to be in reps- or similar- to get the sheep premium thingy? thanks

bbam wrote: »
    We got slurry out on some ground about two weeks ago, well blackened..
    I was going through grazing rota in my head (not that we're too fancy here) and wondered how long do you wait.. We usually wait until no sign of slurry at all, my neighbor spreads with the cattle on the field, reckons they'll eat the headlands until the grass is ready and they know best?
    i put out slurry in the spring and it was over 3 weeks before the cows would eat the grass:o i suppose if it got plenty of rain it should be well washed in by now... be careful with slurry ground and suckler cows at this time of year tetany can be a problem

. be careful with slurry ground and suckler cows at this time of year tetany can be a problem

not for us :D
    Not a cow round the place since last December... happy out

Was always told that salmonella was a risk... just not sure how long the risk is there for

well i wouldnt be spreading it with the animals on it anyways, its amazing how some people get away with some things

Re closing dates & REPS - see page 80 in link below
    http://www.agriculture.gov.ie/media/migration/farmingschemesandpayments/ruralenvironmentprotectionschemereps/ruralenvironmentprotectionschemereps/latestrepsschemereps4/REPS4FamersHandbook_LowRes.pdf

It states prohibited times start
    Chemical Fertiliser - 15th Sept
    Organic Fertilisers - 15stOct
    Farmyard Manure - 1st Nov

Altho now I read it again, it does clearly state 15th is the first prohibited day. I didnt cop that when I read it last time...

Thanks John,

Don't know how I got it into my head that reps was september, just shows how much I've studied the handbook:rolleyes::rolleyes:

all spread for now ,but if conditions allow we will empty again before the deadline, will give us a little lee way for the spring

quick question for a friend, do you need to be in reps- or similar- to get the sheep premium thingy? thanks
    No, i think its automatic once they send off the census in december and have an application in for SFP

don't think you have to be in reps, but you must have returned the census

on second thoughts better get a second opinion, I seem to be getting a lot of things wrong 2 day :o:o

http://www.daftlogic.com/projects-google-maps-area-calculator-tool.htm

Got e-mailed this earlier
    Handy enough, seems accurate enough..

Probably posted before but thought i'd post anyway..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Cran

snowman707 wrote: »
    don't think you have to be in reps, but you must have returned the census

on second thoughts better get a second opinion, I seem to be getting a lot of things wrong 2 day :o:o

SFP and census thats all required. a note on the census, its a lot more important than people believe. The census marks you down with the department as an active sheep farmer, if they don't have it on record you can't order dispatch dockets or get the sheep premium. Had a problem last year with one of the flock numbers I manage for the auld lads, lucky had taken a copy before sending it back...

this person doesnt get a sfp but has over 200 ewes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

First calf off the new Charolais Stock Bull last night. Cow threw him out herself, yet he was a good size. Bit€h went mad, could only go into the field on the quad, even then she tried to gore me. She's the only mad cow I have. (Note to self - mark her for culling).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

reilig wrote: »
    First calf off the new Charolais Stock Bull last night. Cow threw him out herself, yet he was a good size. Bit€h went mad, could only go into the field on the quad, even then she tried to gore me. She's the only mad cow I have. (Note to self - mark her for culling).

How do you like the new bull? What his breeding Reilig?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,034 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

Spent this morning untangling sheep from some old barbed wire some to**er dumped on my bit of road frontage. A rotten sore job it was too:mad:

We're toying with the idea of moving the drinkers in the slatted shed..
    It's 3 bays and we're looking at mounting the drinkers onto the outside of the rsj that divides each bay.. 2 Drinkers between 3 bays is the idea..

Has anyone seen this done??
    Apart from the danger of catching with the tractor it seems like a good place..

I feel bad to be looking at winter prep jobs but they have to be done, put up a new sensor light in the yard for the fast approaching dark mornings/evenings :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

i blanket spread the whole farm with a bag of can today-hard to believe another year is past us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

bbam wrote: »
    We're toying with the idea of moving the drinkers in the slatted shed..
    It's 3 bays and we're looking at mounting the drinkers onto the outside of the rsj that divides each bay.. 2 Drinkers between 3 bays is the idea..

Has anyone seen this done??
    Apart from the danger of catching with the tractor it seems like a good place..

I feel bad to be looking at winter prep jobs but they have to be done, put up a new sensor light in the yard for the fast approaching dark mornings/evenings :(
    We have them an the outside on some pens. Thinking of moving them in.
    Problems with over spill when cattle drinking.

Fcuk it anyway. Scanned yesterday. 35% of cows empty. Some bulled in may twice and no heat since. All perfectly clean and no cysts. And yesterday and this morning about 8 or 9 bulling (due to handling?). A fair few late calvers there too so skewing the figures a bit but cows in great condition and 3 sets of twins so dont think lack of feed an issue.
    But nearly 30 heifers in calf, only 3 ones not. The 3 not were the biggest, go figure, and the smallest ones calving earliest.(Better not tell jack-in the-journal:))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 733 ✭✭✭jeff greene

5live wrote: »
    Fcuk it anyway. Scanned yesterday. 35% of cows empty. Some bulled in may twice and no heat since. All perfectly clean and no cysts. And yesterday and this morning about 8 or 9 bulling (due to handling?). A fair few late calvers there too so skewing the figures a bit but cows in great condition and 3 sets of twins so dont think lack of feed an issue.
    But nearly 30 heifers in calf, only 3 ones not. The 3 not were the biggest, go figure, and the smallest ones calving earliest.(Better not tell jack-in the-journal:))

Feck it anyway, is right! Are you vaccinating for lepto, bvd, ibr etc? I suppose get tests done. Sorry to hear that, very disappointing especially as you didn't expect it. I scanned last week, 9 out of 72. 2 were late calvers and 2 I didn't bull as they're for the road. Never had a breakdown after scanning either. Similar here for the last two years, my biggest heifer was empty:confused: but got her for the following autumn.

Something must be up. How are soilds, yields, dungs? Whats your plan now with the empty ones?

what are you going to do ? milk them on?

No:eek:. No no no. I will dry off just before christmas. Wouldnt be able to milk through the winter, tbh. Anyway, kids are little so want to spend some time at home over the holidays. There are a few i will want to keep, younger and high ebi ones:o but there are about 15 going to the mart. Dont know if i should dry them off first but i am under quota so i will hang in as long as possible with the best of them. The rest i will keep and rum with the bull next year. If they hold, great, if not then in good condition around now to move on.

Assuming the DVO give me my cards back:(

As for vaccines, they just get lepto, Jeff. I used do BVD but stopped buying in and reckoned the risk was small in a closed herd. Really really looking forward to joining the eradication programme next spring though. I have never had a problem with IBR that i know of but i suppose a blood test of 7 or 8 will help show something up i hope.

The annoying thing is most of the pregnancies are in the first 10 weeks, then practically nothing. I may be looking at a sub-fertile bull too but the fact that absolutely no heats showed for a lot of them (and up to 12 showing heat now since yesterday:mad:) is leaving me puzzled. Once 7 weeks post bulling is gone, i assume most are pregnant. Crap:(

what about minerals?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Sorry to hear that, Thats rough, bvd would be my suspect, the bull could be only part of the problem. Did the early ones hold to ai? You are lucky to have the heifers coming on.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

what about minerals?
    Did all the cows in april with a multi trace bolus and copper bolus but if it was enough, i just dont know. But it was a multi trace more than last year:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 NedTheBull

Havnt been on this is so long i forgot the password to my account:(
    Just came on to ask if the one i saw in ballina mart is the new manager? Seen her down the yard on monday at the show sale. Anyone know? Or was she drafted in for help on the big day?

blue5000 wrote: »
    Sorry to hear that, Thats rough, bvd would be my suspect, the bull could be only part of the problem. Did the early ones hold to ai? You are lucky to have the heifers coming on.
    Earlies held well. The first 10 weeks were super. But only a handful from 10 weeks to 4 weeks in calf, 5 i think. I dont have much scour problems or pneumonia problems like the last time i had a BVD outbreak so i'm not too worried about that. Now IBR is something i have been suspicious about for a while though.

I was talking to my vet while ago and he said to drop a milk sample in on monday morning and they will send it off and see the results. The sample will definately have a high BVD reading as a lot of the girls there for that outbreak are still around so that will rise the levels iirc.

I will drop it off on the way to the ploughing and not worry for a few days seeing as there is nothing more i can do for now. Except see if i can sell a few cows:mad: