If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

thats what I was thinking. If I had the shed space to take them I would have bid

A good gamble. You might have cattle for life though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

back from carnaross. pen of 11 jersey cross bulls, 230 kg. couldnt be sold at 120 a head:eek:

surely they were worth a punt at that

jersey's for free sometimes arent worth a punt. dont think I have ever bought a jersey. maybe thats where im going wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭Good loser

back from carnaross. pen of 11 jersey cross bulls, 230 kg. couldnt be sold at 120 a head:eek:

They're definitely value.

Jerseys can fatten quite young.

Made a killing on a Jersey once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

i wonder had some one bought them earlier in the year for more? jeez looking at that i did well with my friesian bull weanling in ardee, got 300 for him january born, put him in calf sale

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Black Smoke

whelan1 wrote: »

i wonder had some one bought them earlier in the year for more? jeez looking at that i did well with my friesian bull weanling in ardee, got 300 for him january born, put him in calf sale

Fella near me, specialises in hanging around weanling sales, and picking up the lightest and poorest animals. Week later the same animals show up in the runner sale, and on average make a nice profit. Most expensive animals in the mart are runners!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Jeez i got 550 last year for a 4 month old friesian bull but he was alovely looking lad.

td5man wrote: »
    Jeez i got 550 last year for a 4 month old friesian bull but he was alovely looking lad.
    that was last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

td5man wrote: »

guys got that for animals only 3 months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Charlie Charolais

^^^
    lads, what's a runner sale?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Fella near me, specialises in hanging around weanling sales, and picking up the lightest and poorest animals. Week later the same animals show up in the runner sale, and on average make a nice profit. Most expensive animals in the mart are runners!!
    There is a huge difference between the two rings from what I have seen, all my neighbours are bringing their calves to the runner ring now. Be nice if they gave you a print out of the weight.
    ^^^

Go to Ennis and you will know what it is!! Its a sucky calf sale....but 95% of the sucky calves are between 250-350 kilos because you dont have to enter them for the mart in advance and if you get a late pen in ennis you may as well stay at home in my honest opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

just do it wrote: »
    I got the measuring tape out this evening and can say that cows can reach silage upto 45 inches away from feed barrier. So for a 4ft bale to last 3 days you want to drop it 16inches inside this i.e. 29inches away from barrier. And then, needles to say, you push it in 16inches each day.

That's how we do it - except these days we are making a 4ft bale last 4 days by filling the gap inbetween with straw on alternative mornings/evenings. We're feeding 1 bale of straw with every 3 bales of silage to dry cows that have sufficient body condition scores.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

anyone know whats the story with all the " we export the following diggers" adds on dondeal every day,last couple of weeks there are load of them every day.. there must a be a shortage of scrap hitachi's in some part of the world is there??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

anyone know whats the story with all the " we export the following diggers" adds on dondeal every day,last couple of weeks there are load of them every day.. there must a be a shortage of scrap hitachi's in some part of the world is there??

Scrap metal has had an increase in price recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

There's a programme on at the moment on MTV about lads who just shoot those calves and throw them in a drain. It's called Jersey Shore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Quick question here everyone (Can't be bothered making a new thread for it!), what is an Undersown spray, and how does it differ in terms of application etc from other sprays?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Muckit wrote: »
    There's a programme on at the moment on MTV about lads who just shoot those calves and throw them in a drain. It's called Jersey Shore.
    Jeez, the woman tells me to shut up and/or feck off out the door when "jersey shore" is coming on. I never realised she was into that kinda reality TV......
    In fairness, it'd be as entertaining as the real show.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

Timmaay wrote: »
    Quick question here everyone (Can't be bothered making a new thread for it!), what is an Undersown spray, and how does it differ in terms of application etc from other sprays?

If you were to use a selective herbicide in cereals, with the aim of keeping clover- but nuking other broadleaved weeds (for example), it would be known as an undersown spray. Application would be (once again for example) at 2-3 leaf stage in the cereal, but before jointing. There was a thread in this forum about it before (getting rid of ferns- difference context, same idea).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

^^^

A runner is a calf suckler calf on or just off the cow. A runner sale is a weanling sale.

Bizzum wrote: »
    A runner is a calf suckler calf on or just off the cow. A runner sale is a weanling sale.
    i thought if you where in the suckler scheme you could not sell a weanling as a runner?

You cant sell a runner straight off a cow if you're in the SCWS, but lads still call them runners!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Black Smoke

Bizzum wrote: »
    You cant sell a runner straight off a cow if you're in the SCWS, but lads still call them runners!

Huge percentage of weanlings still being presented in the marts, just off the cow, even when in the SCWS! It's a joke, and I can't understand how buyers put up with it:confused:

Yeah, calves being weaned "on paper". I suppose old habits die hard. We forward graze the weanlings onto a field of nice grass/ creep feed and they get used to being away from the cows so are easier weaned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Is it just me or has it been much much quieter on here recently?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

I thought it was much quieter too. Maybe everybody just busy. I know I have been chasing my tail for the last month but on top of things now.

Reading a tb test tomorrow is the last of the panic. Herding today I noticed no lumps so fingers crossed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Tipp Man wrote: »
    Ya I think there was a lull there a few weeks ago too , but there is still better reading here than the journal or independant :D

Reading a tb test tomorrow is the last of the panic. Herding today I noticed no lumps so fingers crossed.[/QUOTE]

Good luck with it, it's like waiting for the leaving cert results, but every year!

I noticed that too,
    I'm here a bit more this week after a busy summer, the cattle went into the shed on Tuesday!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,961 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Noticed too, an awful lot of lookers on with a few contributors. If you look on the bottom of the main page when you are signed in you'll see something like 4 or 5 members and 50 viewers. Often wondered who they are.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    Noticed too, an awful lot of lookers on with a few contributors. If you look on the bottom of the main page when you are signed in you'll see something like 4 or 5 members and 50 viewers. Often wondered who they are.

I often browse without logging in, and then log in if I've something to say! Quite enough lately too I thought, though I've noticed a few new lads aswell posting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Just dipped below 2 degrees here..
    Looks like a frosty night in store....

I'd rather frost at this stage than the relentless rain... had a shower of hail today in the middle of a downpour :mad: