Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

upc users

• 11-02-2011 1:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭

Mods i am posting this here as it has to do with online gaming .

For those who are with upc i need to ask a favour .

My broadband provider is a small company with about 5,000 customers , the quality of their broadband is top notch (anyone who has been in my room will agree). The one problem is if you are with upc you will only have 1.2 bars to me as you go to the States before you come back to me. My provider has written many e-mails asking upc to peer with them but so far upc have failed to comply.

The favour i'm asking is that you a upc customer , e-mail a complaint to upc asking them why they wont peer to bbnet (munster broadband) as it is effecting your online gaming .

Thanks.

see http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056099653

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

I don't have UPC but if I get it I'll sent them a mail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,540 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Good luck with that Shammy! :)

My experience with ISPs has been nothing but hearbreak... I've only one choice and that's Errorcom. They'll be prising the controller out of my cold, dead hand before I get to see NGB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

I done what ya said, on the other thread, tested my speed test with the Limerick server and this is what I got.

1152862791.png

Compared to Dublin

1152865929.png

*Note, my ping isn't normally at 75, its normally at around 25-35 I'm currently loading a youtube video.. but to get 225 to the Limerick Server is disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

Balfie wrote: »
    I done what ya said, on the other thread, tested my speed test with the Limerick server and this is what I got.

1152862791.png

Compared to Dublin

1152865929.png

*Note, my ping isn't normally at 75, its normally at around 25-35 I'm currently loading a youtube video.. but to get 225 to the Limerick Server is disgusting.

Its disgraceful , i'm hoping if upc get a good few e-mail complaints then they will agree to peer.

This is what I got off the Cork Server

1152873538.png

And Galway

1152875215.png

I'm afraid to try any more to be honest... Haha

Dubland.

1152926406.png

You got the 100meg BB??? Well Jealous!!!

I wish! Thats definitely an error. :P

More like this

1152939829.png

Haha I was looking into getting the 100meg, 85 euro a month, I'd love that if I could get it.. Downloads youtube videos in less than a second.. haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭docdolittle

1153129922.png

1153131463.png

Wow, that sucks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Hey, have you tried contacting the UPC rep on boards? Might get a better response. No harm in trying. UPC:JASON

Jet Black wrote: »
    Hey, have you tried contacting the UPC rep on boards? Might get a better response. No harm in trying. UPC:JASON

The best option is sending a complaint in by e-mail , the more complaints they receive the more chance something can be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Aright. I've sent a complaint nyway and there was a survey on the site when I logged in so I said the same again. Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

Can you give me an ip address on your network and I will check the routing?

It would be highly unlikely that UPC would route to us then back.

Who is your broadband provider pairing with?

See the link in the first post , follow that thread , there are tracert results on it.
    Also you will see the peering matrix and see how little upc have peered with other companies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

Sent an email there tonight . No response although it's late on a Friday so expected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭tommy_irish23

sent an email also last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

I have eircom ngb which generally works fine. Was playing on my bros' console this weekend and he has UPC. The lag was awful in comparison imo. Maybe cos I was getting picked as host but there was a noticeable difference.

I would say thats the ip flood detection. Had a huge impact on mine. Also make sure he's not using bittorrent at the same time as that destroys cod!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

upcj.jpg

The problem is basically down to UPC's strict peering policy, they don't peer with single-homed ISP's, which MunsterBB are.

They have their wires crossed here. BBnet don't want to provide them transit to the Internet, nor do they want to get internet access from them. If anything bbnet just want to exchange routes so that bbnet customers and upc customers can get a better service.
    What has a dual homed internet connection requirement go to do with that. They don't know what they are talking about.

has anyone gotten any sort of reply from this ? i didnt even get the usual response of email recieved going to blah blah blah to be looked by blah blah

I would suggest BBNET log a call with inex.

from the letter above UPC are willing to prepare via inex but not directly.

the inex matrix shows that BBNET is a member of inex and so us upc but they're nor pairing, this could be due to advertisements on either network (stated at the bottom of the inex matrix page (https://www.inex.ie/technical/peeringmatrix)

it also suggest that because both providers are members of inex the capability is there to peer but could be something like a BGP password sharing issue or general fault.

I think due to the fact that you're residential customers and MBB/BBNET are residential only that the end user will have a hard time convincing them to change.

My suggestion here would be if anyone has a large corporate account with UPC to log a call stating that shammy is a home business user and is experiencing extremem latency issues due to the routing tables due to a peering fault at inex whereby subnets are not being directly advertised between network.

I've sent a mail to my SPs to see if there's any contacts they might have that might be able to assist in escelating this problem but again i don't expect to get anywhere.

This problem really is between MBB/BBNET and UPC so its up to them to fight it out. All we can really do is to make noise.

Shammy wrote: »
    They have their wires crossed here. BBnet don't want to provide them transit to the Internet, nor do they want to get internet access from them. If anything bbnet just want to exchange routes so that bbnet customers and upc customers can get a better service.
    What has a dual homed internet connection requirement go to do with that. They don't know what they are talking about.

My understanding of the situation is this:

• MunsterBB have a single-homed connection to the internet via wholesale provider Cogentco. Cogentco dictate the routing over their circuit.
    • MunsterBB are part of BBNet, this allows them to piggyback on any peering arrangements BBnet have through INEX.
    • Although both BBnet & UPC are members of INEX, but they do not peer with each other.
    • Feedback from INEX tells me that UPC have a very strict peering policy, they only peer with providers who have dual-homed link to the internet, this is what UPC say in the letter.
    • BBnet peer with Digiweb & Eircom (among others), through INEX, but UPC refuse to peer with them unless they take out a second internet circuit through another provider.

Where to from here? I'm not sure how much more us end-users can do unfortunately.

I would suggest BBNET log a call with inex.

from the letter above UPC are willing to prepare via inex but not directly.

the inex matrix shows that BBNET is a member of inex and so us upc but they're nor pairing, this could be due to advertisements on either network (stated at the bottom of the inex matrix page (https://www.inex.ie/technical/peeringmatrix)

it also suggest that because both providers are members of inex the capability is there to peer but could be something like a BGP password sharing issue or general fault.

I think due to the fact that you're residential customers and MBB/BBNET are residential only that the end user will have a hard time convincing them to change.

My suggestion here would be if anyone has a large corporate account with UPC to log a call stating that shammy is a home business user and is experiencing extremem latency issues due to the routing tables due to a peering fault at inex whereby subnets are not being directly advertised between network.

I've sent a mail to my SPs to see if there's any contacts they might have that might be able to assist in escelating this problem but again i don't expect to get anywhere.

This problem really is between MBB/BBNET and UPC so its up to them to fight it out. All we can really do is to make noise.

INEX can't tell UPC what do to, they simply facilitate peering for companies who want to do it, UPC's peering policy means they won't peer with MunsterBB.

no but they may be able to initiate discussion between the two.

the ins and outs of what UPCs answr is that they're saying 'these boys aren't big enough to play in our playground'

Enigma IE wrote: »
    Where to from here? I'm not sure how much more us end-users can do unfortunately.

I think your right , you have done all in your power and basically upc has a strict peering policy. Like i said before bbnet is made up of 3 companies with a customer base of 5,000 , which is growing. In an online gaming sense as you know yourself , if upc users are in a lobby with a bbnet customer then the chance of a upc host is rare, meaning like the other night upc customers have a huge latenacy problem.

the ins and outs of what UPCs answr is that they're saying 'these boys aren't big enough to play in our playground'

Pretty much sums it up .

There is nothing in it for UPC unless MunsterBB buy one of their circuits. The commercial reality unfortunately.

Or the flip side of the coin , danger is switching from upc for munster broadband ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭hightower1

if upc users are in a lobby with a bbnet customer then the chance of a upc host is rare .

Thats not really the case. If a lobby is made up of 10 people - 1 from BBnet and 1 from UPC and the game will look at who has the best connection to everyonelse. For theroies sake say the game only has a choice of the bbnet user or the UPC user then it wont care if they dont have a good connection to each other as thats only 1 out of a possible 8 to test.

If the upc user has a better connection to the other 8 folks than the bbnet user then it will pick him as host and then bump the bbnet user off to another lobby. The situation would happen vice versa if the bbnet user had a better average connection to the remaining 8 but in fairness with the size of bbnet vs UPC in all reality the UPC user would have a better connection most of the time.

The only realistic time where a bbnet user would be picked as host over a UPC user is when the majority of the lobby had better ping to bbnet than upc network , based on the sheer size of networks alone then it looks like bbnet users are fresh out of luck? :o

Or the flip side of the coin , danger is switching from upc for munster broadband ;)

Do they do TV and landline also? If so, I'm there !

hightower1 wrote: »
    Thats not really the case. If a lobby is made up of 10 people - 1 from BBnet and 1 from UPC and the game will look at who has the best connection to everyonelse. For theroies sake say the game only has a choice of the bbnet user or the UPC user then it wont care if they dont have a good connection to each other as thats only 1 out of a possible 8 to test.

If the upc user has a better connection to the other 8 folks than the bbnet user then it will pick him as host and then bump the bbnet user off to another lobby. The situation would happen vice versa if the bbnet user had a better average connection to the remaining 8 but in fairness with the size of bbnet vs UPC in all reality the UPC user would have a better connection most of the time.

The only realistic time where a bbnet user would be picked as host over a UPC user is when the majority of the lobby had better ping to bbnet than upc network , based on the sheer size of networks alone then it looks like bbnet users are fresh out of luck? :o

Actually your wrong , bbnet users have a better quality broadband , lower ping rates and a much better connection to other providers , with the exception of upc , (see peering matrix).
    Like the other night with a party of 6 , 4 of whom were upc customers but yet i was host . And the same goes for any other upc customers that i've played with , they dont get to host.

Do they do TV and landline also? If so, I'm there !

Ha ha no they dont but magnet do and there is some sort of partnership there , meaning we are only 2 hops from magnet users :)

Actually your wrong , bbnet users have a better quality broadband , lower ping rates and a much better connection to other providers , with the exception of upc , (see peering matrix).
    Like the other night with a party of 6 , 4 of whom were upc customers but yet i was host . And the same goes for any other upc customers that i've played with , they dont get to host.
    being a regular member of your lobbies i can (unfortunately :( ) vouch for that you do often get to host . well more than i do despite my 25/30 meg connection :/

sierra117x wrote: »
    being a regular member of your lobbies i can (unfortunately :( ) vouch for that you do often get to host . well more than i do despite my 25/30 meg connection :/

Same for me !!

note to self, block shammy.... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭docdolittle

Thats a shame-my...
    Dam.. that didn't quite work...
    /I'll get my coat :o

Thats odd? When I was back on the 30mb connection I was host a good bit and my pings were always pretty low. On the 100mb now and pings are still really low , looking at about 15 ms to google and was being picked as host even more ....when I was playing mw2 that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭FunkDrummer

I'll send them an email too man, I feel your pain, I only just moved to Dub from Limerick, so I know how irksome it can be. There is nothing worse than connectivity issues affecting gametime!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

Fair play to ya man for trying to get it sorted,unfortunately have friends that used to work with upc and before that ntl and with all the ****e that they get complaints about ,gamers are at the bottom of the list.I've heard some truly shocking stories over the yearswhich I won't repeat.
    I used to live in a city where I had a 30mb upc connection but constantly had disconnections and bad lag when playing online.Yet I could download a movie in less than 30 seconds.We moved to the country about 6 months ago and when we got broadband in was totally disgusted that the line could only carry qa 2mb connection.was petrified that wouldn't be able to play online caus of the troubles I had with the 30mb,but surprised as I was the connection is actually better(cause of the ping which I only learned of from the wife after we moved).
    My advice wpuld be to people to cancel their upc connection altogether and find an alternative cause thats the only way that they'll actually do anything about the poor connection and their setup.The connection speeds sound great but the reality is that its a piss poor service.They're rolling out a 100mb fibre optic connectiona t the moment and by what I've heard it will interfere with every bit of upc equiptmnet that exists but they're hoping that the problem will resolve itself.
    And by the way if any of ye fancy a few games of black ops add me,kinda caught up in rb3 at moment as the wife finally managed to get me the keyboard for my birthday but when get back to it would love to play with a decent team instead of randomers.

Meatwad wrote: »
    Fair play to ya man for trying to get it sorted,unfortunately have friends that used to work with upc and before that ntl and with all the ****e that they get complaints about ,gamers are at the bottom of the list.I've heard some truly shocking stories over the yearswhich I won't repeat.
    I used to live in a city where I had a 30mb upc connection but constantly had disconnections and bad lag when playing online.Yet I could download a movie in less than 30 seconds.We moved to the country about 6 months ago and when we got broadband in was totally disgusted that the line could only carry qa 2mb connection.was petrified that wouldn't be able to play online caus of the troubles I had with the 30mb,but surprised as I was the connection is actually better(cause of the ping which I only learned of from the wife after we moved).
    My advice wpuld be to people to cancel their upc connection altogether and find an alternative cause thats the only way that they'll actually do anything about the poor connection and their setup.The connection speeds sound great but the reality is that its a piss poor service.They're rolling out a 100mb fibre optic connectiona t the moment and by what I've heard it will interfere with every bit of upc equiptmnet that exists but they're hoping that the problem will resolve itself.
    And by the way if any of ye fancy a few games of black ops add me,kinda caught up in rb3 at moment as the wife finally managed to get me the keyboard for my birthday but when get back to it would love to play with a decent team instead of randomers.
    I would have to argue that 100%, i've a UPC 20Mb connection, very rarely have lag and have excellent connection speeds.

9/10 times u have 3 or 4 bars connection in blops without issue.

the 100mb fibre won't have any affect on their current infrastructure.

I agree that UPC does have strict peering policies that are a pain in the h0le but in comparison to the rest of the copper and wireless networks in the country UPC generally provide the best broadband in the country at the most competitive rates.

i think you have been very misinformed there. (apart from the ping being better)

Thats odd? When I was back on the 30mb connection I was host a good bit and my pings were always pretty low. On the 100mb now and pings are still really low , looking at about 15 ms to google and was being picked as host even more ....when I was playing mw2 that is.

I thought you were in Limerick no ?

According to this thread http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056114508 its only available in dublin. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

I would have to argue that 100%, i've a UPC 20Mb connection, very rarely have lag and have excellent connection speeds.

9/10 times u have 3 or 4 bars connection in blops without issue.

the 100mb fibre won't have any affect on their current infrastructure.

I agree that UPC does have strict peering policies that are a pain in the h0le but in comparison to the rest of the copper and wireless networks in the country UPC generally provide the best broadband in the country at the most competitive rates.

i think you have been very misinformed there. (apart from the ping being better)

Being honest ,i'm completely clueless about all the technical issues,so all I can speak from is experience. Other people that were living in the same area as myself constantly complained about the upc internet connection on the waterford thread.Its possible that it was just the area but even so,I was paying the same as anyone else so should have gotten the same service.6 months after moving I've heard that the issues haven't been resolved.
    With the earlier post I was merely pointing out from my own experience that I actually had less problems with a 2mb connection after leaving upc. with upc the connection was constantly dropping and disconnecting(wasn't wireless router as xbox was connected to modem and also had guy look into the dynamic ip thing),neighbours also reported same problems on pcs.

I thought you were in Limerick no ?

According to this thread http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056114508 its only available in dublin. :confused:

I am indeed, its commercially available in Dub but they select some customers for testing the other areas on 100mb which I applied for. Lim and Cork I believe are the testing grounds right now. :D

yeah it is low in fairness usually shows up at around 20-25 ms and the connection speed while fast is more importantly steady but soon as i try and connect to shammy the pings go mile high . in fairness ive had some of my best game son the 2 bar connected to shammy....think i just lag out of the way of their bullets :p

anyone hear back on this?

im starting to feel bad for Shammy as i played last night i only got 3 bars of signal and i nearly freaked :D:D

no no no son dont feel bad for him he normally hosts and its upc lads on the 2 bar

UPC won't peer with MunsterBB, that's it I'm afraid. As Sierra says, Shammy is selected as host more often that not, as his connections is excellent, it's us UPC customers that suffer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

UPC won't peer with MunsterBB, that's it I'm afraid. As Sierra says, Shammy is selected as host more often that not, as his connections is excellent, it's us UPC customers that suffer.

Dam you UPC !!!!

AnneFrank wrote: »
    Dam you UPC !!!!
    sure what are you complaining about you hardly every play these days.....sometimes i miss you so much it hurts :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭claiva

sure what are you complaining about you hardly every play these days.....sometimes i miss you so much it hurts :(

I'll hurt ya tonite ya little tease ye !!!

With my Ghost Pro + Commando combo that is !!!