Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

upc users

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

Enigma IE wrote: »
    Do they do TV and landline also? If so, I'm there !

Ha ha no they dont but magnet do and there is some sort of partnership there , meaning we are only 2 hops from magnet users :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

Shammy wrote: »
    Actually your wrong , bbnet users have a better quality broadband , lower ping rates and a much better connection to other providers , with the exception of upc , (see peering matrix).
    Like the other night with a party of 6 , 4 of whom were upc customers but yet i was host . And the same goes for any other upc customers that i've played with , they dont get to host.
    being a regular member of your lobbies i can (unfortunately :( ) vouch for that you do often get to host . well more than i do despite my 25/30 meg connection :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

sierra117x wrote: »
    being a regular member of your lobbies i can (unfortunately :( ) vouch for that you do often get to host . well more than i do despite my 25/30 meg connection :/

Same for me !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

Same for me !!
    note to self, block shammy.... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭docdolittle

Thats a shame-my...
    Dam.. that didn't quite work...
    /I'll get my coat :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭hightower1

Actually your wrong , bbnet users have a better quality broadband , lower ping rates and a much better connection to other providers , with the exception of upc , (see peering matrix).
    Like the other night with a party of 6 , 4 of whom were upc customers but yet i was host . And the same goes for any other upc customers that i've played with , they dont get to host.

Thats odd? When I was back on the 30mb connection I was host a good bit and my pings were always pretty low. On the 100mb now and pings are still really low , looking at about 15 ms to google and was being picked as host even more ....when I was playing mw2 that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭FunkDrummer

I'll send them an email too man, I feel your pain, I only just moved to Dub from Limerick, so I know how irksome it can be. There is nothing worse than connectivity issues affecting gametime!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

Fair play to ya man for trying to get it sorted,unfortunately have friends that used to work with upc and before that ntl and with all the ****e that they get complaints about ,gamers are at the bottom of the list.I've heard some truly shocking stories over the yearswhich I won't repeat.
    I used to live in a city where I had a 30mb upc connection but constantly had disconnections and bad lag when playing online.Yet I could download a movie in less than 30 seconds.We moved to the country about 6 months ago and when we got broadband in was totally disgusted that the line could only carry qa 2mb connection.was petrified that wouldn't be able to play online caus of the troubles I had with the 30mb,but surprised as I was the connection is actually better(cause of the ping which I only learned of from the wife after we moved).
    My advice wpuld be to people to cancel their upc connection altogether and find an alternative cause thats the only way that they'll actually do anything about the poor connection and their setup.The connection speeds sound great but the reality is that its a piss poor service.They're rolling out a 100mb fibre optic connectiona t the moment and by what I've heard it will interfere with every bit of upc equiptmnet that exists but they're hoping that the problem will resolve itself.
    And by the way if any of ye fancy a few games of black ops add me,kinda caught up in rb3 at moment as the wife finally managed to get me the keyboard for my birthday but when get back to it would love to play with a decent team instead of randomers.

Meatwad wrote: »
    Fair play to ya man for trying to get it sorted,unfortunately have friends that used to work with upc and before that ntl and with all the ****e that they get complaints about ,gamers are at the bottom of the list.I've heard some truly shocking stories over the yearswhich I won't repeat.
    I used to live in a city where I had a 30mb upc connection but constantly had disconnections and bad lag when playing online.Yet I could download a movie in less than 30 seconds.We moved to the country about 6 months ago and when we got broadband in was totally disgusted that the line could only carry qa 2mb connection.was petrified that wouldn't be able to play online caus of the troubles I had with the 30mb,but surprised as I was the connection is actually better(cause of the ping which I only learned of from the wife after we moved).
    My advice wpuld be to people to cancel their upc connection altogether and find an alternative cause thats the only way that they'll actually do anything about the poor connection and their setup.The connection speeds sound great but the reality is that its a piss poor service.They're rolling out a 100mb fibre optic connectiona t the moment and by what I've heard it will interfere with every bit of upc equiptmnet that exists but they're hoping that the problem will resolve itself.
    And by the way if any of ye fancy a few games of black ops add me,kinda caught up in rb3 at moment as the wife finally managed to get me the keyboard for my birthday but when get back to it would love to play with a decent team instead of randomers.
    I would have to argue that 100%, i've a UPC 20Mb connection, very rarely have lag and have excellent connection speeds.

9/10 times u have 3 or 4 bars connection in blops without issue.

the 100mb fibre won't have any affect on their current infrastructure.

I agree that UPC does have strict peering policies that are a pain in the h0le but in comparison to the rest of the copper and wireless networks in the country UPC generally provide the best broadband in the country at the most competitive rates.

i think you have been very misinformed there. (apart from the ping being better)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

hightower1 wrote: »
    Thats odd? When I was back on the 30mb connection I was host a good bit and my pings were always pretty low. On the 100mb now and pings are still really low , looking at about 15 ms to google and was being picked as host even more ....when I was playing mw2 that is.

I thought you were in Limerick no ?

According to this thread http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056114508 its only available in dublin. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

I would have to argue that 100%, i've a UPC 20Mb connection, very rarely have lag and have excellent connection speeds.

9/10 times u have 3 or 4 bars connection in blops without issue.

the 100mb fibre won't have any affect on their current infrastructure.

I agree that UPC does have strict peering policies that are a pain in the h0le but in comparison to the rest of the copper and wireless networks in the country UPC generally provide the best broadband in the country at the most competitive rates.

i think you have been very misinformed there. (apart from the ping being better)

Being honest ,i'm completely clueless about all the technical issues,so all I can speak from is experience. Other people that were living in the same area as myself constantly complained about the upc internet connection on the waterford thread.Its possible that it was just the area but even so,I was paying the same as anyone else so should have gotten the same service.6 months after moving I've heard that the issues haven't been resolved.
    With the earlier post I was merely pointing out from my own experience that I actually had less problems with a 2mb connection after leaving upc. with upc the connection was constantly dropping and disconnecting(wasn't wireless router as xbox was connected to modem and also had guy look into the dynamic ip thing),neighbours also reported same problems on pcs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭hightower1

I thought you were in Limerick no ?

According to this thread http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056114508 its only available in dublin. :confused:

I am indeed, its commercially available in Dub but they select some customers for testing the other areas on 100mb which I applied for. Lim and Cork I believe are the testing grounds right now. :D

hightower1 wrote: »

yeah it is low in fairness usually shows up at around 20-25 ms and the connection speed while fast is more importantly steady but soon as i try and connect to shammy the pings go mile high . in fairness ive had some of my best game son the 2 bar connected to shammy....think i just lag out of the way of their bullets :p

anyone hear back on this?

im starting to feel bad for Shammy as i played last night i only got 3 bars of signal and i nearly freaked :D:D

no no no son dont feel bad for him he normally hosts and its upc lads on the 2 bar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

UPC won't peer with MunsterBB, that's it I'm afraid. As Sierra says, Shammy is selected as host more often that not, as his connections is excellent, it's us UPC customers that suffer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

UPC won't peer with MunsterBB, that's it I'm afraid. As Sierra says, Shammy is selected as host more often that not, as his connections is excellent, it's us UPC customers that suffer.

Dam you UPC !!!!

AnneFrank wrote: »
    Dam you UPC !!!!
    sure what are you complaining about you hardly every play these days.....sometimes i miss you so much it hurts :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭claiva

sure what are you complaining about you hardly every play these days.....sometimes i miss you so much it hurts :(

I'll hurt ya tonite ya little tease ye !!!

With my Ghost Pro + Commando combo that is !!!