Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Longford/Westmeath Constituency debate Support

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 imfgohome

Will any questions in the debate be in Irish ?

I would love to put a question to the 3 Celtic Tories !! (FG, Lab, FF)

Thier opinion on changing the name of TD to MP and Dail to Houses of Pariliment.

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭IPR_Iain

imfgohome wrote: »

I would love to put a question to the 3 Celtic Tories !! (FG, Lab, FF)

Thier opinion on changing the name of TD to MP and Dail to Houses of Pariliment.

Debate will be in English LOL

• Registered Users Posts: 43 berireland

Great line up, great opportunity to hear candidates.

When will it be possible to apply for tickets for the debate.

email Tickets@longfordtv.com with Name, address, contact details and how many you want.

We will be in touch Monday

Pm me your email if you want free tickets

• Registered Users Posts: 2 Observer12

imfgohome wrote: »

Ah Jazes, English will be enough of a challenge for Bonkers without getting him to try the "kawrjeh gwayls".

• Registered Users Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭ayjayirl

IPR_Iain wrote: »
    9.30pm in evening. It will be recorded and available to watch every day upto Election day.

I will be there. My father is Donal Jackson and involved in the debate as an independent. I cannot wait tbh. For too long politicians have spouted rethoric without saying anything. I hope it goes well and garners the attention something like this should.

Question: I am admin for his website and I will be putting this up on the site tomorrow. Is there anything special you would like me to say about it - a blurb? I will gladly add it to his site (www.irishelection2011.ie)

ayjayirl wrote: »
    I will be there. My father is Donal Jackson and involved in the debate as an independent. I cannot wait tbh. For too long politicians have spouted rethoric without saying anything. I hope it goes well and garners the attention something like this should.

Question: I am admin for his website and I will be putting this up on the site tomorrow. Is there anything special you would like me to say about it - a blurb? I will gladly add it to his site (www.irishelection2011.ie)

I sent Donal an email with the format yesterday, you could add a link and the email to get tickets tickets@longfordtv.com

• Registered Users Posts: 5,552 ✭✭✭baldbear

Fair play iain for setting this up. The Longford Leader today has a good headline, "Local candidates shy away from Longford debate". Doesn't look good for them.

At this stage have any Longford candidates given a commitment to attend? Do they not understand that they could canves every house in the constituency via the web in one swoop.

I won't vote for a candidate that isn't appearing.

baldbear wrote: »
    Fair play iain for setting this up. The Longford Leader today has a good headline, "Local candidates shy away from Longford debate". Doesn't look good for them.

At this stage have any Longford candidates given a commitment to attend? Do they not understand that they could canves every house in the constituency via the web in one swoop.

Strong stuff, but true, i will be giving my votes to those on the night making the effort too.

Peter Kelly says no - He is busy seeing the farmers i think

James Bannon - hasn't confirmed

Mae Sexton was tentative, i have called and left messages and emailed her. NO reply.

We will see what happens in the next few days but there are 5 confirmed so it should be a great night anyway.

Just need to get bums on seats now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 rf4901

I would love to see the Longford candidates at this debate. Their talk of Jobs and Job creation is a Joke. I am an employer in Longford. Our company has been one of the biggest employers in Longford for over 35 years, yet if you asked any one of them how many people are employed here they wouldnt have a clue. Two years ago we had to make over 75 people redundant and where were these Candidates? I have never met or spoken to any of them. They are either ignoring what is happening in their own constituency or they realy dont care.

rf4901 wrote: »
    I would love to see the Longford candidates at this debate. Their talk of Jobs and Job creation is a Joke. I am an employer in Longford. Our company has been one of the biggest employers in Longford for over 35 years, yet if you asked any one of them how many people are employed here they wouldnt have a clue. Two years ago we had to make over 75 people redundant and where were these Candidates? I have never met or spoken to any of them. They are either ignoring what is happening in their own constituency or they realy dont care.

Jesus that must have been hard to let go 75 people, I wouldn't like to do it.

To be honest they do have questions to answer but with there strategic canvassing they are only meeting people who feel like they do. Facing the general public is threatening to most of them.

Thanks god we have 5 candidates who do have the balls and are willing to debate in public.

I live in hope of the Longford candidates confirming

• Registered Users Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭ayjayirl

baldbear wrote: »

Exactly. I cannot in good conscience give my vote to anyone who has been involved in politics in the last few years. We need new blood. People with a vision and the ability to truely represent the people of their constituency.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,937 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Ironic stance from the man who stood by and watched the local economy stagnate while the rest of the country prospered during the 'boom' years; the ultimate result being that the Longford area has suffered more than most during this recession. He also stood idly by whilst the barracks was shut. He's been nothing but a 'yes-man', willingly accepting the first answer he was given by his superiors and returning to his constituants, wringing his hands, shrugging his shoulders and saying "I tried". :rolleyes:

An absolute embarrassment to the people of Longford. He has some cheek standing for re-election, in my opinion.

i couldn't agree more. the only time i heard him on the national airwaves in the past year was on newstalk, when he was talking to kevin myers (who was in for george hook at the time) and he was defending the 70mg blood alcohol limit at the time noel dempsey was trying (successfully) to bring it down to 50mg.
    in almost 10 years he's been the local td, and the only time i've heard him speak on a national issue and it was sickening. he hasn't left his publican past behind him at all. it was embarrassing listening to him defend the indefensible, and in the end, inviting kevin myers for a drink in longford.

if only i was at home when he called around canvassing. whatever about the bailouts etc, i wanted to tackle him on the only thing he made noise on.

OP, if you get a chance at the debate, i'd love if this is brought up. there are taxi drivers around the country doing feck all. surely if country publicans don't want to close, they could have an agreement with local taxi drivers to bring punters home. but to think punters should be allowed to drink and drive is retarded. it was as bad as mattie mcgrath saying that some fellas get nervous behind the wheel and need a drink to settle them down. :mad:

Looking forward to the debate, every constituency should do the same!!!!

Any candidate should be delighted of the opportunity to promote thier party & policies.

I wonder why they dont jump at the chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Brenireland

berireland wrote: »
    Looking forward to the debate, every constituency should do the same!!!!

Any candidate should be delighted of the opportunity to promote thier party & policies.

I wonder why they dont jump at the chance.

you robbed my name!nearly lol

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭garfieldsghost

i couldn't agree more. the only time i heard him on the national airwaves in the past year was on newstalk, when he was talking to kevin myers (who was in for george hook at the time) and he was defending the 70mg blood alcohol limit at the time noel dempsey was trying (successfully) to bring it down to 50mg.
    in almost 10 years he's been the local td, and the only time i've heard him speak on a national issue and it was sickening. he hasn't left his publican past behind him at all. it was embarrassing listening to him defend the indefensible, and in the end, inviting kevin myers for a drink in longford.

Ah yes, I think I remember that alright... almost as good as the footage of him on the RTÉ News this week - showing Micheál Martin around Longford with a strut on him that would nearly have you believing that he owned the town! And, as far as I can recall, his highest profile appearance in the Longford Leader was when he was pictured sitting on the throne on the set of The Tudors. Says it all, really.

I was really looking forward to having him knock on my door so I could stick the boot in, so to speak. Unfortunately, he sent out his brother -who's actually a really nice guy - to my area, so I didn't get the opportunity. The poor man looked like he'd gone 10 rounds with Tyson and basically admitted that he saw little hope of their campaign being successful and was only canvassing/taking abuse because "blood is thicker than water".

• Registered Users Posts: 7,937 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

And, as far as I can recall, his highest profile appearance in the Longford Leader was when he was pictured sitting on the throne on the set of The Tudors. Says it all, really.

haha i was going to mention that but then thought no one would remember. i was working in england at the time and came home for a weekend when that was published. i remember thinking that even the quality of the photo was shyte, as if one of his cronies took it on their phone and it was emailed to the leader.

I'd say that's exactly how it was!

Okay, have tickets booked for this. Just need to know what time it's due to start at, as there's no mention of it anywhere...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 b4boxer

make no apologies for my support of Boxer.

As regards debate "the time for talking is over"

If Sen McFadden and Dep ORourke publish thier expenses for thier terms of office then it might be worth Boxer going to the debate.

If FG outline how much they propose to cut off Child Benefit it might be worthwhile Boxer going.

If FG say how many the Army in Athlone and Mullingar and Department of Education in Athlone are going to be downsized by then it might be worthwhile Boxer going.

In Mullingar worries were being expressed about the future of Mullingar Army Barracks under FG lead Government.......If FG were going to talk straight it might be worthwhile Boxer attending.

b4boxer wrote: »
    make no apologies for my support of Boxer.

As regards debate "the time for talking is over"

If Sen McFadden and Dep ORourke publish thier expenses for thier terms of office then it might be worth Boxer going to the debate.

If FG outline how much they propose to cut off Child Benefit it might be worthwhile Boxer going.

If FG say how many the Army in Athlone and Mullingar and Department of Education in Athlone are going to be downsized by then it might be worthwhile Boxer going.

In Mullingar worries were being expressed about the future of Mullingar Army Barracks under FG lead Government.......If FG were going to talk straight it might be worthwhile Boxer attending.

Your posts are nothing but political propaganda and have ensured that 'Boxer' will not be one of my preferences on ballot sheet.

Okay, have tickets booked for this. Just need to know what time it's due to start at, as there's no mention of it anywhere...

Debate starts at 9.30pm in Longford arms.

Still a few tickets available for this. tickets@longfordtv.com
    076 602 5000.

It will be live on the internet too www.longfordtv.com at 9.30pm

• Registered Users Posts: 961 ✭✭✭gingernut79

the live chat seems full of boardsies anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 5,552 ✭✭✭baldbear

Desperate bad candidates. This Debate would put you to sleep. No lively interaction from the audience.

Does Longford/Westmeath have any hope????? :eek:

I was at the Longford Arms for the debate. It was informative in that it was an introduction to the candidates from the far end of the constituency who may not normally canvass this area and allowed them to explain what they could bring to the table. Amazement was expressed at the fact that no local candidates were participating - and rightly so. It was deeply disappointing that none of them stepped up to the plate.

The moderator ran a tight ship, although I perhaps would've preferred a more 'hands on' approach when dealing with the speakers. I also found the fact that he was wandering around the floor and sometimes posing questions whilst facing away from the candidates to be somewhat distracting. That's only a minor complaint, though.

Here's my (brief) take on how the candidates performed:

Paul Hogan (SF): I'm not a fan of Sinn Fein but, for me, he was the most impressive performer. He had clearly done his research on all the outstanding issues and provided clear and definitive answers to all the questions posed.

Mary O'Rourke (FF): Mary O'Rourke was, well, Mary O'Rourke. She was her affable self and was a competant speaker but had a tendency to stray from the main points at times. On a couple of occasions she missed the crux of the questions put to her. She also had an annoying habit of rolling her eyes when other speakers were making certain points - fine for an informal discussion but not during a serious political debate, especially in these times.

Nicky McFadden (FG): Surprisingly, I found McFadden to be somewhat underwhelming. She certainly knows her stuff but had difficulty imposing herself on the discussion and struggled at times when challenged by opponents - resulting in her blankly reciting party policy.

Donal Jackson (IND): The stronger of the two independent candidates, he made a good opening address but was initially caught out by the time limit for answering questions, meaning the crowd didn't get to hear the conclusion to an intriguing explanation. However, he soon found his stride and from then on his answers were concise and to the point.

David Darcy (IND): Darcy is part of New Vision - an alliance of 20 independent candidates running in the election. His objectives pandered to popular opinion but offered little insight into how exactly he proposed to achieve them. Curiously, some of his points seemed to hint at anarchist undertones. He was rather discorteous to some of his opponents, particularly McFadden - at one point he snatched her copy of her party's manifesto from in front of her and waved it in the air like he'd just found someone reading a porn mag in maths class. He also lost the crowd when, on the point of the closure of Connolly Barracks, he declared that "Ireland doesn't need an army." In general, he gave the impression of being a man who needs to learn about real world politics before he starts dabbling in it.

Apparently the Longford-based candidates are having a debate of their own in the Women's Centre near the Social Welfare offices tonight (Tuesday). Anyone know what time it starts at?

I watched the debate, being Longford based I was disgusted that none of the Longford candidates attended.

From a internet viewers point of view both Hogan SF and McFadden FG were impressive. I would like to see them represent Longford Westmeath in the Dail. They both showed a complete understanding of difficulties faced by ordinary people, unlike O'Rourkes "snip and tuck" here and there.

I would have liked more discussion on FG proposals for cuts in the Public Service.

As for the IND's both seemed to be out of touch with reality.

• Registered Users Posts: 285 ✭✭Knit wit

Debate is at 11am in Longford Womens link ...

So disappointed that Longford candidates did not turn up to last nights debate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 b4boxer

All hot air !!

The time for talking is over. Boxer is out where it matters listening to the people on the door steps, listening to peoples needs.

Debates have got the country into this mess !!!

Will Mullingar Army Barracks close under FG?

How much will FG cut child benefit by?

We still dont know.