Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Continuing Adventures of Catweazle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,076 ✭✭✭griffin100

Just catching up with your race report now CW and I have to say I'm disappointed with the less than committed attitude that you displayed on the run by stopping for a toilet break. You should have dealt with it like a real man, gambled on the fart lottery and lived with the consequences :p

In all seriousness nice result. I'm gutted I couldn't do this race but I think next year I'll be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Another classic report CW! :cool: Pi$$ing on the go, taking a dump in someones front garden and using HR to pace yourself. All new and all worked to get you a huge PB! :D Well done on the PB. And you're officially a sham now too......LOL

Hope the holiday is going well. :cool: Keep me posted on what race you pick for next year! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭DustyBin

More great racing and writing there CW
    Delighted for you and Mrs CW with the baby news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Rawhead wrote: »
    I did my first sprint in Swinford this year and that post has given me the final push to do the half iron next year. Great report and I will be with you at the start line next year....

Cheers Rawhead - will be a good few boardies next year by the sounds of it
    nomadic wrote: »
    Nice work, great stuff finishing so strong.

Disappointed I missed it now, great to see increased numbers this year for a brilliant race.

They made much fanfare of a new bike course record, the way you are going you would have a good crack at breaking it yourself next year
    Macanri wrote: »
    Finally congrats to yourself and Mrc CW on the impending arrival. Is this your first? A wee triathlete on the way - great stuff!

Cheers Macanri - hopefully all going well I will be able to juggle nappies, no sleep and training as well as the rest of ye
    Abhainn wrote: »
    Fair play to that report J. Great progress from last year and I'm sure 2012 will even better that.
    Good meeting you again, fingers crossed see you in Barcelona

Might have been a bit too much wine down me when I made that announcement but it made it past the first stage anyways with preliminary approval (with caveats) from mrsC

griffin100 wrote: »
    You should have dealt with it like a real man, gambled on the fart lottery and lived with the consequences :p

I had made a small punt on the aforementioned lottery and nearly got badly burned so a second try wasn't on the menu :o
    pgibbo wrote: »
    Well done on the PB. And you're officially a sham now too......LOL

Ya first time an announcement like that - damn new postman wont accept just Cummer on the post so we dont get it unless Tuam is mentioned somewhere. Bring back John Joe to the local round - he never had a problem with it
    DustyBin wrote: »
    More great racing and writing there CW
    Delighted for you and Mrs CW with the baby news

Thanks Dusty - and thanks for the PM as well

Preliminary approval on Barca! Happy days. :cool:

I hope you;re well rested after you;re warm weather training now! :D

Well after almost two weeks of 30+ heat in Portugal, its great to wake up this morning to gale force winds and driving rain - ah I missed this place.

Very little done besides cooling junk swims in the pool and a couple of slow 5k runs. In the end of it all though I suppose I did a good bit of swimming 30,000 metres in 12 days so I suppose 2500 a day isn't bad either.

I met a lad from Galway who flew over to here straight after Ironman Germany. I couldnt believe his work ethic - looked like he was keeping up three training sessions a day between swimming/running and weight training along with a wife and three kids.

I had come here to relax and pander to MrsC's every need so I was nervous about going training with him. My mid packer alarm bells were alerted from day 1 when he suggested we go for a run at 9am the following morning for an hour and 5 minutes. Now who says an hour and 5 minutes, not around an hour, or an hour but an hour and 5 minutes :eek: . More so it was a tempo run he wanted so in that heat no way. My suspicions were confirmed when Gibbo speculated he will be going for a sub 3 finish in Dublin this year so I dodged a bullet there I think.

I agreed to go for an early morning swimming session with him in an outdoor pool about 20 minutes away and needless to say it was the one morning where I foolishly had a fair hangover - of course when we got there the 50m pool was closed. So we had to pay to use their indoor 25m pool - which was a bit silly considering the resort has a 30m free outdoor pool :D. The suggestion here from him was 500m warm up/ 300m Kick and then 21 x 100 off 2 minutes or had I my own plan :eek:. Again I mumbled something about I was working on my technique over here so I would stick to my own plan.

So besides the swimming almost nothing else - with the heat unless you left before 8am it was just too hot for running.

Came home yesterday and to qualify for the club event final which is a handicapped race next week I had to have a time in for the Aquathon series. So down I went

Swim Section: 15.08 - with no chip timing the time is the swim + transition time. For only 61 people this was one of the bumpiest rides I had gotten in a long time, I didnt get a clear run till after the bouy. From glancing at the watch as I came out of the water I was just over 14 minutes which was just under 20 seconds quicker than my last race. I was happy initially with this time until I saw the two club mates strapping on the runners so I lost time on them this week. A crap transition where I had trouble getting into the zoots and I was off

Off I went on the run and I was dreading this part, with a quick glance I saw Hammerhead behind me and I felt like a rabbit in the headlights. No sign of him overtaking me and I came up the hill section well. Downhill now and I am usually a decent runner on the downhill sections so I had started to hope I would hold him off. I faded badly with about a 1km to go which is unlike me as I can usually talk myself into a fast finish and he went by me along with a Galway Triathlon member. No-one too close after that so I managed myself into the finish, 4.30 the final k :mad:. From initial disappointment about the way the run went and the blow up at the finish, I was happier when I saw the results and I had just got in under 21 minutes 20.54 so it wasn't too bad at all in the end.

Still none the wiser about the rest of the season - although I am going to test the waters this weekend with a long run and see how I feel after it. If the motivation is there I would like a crack at putting a serious dent into my Marathon time in Dublin.

pgibbo wrote: »
    Preliminary approval on Barca! Happy days. :cool:

2012 Gibbo :D

You will have a sub 10 in your sights then - or maybe that's on the agenda this year ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,203 ✭✭✭El Director

Hey CW, only getting to read your report now-and another classic it was too! You took a serious amount of time off 2010's race, well done. You paced it much better and you obviously see room for improvement so it will be interesting to see.

I enjoy following the IM logs so it's great to see a new one appear for 2012, I will follow with great interest. Well done again dude, keep tipping away at it even now-not like me last winter ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 scrawnybawny

catweazle and co; really enjoying the posts esp. the race reports but was looking for some predictive advice

galway will be my first half I.M. (and just my third tri overall) and i'm a little unsure how fast i should aim for without blowing up
    i had tried to use some of the on-line calculators but they seem, to me, a little overly-ambitious (e.g. 5:40 predicted for half i.m based on recent olympic tri result of 2:40{splits of 30,80 and 50])

hoping to do the swim in circa 45mins (would easily time trial 19-20mins for 1k.m.)
    reckon i could easily maintain 30k/hr on bike til at least the halfway mark but wonder about hitting 'a wall' and then crawling the run
    so if i can do 30k/hr over 40k of an olympic what's a realistic target for 90k, to still leave me enuf to push little on the run (and get in circa 1:45 - 1:55)
    thanx for any advice

Cheers Scrawnbawny, there are better guys on this forum than me but I will try and answer them. How has the training been going. I was down at a club race last night and it was a bit worrying that many of them hadn't got many long runs in for Galway. I more or less did one long run of 16k+ from very early in the year and was much more reliable this year when it came to long bike rides (albeit many of them on my trusty turbo). Swimming has never been a problem when it has come to distance, speed yes but distance no. I have rarely shirked on the swimming training although this year I improved speedwise due to some focus
    catweazle and co; really enjoying the posts esp. the race reports but was looking for some predictive advice

galway will be my first half I.M. (and just my third tri overall) and i'm a little unsure how fast i should aim for without blowing up
    i had tried to use some of the on-line calculators but they seem, to me, a little overly-ambitious (e.g. 5:40 predicted for half i.m based on recent olympic tri result of 2:40{splits of 30,80 and 50])

I don't see anything ambitious with those times given, I did a 2.49 in Kilkee so you have 9 minutes on me already

hoping to do the swim in circa 45mins (would easily time trial 19-20mins for 1k.m.)

If you can do a 30 minute 1500m I don't see why you shouldn't be coming in easily under 40 minutes for the extra 400m. Although the conditions in Galway could be a lottery depending on weather, hopefully it will be helpful, and I have to assume they are trying to get a beneficial tide for the swim if possible

reckon i could easily maintain 30k/hr on bike til at least the halfway mark but wonder about hitting 'a wall' and then crawling the run

This will be the hardest part of that race, I think the bike will be a b1tch in Galway. Bad roads, very exposed course so you could have a strong headwind for half the race. Last year I went off hard on the bike and kept it going as hard as I could the whole way round. This year I took it easy until the turn around in Castlebar so the first 30k was slow and I went a little harder after that but still with one eye on the HR monitor the whole time. While not training with heart rates in mind until near the end, I was able to go back and see what kind of heart rates I was holding for certain sessions so I had some type of idea of what I could hold for what length of time

so if i can do 30k/hr over 40k of an olympic what's a realistic target for 90k, to still leave me enuf to push little on the run (and get in circa 1:45 - 1:55)

I could hardly get it to 30k an hour all year, but at least with all the extra bike mileage I had done this year, the same pace I went at least year was comfortable this year, so the run while still tough was manageable whereas last year I was a dead man shortly into the run.

thanx for any advice

The only other thing I would advise and what I most learnt from last year was nutrition. From I am guessing perhaps 2 nutrigrains and three gels on the bike last year and two gels on the run
    . Last year was water on the bike, this year was a mix of salt, concentrate and water which I had been training with all year

I was religious about taking some form of nutrition every 10k on the bike and every 20 minutes on the run. Although I got GI problems, they were well worth it. A race this size will surely have a few portaloos on the way ;)

I might have been a bit cautious on the run but it was great to finish strong this year rather than hobbling in a broken man in 2010.

No more than me, the race day will teach you a lot about yourself. You may overcook it or undercook it and you will make mistakes but you will learn a lot and hopefully if you enjoy it, you will be back the following year stronger and with a time to beat

Best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 scrawnybawny

thanx a mill for that CW
    yeah i reckon the bike is the great unknown on this one
    (the run is pretty flat as far as i recall and the tide is coming in for the swim
    so, unless I've got the geography of the bay wrong, i think this is a good thing for a large portion of the swim)

thanx for the thoughts on the nutrition as well - always good to get another reminder on that one - awful easy to let the miles drift by without getting any food in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

Great report and best of luck with the new arrival...will definitely help your focus!

I often wonder why, when I had loads of time in my 20s, I spent most of it in a pub, while now with 4 kids and a travelling job, I get turned on by long distance triathlon:)

Hardly anything done since I got back.

I did a provisional plan for DCM this year and decided that the slow running of the Hal Higdon Intermediate would be replaced with something more challenging. So with less time next year a run through the minimal running of The Furman plan appealed so I have a blend of that plan with the Runners World 12 week programme.

I got a fair shock when I punched in my 5k time of 20.25 and it spat out a pace of 7.55 seconds for this weeks 13 miles LR* (I am deleting the s for this plan as there is nothing slow about these runs). I am also departing metric as a d in pass maths doesn't lend itself to metric conversions

Now this would have smashed my current half marathon pb of 1.44.xx so I was in a mild panic. The tempos are tough but doable but i reckoned the weekend LR's would have me in a body bag.

So with a bit of advice from ronanmac I am going with a triathlon 5k time of 21.30 for the LR's but will keep the 20.25 for the tempos.

So no midweek tempo run due to work and turf commitments, I got out for an easy 5 mile run yesterday. With the adjustments todays LR was 13 miles @ 8.11 pace. I went out too quick and was at 7.40 pace for the first 3 miles, I paid for this later and was shagged around the 10 mile mark but I had a little bit of time in the bag so I struggled home with an average of 8.09 at the end.

My first thoughts is I will need to upgrade the iphone with plenty of pumping house and rock music, the ipod has a pile of crap that MrsC listens to. I am stiff and sore tonight but will have a go at next weeks plan, if I am still doing the distances up till August 31st I will enter.

16 miles next weekend, although it is something called a progression run, I don't know my standard LR run, just know I have to +30, +20, +10, MP for the last 40 minutes :confused:

I have an easy pace of 8.26 so I will take that as the LR for the first section ;)

I think you should just bite the bullet and sign up for DCM. If you don't commit you'll find it too easy to bin a long run or another key session. Human nature!

Well done for getting through the last few miles at the weekend after going out too fast. Buy a foam roller to help those legs recover! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Congrats on the news CW hope everything goes well. Agree with P i would commit to DCM earlier rather than later as it will keep you moving when the going gets tough as having a target race works wonders. What would you be targeting for DCM?

What would you be targeting for DCM?

Don't really know yet Jacky - lets see how the training goes. Although I will admit I wont be happy if I see you on the day ;)

A poor weeks training - its been a long time since I did a decent double training session. As per usual a week in the car for work coincides with the return of some good weather. I am on the road monday and tuesday too with more decent weather promised. :(

Monday: the legs were stiff as boards from the long run on sunday so I did nothing

Tuesday: I was up to the office on tuesday - so I had pencilled in a pool session on the way up, I gave up after 600 metres between breaststrokers and kids in the lanes it was just too frustrating.

Wednesday: A tempo session which I went out to do 2 x 2 off 7.06. I came in on the first one in 6.50 comfortably enough so I decided to try the 2nd one at the same pace. I made the time but it was nowhere near as comfortable.

Thursday: A slow recovery run

Friday: Nothing

Saturday: A 16 mile progression run - average pace = 8.21. Although 15 seconds slower a mile than last weeks LR I was well shagged when I hit 13 miles. The heat may not have helped. With still no sign of my Garmin USB from memory my HR for the first 6 miles were in high 140's, 6-10 were in the 150's, 10-13 were in 160's and the last three were in the 170's. I had a gel laid outside the house just in case and I took this at 13 miles

The last mile was to be run at 8.01 and with the gel kicking in i came in at 7.50 pace with the max HR of 179. The max HR this year is 183 so I could have gone above that today pretty easily with a spur at the end

Sunday: Went for a short OW swim to test out the new goggles, with the leaky Zoggs letting me down I decided to try the Aquasphere Kayennes this time. Very impressed so far with them, great vision and was nice to be swimming without water sloshing around my eyes for a change. My legs must be getting used to the run distances also as I was able for a slow recovery run today as well

Week Totals
    Run 47k
    Swim 1800m

Is the bike put on the turbo now until next Spring or early Summer? :D

Its not even on the turbo at this stage, out gathering dust in the shed, but I would say you aren't too far wrong with my plans for cycling over the next few months :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

I don't believe I congratulated you yet on the impending arrival so congrats :D

Cheers Littlebug - look for a guy with a strapped in newborn powering up Knockma next year :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

catweazle wrote: »
    Cheers Littlebug - look for a guy with a strapped in newborn powering up Knockma next year :p

all bleary eyed and a camelbak full of coffee :D

now why didn't I think of that back in the day.... :D

Monday: Nothing working in Dublin

Tuesday: A disappointing run, I was due to run a tempo run of 4 miles at 7.06 pace, I cracked around the 2 1/2 mile stage and shuffled home. I thought I would be able to do this comfortably - ah maybe just a bad day

Wednesday: A supposedly recovery run but still narked by yesterday I threw in a couple of 7.30 miles.

Thursday: An easy run at lunch and struggled out a 1500m swim that evening

Friday:
    A very easy 3 miles as a tough run the following day.

Saturday: A big night out was planned so pushed the long run forward till today. 15 miles at 8.08 pace. It was a real up and down run, one minute I am about to give in and slow down, ten minutes later and I am feeling strong again and then back to feeling terrible again, mentally very taxing. Struggled through it and sometimes you wonder how the hell are you going to run another 11 on top of this and do them faster :eek:

Sunday: Note to self - with Mrs C off the vino I should get a glass instead of a bottle on a night out. Even though it was foolishly getting in a 4 man round of Erdingers after - that did the real damage. Hanging out Mrs C's passenger window like a dog all the way home, spewing German beer is not a good look :o Sweated my way down to the bridge and back for 3 miles before the match. On a more positive note the legs are recovering well now - no real stiffness today.

Weekly Total
    Running - 58k
    Swimming - 1500m

With the Dublin Marathon going up a tenner on the 31st I will enter tomorrow. I am going to back out of the Loughrea Triathlon and do some marshalling instead, I haven't been near the bike since July and the swimming has been non existent so its pointless entering it. I will give DCM my best shot and get back into the swimming and cycling in November.

The plan is looking for a 5k or 10k race next weekend - don't see any around here, I might do a training spin around the Annaghdown route and see if I can hold 4.30 ks. Best do it friday with Galway 70.3 on saturday which may involve another few pints after!

Good to hear that you are committing to DCM.

Don't stay off the bike for too long!

It was an easier week in the plan - no long run scheduled this week but either a 5k or 10k race at the weekend. With the Ironman on in Galway this weekend there wasnt a race in sight from what I could see so it would be done on my own. The Garmin wireless usb is driving me nuts, its around the house somewhere but still haven't come across it.

Monday: 8k local route - easy run

Tuesday: 6 miles with 3 x 2 off 8.00 pace. Went to Oranmore for this - first time in a long time that I have left the local route and it was great for the mind. Change in scenery and plenty of runners and walkers out. Theres a lot of tempo sessions at this pace and I am not sure if they are beneficial - re later in week. But most enjoyable ruin in a long time legs felt very strong

Wednesday - Easy 8k around the local loop

Thursday: Nothing - Down in Kerry all day

Friday - easy 8k run in prep for tomorrows fast sessions

Saturday - A lot of things aligned to make this a disappointing run. My PB for 10k is 45.01 in the Anaghdown 10k so off I drove over to do that loop in my training run. My first mistake was on friday night - foolishly deciding just as I was going to bed to have a quick look at the 50k walk, 3 hours later I am looking at the race finale with a few more beers drank. I can't understand why I stayed up watching this, these guys are seriously fit athletes but it just looks like a form of fast wiggling to me while trying to keep a foot on the ground at all times. With Mrs C off to dublin saturday morning I had no chance of a lie in so I was tired and unmotivated heading off.

I reckoned i should be able to hold 4.30 ks for a 45 minute finish, the body started to groan at 4k so I talked myself into doing 2 x 5k instead :rolleyes:

Finished the first 5k in 22 minutes and then after a long break gave up on the 2nd one after 2k and trotted the last 3k wrecked. Not what I was expecting to be honest, although I am terrible on my own when it comes to motivation. The plan for the next while calls for a lot of tempo runs at 8.00 pace - (potential race pace) but thats off my triathlon 5k time. I may well do everything off my faster 5k time except for the long runs. I certainly struggled with the increase of pace on this. Headed to Salthill that night and had a look at all the bike bling, it seemed nearly everyone has the deep rim wheels and TT bike. How am I going to justify buying one of those to my accountant (Mrs C) next year?

Sunday: I thought I would be mad with myself watching the Galway 70.3 that I didn't enter but it didn't cross my mind once. Its been a long year and I am glad of the break. I was more than happy to be watching especially when I heard the swim was reduced.

I would certainly do this race but I don't think I would ever do it as my A race. The swim being cut short would have devastated me, I can only imagine if that had happened in Swinford - a years training in trying to beat a time flushed down the toilet before I had even started. Its a pity this country has such unreliable weather as with that quantity of entrants it would be great to race it :(

The buzz of so many athletes out with you on the course would have been great though and it was enjoyable to watch as well with all the big names in it

Back to the hard slog again next week, 18 miles of drudgery awaits me next saturday

An up and down week

Monday: 8k cant remember the pace

Tuesday: 8k easy lunchtime run and finally a double session. With me on the road wednesday I headed off to Knockma for some hill running. After going easyish up the first one I then met a fine thing running the other way so I immediately stepped it up to see if I could beat her around the loop the second time, only just about got her the second time and no sign of her the 3rd time so either she blew up or pushed on the third. Turned out to be a good session for me though. I am much better on hills than I used to be

Wednesday:
    Nothing

Thursday: The plan called for 3 x 2 at race pace but with me foolishly answering a work call 5 minutes before lunch I was under time pressure so ran the 6 miles straight slightly quicker than race pace 6 x 7.48. Went for a quick swim in the evening but only managed 500ms before I got bored. I will need to get the lead out in the pool come winter

Friday:
    Easy 8k in prep for tomorrow

Saturday: 18 mile progression run - the plan was to hold 8.26 pace up to 15 miles and them 8.21/8.11/8.01. The plan went out the window very quickly, I wasnt looking forward to this run a cock up at work last night that I didnt twig until 12am kept me up till 3.30 but with being a marshal at the loughrea triathlon on sunday it was either now or never. I was struggling from mile 10 on and I broke at mile 14 when I turned around into a strong wind, it started to teem rain so I hid under a bush for 15 minutes and seriously contemplated ringing pgibbo to pick me up :o

It eased off and I went out to run home but I was spent, was struggling to hold 10 minute miles for the last couple. I even had a gel at mile 10 and an emergency one at 14 which seemed to do nothing. I ended up running past the house at 17.26 miles and that was it for me, I was wasted

Sunday: Marshalling at the Loughrea Triathlon - with the bad weather the swim was reduced to 350. I was at the swim out, it was comical I never saw anything like it before - 300 + swimmers even most of the top swimmers wading through the shallow waters like the march of the penguins. It was like some weird water funeral with all the black wetsuits - awful conditions for the swim, although Ronanmac had a smile on his face, hes 6 foot+ so he was able to walk sooner than most of the entrants.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Rawhead

Did the tri in Loughrea today. The weather was dog rough and the swim was a bit of a farce. My heart was not in it and I struggled. Kids were playing up so I got up there late, had to register at T1. Left my timing chip in my wetsuit after the swim. Felt tired on the bike and run. Came good in the last 2 km of the run. Time was 1:15.
    The old motto "fail to prepare, prepare to fail" is true. I will do this event again. It was well organised and a good bunch of lads.

Rawhead wrote: »
    Kids were playing up so I got up there late, had to register at T1.

Think I met you so, were you a member of the Swinford club, I was one of those guys looking for your name (not the woman or the French guy). Nothing to shabby about a 1.15 time though!

Awful weather alright - I was sent out to collect the bouys in the boat after and I would swear I was seasick for a while after it.

Once you're wet you're wet and cowering in a bush is no good to you. Probably caused your legs to seize up. HTFU! :D