Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you say mum, mom, mam or ma

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

"Mom" cos that's what she called hers & she's not Irish...

I could never use "Mam", it sounds too much like a lamb bleating.

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    Mam or Ma, Mother if I am messing with her and her first name if we aren't getting along.

If I ever heard any Irish people calling their mother Mum or Mom I would laugh my arse of, if any of my friends did it they would probably have the piss taken out of them for as long as they lived and vice versa.

Mam/Mammy is not a culchie thing it's an Irish thing and if any of ye have a problem with that then go and tell your Mummy/Mommy:p

Cultural fascism now, is it :mad:

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Andrew33 wrote: »
    Mum?

Mum??

Mum???

What are you? English??

It's ma or mam on this side of the Irish Sea.

Oh, I see, a bit of the old 'Anti English' speak creeping in there me thinks :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 488 ✭✭buswankers

I'm another one for the Mam & Dad vote......have called them that for as long as I can remember, albeit my first few years were Mammy, but as soon as I hit first class I reckoned I was too cool & grown up to be saying mammy :o

LordSutch wrote: »
    Oh, I see, a bit of the old 'Anti English' speak creeping in there me thinks :confused:

It would appear that "mam" is an act of rebellion against the imperialists :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

Mom, not american but from the west midlands (england).

• Registered Users Posts: 9,662 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I feel like an utter spa calling me mother mammy at 27 years of age, but hey, you can't change it once you start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

when I was young mum, its mam now

sometimes I just call her bernard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Mam = Culchie
    Mum= English
    Mom = American

Correct answer therefore is Ma

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

my mother has a name "brigid" and I call her by her name and not mum, mom, mam or ma as these are stupid words to be calling her when she has a real name. only sheep call their mother ma.

zenno wrote: »
    my mother has a name "brigid" and I call her by her name and not mum, mom, mam or ma as these are stupid words to be calling her when she has a real name. only sheep call their mother ma.

Awesome. Unfortunately, Mom's proper name makes people giggle, so I don't tend to call her that :)

• Registered Users Posts: 395 ✭✭Simon Adebisi

Couldn't call Ma by her real name. It would be too odd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Dublin Chick

I always say Mum but for some reason I called her Mam in a post yesterday and I have no idea why.....Even when I was typing it I was like WHY am I using Mam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Mam.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Tiocfaidh Armani

Ma or "the auld one" when she's not about and I'm talking about her.

Mon the Clondalkin knackers:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Our family refer to our Mother as 'Mum' (I think it's a Norn Ironthing)
    when we address her. I'd refer to her as 'The Mother' or 'me Ma' if I was talking to friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭nicechick!

Ma or "the auld one" when she's not about and I'm talking about her.

Mon the Clondalkin knackers:D

Odd I regard Ma or Mama for knackers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

As a youngfella

To your peer group it's "The ou'laid" :cool:

Privately it's "Me Mammy" :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭chickenbutt

Mom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

I call my parents by their names, have since i was about 8

• Registered Users Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I call my parents by their names, have since i was about 8

You're one of those.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

You're one of those.....
    To call somebody by their name? yeah how weird am I?

Oddly, I once dated a girl who used to invite me to nestle between her "mamas".

• Registered Users Posts: 2,605 ✭✭✭OakeyDokey

Usually Ma but Mammy sometimes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

It's worrying that this is even a subject worth discussing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭irishdub14

Mama and Dada, was embarrassing around friends years ago, now i couldn't give a sh*t!

It's worrying that this is even a subject worth discussing.

It's a thinly veiled excuse to indulge in point scoring and cultural grievances, what's not to like, daddio?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,340 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I generally say 'Mam' or 'Mom' but I have a weird way of calling her in such a way that I am using the two words together almost. Hard to describe it.

'Mawmm'

So neither sounds like Mam nor Mom just Mawmm! Don't like 'Ma' or 'Mum'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭ZombieBride

I say Mother, but my father is Dad, my sons call me by my name.