Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DJaying. On the Mic! 1,2...

• 07-01-2011 4:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭

Djs. What do you say on the mic?

What do you say even when there is nothing to say?

Im looking for useful phrases and lines to throw down to keep the crowd entertained and to let them know i'm actually there..etc
    :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭ianuss

Happy hour at the bar folks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

ianuss wrote: »
    Happy hour at the bar folks!

That's not likely to keep them on the dancefloor though, is it?

Oggie, oggie oggie (then point the mic out towards the crowd).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭ro_chez

Its not what you say...its how you say it! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭xdeletiax

"rastafarai"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

ro_chez wrote: »
    Its not what you say...its how you say it! :pac:

haha fu*kin deadly, a true techno nutter if i ever seen one and a seriously underestimated DJ too :D:D

Mark EG is a legend :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭ro_chez

jonnny68 wrote: »
    haha fu*kin deadly, a true techno nutter if i ever seen one and a seriously underestimated DJ too :D:D

Mark EG is a legend :cool:

Indeed. He gets a hard time from some, mainly the purists who think so because he plays the odd hardstyle set (nee hardhouse), which I cant stand myself. But I would say theres noone who gets a crowd going like he does, and he's sober as a whistle to boot!

Some of his techno productions are quality, under The Anxious sudonym, and he also runs a decent techno forum at blackoutaudio.co.uk named after the label which he also runs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

ro_chez wrote: »
    Indeed. He gets a hard time from some, mainly the purists who think so because he plays the odd hardstyle set (nee hardhouse), which I cant stand myself. But I would say theres noone who gets a crowd going like he does, and he's sober as a whistle to boot!

Some of his techno productions are quality, under The Anxious sudonym, and he also runs a decent techno forum at blackoutaudio.co.uk named after the label which he also runs.

very well said mate, the "techno purists" are sad individuals, geeks who are obsessed with one style of music and belittle anything else, Mark EG (seen him once in the 90's) as you said seriously knows how to get a crowd going and from what i remember it was a superb nite.;)

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Well if I was playing Coppers* I'd let it roar 'lets make some fcking noise' and belt this baby out...

*Disclaimer. This is a joke and is in no way intended to be offensive towards Coppers DJs or any other commercial** DJ.

**Disclaimer 2. I'm not suggesting all commercial DJs are the same as Coppers DJs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

"Will the owner of a blue Honda Civic please move their car as the caterers cannot move their van".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

the winner is a pink ticket. that's a pink ticket, no. 735. anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭R.Shackleford

"Can everyone now please stand for our national anthem"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

'Ooookay! This one is for all the fat ugly bitches!'

I believe it's pronounced 'all the single laydeez!'

jtsuited wrote: »
    I believe it's pronounced 'all the single laydeez!'

Coincidentally enough that's the track I have lined up...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Pandoras Twist

Joebits wrote: »
    Djs. What do you say on the mic?

What do you say even when there is nothing to say?

Im looking for useful phrases and lines to throw down to keep the crowd entertained and to let them know i'm actually there..etc

:P

In the immortal words of Boyzone " you say it best, when you say nothing at all"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭dubsbhoy

"Up the gay rights"

"how's your banjo"

"Any hairs on your wallet"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Eddie Ere

WHOOP WHOOP WHOOP

If you ever feel like talking while DJing, just remember this:

... and stay silent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

What type of crowd are you playing to? If it's in a club I haven't heard a DJ talk during the most commercial of sets even. Last time I heard a DJ use a mic was in Wezz.

If you're playing parties, weddings etc it seems normal enough there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭cheesemaker

Sometimes the patter is as important as the platter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭kingofslaves

If you ever feel like talking while DJing, just remember this:

... and stay silent.

Mind you he did have a big crowd there, but reading the comments on YouTube they might nor have actually been there when he was ! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭dubsbhoy

"hey stop jumping up and down your scracthing me records ya fat <unt"

True Story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Joebits

RMD wrote: »
    What type of crowd are you playing to? If it's in a club I haven't heard a DJ talk during the most commercial of sets even. Last time I heard a DJ use a mic was in Wezz.

If you're playing parties, weddings etc it seems normal enough there.

Finally, somebody with a normal reply.

Playing to a very mixed crowd. Could be a 21st, a 30th, an engagement party..etc
    Looking for stuff to talkover on the mic. Its always nice when the DJ interacts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭ianuss

Where's leggo when you need him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

ianuss wrote: »
    Where's leggo when you need him?

Yo. Just seen it.

Playing to a very mixed crowd. Could be a 21st, a 30th, an engagement party..etc
    Looking for stuff to talkover on the mic. Its always nice when the DJ interacts.

It depends if you're good at talking or not. If MC-ing is a strongpoint it can be a massive asset...or it can be your downfall. I've seen DJs who do great mixing and then come in with a weak arse bit on the mic that overrules all of the good work they've put in.

If you're doing mobile gigs, just keep it simple and cheesey. Remember that the person who's function it is is the star and focus on them. "Give a big loud cheer for Derek!" and so forth...nothing too complicated. Gets them on your side, out of their shell and receptive to the stuff you're playing.

At the start, only come in when you feel its absolutely necessary. Welcome them to the night, tell them to throw their requests your way, announce food, last orders, get the birthday boy/girl up and say goodnight. Nothing too hectic. Then when you get a bit more confident...if you feel talking adds to your set, you'll know when you can come in and when to just shut up and play the songs.

I used to do pro-wrestling before this, and also work in radio, so talking over songs and working a crowd is a strongpoint. I'd throw in jokes, funny lines, slaggings and so on throughout the night to give it a more wholesome, personal feel. But if you're not loud, confident and able to convince people to have a good night through your few words, leave it to the bare minimum. And, as someone already said, it's not what you say it's HOW you say it. People listen to tone more than actual words.

Finally, NEVER crash a lyric. If you can do the old radio trick of talking up to the lyrics, it sounds great, but crashing a lyric just makes you look like an amateur and gets people WANTING you to shut up. Your talking bits should be a way to keep the set fresh and interesting, not distract from it.

leggo wrote: »
    Yo. Just seen it.

It depends if you're good at talking or not. If MC-ing is a strongpoint it can be a massive asset...or it can be your downfall. I've seen DJs who do great mixing and then come in with a weak arse bit on the mic that overrules all of the good work they've put in.

If you're doing mobile gigs, just keep it simple and cheesey. Remember that the person who's function it is is the star and focus on them. "Give a big loud cheer for Derek!" and so forth...nothing too complicated. Gets them on your side, out of their shell and receptive to the stuff you're playing.

At the start, only come in when you feel its absolutely necessary. Welcome them to the night, tell them to throw their requests your way, announce food, last orders, get the birthday boy/girl up and say goodnight. Nothing too hectic. Then when you get a bit more confident...if you feel talking adds to your set, you'll know when you can come in and when to just shut up and play the songs.

I used to do pro-wrestling before this, and also work in radio, so talking over songs and working a crowd is a strongpoint. I'd throw in jokes, funny lines, slaggings and so on throughout the night to give it a more wholesome, personal feel. But if you're not loud, confident and able to convince people to have a good night through your few words, leave it to the bare minimum. And, as someone already said, it's not what you say it's HOW you say it. People listen to tone more than actual words.

Finally, NEVER crash a lyric. If you can do the old radio trick of talking up to the lyrics, it sounds great, but crashing a lyric just makes you look like an amateur and gets people WANTING you to shut up. Your talking bits should be a way to keep the set fresh and interesting, not distract from it.

Excellent advice there compared to the other completely stupid off topicers!

Anyway, thats of great help to me. I know it takes time/practise and maybe it isn't my strong point but I feel like I have to improve on it you know. Sometimes I get awkward looks but I know I'm a good DJ. I know a lot about music and only play the most relevant songs to the situation. Being able to own the crowd on the mic would be great.

Saying that I do try and I do the welcome along, happy bday shout outs, and requests, enjoy your night..etc
    Apart from that I feel like I should be saying more(I get MAX 3-4 requests). I'm not bad at it, and I never crash lyrics, that is a really amateur thing to do.

Talking on the mic, in busy clubs where the tunes are pumping, shouldn't be a problem because you GET A RESPONSE...not that I've done a big club although I hope to sometime! Basically my point is I get function rooms and pubs and the likes and I often feel like i'm not getting a response. I want to hit the club and start a woo-der-it-is!!
    Basically, it's hard talking at calm, settled functions with little to NO response.

leggo, that's the exact advice I was looking for, really appreciate it.
    Is there other advice you have from the topics I've discussed above?
    What can I do to get more interactive with my crowd? To improve my MCing skills?

I was hoping you were a troll account Joe but you have a long history here. Owning the crowd, lol. Are you a coke fiend?

lol, you know what I mean you nut!

and yes I have a long history here, but not as long as my...

Excellent advice there compared to the other completely stupid off topicers!

Anyway, thats of great help to me. I know it takes time/practise and maybe it isn't my strong point but I feel like I have to improve on it you know. Sometimes I get awkward looks but I know I'm a good DJ. I know a lot about music and only play the most relevant songs to the situation. Being able to own the crowd on the mic would be great.

Saying that I do try and I do the welcome along, happy bday shout outs, and requests, enjoy your night..etc
    Apart from that I feel like I should be saying more(I get MAX 3-4 requests). I'm not bad at it, and I never crash lyrics, that is a really amateur thing to do.

Talking on the mic, in busy clubs where the tunes are pumping, shouldn't be a problem because you GET A RESPONSE...not that I've done a big club although I hope to sometime! Basically my point is I get function rooms and pubs and the likes and I often feel like i'm not getting a response. I want to hit the club and start a woo-der-it-is!!
    Basically, it's hard talking at calm, settled functions with little to NO response.

leggo, that's the exact advice I was looking for, really appreciate it.
    Is there other advice you have from the topics I've discussed above?
    What can I do to get more interactive with my crowd? To improve my MCing skills?

Good man, glad it helped.

It depends on the night how much you talk. Like your job as DJ is to feel out the room and take them to the level you want them to be: if it's a bday, keep them up dancing and make sure that from the musical end it's a night they don't forget. If it's a club, make sure they're happy leaving and want to come back and the owners are ultimately happy. If it's a quiet function, sometimes you've just got to be background music and play some tunes that keep you happy.

You talk as much as you need to get them from A to B: if it's the latter then you mightn't have to talk at all. Some clubs will tell you they don't like their DJs talking. Some crowds will react badly. That's all just reading the situation and using your own knowledge and cop-on to do your thing.

All you can do to get better is trial and error. Watch other DJs who's sets you're enjoying and see what they do, then apply any positive qualities to your own game.

Eventually you'll be confident enough to stamp your personality all over the set and people will appreciate the personal touch. For example, at my last gig I got tongue-tied and said "LET'S GO MUCKING FENTAL!" to which people responded with a massive "HUUUHHH??!" As a DJ, I try and stay relaxed so they see me as 'one of the lads' and then relax into letting me do my job, so I just laughed it off and said "See also...****ing mental..." Sure enough, the lads beside me laugh and start a "LET'S GO MUCKING FENTAL!" chant.

That's the kinda stamp you can (in this case, accidentally) put on the night where, all of a sudden, you've gone from being some randomer playing some chart and party tunes to being good craic and making the night that bit better for people involved.

A DJ shouting 'let's go fucking mental'? Really?

If you were at a gig, and saw a DJ do that, would that not make you cringe?

Not shouting that. I just mean in a good club. Like any DJ who wants to make it!

Not really. Unless he was really meek and you could tell he was embarrassed himself. If you can control a crowd, you'll know what to say to get them going and when to say it. I've been fortunate enough to cut my teeth in public speaking and MC-ing elsewhere so I've just applied that to another field.

But don't get me wrong: I've seen many DJs talk and just go over people's heads, many DJs who say the right things but at the wrong time or in the wrong way.

If the crowd was filled with people like you (not meant in a bad way) who WOULD cringe if I said that...then it's my job to realise that and act accordingly. Like I said, for me the role of a DJ is to see that crowd is in A and just take them to B however that needs to happen.

If I was at a gig and either the crowd or the DJ started a lets go ****ing mental chant or even worse a whoomph there it is chant not only would I cringe but I'd be seriously irritated. You're there for the tunes, not some pleb who wants to interact with the crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

If I was at a gig and either the crowd or the DJ started a lets go ****ing mental chant or even worse a whoomph there it is chant not only would I cringe but I'd be seriously irritated. You're there for the tunes, not some pleb who wants to interact with the crowd.

So i take you dont like scooter then:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

I imagine Leggo is a lot closer to 6:40.

Only his earlier work /chinstroke :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Eddie Ere

Potentially bannable mention of a derogatory word.

I imagine Leggo is a lot closer to 6:40.

Damnit. I can't find that Peter Kay sketch where they take the piss out of 'DJs' who have to pay people to let them play in their club...or I'd be right back at ya! ;)

Huh? Who pays to DJ in a club? It's one thing to play for free to get recognition (bands have been doing that years) but paying to play?

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Huh? Who pays to DJ in a club? It's one thing to play for free to get recognition (bands have been doing that years) but paying to play?

Oh sorry. You call it being a 'promoter'. Right.

I call it a promoter? I asked you an honest question. Dunno why you have to answer with all the attitude.

Leggo I'm getting really annoyed at you insinuating everyone around here who's not a chart dj gets paid in pints or pays to play.
    I'm not going to discuss my personal finances on here, but I rarely ever played for free in Dublin.
    So let that be an end to that.

Well I don't particularly like my ability or love of music called into question simply based on genres I listen to or gigs that I play. Especially when I've kept quiet despite hearing not-so-flattering stories about the 'experts' now so quick to dismiss.

So it works two ways mate. Ever hear the phrase "judge not less ye be judged"?

Ever hear the phrase "judge not less ye be judged"?

Yes, its usually spouted by some headcase in a dress with a funny hat asking us to beleive in sky fairys.:D

Well I don't particularly like my ability or love of music called into question simply based on genres I listen to or gigs that I play. Especially when I've kept quiet despite hearing not-so-flattering stories about the 'experts' now so quick to dismiss.

oh do enlighten us.

So it works two ways mate. Ever hear the phrase "judge not less ye be judged"?

Wasn't it that deluded schizophrenic carpenter from around the Israel area that said that?
    I'm fairly sure it was.....

Get this, he also said
    "If a man abide not in me, he is cast forth as a branch, and is withered; and men gather them, and cast them into the fire, and they are burned."

I know I've a bit of a messiah complex but I'm not calling for my detractors to be thrown in a fire (but I'm a bit of snob like that- it just seems tacky).

jtsuited wrote: »
    I know I've a bit of a messiah complex but I'm not calling for my detractors to be thrown in a fire (but I'm a bit of snob like that- it just seems tacky).

Het hey, leave the messiah out of this,

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WjoKdIVBVfY

Oh sorry. I'll use the boards method of insult someone then cry about being insulted.

****...did I say cry? Sorry didn't mean to touch a nerve. You know who you are ;)

Oh sorry. I'll use the boards method of insult someone then cry about being insulted.

****...did I say cry? Sorry didn't mean to touch a nerve. You know who you are ;)

???????

Can't say more man. Sources and all that. One guy has a turtle-head peeking out reading this though. Let's just say that the Internet is a great tool for making someone believe they're an expert...until you see the REAL story behind the keyboard...

Let's not derail this dude's thread any further.