Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

post photos or not !!!!!!!

• 03-01-2011 1:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭

should we post photos of our kills
    as i see it, it is proof we are getting what we say
    I might not believe somebody saying he shot 6 or 7 foxes in 1 night ( with out a photo )
    some people don't like the blood and guts but its reallity
    maybe cover the wounds, just show the dead animal
    what do you think, love to hear your view

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭everypenny

People put up pictures of fish they've caught. I don't see the problem of doing the same with game or vermin. Hiding what we do just makes it easier for people to spin what we do into something malicious or machiavellian.

As JG said on another threadd, it may be beneficial to place the rifle in the picture to show that that was the method in which it was dipatched. Just be sure to do it in a way that makes the editing out or cropping of the rifle from the picture a dificult task.

Other then that, shoot away, with both the camera and the rifle!! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

You have to have a story and you have to have a picture.

One compliments the other, otherwise your boring me to death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

foxboy wrote: »
    I might not believe somebody saying he shot 6 or 7 foxes in 1 night ( with out a photo )

Yes, As Tastefully as possible.
    I do not approve of folk showing pics of them selves, or making the locations obvious.

Every computer has Paint as standard, open teh pic in paint and crop the pic to remove any security related issues, like Rifle serial numbers or human faces.
    Do not show pics with houses in the background as it sends out a bad message.
    I'm guilty of showing rabbits without heads, however it does prove that they are killed very humanely and cleanly.

Just my thoughts on the subject.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Every forum has its own set of rules and the hunting charter states that if you are anti-hunting, squeamish or easily offended by the sight of dead animals then it is best not to look in th hunting forum. It doesn't always work, but as its part and parcel of what we do we are entitled to post our pictures.

As deeks said though a good story makes the pictures better. nothing fancy just a description of how and with what you got the animal. If you do not want to bother with a story thats what the picture thread is for.

One other thing though is language, and i don't mean swearing. There is no need for the "action movie" talk of "so i blew its brains out", etc. Simply i took the head shot will suffice. This is not to keep those that do not agree with hunting happy, but we all hunt so we know whats involved when someone says a head shot.

So post away.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

At the moment there is a photo's thread.

Would there be any chance of having a 'Sporting Pictures' section?

I really like looking at people's pics and reading the stories attached, but there's no point in it taking over the Hunting section, and it's Very haphazard as part of a thread... I think a Sub-section would be perfect :confused:

Each section has its own photo thread so i'm not quite sure what you're looking for.

Target section - Target rifles and pictures of targets shot, etc.
    Main shooting section - General photos of guns.
    Hunting section - Hunting rifles/guns and game shot.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

ezridax wrote: »
    Each section has its own photo thread so i'm not quite sure what you're looking for.

it think he means a sticky thread where people tell their stories about the day and what they shot with the pictures instead of starting a new thread for each one.. i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭fodda

foxboy wrote: »

Depends on what you are trying to do. If it is prove your story then you could email your pic or have a password protected part of the forum where only really interested people could view then if you dont like what you see you dont have to go there. But then again if its to keep the public on your side pics are just a public relations disaster because most of them are only ever going to look when there is some kind of headline story in the press or TV which will no doubt be anti what you do.
    everypenny People put up pictures of fish they've caught. I don't see the problem of doing the same with game or vermin. Hiding what we do just makes it easier for people to spin what we do into something malicious or machiavellian.

Most anglers return the fish except if its going to eaten, they dont kill for a bit of fun or to have a living part of the nations wildlife stuck on the wall of their living room. In fact anglers have won any public relations problem and in doing so have scuppered any attempt by antis to discredit them.

fodda wrote: »

Most anglers return the fish except if its going to eaten, they dont kill for a bit of fun or to have a living part of the nations wildlife stuck on the wall of their living room. In fact anglers have won any public relations problem and in doing so have scuppered any attempt by antis to discredit them.

most shooters only shoot what is going to be eaten too, unless its vermin control

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,085 ✭✭✭clivej

Glensman wrote: »
    At the moment there is a photo's thread.

Would there be any chance of having a 'Sporting Pictures' section?

I really like looking at people's pics and reading the stories attached, but there's no point in it taking over the Hunting section, and it's Very haphazard as part of a thread... I think a Sub-section would be perfect :confused:
    ezridax wrote: »

garv123 wrote: »
    it think he means a sticky thread where people tell their stories about the day and what they shot with the pictures instead of starting a new thread for each one.. i think

I have tried to get this going twice before BUT it's never going to happen. The photo's thread in all the shooting sections is a total mess where you only have one thread to hold all the photo's that all the prople have put up.

What is required is a photo sub-section within each section of the shooting forum to place the photo threads. That way you don't have to wade through all the photo's and peoples replies to a photo to see someone uploaded pictures. You can view by the title of the thread just as you now view by the titles in each forum section.

most shooters only shoot what is going to be eaten too, unless its vermin control

But what you class as vermin is what others like to have around unless it shouldnt be there like mink.

clivej wrote: »
    I have tried to get this going twice before BUT it's never going to happen. The photo's thread in all the shooting sections is a total mess where you only have one thread to hold all the photo's that all the prople have put up.

What is required is a photo sub-section within each section of the shooting forum to place the photo threads. That way you don't have to wade through all the photo's and peoples replies to a photo to see someone uploaded pictures. You can view by the title of the thread just as you now view by the titles in each forum section.
    i think its ok the way it is at the moment, just my opinion anyway. the new threads people start about their night our day out are a good read and then they go off the main page and away down the pages so their not bothering anyone then.

But what you class as vermin is what others like to have around unless it shouldnt be there like mink.

completely going off topic so i'm not replying.

LADS

This thread is for the discussion of the changes people would like to see to the photo threads. What or why people shoot vermin has been discussed on numerous other threads.

I would like this to be kept on topic to get an idea of what people ar looking for. If you want to discuss vermin shooting start another thread.

Ez.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭lamper35

I do not approve of folk showing pics of them selves, or making the locations obvious.

why wud someone showing a pic of themselves bother u as long as its not a pic of u...as for approving things is for mods:rolleyes:

I thought i was on topic perhaps i never explained properly.

Post pics of shot pigeons or rabbits which are going for the pot (some class as vermin?) = no real problem?

Post pics of a blooded fox (some people class as vermin) Well quite a lot of people do not class as vermin for all sorts of reasons?

I thought i was on topic perhaps i never explained properly.

Post pics of shot pigeons or rabbits which are going for the pot (some class as vermin?) = no real problem?

Post pics of a blooded fox (some people class as vermin) Well quite a lot of people do not class as vermin for all sorts of reasons?

they are classed as vermin in the hunting laws? so why not show pics of your kill? you're on a hunting forum so seen pictures of dead animals is expected surely?

maybe we could put NSFW before any threads that we start that are going to show some bloody/messy pics? this way they'll know what to expect opening a thread. doesnt bother me but its just my idea to keep people happy

lamper35 wrote: »

why wud someone showing a pic of themselves bother u as long as its not a pic of u...as for approving things is for mods:rolleyes:

It bothers me because.

If someone has a break in as a result of posting pics of them selves or Firearm security it will affect us all.

And for the record, I did say it was my personal opinion, which many often disagree with me on.

Nothing wrong with PM'ing pics.

I also disapprove of fellas posting pics wearing Irish DPM as it is a Crime for Anyone NOT in The DF and NOT on Active Duty to wear it in the field.

And I also like Bolts to be shown Open Or Obviously de-cocked (for the purposes of demonstration)

they are classed as vermin in the hunting laws? so why not show pics of your kill? you're on a hunting forum so seen pictures of dead animals is expected surely?

Really i have never seen "hunting law" where does that exist? i have only seen "protected lists"

It maybe a hunting forum but it is an open forum where you will have to put across good reason for what you do in the eyes of the public usually at the wrong time and for the wrong reasons, so maybe it be better to draw the line on what you post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

clivej wrote: »

What Clive said, this is exactly what I was getting at! I think it would be a great help to the forum. It would see more people uploading photos and stories, without it being a total mess.
    Each photo/story deserves its own thread, but within a sub-forum :)

I also disapprove of fellas posting pics wearing Irish DPM as it is a Crime for Anyone NOT in The DF and NOT on Active Duty to wear it in the field.

+1 on that Tack, but members of the DF can wear uniform at any time so long as they're properly dressed. Might cause a panic though if locals see platoons of lads out hunting in uniform, berets and all. I agree with the posters statement on not posing in the picture for both the security reason and the fact I doubt anyone would be interested on what I look like. :D

If people are using Irish DPM I would recommend that ye stop or don't post pictures as it is a crime, same as if ye were wearing a Garda jacket.

Really i have never seen "hunting law" where does that exist? i have only seen "protected lists"

It maybe a hunting forum but it is an open forum where you will have to put across good reason for what you do in the eyes of the public usually at the wrong time and for the wrong reasons, so maybe it be better to draw the line on what you post?

law was a pretty terrible word to use there :rolleyes: silly rushed reply.
    ive seen a list of them on here in another thread with a link but i cant find it. but yes it had fox down as vermin.

theres nothing wrong with showing it on the public forum when its legal. illegal pics could stir alot of hastle alright but there always quickly deleted my the mods

If people are using Irish DPM I would recommend that ye stop or don't post pictures as it is a crime, same as if ye were wearing a Garda jacket.

am i been very stupid not knowing what irish DPM stands for?:rolleyes:

law was a pretty terrible word to use there :rolleyes: silly rushed reply.
    ive seen a list of them on here in another thread with a link but i cant find it. but yes it had fox down as vermin.

theres nothing wrong with showing it on the public forum when its legal. illegal pics could stir alot of hastle alright but there always quickly deleted my the mods

No problem garv but this "vermin list" i have honestly never seen a "list" of what is legally? actually? classed as vermin. I know we or individuals class some animals as vermin like a rat which i suppose is unaminous but a list from an authorised body i havent seen.

I wouldnt class a shooting organisation as an "authorised body" either.

Yes. :) DPM stands for disruptive pattern material. It's patchy camouflage clothing worn by most armies. Each army would have a distinctive type ie: Irish would be different to American to English. Wearing Irish is a crime as you could be mistaken for someone trying to impersonate a soldier. I don't know what the law is in relation to wearing foreign DPM, but id be careful in case you get shot as a spy. :D

Desruptive patterned material

And form of multicoloured clothing/material that breaks up your our line (combats etc with camo colours)

Several lads regular post here with Irish issue DPM here.

it's a pet peeve of mine when I see Civies wearing it in the Field.

If it is prove your story then you could email your pic or have a password protected part of the forum where only really interested people could view then if you dont like what you see you dont have to go there.

Simply not possible. If we were to make the hunting forum or a sub section of it (to do with photos) a private section then the anti hunting groups would have a field day with how hunters are hiding what they do. We want transparency. If you do not like it so be it. You are entitlwed to your opinion and hence the reason why we leave the hunting section open to all.
    .......... they dont kill for a bit of fun or to have a living part of the nations wildlife stuck on the wall of their living room.

Thats a poor view of why hunters do what they do. Yes there is always the sports angle. I enjoy my shooting, and why shouldn't i. Man has hunted since the begining of time, and the argument that we no longer need to is rubbish. Alot still shoot for the meat and pot, while others must do it for protection of livestock, and crops.
    In fact anglers have won any public relations problem and in doing so have scuppered any attempt by antis to discredit them.

Anglers still suffer from the die hard factions that call fishing a blood sport.

Again each to their own. If you enjoy nature and like to photograph foxes, etc go nuts. If i have to shoot foxes to protect my livestock i'm going to do it. If i want to shoot rabbits, pigeons, crows, etc for crop protection or for the pot then i'm legally entitled to do so, and will continue to do so.

See above.

Have you not seen animals listed as having a season. So between animals that have seasons, those on the protected list that leaves everything else in between that can be shot, and would be classed as vermin.

This IS the hunting forum and one of the few places you do not have to justify why or what you do. Here you can relax and talk freely about any aspect of your shooting and that right will be defended to the last.
    No problem garv but this "vermin list" i have honestly never seen a "list" of what is legally? actually? classed as vermin.

As per my point above, mayber there is no definitive list of what actually constitutes vermin, but if it is not protected and does not have to be shot within a given season then i would class it as vermin as the Government do not deem the animals outside of these two lists as being worthy of protection or of such low numbers that they need a season to manage their numbers.
    I wouldnt class a shooting organisation as an "authorised body" either

Shooting and hunting organisations and representative bodies are there to enforce, inform, and police the laws and rules set out by the DOE/DOJ, etc. They keep the shooters as well informed as possible and supply lists of game, protected species, vermin, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Desruptive patterned material

And form of multicoloured clothing/material that breaks up your our line (combats etc with camo colours)

Several lads regular post here with Irish issue DPM here.

it's a pet peeve of mine when I see Civies wearing it in the Field.

Have to agree with you there Tack, like this fellah here the nerve of him.... feckless bloody pup!:p

20062010689.jpg

Deeks

up to the afore mentioned fellow in the pic if he wants to break the law.......

that shirt is the Uniform of our Defence Forces, and should be only worn by a serving member, in a smart Uniform and Soldier like manner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭MarkD.

Fair enough ya about the pictures but when your taking a pic and you have your DPM on you dont worry about your fashion. Well I dont..

I cant see notting wrong with wearing DPM as they are cheaply got in army stores and shops alike. They are durable and help you stealth in your sport or vermin control.

MarkD. wrote: »

Fair enough ya about the pictures but when your taking a pic and you have your DPM on you dont worry about your fashion. Well I dont..

I cant see notting wrong with wearing DPM as they are cheaply got in army stores and shops alike. They are durable and help you stealth in your sport or vermin control.

IRISH DPM can not be Purchased in SHOP's
    Anyone wearing it is wearing Stolen Property (property of the Department of Defence)
    Any other countries DPM is fine here, except along the border of course ;)

I am very specifically referring to IRISH Army Issue being a NO NO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭MarkD.

IRISH DPM can not be Purchased in SHOP's
    Anyone wearing it is wearing Stolen Property (property of the Department of Defence)
    Any other countries DPM is fine here, except along the border of course ;)

I am very specifically referring to IRISH Army Issue being a NO NO

Didnt realise you specifically meant Irish DPM (or maybe I didnt read the post in which you stated it).. I honestly could not tell the difference of various dpm patterns. Someday I'll learn and hopefully it wont be when an armed response is called into deal with me :D

DPM is ok. But if it's Irish army DPM, a distinctive pattern, then it's not. It's an official state uniform and therefore it's illegal to wear if you're not in the army. As I said earlier it would be the same as walking around in a Garda uniform in the eyes of the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Think there's a lot of argueing over nothing going on here.
    Getting very petty!
    If you want to post a pic then do. If you don't then don't. If photos of hunting outings from rats to rhinos bother you then maybe the knitting forum might be more suited! :D
    Like you know you could be offended if you turn this way, so why would you bother. If you don't like the type of photo or what 1 is wearing in that photo then lead by example in your own snaps & dont whinge about others. You can only be a master of your own destiny. Trying to influence others in this context is a waste of time. If they are breaking the law then let that run it's own course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Someday I'll learn and hopefully it wont be when an armed response is called into deal with me :D
    As the airsoft lads who photographed themselves airsofting while in Irish DPM kit can tell you, it's not an armed response that you get, it's a solicitor's letter threatening further legal action unless you cease and desist. The army do not think it's a minor thing...

Didnt realise you specifically meant Irish DPM (or maybe I didnt read the post in which you stated it).. I honestly could not tell the difference of various dpm patterns. Someday I'll learn and hopefully it wont be when an armed response is called into deal with me :D

They are relatively easy tell apart when you get the hang of it.

http://camopedia.org/index.php?title=Main_Page

I

Think there's a lot of argueing over nothing going on here.
    Getting very petty!
    If you want to post a pic then do. If you don't then don't. If photos of hunting outings from rats to rhinos bother you then maybe the knitting forum might be more suited! :D
    Like you know you could be offended if you turn this way, so why would you bother. If you don't like the type of photo or what 1 is wearing in that photo then lead by example in your own snaps & dont whinge about others. You can only be a master of your own destiny. Trying to influence others in this context is a waste of time. If they are breaking the law then let that run it's own course.
    I disagree with you there. If i was breaking the law in the conduct of hunting, wether I was aware of it or not, I'd prefer to be guided by someone who knew about it. Much better then being arrested for it or loosing my license. As well as it shows that posters to this forum are moral citizens who operate inside all the laws in the conduct of their sport. IMHO of course. : d

Just to explain where we are at the moment, we do keep a weather eye on the photos threads, but unless something is (a) illegal or suspect; (b) grossly over-the-top offensive/obscene; or (c) out-and-out stupid; we don't tend to do any moderating. In the exceptional cases, we usually just temporarily delete the relevant post and discuss things by PM with the poster; we've not actually run into any issues yet that that hasn't solved.

Sparks wrote: »
    Just to explain where we are at the moment, we do keep a weather eye on the photos threads, but unless something is (a) illegal or suspect; (b) grossly over-the-top offensive/obscene; or (c) out-and-out stupid; we don't tend to do any moderating. In the exceptional cases, we usually just temporarily delete the relevant post and discuss things by PM with the poster; we've not actually run into any issues yet that that hasn't solved.
    If I had the moderator powers too sparks I doubt I'd come across many issues that couldn't be "solved" either :D

i think photos should be left the way you are, even if they are bloody. its hunting after all.
    IMO the only pictures that should be deleted is something illegal like a deer who someone claims to have shot last night, in the summer, with a lamp. or a protected animal and stuff like that. obviously boards doesn't want to have these sort of pictures on the site either if their illegal i presume? and if its against the law to wear Irish DPM well then maybe them pictures should be removed too, after all the picture is showing something illegal in it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

and if its against the law to wear Irish DPM well then maybe them pictures should be removed too, after all the picture is showing something illegal in it

Interesting point that. I for one can't tell the difference between Irish DPM and any other DPM.

johngalway wrote: »
    Interesting point that. I for one can't tell the difference between Irish DPM and any other DPM.

me either;) but it wudnt be my job to pick out the legal and illegal ones :rolleyes:;):p

when i was younger i was given a heavy kids camo jacket for mucking about in in the garden and i could swear its the same as the irish dpm in the link posted above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

me either;) but it wudnt be my job to pick out the legal and illegal ones :rolleyes:;):p

Thanks to rampant capitalism I guess the job could be sub-contracted :cool:

johngalway wrote: »
    http://www2.ttcn.ne.jp/camouflage/image/irish_army_current_issue_shirt.jpg

An example of Irish. Other nations or civie spec DPM is ok and is useful in hunting, but you shouldn't wear this if you're not in the army. Only members of the Defence Forces can wear it.

everypenny wrote: »
    I disagree with you there. If i was breaking the law in the conduct of hunting, wether I was aware of it or not, I'd prefer to be guided by someone who knew about it. Much better then being arrested for it or loosing my license. As well as it shows that posters to this forum are moral citizens who operate inside all the laws in the conduct of their sport. IMHO of course. : d

Yes but it's the mods who police these forums & if I noticed something untoward I'd have the clout to pm some1 if it bothered me that much instead of publically drawing attention to it for the world to see!

If I had the moderator powers too sparks I doubt I'd come across many issues that couldn't be "solved" either :D
    Yeah, but the Stan Lee rule applies...
    i think photos should be left the way you are, even if they are bloody. its hunting after all.
    Yes, but you have to understand what I mean by over-the-top offensive. A headshot on a bunny isn't; someone gutting the bunny and then wearing it like a hat, would be. There's a pretty easy-to-spot line involved there :D

Yeah, but the Stan Lee rule applies...Yes, but you have to understand what I mean by over-the-top offensive. A headshot on a bunny isn't; someone gutting the bunny and then wearing it like a hat, would be. There's a pretty easy-to-spot line involved there :D
    I saw ray mears do that once :D

Yes but it's the mods who police these forums & if I noticed something untoward I'd have the clout to pm some1 if it bothered me that much instead of publically drawing attention to it for the world to see!
    I thought the idea behind a public forum was to draw attention to things. Otherwise we,d all be at home talking to ourselves (or posting poor jokes at half two in the morning, eh ez? :)) We learn from mistakes, not necessarily our own, and through the advice that others give. PMing this advice would remove the opportunity to learn from everyone.

Maybe, but that's Mears. Man's a lunatic.

I thought the idea behind a public forum was to draw attention to things. Otherwise we,d all be at home talking to ourselves (or posting poor jokes at half two in the morning, eh ez? :)) We learn from mistakes, not necessarily our own, and through the advice that others give. PMing this advice would remove the opportunity to learn from everyone.
    If someone takes a photo that may suggest they were after having shot a protected species, say, would you prefer that we publicise that or point out to them that they appeared to be in violation of a Wildlife Act? Before you answer, remember; we have no photo of them committing the violation, so no proof they broke the law; and accusing someone in public of breaking the law while hunting has already led to five-figure settlements of libel/slander/defamation court cases in the past.

What you may call a pr disaster, i think i would rather try and explain the legitimate side of what i may do to someone who is concerned to try to change their point of view so i may rely on their support when the going gets tough from flak from those who like headlines or are against me.

What are you raving about?
    Sure who has to explain their posts or hobbies to you? Legitimate side of what?
    Sure your the 1 questioning vermin hunting & passing comments about mounting trophies on the wall. You pass jugdement & comment before you ask. Not winning over any Support with your approach as you have alluded to.