Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2013; Eat my dust Meno!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

What did she win? BHAA?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

What did she win? BHAA?

Yeah, but last night.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭RunningKing

menoscemo wrote: »
    Yeah, but last night.....

Damn Facebook..........

• Registered Users Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭blockic

Lads sure claralara has left the building at this stage! ;):(

blockic wrote: »

Rumour has it she is doing the belfast 24hr tomorrow night :eek:

In other news; after my recent PBs she has totally given up on having me eat her dust this year ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭blockic

Rumour has it she is doing the belfast 24hr tomorrow night :eek:

WTF!! :eek:
    In other news; after my recent PBs she has totally given up on having me eat her dust this year ;)

Is that why she doesn't post anymore? Cos she knows she won't live up to it? ;)

Epic log title fail :p

That'll bite ya!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

She's just had her sex change and is now a bloke. Wanted to join the male ranks so she could beat meno in his own category. She is just waiting for hormones to leave her system before taking on meno again. Doesn't want to be branded a cheat, although she is now a chick with a dick. Apparently digger is enjoying the bit of variety but is still a giver and not a taker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

That'll bite ya!

It might indeed, sure we are only halfway through the year and the real smackdown was sub 3 in DCM :eek:

I can confirm that following her BHAA win on Thursday, CL is heading to Belfast for the 24HR relay, escorted by her, ahem, Manager and armed with the knowledge of her Coach whom despite running multiple Boston's and London's has never done an Ultra!!

I heard her coach is too fast and too god damn good looking for ultras.

digger2d2 wrote: »
    I can confirm that following her BHAA win on wedesday, CL is heading to Belfast for the 24HR relay, escorted by her, ahem, Manager and armed with the knowledge of her Coach whom despite running multiple Boston's and London's has never done an Ultra!!

FYP;)

Her coach and her rival will meanwhile be putting in some ultra beer mile training at a different track in the other capital :pac: Be sure to keep us updated on progress in belfast....

FYP;)

Her coach and her rival will meanwhile be putting in some ultra beer mile training at a different track in the other capital :pac: Be sure to keep us updated on progress in belfast....

Beer drinking is all I'm good for these days :(

FYP;)

Will do dude!

TRR wrote: »
    Beer drinking is all I'm good for these days :(

Aw dude, don't be so hard on yourself, there might not be a special handshake but the HPU looks after its own, so, go put your pirate costume on and I'll give you a special uncle hug ;):D:eek:

I'm sure I'm not the first man you've asked to dress up in fancy dress so you could give them a hug ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Will do dude!

So does this mean I've stumbled upon a crew for myself too??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭hot to trot

Well done Cl on some super running in Belfast. Was nearly dizzy looking at you going around so fast.

Let me jump in and say ''you too'' absolutely incredible stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

thanks CL and Dig for all the running and support,,,Donadea rc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

Well they say absence makes the heart grow fonder...?! :rolleyes:

The following is brief (by my standards) but it should be a good update on what I’ve been up to – the highlights anyway!

It’s been a good two months since I’ve updated. There are fair (I won’t say good) reasons for this. Mainly that I’ve been really busy in work and outside work and I really haven’t got the heart to spend my downtime in front of the computer typing drivel that most likely bores you all to tears in anyways. And I’ve been enjoying sitting on the couch in the evening with a tonne of chocolate and a bottle of wine and I’ve been dining out and having post work drinks in the sun and and and... weather has been amazing and life is short!

Also, may I take this opportunity to confirm that my MIA-ness is not (and despite what the man himself may say...) to be taken as a sign that I’ve been running scared from Meno. Back in mid-June, my log fulfilled its namesake (twice in less than 72 hours might I add!) before Meno took his chance to gloat on my turf in my absence. Yes, I chicked the poor fook in the beer mile as he spewed his guts up on the side of track – boy, I chicked him good! Following the uber session on that miserable Friday night, a number of the beery participants ventured out to Raheny on the Sunday morning , dodging eye contact the way the way office staff might do the morning after the Christmas party with the open bar and the deeply regretful trip to CFJ’s ;) It was a lovely race which doubled as the Dublin Novice 5K championship. I ran it to the second of my PB in 18:48, chicking Meno at about 3.5 miles in the manner that I suppose he’ll just have to get used to. I was the third lady to finish and because Ladies 1 & 2 weren’t novices, I took the gold medal. I was absolutely delighted as I had not been looking forward to the race at all.

I was none too happy to read the Menopause’s gloaty post but I suppose I have a moral victory in that we had previously had a good chat about where we were both at and he admitted, and I promised I wouldn’t tell anyone this so I’m not going to, that had I been running the London Marathon and not Boston, I would definitely have beaten him on the day. I actually thought that was quite a nice confession. And seeing as I’m not one to stoop to another’s petty level, I’m happy to keep that to myself!

I think the last time I posted, I was off to attempt a sub 40 10k in the DCWMM. I didn’t hit it on the day – it was extremely hot and a very tough race in the city centre. I ran 40:55 and was very happy with that in the circumstances. I haven’t run a 10K since but I’d like to think the sub 40 is there – obviously on a good tough course and not the downhill one with the tailwind that Meno ran while I was out of the country so that he wouldn’t have to eat any more dust.

I’ve been training and racing away mostly structure-free. The Achill Half Marathon at the start of July was an absolute beast of a run which I finished in 1:28.11. Given the difficulty of the course, I’d like to believe I was in PB shape (1:27.48) on a different course. I took off like the clappers, despite lining up with a disciplined plan, and paid for it from about the 4 mile mark. It was a great race and weekend away with the Lepers and Mrs TRR, even if the running/drinking/staying-awake pressure was all on me! ;)

I’ve been running in the BHAA races with work and having good craic with those. The teams are doing well; and I even took home a first prize trophy in the DCC 5K a couple of weeks ago where I ran an extremely disciplined, strong and comfortable race finishing in 19:43 on a hot evening where lots of people suffered.

I also took part in the Belfast 24 hour race having infiltrated the Donadea team. I think, if Digs is entitled to all these ultra t-shirts, that I should at least get an honorary Dondea club vest...Anto?! I really enjoyed the event...in a horribly sadistic kind of way. Running 3 X 2hour blocks (about 15 miles per block), I am still in awe of those who took part in the 12 and 24 hour events. Witnessing the determination and pain and talent and joy of those runners was UN-BELIEVABLE! I would never say never, but I don’t think I have any desire to test my body to the limits like that any time soon. It’s certainly not in my 5 year plan. Then again, I can’t say that many of the events of the past 5 years would have been in my 5 year plan in 2008! It was some event though – the atmosphere and the camaraderie was inspiring. I was nicknamed the metronome by the lap counters...I think it might be time for some spontaneity in my life...

So...here we are, the last day of July, and the cost of DCM goes up tomorrow and I’m stoney broke from the last 2 months of fun and games, and well, it’d be rude not to... 89 days to CL’s next goal..bring it on!

I don’t think I’ll be logging daily training on here but I think I’ll keep the log alive. So everyone, welcome to the off-topic thread of the Training Logs forum. Feel free to keep yourselves entertained and to post any training and or racing wherein Meno ate some dust. I suspect he’s going to have a very dry throat by the end of the year... ;)

And lads – keept it clean!!

Over and out.
    CL

Who?!
    Epic log title fail :p

Karma's a biatch. That's all I'll say for now. That, plus the fact there are 5 long months left in 2013.. ;)

Oh my gosh, I do not deserve a well done - you were amazing! I was like a trainee thrown into a grown-up job; or a 16 year old with a fake ID getting locked on 2 alcopops while the those of legal age played with the big boys over 18 pints!!

great to see you back posting, its a better place with you here!

Lot's of hot air there and no substance.

Let's look at the cold, hard facts:

June 5k
    CL: 18:48
    Meno: 18:22

June 10k
    CL: 40:55
    Meno: 38:29

You seem to get worse as the distance goes up ;)

June 5k

June 10k

How are you fixed for Monday meno? I'm on your side now, seen as you are a fellow club mate and also CL has been slagging me and our club off. Don't let us down!

TRR wrote: »
    How are you fixed for Monday meno? I'm on your side now, seen as you are a fellow club mate and also CL has been slagging me and our club off. Don't let us down!

According to E.coli I am all contorted and out of place, probably shouldn't be running but will make decision by friday/saturday

claralara wrote: »
    You might note that I referred, in a very honest and fair manner, only to race we had both competed in.

I couldn't run the WMM as Marthastew would not have given me a medal; what would be the point? ;)

June 5k

June 10k

June 5k

June 10k

You might note that I referred, in a very honest and fair manner, only to race we had both competed in. You, on the other hand, are using races I didn't run as examples of your apparent ability to run better than I. Okey doke - you need to do what you need to do. I wonder how it will look if i employ your methods of comparison in 12weeks time?

Also - your 10k:- net downhill, epic tailwind, lovely evening temperatures. My 10k:-2pm, city centre, 25+degrees, 40,000 hot chicks distracting me!
    Your 5k:- probably a left hand net downhill course in Meath. My 5k:- a twisty course of 2 laps in an open public park - not pb territory.

And seeing as we are correcting each other - my 10k came before my 5k.

June 5k

June 10k

Dude, the smackdown was always going to be DCM, sometimes you have to accept things and turn your back to the wind when you're pi55ing! ;)