Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wager Match Comp Draws and Results

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭akkenny

Maybe it's worth while breaking the list into who can play now (tonight or tomoro) and then another one for a later date. That way not all 12 players are waiting around for one or two people...

...Just a suggestion[/QUOTE

This is so stupid what is the point in doing a competition and a draw if your not continue with it, i agree that its been taking a bit of time but whats the rush, have people gotta stop playing x box soon, i had all members in my group ready apart form lynx who didn't reply to my messages or friend requests for nearly a week, he finally did add me and we were going to get it done this weekend, also how is floyd and benrob suppose to play in my "new group" when they live in the same house, like whats the big rush and whats the point in having a competition if people make up new rules as they go along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

akkenny wrote: »
    Maybe it's worth while breaking the list into who can play now (tonight or tomoro) and then another one for a later date. That way not all 12 players are waiting around for one or two people...

...Just a suggestion

This is so stupid what is the point in doing a competition and a draw if your not continue with it, i agree that its been taking a bit of time but whats the rush, have people gotta stop playing x box soon, i had all members in my group ready apart form lynx who didn't reply to my messages or friend requests for nearly a week, he finally did add me and we were going to get it done this weekend, also how is floyd and benrob suppose to play in my "new group" when they live in the same house, like whats the big rush and whats the point in having a competition if people make up new rules as they go along.

Nobody made up new rules. As I said to you last night, the group change benefited nobody in ayway shape or form. I suggested it was a bit unfair for people who are ready and willing to play at any time have to wait around. No rules have been changed. We all played the allocted 3 games of each wager match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I agree with akkenny and move that my group be replayed :p:p

Worth a try :pac:

In all honesty I dont see it making a difference, some people were sick of waiting and I just happened to be on at the time

@akkenny, I know it took a while for me to accept the FR calm down pal its done now

LYNX

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

I think he's annoyed because benrob and floyd are now in the same group. They're brothers so they'll have to share the screen and be at a disadvantage.

yimrsg wrote: »
    I think he's annoyed because benrob and floyd are now in the same group. They're brothers so they'll have to share the screen and be at a disadvantage.

Woops didnt know that, bit sh***y alright :(

yimrsg wrote: »

I was unaware at the time that BenRob and Floyd ended up in the same group.

Not sure how to proceed from here. Obv the people who have qualified aren't going to want to play again and the people that didn't, will.

Floor is open to suggestions.

Not sure how to proceed from here. Obv the people who have qualified aren't going to want to play again and the people that didn't, will.

Not true, I was s**t, wouldnt expect a replay for any reason

FWIW, I qualified and would have no qualms with replaying the original groups, if thats the general consenus.

WRT benrob and floyd, what would they have done if both qualified for the final?

Nobody made up new rules. As I said to you last night, the group change benefited nobody in ayway shape or form. I suggested it was a bit unfair for people who are ready and willing to play at any time have to wait around. No rules have been changed. We all played the allocted 3 games of each wager match.

i see you didn't see what i said about floyd and ben, didn't give that thought before you proceeded, thats just kinda messed things up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭docdolittle

i see you didn't see what i said about floyd and ben, didn't give that thought before you proceeded, thats just kinda messed things up

So what happens if they are both in the final then? :confused:

And the people that qualified shouldn't have a problem with playing the same groups again cause they were the ones allocated to them, i think you need everyone to agree with what you did last night for it to go ahead and i defo don't agree as im sure benrob and floyd also, i think it was a bad idea from the start and the groups that were first announced should be played, does anyone agree with this.

So what happens if they are both in the final then? :confused:

i think floyd and ben knew when coming into the competition that they could be drawn in the same group or if they got to the final obviously they would be in the same group, i think it is obviously a big disadvantage to everyone in the group if they play split screen, if both make it to the final then one should play in a neutral place, friends house or whatever, if they cant do that then maybe taking the 4th highest place out of the 2 groups is the fairest. like i said i think the knew coming in that they could be drawn against each other at some point and something to keep things fair would have to be done, like to hear back from either one if they get to the final can one play at a neutral place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

And the people that qualified shouldn't have a problem with playing the same groups again cause they were the ones allocated to them, i think you need everyone to agree with what you did last night for it to go ahead and i defo don't agree as im sure benrob and floyd also, i think it was a bad idea from the start and the groups that were first announced should be played, does anyone agree with this.

I thought this competition was just for fun , didnt realise it was serious business . :pac:

I lost last night so im not playing again, I doubt I'd do any better but if I did I dont think it would be fair on the person whos place I took

/*sees this turning into BRDS v IRL...
    *jumps boat*/

Shammy wrote: »
    I thought this competition was just for fun , didnt realise it was serious business . :pac:

ye it is fun, but changing how its run can make things awkward for some people (ben and floyd) and ruin the funness ha:eek:, trying to keep it a little competitive and fair and just deciding to mix the groups to suit some people can ruin the funness (like that word)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

ye it is fun, but changing how its run can make things awkward for some people (ben and floyd) and ruin the funness ha:eek:, trying to keep it a little competitive and fair and just deciding to mix the groups to suit some people can ruin the funness (like that word)

True , but you can see where Cereal was coming from , there were lads eager to get going and they made a decision to go ahead .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭celtic723

They'd have to have played spilt screen at some stage if they met anyway.

It is a bit unfair but i didn't even realise. Also unfair to have it played again as those who got through mightn't get through this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,123 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Could one of them not play on a mate's Xbox?

I'm sure someone would oblige...

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

Just had a wild idea.

• How about once enough of the semi-finalists, (6 of 12 I presume) are online and they complete a full set of all 4 game types 3 times and then their scores are recorded. If they end up playing 2 games their scores are averaged. They shouldn't need to play more than 2 games, I think.
    • That way some players could play 1 or 2 games but at least that way all players have played one match.

On reading the above, that's a idiotic idea.

Wild idea two:
    • Maybe it's better to try a round robbing final with each players score an average of their scores over at least 3 games of the 4 game modes?
    • Just make sure that every player has completed the minimum number of games and there is a good rotation of players so it's not the same subset of players again and again
    • If a player does complete more than 5+ games, then you could ignore their highest and lowest scores as outliers for the purposes of averaging scores.

I think there was always a chance that either Floyd/Benrob or Boronic/Coraven would get into the final and cause us headaches.

I know this could get hideously complex but it might allow you to dig yourselves out of the f***ery. Hope some of the above rambling helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

stick a bit of cardboard between the screen so they cant see the other side ?

did it years ago to beat the crap outta my screen watching brother in goldeneye64....what a game btw

Agreed that it's a bit unfair about Ben and Floyd but I honestly don't think it was thought about until you (akkenny) mentioned it.

They would have had to meet at some point, providing they progressed (which they have).

@Akkenny, if you come up with a reasonable solution I'm sure the other 5 people would be willing to agree.

IPAM says he doesn't want to play again and in fairness, neither do I. It will only turn into handbags should one player, who got knocked out already, progress into the finals.

Whatever the majority votes on I'll agree. As Shammy said, it was only meant for a bit of craic. I dont think changing the teams around really had that much of an impact.

What would you have done if the random draw had pulled Ben and Floyd together? Rearrange it? If that's the case, then that's exactly what we did. Rearrange to suit.

Agreed that it's a bit unfair about Ben and Floyd but I honestly don't think it was thought about until you (akkenny) mentioned it.

They would have had to meet at some point, providing they progressed (which they have).

@Akkenny, if you come up with a reasonable solution I'm sure the other 5 people would be willing to agree.

IPAM says he doesn't want to play again and in fairness, neither do I. It will only turn into handbags should one player, who got knocked out already, progress into the finals.

Whatever the majority votes on I'll agree. As Shammy said, it was only meant for a bit of craic. I dont think changing the teams around really had that much of an impact.

What would you have done if the random draw had pulled Ben and Floyd together? Rearrange it? If that's the case, then that's exactly what we did. Rearrange to suit.

if everyone is happy to conitinue then fare enough but what if ben or floyd isn't happy about things been changed around? what would you suggest then?
    if you are going to rearrange things it should be to suit everyone not just yourself, doesn't effect me i guess unless the 2 lads cheat :D, answer to your question if they had of been pulled in together then maybe redraw would be put in place if everyone agreed but you redrawing things and putting ben and floyd in the same group i think was a mistake and i know you said you didn't know and i believe you but its kinda messed things up now.you cant say just because they could meet in the final that the may aswell play right now,hopefully the lads write back and we can get it sorted

if you are going to rearrange things it should be to suit everyone not just yourself

Al, stop making it personal. It wasn't suiting just me. It was to tailor to 6 peoples needs.

Anyhow, we'll wait to hear back from Ben and FLoyd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

You Rang? :pac:

Al, stop making it personal. It wasn't suiting just me. It was to tailor to 6 peoples needs.

Anyhow, we'll wait to hear back from Ben and FLoyd

ok let me rephrase, if you are going to rearrange things it should be to suit everyone not just yourselves

You Rang? :pac:

so whats the story you and your brother happy to play the group the way it is?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭celtic723

ok let me rephrase, if you are going to rearrange things it should be to suit everyone not just yourselves

Ye next time myself and Elkat will sit down with the phonebook and search for the numbers of IPAM, docdolittle, the floyd p, benrobjon, paddyman, and many others.

celtic723 wrote: »
    Ye next time myself and Elkat will sit down with the phonebook and search for the numbers of IPAM, docdolittle, the floyd p, benrobjon, paddyman, and many others.

your such an idiot

/*sees this turning into BRDS v IRL...
    *jumps boat*/

Looks like I was right... :mad: Seriously guys!? This is just for fun! ben or floyd haven't even said if they mind yet and it's already turning into crap again.. Whenever I've played with any boards guys it was pretty good, but the stuff that goes on here is just getting tiresome and really annoying.