Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BRDS vs IRL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭bubbleking

all perks/equipment are allowed imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

TBH I'm not sure what level would be our choice. Hopefully one of the other players would suggest something as I'd probably choose something like launch, villa or radiation for dom.

Just to be clear are you having killstreaks in your game mode? Cereal's original post was against their inclusion. Again, I haven't spoken to all our team with regard their inclusion in our game choice so unless they're unanimously in favour of them, I'd stick my neck out and not include them.

Doc, I added you there as a friend. I think the banned list is (with the other teams approval) definite as it is.

The launcher's thing might need revision as if you play with killstreaks are we not allowed a strella/etc (no noobtubes) to shoot it down or is that considered ungentlemanly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

so can i get some idea whats going on last i checked i was a sub but i think i read that wrong and im actually playing :P so whos playing ? when are we playing ? and can we get some practice in as a team first

yeah sierra your starting. (i hope!) tonight at 9.

team is: correct spelling is back earlier in the thread.
    yimrag
    enigma/blacky chan
    sierra
    docdolittle/docereedoo
    floyd
    paddyman/akkenny

I'll be on in an hour or so to brush up and send friend invites/ tactics as necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

I don't mind what rules we play, but they should be consistent across all game types i.e. it would be silly to have things turned on/off, allowed or disallowed per game.

One set of rules that covers all games. I can be online an hour before the game is scheduled for some practice.

bubbleking wrote: »
    all perks/equipment are allowed imo

Well at the start of the thread the rules laid out by cereal rapist included a banned list. You thanked his post even. Thought you thanked the post.
    All Games

Hardcore Mode: Disabled
    Allow Killcam: Enabled
    Headshots Only: Disabled
    Allow Sprint: Enabled
    Force Respawn: Enabled
    Wave Spawn Delay: None
    Max Health: Normal
    Health Regen: Normal
    Spectating: Team Only
    Friendly Fire: Enabled
    Class Editor: Allow Player Classes
    Killstreak Editor: Don't Allow Killstreaks
    Perk Editor: Allow Perks
    Game Recording: Enabled
    Party Privacy: Invite Only
    Banned

Secondary Launchers
    Flak Jacket
    Nova Gas
    Decoy
    All Equipment
    Warlord
    Second Chance
    Grenade Launcher
    Flamethrower

Are you asking for all these to be allowed in your game type or should they be include ours aswell as the 3rd game mode?

To be fair to all sides, there is still alot of this up in the air as regard specific rules/killstreaks/perks/banned lists that I fear this match up turning into a fiasco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭docdolittle

yimrsg wrote: »
    yeah sierra your starting. (i hope!) tonight at 9.

team is: correct spelling is back earlier in the thread.
    yimrag
    enigma/blacky chan
    sierra
    docdolittle/docereedoo
    floyd
    paddyman/akkenny

I'll be on in an hour or so to brush up and send friend invites/ tactics as necessary.

I'll be on in around an hour too, if you want to team up before this starts just send me an invite :)

I've only ever played a few games of hardcore so that won't be my strong point, especially ctf :o

I'd really like a few things like last stand, noob-tubes and free-aim launchers to be not allowed. (strella allowed for anti-air) Other that that, I'm fine.

Edit: also, what map are we going for in Dom.? My preference would be Grid

I just named 3 maps of the top of my head but I'd agree, Grid could be a good call. I'd prefer a group decision for the map pick so if players and subs each picked one that's probably best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Even though I'm unable to play I'm still going to give my 2 cents.

ALL equipment and ALL kilstreaks disabled.

Not a great idea to be chopping and changing between games IMO

EDIT: Talking to akkenny/paddyman who reckons he can't play. I may be back on track :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

Even though I'm unable to play I'm still going to give my 2 cents.

ALL equipment and ALL kilstreaks disabled.

Not a great idea to be chopping and changing between games IMO

EDIT: Talking to akkenny/paddyman who reckons he can't play. I may be back on track :)

I paid 45 snots for the game, so I want to use all the stuff that comes with it. Thats not even taking into account that I spent 5000 Cod Points on my claymores and you's damn liberals want to ban them. Whats next, we rename nuketown to nomorenukestown and run around hugging each other. Damn liberals :mad:

father-ted-careful-now.jpg

55 mins to play time, we really should get the rules sorted...

I paid 45 snots for the game, so I want to use all the stuff that comes with it. Thats not even taking into account that I spent 5000 Cod Points on my claymores and you's damn liberals want to ban them. Whats next, we rename nuketown to nomorenukestown and run around hugging each other. Damn liberals :mad:

father-ted-careful-now.jpg

Suggested rules were posted at the start of the thread. If we can't agree on rules, there's not much point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

If the rules can't be sorted then there ain't much point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Benrobjohn

What rules are being used?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭bubbleking

looks like we need more time to sort this out

What do you need to sort out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭dunworth1

question for ye

why cant we just play the game with the standard/normal play rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

dunworth1 wrote: »
    question for ye

why cant we just play the game with the standard/normal play rules.

I think the answer to that is because its a clan match , which is supposed to determine which has the better skill.
    The mlg rules that are there require each clan to be indiviually skillful but more importantly it goes on team work and communication , not with the help of equipment and killstreaks .
    I said it before , can you imagine the farce playing ctf hc with 12 people tubing.

edit: the 2 leaders will have to get into a party chat and compromise if they want this to go ahead.

So the battle didn't happen,IRL weren't gettin involved. What happened?
    :confused::confused::confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 586 ✭✭✭mlindsay215

Right lads, here's the story.

When we first approached the BRDS clan, we were looking for a few "friendly" games. Nothing majorly competitive, let’s face it, the IRL clan just could not be bothered with MLG, we tried it with battlefield, did our fair share of raping, but with time restrictions on other clans, and banning of equipment (mortar strikes, C4, etc) we lost interest pretty fast.

We quickly demolished all the clans on boards for BFBC2 and we were getting pretty bored. Then CoD came along. So we set up a few friendly clan matches through our friends’ lists and we remained undefeated as a clan. All these clans we played ALL played hardcore with no restrictions.

Grand.

Then after removing all the competition from our side of the boards we branched out and found you lot.

Eager to get into a match with a pretty serious looking clan, we were happy to follow you're rules, even though we weren't too happy. By this I refer to the No KS's saga. Not to mention a lot of you complained that HCTF was our speciality and you didn't stand a chance so it wasn't fair, blah blah, when I was fully aware that ANY soft core mode let alone SC Dom was indeed YOUR speciality. But we didn't complain we just wanted a few matches.

So we lost TDM, fair and square. But I loved every minute of the hardcore. This is the reason I wanted more matches with the boards clan.

Now since the BRDS clan discovered a pretty well organised clan, IRL, they feel the need to make what we wanted, what we initiated, into something more serious than we first intended, and you began the talk of MLG rules etc etc.

The IRL clan left GB's, because we didn't want restrictions, we paid good money on the game to make use of all the features in it, as Royal said, and to play competitively banning the features that make us as a clan so good, is hardly fair on our side.

So what am I trying to say?

I would love to play more matches against you, but this talk of introducing MLG rules is rubbish. You say it determines the most skill using these settings......., I disagree. Skill in itself is the ability to succeed no matter what the circumstances, and to me, a skilful clan would be able to beat us at our own game (HCTF) as well as a choice of their own.

If the BRDS clan wishes to continue having games with the IRL clan, then agree to do away with these silly rules.

One game, our pick.
    One game, your pick.

Nothing is more fair than that. To impose MLG rules against us, handicaps US as a clan.

Now I can imagine the hate mail and crying and flaming will begin shortly after this post. To which my reply is simple, if you don't like what I propose, then you don't need to play us. There are hundreds of clans out there looking for friendly’s in any game type.

We're not unreasonable, if you want to play domination on core with no ks's and a 100000 respawn time, we'll play that, so long as you play a regular HCTF.

Both matches end a draw? We'll play some TDM, or mix it up with some S&D.

This isn't MLG, this isn't an official clan match, no titles are at stake, no real prize to be won.

This is a friendly, and friendly matches and custom built, and this is what I propose.

EDIT: I only got a brief understanding of why the match didn't go ahead, I haven't been online all day. I just came back to the complaints, so before people get the wrong idea that the clan was worried about losing, allow me just to say, we will play you at any time, we're a friendly bunch and losing don't mean much to us, same as winning, both are just something to laugh about. We will play you when required, but only so long the game suits both clans, not just the BRDS because they feel MLG is a more skilful approach to any clan match.

Fair enough! But if you want a clan battle on your terms, stipulate your rules,the rules you are comfortable with then we can ("BRDS") suggest changes. Do preach about BRDS using killstreaks when we used them last time and then after we won you complained! You should tell us the way you want to play then we can alter it accordingly. Don't complain,just get on with it. If you don't want to play against BRDS, don't make excusses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭I use the name izambard here also.

Ah this thread is beautiful. It is the precise reason why I won't play 'clan matches'. I had to google mlg and the result I found truely made me laugh.

Why? What you mean?

Well I'm not going to speak for the others, this is just my opinion. We were all on, ready, requesting what rules would be used an hour before hand, as I for one assumed we were using the rules in the original post or no killstreaks as was discussed in this thread, we just needed to clarify what was happening. I hope we can still play soon, all we need to do is sort out the rules before hand as I heard there were complaints last time. Once we have this sorted out, we can just get on with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭dunworth1

i think the two people orginising the match should talk to each other in party chat

that way they will be able to sort out the rules better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭I use the name izambard here also.

Benrobjohn wrote: »
    Why? What you mean?

I'll put it to you this way. Hypothetically speaking, I suggest you and I play a game of FIFA 11. That seems simple doesn't it? But you say no one can pick Barcelona, so I say no one can pick Real Madrid and after hours of discussion we finally agree on o, lets say two English first division teams that are completely equal on statistics.

However you have a quick look at my team sheet and see that my striker is six foot seven so you state that I can't cross the ball. I agree as I have looked at your team sheet and say as your striker has a very high shot accuracy he actually shouldn't be allowed to shoot at goal, et caetera, et caetera until all were are left with is two goal keepers lobbing the ball towards each other. You see where I'm coming from?

You open the box, place the game in the Xbox and play the standard game. In the case of Black Ops. the only discussion between the clans should be gay soft core or hard core. That's it.

I play for fun, setting additional rules and regulations is not fun (unless for hacking et caetera) hence my abhorrence for these so called clan matches.

Just in relation to tonights match, we were simply looking for clarification on the rules before proceeding, just so everyone was crystal clear beforehand, therefore minimising the risk of lipstick and handbags later on.

Personally, I don't care what rules apply, allow or disallow killstreaks, launchers or whatever. I couldn't care less about MLG (I also had to google it). I just play for fun and bit of friendly banter. I think the same rules should apply to all matches, not custom rules per game type.

Once the rules are agreed & posted up 1 hour beforehand, I think that's fair, this should be easily achievable with a bit of dialogue between the two people organising.

Right lads, here's the story.
    I would love to play more matches against you, but this talk of introducing MLG rules is rubbish. You say it determines the most skill using these settings......., I disagree. Skill in itself is the ability to succeed no matter what the circumstances, and to me, a skilful clan would be able to beat us at our own game (HCTF) as well as a choice of their own.

If the BRDS clan wishes to continue having games with the IRL clan, then agree to do away with these silly rules.

One game, our pick.
    One game, your pick.

Nothing is more fair than that. To impose MLG rules against us, handicaps US as a clan.

Now I can imagine the hate mail and crying and flaming will begin shortly after this post. To which my reply is simple, if you don't like what I propose, then you don't need to play us. There are hundreds of clans out there looking for friendly’s in any game type.

We're not unreasonable, if you want to play domination on core with no ks's and a 100000 respawn time, we'll play that, so long as you play a regular HCTF.

Both matches end a draw? We'll play some TDM, or mix it up with some S&D.

This isn't MLG, this isn't an official clan match, no titles are at stake, no real prize to be won.

This is a friendly, and friendly matches and custom built, and this is what I propose.

EDIT: I only got a brief understanding of why the match didn't go ahead, I haven't been online all day. I just came back to the complaints, so before people get the wrong idea that the clan was worried about losing, allow me just to say, we will play you at any time, we're a friendly bunch and losing don't mean much to us, same as winning, both are just something to laugh about. We will play you when required, but only so long the game suits both clans, not just the BRDS because they feel MLG is a more skilful approach to any clan match.
    ****** Firstly I'm not being disrespectful but want to address some points specifically and will trim the original post for brevity. ******

To give a quick retort, most of the players for us wanted specific rules to stop all the unnessary b****ing from the last game. We proposed rules (first page on this thread) and we all arranged to play at yesterday at 9.

However, we all put the cart in front of the horse. If we went ahead without a decision/agreement on the rules for governing for each/all gametypes, it would have been even worse than the fallout after the first match. There was no need to go down that path again I'm sure we'll all agree.

You talk about MLG being unfair to you, yet only now offer an alternative or a compromise (not a reflection on you personally but where was this input from your clan initially)? I have never played any of the rules before. You all read the thread, knew the rules we stated, agreed on the time and maps, yet hours before hand decide that you wanted killstreaks/perks/equipment/anything goes? Why bother saying you'll play in the first place if you have issues with the game types/rules? Why post a funny picture instead of something constructive to the thread? We asked for clarification, we got "down with this sort of thing".

You seem to herald us as some serious clan when it is you (as you said above in your original post) who have defeated all comers, have the private forum, dominated a wide range of games and originally threw down the gauntlet. Only now are a few of us thinking of starting gamebattles. I seriously doubt you and your clan's pride allows you only to play for enjoyment's sake?

Once we can agree on rules for all/individual choice games then we should have a match until then, this is just fruitless and a waste of time. To conclude, if my reply seems curt/blunt then do not take it personally(you, nor anyone in this thread/clan/boards), only know that I got no enjoyment from any of this and this is reflected in this post.

And finally this:
    That statement works both ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

I'll put it to you this way. Hypothetically speaking, I suggest you and I play a game of FIFA 11. That seems simple doesn't it? But you say no one can pick Barcelona, so I say no one can pick Real Madrid and after hours of discussion we finally agree on o, lets say two English first division teams that are completely equal on statistics.

However you have a quick look at my team sheet and see that my striker is six foot seven so you state that I can't cross the ball. I agree as I have looked at your team sheet and say as your striker has a very high shot accuracy he actually shouldn't be allowed to shoot at goal, et caetera, et caetera until all were are left with is two goal keepers lobbing the ball towards each other. You see where I'm coming from?

You open the box, place the game in the Xbox and play the standard game. In the case of Black Ops. the only discussion between the clans should be gay soft core or hard core. That's it.

I play for fun, setting additional rules and regulations is not fun (unless for hacking et caetera) hence my abhorrence for these so called clan matches.

You've never played a clan match then... how the **** do you know its not fun then ?? Ignorance at its finest. Just because theres rules to prevent cheap tactics does not make it any less fun... YOU might find noobtubing danger close one man armying fun... most people do not however. Yeah some people take it a bit serious but most people have a good time playing competitive matches.. the same way that people find sports fun. Rules keep it fair, what do you care anyway... if you dont like it.. fine..

p.s this is not the fifa forum.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Stop making me thank your posts consantly, ya thanks whore.