Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What you drive ?

• 20-12-2010 11:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭

Right folks I am on the hunt (pardon the pun) for a jeep and got me thinking !! As an idea maybe let us know what you use to do your hunting and maybe some pics ?

I have always for some reason fancied a defender. Ultimatley whatever I get must be good off road as some of my lands can be very dodgy in bad weather and access to them near impossible.

Maybe your pics and comments will help me decide !!

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭foxboy

BUACHAILL wrote: »
    Right folks I am on the hunt (pardon the pun) for a jeep and got me thinking !! As an idea maybe let us know what you use to do your hunting and maybe some pics ?

I have always for some reason fancied a defender. Ultimatley whatever I get must be good off road as some of my lands can be very dodgy in bad weather and access to them near impossible.

Maybe your pics and comments will help me decide !!

Cheers

these are great for that dodgy wet land
    R441-thum.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

This baby, powerful, great offroad and bullet-proof reliability!

CIMG3178.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

What is it, for those of us who are vehicularly challenged :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Feidhlim Dignan

a fourtrac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

johngalway wrote: »
    What is it, for those of us who are vehicularly challenged :D

Thats a shocker !! ha

Didn't recognize the badge, mostly Mitsubishi's and Toyotas here.

Actually had one years ago, great all rounder but found it weak on the 4x4 off road end which for me is key !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Ok,lets ask first Buchail..Do you want this as an everyday driver or just a total off road farm land machine where things like tax.NCT etc isnt an issue or important?
    When you say access to your land can be very bad or nigh impossible..In what way??
    Reason I'm asking is it can be a kind of horses for courses question as well.A defender is fine,but it isnt the be and end all either[Having driven Land rover and Range rover for odd on 20 years of my driving life in various shapes models and guises,even did my driving test in an old seris 2a here!] I wouldnt drive one as a daily commute,if you paid me to!
    Its fine as a work horse,but put the wife and kids in it for a long drive,and they will hate you and divorce you within a week!

It will depend on what you want this yoke to do for you.
    Drive myself a Jeep cherokee ..:)

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Navara.
    picture.php?albumid=811&pictureid=6181
    Have a set of proper tyres on the original wheels. I mix them around every few months. A bit unecessary though as i use the quad for off roading. The jeep doesn't get dirty that way. :D
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭MarkD.

Was driving a 03 Hilux all day belong to a mate, great work horse of a jeep. Good value for money too with one.
    Can be a bit bumpy on roads, not massive power in them and are very fond of the go go juice but overall a great vehicle.. I'd easily give it 7/8 out of 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭ferrete

best all rounder is a landcruiser or shogun but if it for hgunting etc just buy a defender i use a hilux at moment but will go back to a pajero or nissan patrol

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Ok,lets ask first Buchail..Do you want this as an everyday driver or just a total off road farm land machine where things like tax.NCT etc isnt an issue or important?
    When you say access to your land can be very bad or nigh impossible..In what way??
    Reason I'm asking is it can be a kind of horses for courses question as well.A defender is fine,but it isnt the be and end all either[Having driven Land rover and Range rover for odd on 20 years of my driving life in various shapes models and guises,even did my driving test in an old seris 2a here!] I wouldnt drive one as a daily commute,if you paid me to!
    Its fine as a work horse,but put the wife and kids in it for a long drive,and they will hate you and divorce you within a week!

It will depend on what you want this yoke to do for you.
    Drive myself a Jeep cherokee ..:)

Ha Ha I will keep that in mind if I ever want out with the missus, just buy her a defender lol.

To be honest it wont be an everyday car, It will be used for more than just hunting but not huge use that said. I take your point on the comfort levels of the Land Rover. Some of the land I shoot on are in hard to reach places. High up in mountains and the farm roads to them swampy, snow always a factor and just at times nasty to reach. I have seen jeeps come stuck on these roads, but troopers and defenders etc always seem to cruise it. maybe coincedence.

Thanks for reply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

'96 disco ... all the room you want and comfort... not to shabby off road either :D
    Disco.jpg

thanks for all replies lads
    I would suggest maybe covering the reg numbers, ye know yourself

Ha Ha I will keep that in mind if I ever want out with the missus, just buy her a defender lol.

To be honest it wont be an everyday car, It will be used for more than just hunting but not huge use that said. I take your point on the comfort levels of the Land Rover. Some of the land I shoot on are in hard to reach places. High up in mountains and the farm roads to them swampy, snow always a factor and just at times nasty to reach. I have seen jeeps come stuck on these roads, but troopers and defenders etc always seem to cruise it. maybe coincedence.

Thanks for reply

OK FWIW,I'd say you could get away then with a LR or if you want to a Disco or Range rover [older spec],if you are going to be driving it 50/50 off road and street.BUT what I would do is make sure you have decent "wellies" on it,and to do that you might have to put in a slight lift kit.Nothing mad ,maybe a 2/3in is fine,you dont need a Big Foot monster truck.:eek: Maybe some protection plates for the under body..I dont know how rocky or bad your lanes are with big rocks or not??You want some clearence to run some over size mud terrain tyres.
    Paradoxicly you also need rock crawler style tyres as well.So you are ging to have to find a happy compromise,and thats not easy here.I have found in all my years of driving off road,the right tyres for the terrain is 75% of the battle.Whatever 4x4 you have,if it hasnt got decent tyres on it ..and you go off road,you are asking for trouble.You wouldnt wear trainers going out across a mucky field,just as much as you wouldnt wear wellies to run a marathon.
    Also for an extra 100 quid on Ebay,I'd also buy a Winch appropriate to the 4x4 weight.They are wel worth their money..IF you know how to use them properly.My 2cents

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Really appreciate the advice Grizzly thanks for that. I think I am just going to go with the defender and do as suggested and put on the lift kit and correct tyres. To be honest thinking about it further I think I will just go off road tyres as I can put up with the comfort level as it wont be an everyday machine. I have a winch already sorted for whatever it was I was getting.

Thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭shaft666

To be honest thinking about it further I think I will just go off road tyres as I can put up with the comfort level as it wont be an everyday machine.
    Thanks again

I have these on my Navara, 4 years old with about 30,000 miles done and still well over 50% tread left, little bit more road noise but can't say you'd notice any loss of comfort. Awesome off road performance, will get you through just about anything realistic. Not proving too good on the skating rink's we have instead of roads at the moment but don't suppose anything without studs is.

Paul
    mud-terrain-t-a-km.jpg

Not wishing to side track your thread but is it legal to have a winch fitted on the front of the jeep?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Not wishing to side track your thread but is it legal to have a winch fitted on the front of the jeep?

Has to be; the ESB have them :D
    Winch is a handy yoke if you get rightly stuck.

I have General grabber
    General%20Grabber%20AT2.jpg
    A gift of a tyre on snow and muck.
    I used to use Continental tyres years ago.

After getting stuck a few times I copped on!

Secret of offroad driving is, don't stop :D

I can flick from 2 wheel to 4 wheel on the fly.
    A lot to be said for it!!

However I will not post a pic of my Vehicle as people would recognise me from it ;)

I doubt many will guess who you are from a pic of your vehicle so I think it's time to "out" you Tac :eek:

PopeMobile.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

shaft666 wrote: »
    I doubt many will guess who you are from a pic of your vehicle so I think it's time to "out" you Tac :eek:

PopeMobile.jpg

I am a very well know figure, not even his Holiness is a patch on the Arse of me :D

More important than his Holiness? You're not Bono are you? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭demonloop

I'm selling an X-Trail, Clarkson et al rave about them.

demonloop wrote: »
    I'm selling an X-Trail, Clarkson et al rave about them.

X'trail is a fantastic jeep, but have practically no ground clearance. Although they are a great gripping thing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Jeep Cherokee sport (2000)
    2.5 td
    tough as old boots

Jeep Cherokee 1995
    4litre petrol.:D 3.5in lift. Goes like a train and climbs like a goat.:D:D
    Really appreciate the advice Grizzly thanks for that. I think I am just going to go with the defender and do as suggested and put on the lift kit and correct tyres. To be honest thinking about it further I think I will just go off road tyres as I can put up with the comfort level as it wont be an everyday machine. I have a winch already sorted for whatever it was I was getting
    Only reason I'd suggest a lift kit is that if you do run large tyres,you can get full wheel lock on the steering.LR isnt at best the most tightest turning machine in its standard config,with xtra big tyres,your turning circle is huge.

Simple answer YES..So long as it isnt excessively protruding from the bumper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 smc001

have a defender, love it despite a road ride that can take out your fillings, brilliant off road, i have the pick up version which easily holds all i need plus a couple of dogs and easy hosed out at the end of the day,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Savage93

http://media.defenseindustrydaily.com/images/LAND_MWMIK_Manned_lg.jpg

Try one of these, with 3 up no fox will get away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

shaft666 wrote: »

PopeMobile.jpg

tac drives a pink chiquento with low profile alloys and hydrolic suspension, can be heard from a mile away with the exhaust and sub woofer. :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

ezridax wrote: »
    Navara.
    picture.php?albumid=811&pictureid=6181
    Have a set of proper tyres on the original wheels. I mix them around every few months. A bit unecessary though as i use the quad for off roading. The jeep doesn't get dirty that way. :D

my god ezridax, what are you trying to make up for. they are some fancy wheels you got there.

i drive a pajero.
    it handles the off road stuff ok with some dual purpose tyres, and its very comfortable on the road.

i drove it up a very steep slope today in the snow to collect a deer. and then i used it to toe my buddy up a hill because he couldn't get any traction with his front wheel drive van

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

Landrover all the way :D As said get a Disco 1 or SWB Defender, or one of these

redbere.jpg

By the way have a '99 td5 for sale after xmas. Alloy wheels, sunroof, dog guard etc :rolleyes:

hey tfox what would be looking for on your 99 ? can you maybe pm me some details please ?

cheers

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    my god ezridax, what are you trying to make up for. they are some fancy wheels you got there.

Got a big a$$ cheque shortly after i bought the jeep. Rebate.

Decided to spend a bit on some wheels. Ah, to have more money than sense again. :D
    i drive a pajero.

Had one of those in 2006. Great jeep. Comfortable, reliable, great off road.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

What I want - Clarkson's Artic Hilux

arctic-trucks-toyota-hilux-in-snow.jpg

What I got is a 98 Avensis auto hatchback that I will drive everywhere and anywhere. Throw all the gear and deer in the back no problem.

clivej wrote: »
    that I will drive everywhere and anywhere.

You've been hanging around with that Dwighet fella again haven't you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭steppen

Landcruiser, wouldnt look at another jeep. had them in various models since '88

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

ezridax wrote: »
    Got a big a$$ cheque shortly after i bought the jeep. Rebate.

Decided to spend a bit on some wheels. Ah, to have more money than sense again. :D

i do now officially hate you:(:(
    jealous

i want oneeeeeeee.
    one of them of the izuzu d-max cobra
    some dayyyyy :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 OnTheGame

''Landcruiser, wouldnt look at another jeep. had them in various models since '88''

^ what hes said... diff locks are key!

OnTheGame wrote: »
    ''Landcruiser, wouldnt look at another jeep. had them in various models since '88''

land cruisers are like remingtons...

You've been hanging around with that Dwighet fella again haven't you :D

I learned him well John Jo...;)

OnTheGame wrote: »

Although I would love to have diff-locks, they def aren't key! Some jeeps are just naturally great grippers...

clivej wrote: »

What I got is a 98 Avensis auto hatchback that I will drive everywhere and anywhere. Throw all the gear and deer in the back no problem.

Except in reverse ;):D:D

If money were absolutly no problem a MB G wagon 460,with the 5litre petrol straight 6 MB engine, with all the MB accessories 4in lift and its 8ton hydraulic winch.While a heavy wagon,it is capable of climbing almost vertical with its gear box,goes everything from crawler gears to a ton plus on highways,and with independant diff locks on front &rear axles as standard.
    In that format they are like SIG or HK firearms,you dont need anything else to add to perfection.:D
    Unfortunatly they have been taken over and are driven by either East LA rappers,drug dealers or pimps!! There is so much BLING on them nowadays it is an embarrassment.
    Second,you would need the national deficit to pay for the parts and service on them if anything goes wrong on them. I had one,and it almost broke my bank account and heart.If it had been left in the petrol config,and not had a 3litre diesel hitched onto a high rev requiring auto gearbox,it would have been a lot happier experiance.

Would love to try one of the Toyota Amazone's.They look and read as a good machine.But the price puts them in my books in the G wagon class of things.:eek:

dwighet wrote: »
    I learned him well John Jo...;)

Seeing as the saloon was turned into a submarine, I'm just wondering what physics defying feats the 4x4 has achieved :D

Im thinking a crossing of the channel perhaps:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Buchaill, forget about a Defender if you're tall. Contortionism will be your ordeal. I have a 9 year old mazda B2500 myself ( same as Ford Ranger ) and it's a great yoke for hacking through fields ( wet our dry ) and doing some donkey work and as a bonus road handling and comfort isn't bad at all. It likes a drop of diesel but isn't excessively thirsty either ( about 10l/100km in 2WD on road ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭sfakiaman

dwighet wrote: »
    land cruisers are like remingtons...

Do you mean they don't go where they're pointed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

Mitsubishi L200 intense auto....9.9 litres per 100km so its very green:rolleyes: as well crew cab its handy and comfortable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

Thats cool, a shed on a pick up. Is it heated:D

We did consider putting a log burner in but it's already a bit tight for space with 2 up :D