whats the weather like in your area?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

frogloch wrote: »
    Did u not get rain Wednesday? It rained in new ross and enniscorthy, but missed us. I should have cut wed eve but then don't have own machinery. I cut yesterday morning as wasn't giving this rain forecast on met eireann or yr.no. Ah hopefully get tomorrow i'll get tj to spread out and row back in.

Nope v little. Sprayed off a field that day too. Was only 7 acres I wrapped. Still have 2nd cut to mow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭frogloch

Nope v little. Sprayed off a field that day too. Was only 7 acres I wrapped. Still have 2nd cut to mow

I know people give out about buying machinery and cost, time, diesel. But there are advantages too. You don't see many barley growers who don't own a combine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

frogloch wrote: »
    I know people give out about buying machinery and cost, time, diesel. But there are advantages too. You don't see many barley growers who don't own a combine.

Few things like sprayer fert spreader mower stacker etc are goof to have but definitely very hard to justify having a heap of gear for your own use

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭frogloch

Few things like sprayer fert spreader mower stacker etc are goof to have but definitely very hard to justify having a heap of gear for your own use

I wouldn't go any further than that also. But will have to look at getting a mower, then other costs would be per bale. It wouldn't matter if it was a light crop or not. Oh it's finally stopped raining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

where can i get the most accurate forecast?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭grange mac

whelan2 wrote: »
    where can i get the most accurate forecast?

I use yr.no and the satellite images from meteireann.ie not 100% accurate but not bad and much better than "sunshine and showers during the day" ...

have silage to mow, tomorrow looks desperate. he said he would mow today and pick up after, looking at the forecast tuesday, wednesday, thursday look ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

have silage to mow, tomorrow looks desperate. he said he would mow today and pick up after, looking at the forecast tuesday, wednesday, thursday look ok

Yeah yr is giving a few straight days of settled weather from Tues to Fri I think. Bad next 2 days and the following weekend

Reggie. wrote: »
    Yeah yr is giving a few straight days of settled weather from Tues to Fri I think. Bad next 2 days and the following weekend
    ye think i will put him off til wednesday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

ye think i will put him off til wednesday

Yeah wait until next week
    Its a lovely day today but by overnight it will be lashing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

We haven't had a drop of rain since last Monday. It been beach weather almost.
    But we had rain almost every day for the 3 weeks before that while some of ye up the country were making hay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Sitting out the back of the house here having a cup of tea and all I can hear if mowers flat out first dry day in weeks not to last unfortunately 30mm promised 4 tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,986 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Over 20 mm rain forecast here last night ,barely got 5 id say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Absolutely lashing it here now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Miname wrote: »
    Absolutely lashing it here now.

Roughly translated Great morning, yum yum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭P_Cash

Has to one of the wettest summers for a while in the west,

Heavens opened around 4am, still at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

P_Cash wrote: »
    Has to one of the wettest summers for a while in the west,

Heavens opened around 4am, still at it.

Promised for the day aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭arctic8dave

Lucky if we had 5 or 6 days completely dry days in July here in mid cork.
    Sum rain & thunder/lighting here last night. Calves fcuking everywhere!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Over 20 mm rain forecast here last night ,barely got 5 id say

Something's never change, started raining here around 645 yesterday evening and kept going all night, starting clearing about an hr ago. Woke around 3/4am it was absolutely bucketing at that stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

Still absolutely lashing in east wicklow
    Over 19mm since midnight and a howling wind off the Irish sea dragging the temp down to only 9c
    Winter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

After easing a bit here now. Was Woken at 3am with it hopping off the windows, didn't get back to sleep till 6:30, back up since 8 and felling very tired now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

A few light showers, about a minute long last night and ground bone dry this morning. A heavy mist for an hour and it's dry and windy now.

Feck Met Eireann, i'm going to sue their asses for not getting the rain they promised:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

A few light showers, about a minute long last night and ground bone dry this morning. A heavy mist for an hour and it's dry and windy now.

Feck Met Eireann, i'm going to sue their asses for not getting the rain they promised:mad:

Weather men woeful liars :)
    If we had heeded forecast we wouldn't have any second cut done.

Weather men woeful liars :)
    If we had heeded forecast we wouldn't have any second cut done.
    I'm starting to think I'm farming in a little drought pocket at this stage:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Nice drop of rain here last night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Where are you Buford?

As the lads above said, we had savage rain around 4, but a lot of rain fell all night.

Where are you Buford?

As the lads above said, we had savage rain around 4, but a lot of rain fell all night.
    North Kerry, or the Sahara as I'm starting to call it now:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

The rain woke my young lad around 4 it was hammering off the window. Still raining now not as heavy though.
    Reek Sunday has being called off due to the weather first time ever I heard of it. The diehards will sill climb it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

North Kerry, or the Sahara as I'm starting to call it now:p

Yeah - I thought so :)

Amazed that your part of the world doesn't get a good bit of rain to be honest, but there you go...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Rain between showers and showers between rain sums up the weather here today