Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If Enda stood aside

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Unlike most people, my problem with Enda isn't his lack of charisma, it's that I continuously notice that he's got a lack of in depth understanding of the major government departments and his parties own policies in these areas. Far too often Enda seems to be light on knowledge and in need of prompting. The other major party leaders would run rings around him in an unscripted factual discussion. A political leader doesn't need to be an oracle of knowledge but it's incredible important that they be able to quickly understand and retain important information related to issues they've been briefed about - otherwise they'll be an ineffective and ill informed decision maker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

femur61 wrote: »
    Would FG win a lot more seats if they had a new leader? I personally feel if the party, or Enda won't listen that he is not popular with the people and insists carrying on as leader, what hope have we getting him to listen if they get into a power. IMO they have come up with loads of new ideas but he is so unappealable. I have emailed FG members a number of times. Maybe if people feel this way more should be done to remove him from power. I personally don't really want a left wing governement.

Why do you feel this way,is it because he's from outside Dublin ?Do you prefer style over substance ??Get real and look at the mans record,this appealable nonsense is madness,we need substance not another charlie or bertie

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

The mind boggles as to why this is let continually be discussed on this forum under different headings. Hardly any topics on Brian Cowen, or Gerry Adams who both have poor ratings. Maybe their party would do better with a new leader? Instead, we have a round and round discussion on the leader (one single man, out of a large party) of the main opposition party which poses to beat most others and possibly even Labour. I do not believe for one second that FGs chances of an overall majority will jump significantly if a new leader was elected.

How in the name of god can one man be stopping the country from voting a brilliant party with the potential of getting us out of this unholy mess FF brought us in? I don't believe it for a second. The Irish people voted FF in continuously, and still do, despite the major ****s up they have done and the lies they have told us. They are incompetent, yet people voted them back in. A whole party, with a history of party leaders who were brilliant in the eyes of the media but were terrible for the country. Right now, nobody is bothering with the "Should we replace Cowen?" discussion despite he was part of the problem before brought to the top of the ship and when brought there he screwed us all over yet again. Despite being the lowest leader in poll ratings, and despite seemingly being drunk on the radio after a "long night".

So excuse me for a second if I dismiss this nonsense of a "Enda is causing FG to suffer". Despite his poor ratings, FG is still the most popular party - a new record for them. Despite Kenny, who is the vice chair of the European People's Party is the largest and most influential European-level political party of the centre-right (imagine - european leaders like him and put him in a position of power! Shock horror!), having brought his party from nothing to the most popular with a strong front bench. Despite showing balls of steal in the heave and pushing aside the glory hunter, and reshuffling making a fantastic choice bringing Noonan back and in place for Finance - doing a much better job, thank you very much. Despite brining FG to the largest party in local government.

People voted FG under Kenny before, and will still do so. There is a small element, in my view, damaging ratings but I do not believe for one second it would cause a significant shift in party support.

Its very disappointing to see people so intent on discussing the oppositions leader, not their policies, and not bothering attacking those in government which have brought our country to its knees and screwed us over. Its Kenny who was created the party many of you are and want to vote for. Those policies and the team - thank Kenny.

Its not, nor should it be, a popularity contest. Its about who is the best leader, the best governor. The best to serve the state with dignity and honesty. Adams? Sorry, but no thanks. Damaged goods. Gilmore with the gale? What exactly has he done bar being a fantastic speaker? What has he on offer, and people want him as leader? God help us all. Cowen is a better leader then Gilmore. More taxation!

One would assume are these chatters being sent out to damage the party vote, and help others gain weight in this election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭scr123

FG will never face the truth, there is an ABFG in this country as much as there is an ABFF. Neither of course are as big as the ABLAB +cronies . FG just do not connect with people and blaming a nice soul like Kenny is taking the easy way out. People are afraid of the extremism in FG just like they are afraid of the extremism in Lab + crosies on the left

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

scr123 wrote: »
    FG will never face the truth, there is an ABFG in this country as much as there is an ABFF. Neither of course are as big as the ABLAB +cronies . FG just do not connect with people and blaming a nice soul like Kenny is taking the easy way out. People are afraid of the extremism in FG just like they are afraid of the extremism in Lab + crosies on the left

I very much doubt that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

What is extreme about the center-right FGers and the smoked-salmon socialists of Gilmore ? Both are center leaning with small differences.

What are FF ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

I think the reason is that there is a general dislike of real right wing party's in Ireland by a majority of people which is always FG undoing (and IMO that dislike is a good thing).

2nd Unlike FF, FG don't seem to be thirsty for power, they do not initiate things to cause the government dificulty and maybe thats a better way to be in opposition but it makes me wonder why they don't have that hunger.

3rd FG will never get above the 3rd preference while the still have Leo Varadkar as a potential front bencher, the guy is a right wing autsterity minded zealot, and tbh honest you've just got to see he's not motivated by any understanding of the real world being a reaganomic fan through his college days

• Registered Users Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭Oasis_Dublin

femur61 wrote: »
    Totally inaccurate I will definitely not vote FF, but will probally go with FG. I hate this parish pump politics, but that is the only way to show how much FF have destroyed our country. I feel if Enda stood aside FG would win more votes.

I don't think they would because people would then attempt to paint them as a party which is internally divided between those who "favoured Kenny before the leadership change" and those who "now favour the new leader Bruton."

It is also not "totally inaccurate"; if you believe that there are no people using the Kenny line in order to vote FF then your analysis is totally inaccurate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭Sugarfree

Sully wrote: »
    The mind boggles as to why this is let continually be discussed on this forum under different headings. Hardly any topics on Brian Cowen, or Gerry Adams who both have poor ratings. Maybe their party would do better with a new leader? Instead, we have a round and round discussion on the leader (one single man, out of a large party) of the main opposition party which poses to beat most others and possibly even Labour. I do not believe for one second that FGs chances of an overall majority will jump significantly if a new leader was elected.

How in the name of god can one man be stopping the country from voting a brilliant party with the potential of getting us out of this unholy mess FF brought us in? I don't believe it for a second. The Irish people voted FF in continuously, and still do, despite the major ****s up they have done and the lies they have told us. They are incompetent, yet people voted them back in. A whole party, with a history of party leaders who were brilliant in the eyes of the media but were terrible for the country. Right now, nobody is bothering with the "Should we replace Cowen?" discussion despite he was part of the problem before brought to the top of the ship and when brought there he screwed us all over yet again. Despite being the lowest leader in poll ratings, and despite seemingly being drunk on the radio after a "long night".

So excuse me for a second if I dismiss this nonsense of a "Enda is causing FG to suffer". Despite his poor ratings, FG is still the most popular party - a new record for them. Despite Kenny, who is the vice chair of the European People's Party is the largest and most influential European-level political party of the centre-right (imagine - european leaders like him and put him in a position of power! Shock horror!), having brought his party from nothing to the most popular with a strong front bench. Despite showing balls of steal in the heave and pushing aside the glory hunter, and reshuffling making a fantastic choice bringing Noonan back and in place for Finance - doing a much better job, thank you very much. Despite brining FG to the largest party in local government.

People voted FG under Kenny before, and will still do so. There is a small element, in my view, damaging ratings but I do not believe for one second it would cause a significant shift in party support.

Its very disappointing to see people so intent on discussing the oppositions leader, not their policies, and not bothering attacking those in government which have brought our country to its knees and screwed us over. Its Kenny who was created the party many of you are and want to vote for. Those policies and the team - thank Kenny.

Its not, nor should it be, a popularity contest. Its about who is the best leader, the best governor. The best to serve the state with dignity and honesty. Adams? Sorry, but no thanks. Damaged goods. Gilmore with the gale? What exactly has he done bar being a fantastic speaker? What has he on offer, and people want him as leader? God help us all. Cowen is a better leader then Gilmore. More taxation!

One would assume are these chatters being sent out to damage the party vote, and help others gain weight in this election.

+10000

Listen I personaly think Enda will make a good Taoiseach, he is a steady pair of hands, he is an honest man. We all talk about cleaning up the corruption out of this country. Its not the Taoiseach who will be the main man to lead Ireland out of its financial mess, it is the men and women in the finance, enterprise, education portfolios etc. The Taoiseach needs to be a figurehead against the corrupt backwardness of the FF-era, a leader who is without reproach and is decent, honest and honourable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

I think the reason is that there is a general dislike of real right wing party's in Ireland by a majority of people which is always FG undoing (and IMO that dislike is a good thing).

2nd Unlike FF, FG don't seem to be thirsty for power, they do not initiate things to cause the government dificulty and maybe thats a better way to be in opposition but it makes me wonder why they don't have that hunger.

3rd FG will never get above the 3rd preference while the still have Leo Varadkar as a potential front bencher, the guy is a right wing autsterity minded zealot, and tbh honest you've just got to see he's not motivated by any understanding of the real world being a reaganomic fan through his college days

FG are not a proper right wing party , ireland has never had a proper right wing political party , the political system just like the electorate is pathologically centrist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

How in the name of god can one man be stopping the country from voting a brilliant party

That's subjective. I don't see anything beyond populist rhetoric from Fine Gael. They wish to cut 30,000 public sector jobs, despite Ireland being in a position of mass unemployment - rather than putting caps reflective to our economic woes on top level public servants. They wish to install a mandated health insurance plan, where those slightly over threshold for a medical card - while under financial debt, would be at a loss when it comes to safeguarding their own health.

They wish to transfer private debt on the backs of our children, and our children's children. They discuss "protecting the most vulnerable" - while in the same paper, wish to introduce water rates and inflict cuts across the board in all the wrong places.

Fine Gael aren't abysmally awful. Some of their policies are workable, and fresh - but many are not. Any party that supports the public funding of pure, unadulterated greed is far from brilliant.

My two cents.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

Because Enda Kenny is leader of the most popular Party and still gets atrocious ratings that's why. He is the only leader to not go up with his party. Why is that? That is the reason people talk about it so much. Not only that but his Party have made very few gains since FF's real implosion in the polls. They will be the largest party by default and that is embarrassing for any FG supporter.

Cowen gets poor ratings because FF gets poor ones. Adams will never get good approval ratings-there are too many people who just refuse to vote SF for him to ever get good ones.

Enda Kenny may be a nice guy but he doesn't just lack style, he also lacks any substance whatsoever. His grasp of economics is pathetic. He lacks even basic knowledge of economic terms. Stuff like getting stuff prompted to him during interviews in the backround doesn't engender confidence that this man is the change needed.

I wouldn't mind your line of argument for say John Bruton who at least was intelligent but lacked charisma.

These 'chatters' are consistent polls showing no positive correlation between the weakness of others and him going up. He is the problem, that is why there are so many threads on it.

dlofnep wrote: »
    That's subjective. I don't see anything beyond populist rhetoric from Fine Gael.

They wish to cut 30,000 public sector jobs, despite Ireland being in a position of mass unemployment - rather than putting caps reflective to our economic woes on top level public servants. They wish to install a mandated health insurance plan, where those slightly over threshold for a medical card - while under financial debt, would be at a loss when it comes to safeguarding their own health.

They wish to transfer private debt on the backs of our children, and our children's children. They discuss "protecting the most vulnerable" - while in the same paper, wish to introduce water rates and inflict cuts across the board in all the wrong places.

Fine Gael aren't abysmally awful. Some of their policies are workable, and fresh - but many are not. Any party that supports the public funding of pure, unadulterated greed is far from brilliant.

My two cents.

Whats so popular about that? Basically, you are saying things are bad enough and FG will make it worse. Thats not populism. If Fine Gael said the opposite, and promised the world and its mother without fault - thats populism.

themont85 wrote: »
    Because Enda Kenny is leader of the most popular Party and still gets atrocious ratings that's why. He is the only leader to not go up with his party. Why is that? That is the reason people talk about it so much. Not only that but his Party have made very few gains since FF's real implosion in the polls. They will be the largest party by default and that is embarrassing for any FG supporter.

Atrocious ratings?! FG is the most popular party the in country at over 30%! Consistently! Labour briefly peaked but it was short lived - even for Gilmore whos rating is dropping!

Fianna Fail have dropped support significantly. Many jumped to FG, but others jumped to others such as Labour. There is a shift in the political scene in Ireland and its not just about jumping from on boat to another. Its going to spread out. Fine Gael have always been second largest party and are now the most popular because their support grew that bit stronger as people wanted change. Now, its not going to be through the roof because there isn't much room to give. I don't believe we will see any party in Ireland, for a very long time, get huge support. Its not in our political makeup.

In addition, many unions and public sector workers won't want a FG government because of their policies - this is going to impact on their support and the public sector is a huge vote. The suggestion seems to be that most people would swing to FG from FF - I don't think thats the case.

Id love to see a poll asking how many people would vote FG if Kenny wasn't the leader and what party they originally supported when swapping over. Those are not the polls done because they risk dampening the media headlines and debate.

Cowen gets poor ratings because FF gets poor ones. Adams will never get good approval ratings-there are too many people who just refuse to vote SF for him to ever get good ones.

SFs support is high (for them), Adams rating is low.
    Enda Kenny may be a nice guy but he doesn't just lack style, he also lacks any substance whatsoever. His grasp of economics is pathetic. He lacks even basic knowledge of economic terms. Stuff like getting stuff prompted to him during interviews in the backround doesn't engender confidence that this man is the change needed.

Endas ratings are only poor in recent times - back in 2004 for example, he wasn't far from Berties ratings. Enda personal rating was at 45%! I don't believe he changed much in those years gone by bar some poor interviews. I don't think you need a degree in finance to be a leader - look at Bertie and Brian. We need to look beyond the whole "you need to be educated in this area to speak".
    I wouldn't mind your line of argument for say John Bruton who at least was intelligent but lacked charisma.

Are you suggesting Kenny isn't intelligent?
    These 'chatters' are consistent polls showing no positive correlation between the weakness of others and him going up. He is the problem, that is why there are so many threads on it.

Not fully correct. He has done well in previous polls and in one of the polls recently his support did rise. Gilmore is slipping up, Cowen has fallen. That leaves who, Adams?

Other FG leaders in the past have gone onto be very good leaders but had poor ratings at the time. Noonan is being prompted as a leader of FG now but was hated prior.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

I'm not getting into this quoted every line we each post business but;

-Adams rating is quite good actually when I look at it relative to their support. Again though Adams past makes it difficult for me to see any way he ever achieves high ratings.

-FG on their current rating are only a couple of points above what they got at the General Election. Polls have shown that the majority of FF's support has gone elsewhere. They will be the largest party by default tbh. That is a failure of leadership.

-He rarely interviews well. This isn't only a 'couple' of times its happened. He rarely sounds truely assertive or in command of what he is supposed to be talking about.

Michael Noonan's FG in 2002 were never going to do well. They bloodied their leader at the wrong time and created division within their Party. They were facing (at the time) the most successful ever Government in the history of the State; one that oversaw unprecedented growth and Peace in Northern Ireland. They didnt have a hope either way.

SFs support is high (for them), Adams rating is low.

Gerry Adams has one of the highest ratings of all party leaders. 5 points higher than Enda Kenny infact. That has always been the case.

Basically, you are saying things are bad enough and FG will make it worse.

I didn't say they would make it worse, but they will make it worse for alot of people. Especially those 30,000 workers reliant on their positions, without any jobs to go to. It might have made sense under a thriving economy, with job positions vacant everywhere - but it doesn't make sense today under the current climate. Not to mention, the public will front the cost of their redundancies.

I think as it stands, Fine Gael is a slightly better alternative than Fianna Fáil - Purely on the basis of who caused the crisis. But both offer similar processes for ending the crisis - and that is where I draw the line.

• Registered Users Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Jayuu

It is a sad comment on the politics of this day and age that people can say "I like that party's policies but I don't like their leader so I'm not voting for them".

As somebody else pointed out no matter who would end up as leader of Fine Gael there would be another group of people who would dislike him/her as leader of the party. So what then? Remove that leader. Keep going until you've run out of people. Its such a facile and infuriating argument.

As for those who talk about the "charisma" factor, I think the "charisma" we had here in Ireland is just another term for "cute hoor" and I think we've had enough of those leading our country, thank you very much.

The simple fact is that people need to vote for a party based on its policies. And they need to inform themselves on those policies and what they will mean. Those are what are going to make a difference in the long run. Can we stop being so shallow as to vote for personalities? Is that too grown up a request?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

FG will never face the truth, there is an ABFG in this country as much as there is an ABFF.

Except for the fact that most of us in ABFF have a damn good reason for being there; what reasons do you have for being an ABFG ?
    FG just do not connect with people and blaming a nice soul like Kenny is taking the easy way out.

Really ? So who does, in your opinion ?
    People are afraid of the extremism in FG just like they are afraid of the extremism in Lab + crosies on the left

I'm more afraid of the extremism in FF, TBH.....the "once you're well-connected and can get away with it, you're grand, and if you get caught just give us a few years and we'll let you back in" type of extremism.....it has proved far more damaging.

Anyway, this is heading off-topic, but given some of your previous posts about being "staunch FF" I had to point out that you wouldn't vote FG in a month of Sundays, so the above is all kinda pointless.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

That's not really accurate, as Enda supports the bailout - He just wishes to re-negotiate the terms.
    everybody supports the bailout,
    what's the alternative dlofnep?

The question posed by the OP is one I've wondered about before and was going to post such a question.
    I think if there were to be a different leader of FG for an election which was promised that they would have to be a superb communicator, a person who could conjure up a picture of an Ireland to come, is there such a person in FG?

SF don't support the bailout - they want the country to default on payments I think. Am I right dlofnep?

Labour/FG think its a bad deal. Europe are saying parts can be re-negotiated but the rate wont budge and that tis a good deal (of course they would say that) while FF believe they secured the best. The greens don't count.

SF don't support the bailout - they want the country to default on payments I think. Am I right dlofnep?

You're right. We don't believe the Irish people should have to pay for the greed of others. If people are to live by capitalism, then surely - they accept the risks that go with it.
    Labour/FG think its a bad deal. Europe are saying parts can be re-negotiated but the rate wont budge and that tis a good deal (of course they would say that) while FF believe they secured the best. The greens don't count.

It's a bad deal regardless. Let's say FG shave of .8% to 5%. At the end of the day, the Irish taxpayer is still going to be out of pocket, and so will their children.

The original 4-year plan to reduce our budgetary deficit to 3% was unworkable, and Sinn Féin said it at the time that it would require 6 years to implement. They were scoffed at at the time, and what happened? The Irish Government was given an extension to a more workable 5 year timeframe.

I hear this "It's a bad deal" - But what do you expect Fine Gael to reduce the interest rates to, and will it really make a huge impact either way?

If Fine Gael can secure a deal with a reduced interest rate, well - fair play. But I have serious doubts that the interest rate will be reduced, and if it is - I have doubts it will be anything other than marginal. And at the end of the day - it's still the Irish tax payer that will front the costs of the greed of the wealthy businessmen who inflicted this hurt on the population.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭femur61

AnneFrank wrote: »
    Why do you feel this way,is it because he's from outside Dublin ?Do you prefer style over substance ??Get real and look at the mans record,this appealable nonsense is madness,we need substance not another charlie or bertie

I'm from rural Ireland so Dublin does not come into the equation at all. Any questions that are thrown at him that are not from a prepared script leaves the man totally flustered. I heard from someone connected with the FG party that he is been kept on a very close reign and do very limited public speaking. I think he is damaging the party so mcuh and the party themselves have so much to offer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

Exactly, how important is the role of taoiseach? Like if Richard Bruton had won his leadership coup, wouldnt he be the next potential taoiseach? But Dont most people want him in finance anyway? Similarly, the same can be said with Reilly and Health. Isnt it better that people with real specific knowledge head up these departments rather than be a figurehead of the lot put together. Wouldnt it be better for Bruton to be completely focussed on finance???

Jesus its gone awful quiet in here. Fine Gael at 34% in the latest poll.. Labour dropping to 23%. No idea of leader ratings yet.

Pretty good poll for a man who is damaging the party so much - his party has consistently been the strongest party and has now risen further. One is going to assume that even at 34%, its not good enough. FG should be what, 60%?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

We don't believe the Irish people should have to pay for the greed of others.

I'd agree, but can I ask when this viewpoint kicked in ? Jerry McCabe paid the ultimate price for the greed of others, and a high-ranking SF collected the thugs involved from prison. He certainly didn't seem to have the view that you state above.

Not to mention the insurance bills for those who were likely to be bombed and robbed over the years.

P.S. Feel free to switch threads to answers this, as it's probably going to drift off-topic, but I couldn't let the above blanket statement go unchallenged.

Enda's not damaging the party in my estimation, at least - not by much. I'm not a fan of Fine Gael - But Enda has obviously done alot to make the party relevant in Irish politics. You can't fault him for that. Just as an individual, I find him uninspiring. It could be worse :)

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭yosemite_sam

I won't be voting FG with Enda in charge, he is a total waste of time. Give Bruton the job at least he gives the impression he knows what is happening in the world, I think Kenny has spent his entire life practising his acceptance speech in the mirror:rolleyes:

Enda's not damaging the party in my estimation, at least - not by much. I'm not a fan of Fine Gael - But Enda has obviously done alot to make the party relevant in Irish politics. You can't fault him for that. Just as an individual, I find him uninspiring. It could be worse :)

Most people, including myself, would agree. He is uninspiring on the TV. I think during interviews, he isn't that bad but comes out with daft things. The SF thing was an awkward question and he didn't know what way to go with it.

But in person, and I remember one woman saying it to me, he is genuinely a very interesting and inspiring person. When he gets the passion in his speeches, and isn't droning along - he is very good. A different style, but very good.

However, why would people within Europe put him as the VP of a party such as the EPP - the largest right wing group. He seems well respected in Europe and people have allowed this man create a team to represent us in Europe through the FG MEPs and then biggest party in local government. So while I think people don't like him personally, and I can see why, its not a fair reflection. He would make a good Taoiseach for those very reasons.

What has Bruton etc. proved to be a strong leader, bar the ability to speak on finance which is/was his role. It is his qualifications. Thats why we have a Minister of Finance. I don't expect Kenny to know this.

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭yosemite_sam

Most people, including myself, would agree. He is uninspiring on the TV. I think during interviews, he isn't that bad but comes out with daft things. The SF thing was an awkward question and he didn't know what way to go with it.

But in person, and I remember one woman saying it to me, he is genuinely a very interesting and inspiring person. When he gets the passion in his speeches, and isn't droning along - he is very good. A different style, but very good.

However, why would people within Europe put him as the VP of a party such as the EPP - the largest right wing group. He seems well respected in Europe and people have allowed this man create a team to represent us in Europe through the FG MEPs and then biggest party in local government. So while I think people don't like him personally, and I can see why, its not a fair reflection. He would make a good Taoiseach for those very reasons.

What has Bruton etc. proved to be a strong leader, bar the ability to speak on finance which is/was his role. It is his qualifications. Thats why we have a Minister of Finance. I don't expect Kenny to know this.

Enda Kenny is a qualified primary school teacher, just the sort of qualification you need to run a country