Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National: Severe Cold/ Snow Discussion (Thanks to all!)

• Registered Users Posts: 131 ✭✭mojopolo

light drizzle in belfast - temp 4 degrees (down from 5 degrees at 8.30am)
    watch and wait:o

• Registered Users Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭dak

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Light rain in Dublin at the moment!

Wet Front expected to arrive/pass over Dublin around 12:30 according to MT Cranium estimates ... Arctic air to follow after that!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,672 ✭✭✭s_carnage

Nothing much happening in Galway city yet. Wind picking up a small bit and the temperatures have fallen a bit in the last 30mins

• Registered Users Posts: 12,845 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

So that means no snow then.

everything back to normal.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

6z GFS has virtually done away with the low over Ireland and has thrown the feature very underdeveloped, well to our south.:eek:

oh no! downgrades are not appreciated!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,244 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

6z GFS has virtually done away with the low over Ireland and has thrown the feature very underdeveloped, well to our south.:eek:

I'm sorry Weathercheck can you explain what this means for Ireland in general? Is this bad?

Edit: Ok Munsterlegend has answered my question :(

• Registered Users Posts: 6,316 ✭✭✭sunbabe08

morning

snow day?:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭irish1967

sunbabe08 wrote: »
    morning

snow day?:D
    Perfect timing !:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Wasn't the prediction always that it would be warmish with rain for the morning, but that temps would drop rapidly as the day went on bringing on the snow. Maybe I'd misinterpreted but I wasn't expecting snow (Dublin) till after lunch at least?

edit: was slow posting, I see some updates posted now

• Registered Users Posts: 12,845 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

So plenty of cold rain now on the way.

very hard to predict this until we actually get close to the day, hence met eireann stance on it.

Fair play to them and fair play to the lads here too, jsut putting us on our guard

• Registered Users Posts: 9,430 ✭✭✭weisses

Nasty shower here .... about 8 degrees

If it starts freezing soon whe are all fcucked :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

Terrible GFS for snowmageddon lovers. I'm sure the thaw doctors will be happier now...:)

Oh no guys i actually want to cry now - is it all over??

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

It means the 6z GFS run has totally done away with the low for friday night Saturday for Ireland and the UK.

A total change and downgrade.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,134 ✭✭✭✭maquiladora

A lot less snow on the 06Z GFS out to 72 hours. Tis a far cry for the snowfest of the 18Z!

Still though, the big changes on each model run indicates just how unpredictable the next few days will be.

Don't be surprised to see a different solution again on the 12Z.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

leahyl wrote: »
    Oh no guys i actually want to cry now - is it all over??

opera-singer.jpg

It means the 6z GFS run has totally done away with the low for friday night Saturday for Ireland and the UK.

Lads i can't do this anymore......this means no snow or just no snow for Cork/Munster:(?

Sorry very broad question but .....AAAAAAGHHHHHH it's driving me mad!!

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭largepants

This Goddamn thing is changing like the weather.Hugely disappointed now.

gfs-0-84.png?6

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭davidsr20

I had a bad feeling this would happen,so are we talking no snow at all

• Registered Users Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭kingshankly

the score is
    met eireann 1-0 the boards
    but there's a long way to go yet

davidsr20 wrote: »
    I had a bad feeling this would happen,so are we talking no snow at all

No.

the score is
    met eireann 1-0 the boards
    but there's a long way to go yet

Fecking ME:mad:.......:o

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,460 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Thats quite a rather large shift in such a short timeframe . . .

06Z GFS is showing potential strong winds with heavy snow for the east coast Sunday evening / Monday morning.

The fact is the models are throwing up different things on every run, way too soon to jump to conclusions one way or the other at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭irish1967

It must be remembered that the computer models are kinda working blind here with not much past stats to go on.. it could all change again on 12z

• Registered Users Posts: 6,316 ✭✭✭sunbabe08

i'm heartbroken *cries*

• Registered Users Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

OOH THE FECKIN' SUSPENSE LADS!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,460 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

06Z GFS is showing potential strong winds with heavy snow for the east coast Sunday evening / Monday morning.

The fact is the models are throwing up different things on every run, way too soon to jump to conclusions one way or the other at this stage.

Sort of looks to me as if the models are struggling! :p

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

leahyl wrote: »
    Lads i can't do this anymore......this means no snow or just no snow for Cork/Munster:(?

No! You are probably in a decent location if this decides to head further south ;)

I would say this run will be the extreme case but a signal for a further south wobble ;)