Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Violent Riots in England - Sky News now

• Registered Users Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Useful idiots, those rioters.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

BickNarry wrote: »
    Hi Terry!

The next time I get asked why I broke a promise i'm going to reply

''because the man on the internet said life isn't fair.''

Needless to say,this will suffice as an articulate argument.

I love it how people like that view things in terms of a cause and consequence aspect, sort of like a dog who you punish for behaviour you don't like give treats for behaviour you do... no sense of higher cognition or reasoning, no sense of justice or fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Corsendonk wrote: »
    Nah I am more democratic, I will be voting FG in at the next election so they can cut all the fat from the public sector, your form of democracy seems to involve a brick and getting on sky news with your mates.
    Ahh, FG.
    FF with a different name.
    Th sad part is that the vast majority of the people in this country don't realise that.

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    Look at those scumbags busting the protesters with batons and shields. Sickening to be honest.

It's a Saturday night. It's the main street in Leixlip.
    People are spilling out of the pubs and heading to the chippers.
    You live in no. 2 the Mall.
    People are fighting over some sort of crap.
    One group of people become frustrated and decide to take their anger out on local buildings.
    Someone throws a brick through your front window.
    The Gardaí then give this person a slap and throw him into the back of the car.

You're ok with that, right?

Fair enough. It's the festival weekend.
    Your family are out enjoying the crap, but some nut decides that it's a capitalist fest and wants to wreak some havok.
    Nutty person decides to attack the bouncy castle with a blade while a young relative of yours is enjoying himself (his name is john for easiness).
    The air goes out of it, and little John starts to panic.
    The Gardaí catch the nut, hit him a slap before the beying mob get their hands on him, and little John is comforted by his family.

I really hate the cops. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!!!!!!!11111111111111111111

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

The protesters attacked the Treasury in London shouting 'We want our money back'. That speaks volumes. English people before that protest were mightily pissed off with their banks who nearly bankrupted their country. Our bankers played their part in bankrupting us where we know we are in the throes of the IMF.

Hi Terry!

The next time I get asked why I broke a promise i'm going to reply

''because the man on the internet said life isn't fair.''

Needless to say,this will suffice as an articulate argument.
    I see your sarcasm there. It wasn't that subtle.

Are you saying that the next time a politician breaks a promise that you are going to be proactive?

If so, what exactly are you going to do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Terry wrote: »
    One group of people become frustrated and decide to take their anger out on local buildings.

Oh, I see Leixlip hasn't changed since I worked on 'Rock a Fellas'.. Still smashing up Sammy's & Highway 66?.. Mad kip that!. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,642 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

CorkMan wrote: »
    All listening to the Dubliners yet no action.

Worse - there watchin X-Factor:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Ahh, FG.
    Th sad part is that the vast majority of the people in this country don't realise that.

The Gardaí then give this person a slap and throw him into the back of the car.

You're ok with that, right?

Fair enough. It's the festival weekend.
    Your family are out enjoying the crap, but some nut decides that it's a capitalist fest and wants to wreak some havok.
    Nutty person decides to attack the bouncy castle with a blade while a young relative of yours is enjoying himself (his name is john for easiness).
    The air goes out of it, and little John starts to panic.
    The Gardaí catch the nut, hit him a slap before the beying mob get their hands on him, and little John is comforted by his family.

I really hate the cops. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!!!!!!!11111111111111111111

Ugggh, the Leixlip festival? No self respecting leftie would ever go to that.

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭BickNarry

I see your sarcasm there. It wasn't that subtle.

Are you saying that the next time a politician breaks a promise that you are going to be proactive?

If so, what exactly are you going to do?

I'm not down with the whole boards out-do-eachother-banter yet, i was just using an example of your logic.

It depends on the gravity of the issue. Lib Dems made a hugely important promise not to increase education fees in order to gain votes,then went and trebled them.

I'm finishing college this year, very lucky as I just lost my job and have been struggling to pay for things.Can't afford my masters now. If I voted for a party who promised that there would be no increase in these and they TREBLED them,the frustration would be huge.

Why frustrated?Because there is **** all we can do about it. Rioting does not occur in a healthy democracy.

But yes,I also do see where you're coming from,and that attitude is useful with a lot of the people out there who nit-pick at every little cut and believe that none are neccessary.

Just don't throw the baby out with the bath water.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

its a hiller v farender fight in here now.

(Leixlip joke)

df1985 wrote: »

(Leixlip joke)

We're both hillers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

df1985 wrote: »

When I worked there it was the Hiller lads and lads coming out from Ballyier..

Jesus, that was a mad place.. Most violent place I've ever worked!.

But back then the cop station closed at 11pm so we were up to our tits in it!.. Plus Liffey Vally S.C. was being built (mostly northern Irish builders) as to was IBM.. Crazy days, loved 'em.. Would make the London riots look like a walk in the park :cool:

Oh, I see Leixlip hasn't changed since I worked on 'Rock a Fellas'.. Still smashing up Sammy's & Highway 66?.. Mad kip that!. :pac:
    Not a bit. :)

The vast majority of people from Leixlip know to avoid the village during weekend nights.
    Those who choose to hit the pubs in the village arrange for a hackney to meet them outside the pub. The hackney drivers ring when they are outside. Locals get preference.

The new version of that nightclub is populated by under 20's. That's where the stabby peole come in.

Ugggh, the Leixlip festival? No self respecting leftie would ever go to that.

Ahh, baiting.
    Allow me to bait back.
    Yore ma!

We're both hillers.
    If that's the case, would you please call over and smell the chicken I just took out of the fridge?
    It's a little smelly, but I only bought it yesterday.
    I think it may just be sweating in the plastic bag, but I'm drunk, so I can't be sure.

I really want to make a curry, but I'm afraid now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Looks like the Commons voted through the fees increase, its really going to kick off now. While I don't support the violence of the protests the Lib Dems really stitched up the students on this one, looks like they are just as hypocritical as the two main parties.

IMO they have done a massive disservice to democracy in England today by effectively committing political suicide, there are now no viable alternatives to the big two thus reducing the choice offered to the electorate, shine on you crazy diamond turds.

Word of advice to the politicians never promise anything you are not sure you can deliver.

If that's the case, would you please call over and smell the chicken I just took out of the fridge?
    It's a little smelly, but I only bought it yesterday.
    I think it may just be sweating in the plastic bag, but I'm drunk, so I can't be sure.

I really want to make a curry, but I'm afraid now.

Not lived there for a while though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

It depends on the gravity of the issue. Lib Dems made a hugely important promise not to increase education fees in order to gain votes,then went and trebled them.

I'm finishing college this year, very lucky as I just lost my job and have been struggling to pay for things.Can't afford my masters now. If I voted for a party who promised that there would be no increase in these and they TREBLED them,the frustration would be huge.

Why frustrated?Because there is **** all we can do about it. Rioting does not occur in a healthy democracy.

The problems the liberals have is that they made promises safe in the belief they didn't have a hope in hell of getting into power so they could make promises that were completely unsustainable, a bit like sinn fein do.

The problem comes in when you get into power and are expected to keep your promises, even more of a problem when you are only there to make up the numbers.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

Ahh, FG.

We should make this post of the day. Nobody realises it about FG, but I suppose we must put with 4 more years of hardship because the masses have their heads buried in the sand and will vote FG without have the first clue about them.

The problems the liberals have is that they made promises safe in the belief they didn't have a hope in hell of getting into power so they could make promises that were completely unsustainable, a bit like sinn fein do.

Back for more digs are we....:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

Ahh, FG.

I haven't much choice, I am of the opinion that nepotism ruined the country(Cowan, Lenihan, Aherne) so I don't vote for relatives but guess what, the local Labour party picked the brother of the former Labour TD. Is Labour the new FF with all this nepotism?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

The problem comes in when you get into power and are expected to keep your promises, even more of a problem when you are only there to make up the numbers.

Its terrible the things people end up with super-glued to their shoulder....

• Registered Users Posts: 10,508 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Hard left means violence. Funny that there is hysteria about the far right when you see this happening. I'm kind of glad such mayhem is on show on SkyNews with our own elections coming up. More than enough to sway that pen away from certain candidates even though there's only a very tenuous linkage of ideology.

<snip>

Nodin wrote: »
    Its terrible the things people end up with super-glued to their shoulder....

The truth hurts eh?

dsmythy wrote: »
    Hard left means violence. Funny that there is hysteria about the far right when you see this happening. I'm kind of glad such mayhem is on show on SkyNews with our own elections coming up. More than enough to sway that pen away from certain candidates even though there's only a very tenuous linkage of ideology.

Depends on what you mean by violence. Is revolution possible without violence? Unlikely. Is violence against those who protect property and the ruling class acceptable in the eyes of the far-left? Most revolutionary socialists would see individual acts of violence against police officers as wrong but would see police officers being hurt in the course of a revolutionary upheaval as unfortunate but necessary. I can't speak for anarchists however...

Corsendonk wrote: »
    I haven't much choice, I am of the opinion that nepotism ruined the country(Cowan, Lenihan, Aherne) so I don't vote for relatives but guess what, the local Labour party picked the brother of the former Labour TD. Is Labour the new FF with all this nepotism?
    I've no idea.
    Did you ask the brother what his policies are?

When it comes to voting, you should always vote for the person who you believe is most suited to the job, but only after you have questioned all the candidates.
    Unfortunately not too many people ever question the candidates, and most of them do not make it easy for the people to question them.

Employing a family member or a friend isn't the worst thing in the world if this person is competent and able to do the job. Employing a family member or a friend because they are close to you is nepotism at its worst.

I can only give my own opinion here, but I believe that both Berite and the brother Noel are there through nepotism. Not only because they are brothers, but also because they are members of FF. That's just my opinion though, and I have no proof of that claim.

I have the same opinion of former Taoiseach John Bruton and his brother Richard. Both FG.

From Labour, and on a local level, I know of two brothers serving on the local council.
    I know that one goes out of his way to help the locals, but I am of the firm belief that the other is as corrupt as Charlie Haughey. He just never had the chance to screw over as many people as Haughey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Holybejaysus

DB10 wrote: »
    Violence is the only way to reform this country, it's time to take the streets, loot stores, and plan ways to get digs at the gardai without taking a baton to the head.

My prefered method thus far is a good lacing in the balls, and we'll see then what their shield and baton will do....

I like many others, I'm just waiting in the background, for the "players" to make it happen....

My emergency crates of Devil's Bit and Dutch Gold are also on standby.

So how are things in art college these days? :rolleyes:

Lots of keyboard warriors on here tonight.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

To play devil's advocate... I wonder how many of the people breaking into government buildings and smashing windows etc. were never college students and just took the opportunity to have some fun and wreak havoc. :pac: :D

Lots of keyboard warriors on here tonight.

The English man that hates Ireland finally speaks up, despite his pathetic digs at sf and other parties.

I'd ****ing laugh in your face son, if I ever see Pompey liquidated...