Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst job ever?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭TheInquisitor

73Cat wrote: »
    When I was 19 worked in a restaurant in town. You weren't paid for your hour's lunchbreak AND you had to buy your own lunch. How very dare they:mad:. Needless to say, I only lasted the week.....

Seems pretty normal to me? Your not entitled to be paid for lunch? And why would they give you free food??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Bendihorse

I feel real bad for the guys who walk around with the 'Any Pizza Any Size for €9' billboards from Dominos strapped to them, front and back. Saw a gaggle of them in Wexford the other day wandering around aimlessly looking depressed and perished with the cold :(

My worst was working for/with Arabs. It was a cabin crew job with an emirate airline. The job was fine, the pax for the most part were also fine apart from the 10% of locals we had to carry/serve. To put it into perspective, i have worked cold calling in a call centre selling insurance and i would put that job before it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

Bendihorse wrote: »

My worst was working for/with Arabs. It was a cabin crew job with an emirate airline. The job was fine, the pax for the most part were also fine apart from the 10% of locals we had to carry/serve. To put it into perspective, i have worked cold calling in a call centre selling insurance and i would put that job before it.

And what was actually wrong with the airline job??

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

I feel real bad for the guys who walk around with the 'Any Pizza Any Size for €9' billboards from Dominos strapped to them, front and back. Saw a gaggle of them in Wexford the other day wandering around aimlessly looking depressed and perished with the cold :(

What was wrong with them? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭dougal-maguire

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Actually on this, I was having a discussion about working hours before with my gf. She was saying that one of her friends was in college for nearly 12 hours and poor her...

I use to work the two late night shopping nights for about 12.5 hours each. Before that job I worked a good few 12 hour shifts too, not usually two days back to back but a couple times a week.

I kind of assumed most people working in retail at least did these kind of hours. But my gf said nobody does those hours. How about everybody out there..I know I'm right and people did.

back just before the ressesion hit i was doing 16 hour days,i remember doing a 14 hour day the day before xmas eve and then went on the beer and back in the next morning for a 12 hour day.even a few weeks ago i was doing 60-70 hour weeks.i would of thought plenty of people would be doing 12+ hours a day.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

Working in Burger King, the customers thought it was grand to speak to you like **** because you couldn't answer back, cnuts. Second would be working in a shoe shop at Christmas that only had one tape of Christmas songs, felt a bit suicidal towards the end so moved to Xtra Vision :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

'moved to the music'.

Oh dear..

• Registered Users Posts: 328 ✭✭ingo1984

neither of these were the worst jobs i ever had, was just the fact i was doind them at the same time. was the summer after 1st year college. from the middle of may to the end of august, monday to friday was working in an office from 9-5, then straight from there got the bus to work in a bar from 6 until 2am. got home at 3am and then back up to do the same again at 7am. was a horrible, horrible time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

allanb49 wrote: »
    Also worked in ladbrokes for 2 years.

Working on my own in stepaside for 8 days from 9.30am to 9.30pm with supposed Time in Lieu (never got this as it was at the discretion of the District Manager)

One person on their own running a bookie shop? :eek:

Sounds like an amazingly easy target for a gang to rob

• Registered Users Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Bendihorse

And what was actually wrong with the airline job??
    bluewolf wrote: »
    What was wrong with them? :confused:

Mostly their complete disrespect for you.
    The females refusing to look at you or speak to you because in their opinion you are a white whore. The men leering at you thinking the same.
    SCREAMING at you because you wont get them water in the middle of preparing the cabin for take off during taxi.
    SCREAMING at you in general. Just horrible spoiled demanding people with a MASSIVE sense of entitlement.
    Luckily they only made up 10% of pax on any flights but they caused more fuss than the whole rest of the pax put together. Oh and their 14 spoiled children. If you didn't answer their every whim, again, father would be screaming at you. I often went out of my way to please just to see if i could prove myself wrong but no. Give someone an extra drink or offer assistance and they treat you with complete contempt.

I did love dealing with the other pax, people were so appreciative of you doing something small for them. Most of the time there was a language barrier, but a friendly smile was enough to let you know that you had made their journey a little easier in some way.

One person on their own running a bookie shop? :eek:

Sounds like an amazingly easy target for a gang to rob

It should be, hell the counter didn't even have glass the security door was an old kitchen door with just a pane of glass

If the place was robbed you have to press the emergency button

Wait for security in england to ring you

Confirm you are being robbed

Then contact your DM to see if it is ok to call the police....

The shop in question.

<Snip>

• Registered Users Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

The shop in question.

<Snip>

Is that you at the door? :pac:

Nope the manager,

Who would spend his day smoking his pipe outside and telling the customers they where cúnts for spoiling his smoking time

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭mawdz

I worked in the Bar in a Radisson hotel. The job itself was fine. Here was the problems:

I was the only irish bar staff.
    Being the only irish i got all the crap hours and the crap jobs. E.G. Cleaning the smoking area used to rotate departments. I was the only one of the bar who didnt smoke but yet they made me try clean it.
    Used to work only weekends. Usually Fridays 6pm - 6am, Saturdays 12pm-3pm and 6pm-6am and sundays 12pm-6pm. I would barely sleep some weekends. I remeber one weekend i would Friday 3pm-6am, Saturday 12pm-6am, sunday 12pm-6am.

Used to be great for saving money as all i'd do all week then is sleep but still rough times.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

'Security' at this years electric picnic. Basically had to stand on the road from 8pm to 8am checking people's tickets. Cold, tired and so soo boring. I wasn't even close enough to the event to hear the music. And the festival goers were incredibly rude and nasty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Theres enough in here for a few folk songs ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 865 ✭✭✭MajorMax

Venom wrote: »
    Was offered a job by Eircom in what was ment to be broadband support but was in fact tele-sales. The whole job involved ringing up old age pensioners and telling lies to get them to come back to Eircom.

Quit after 2 days.

I doubt very much if they offered you a position in broadband support. That job is very specialised very different from outbound sales which is outsourced

• Registered Users Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

MajorMax wrote: »
    I doubt very much if they offered you a position in broadband support. That job is very specialised very different from outbound sales which is outsourced

The company who handle Eircoms sales and support are called Capita and are known for false job advertising via the online jobsites as they couldn't get staff for telesales by honest advertising.

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭Darraghnormal

11850....quite possible the most soul destroying job in the world.

Between 700-800 calls a day, about 3 calls a minute, and you werent allowed have a call go over 25 seconds, preferred partner advertising, so someone could ask for a hotel in limerick, and the first advertisment would be one in tipperary or something, and you HAD to offer the one advertised, usually resulting in the customer screaming at you, and getting docked your bonus if you didnt adhere to this.

5 minutes "not ready" time a day, so 5 minutes for the whole day to use the toilet/get a drink of water etc, 5 minutes is not enough to time to take a sheite.

Ridiculous timekeeping rules, started by shift at 9:00 one morning, arrived in at 9:00:31, one hour later brought into a meeting and given a written warning.

5 months of my life i will NEVER get back :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

geeky wrote: »
    Just had a mental image of some obscure, 90-year-old wartime collaborator finding his niche in fast food. I reckon there's a sitcom in that, could be the next 'hail hunny, I'm home'.

I thought I'd worked some crappy jobs in my time, still do, but this thread's been great for perspective - cheers.

if only:( all polish women around 30, who relished their authority, I got a warning once for using the bathroom once when there was a queue. it was like slave labour

Seems to be an awfull lot of breaches in labour law here. People should really know their rights. That includes managers many of whom act like despots.

For example, they have let you go to the jacks. We're yous getting paid overtime for these 12 hour ****s? no breaks in between?

If you get abused in your work place and then get the sack. sue the arse off them I say. I did and won

• Registered Users Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Groinshot

If you didn't answer their every whim, again, father would be screaming at you. .
    are you sure he wasn't SCREAMING at you?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

I spent a few months working in a shower making factory in Dunleer a few years ago. Now, I'm not the kind to work in factories, as I'm more into serving costumers and having a chat... ya know, I'm the lazy type.

What really pissed me off though wasn't the job itself, it was trying to get there from Drogheda in the mornings. I stasrted at 8am each morning, but in order to get a bus out there that would land me there on time, I'd have to score one at about 5 or 6am. There would be no other bus until about 8ish which would leave me late, so I had to get the early one. Then I'd have to wait around outside for a few each morning hours in the middle of winter for the place to open. I never went back after christmas.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

Seems to be an awfull lot of breaches in labour law here. People should really know their rights. That includes managers many of whom act like despots.

For example, they have let you go to the jacks. We're yous getting paid overtime for these 12 hour ****s? no breaks in between?

I seem to remember that Telecom Eireann international operators went on strike over the 5 minutes they were allowed for toilet breaks back in 1978 or so. They won. (er, that was in the recessionary 70s, for those who think that labour law should be suspended in times of economic difficulty :rolleyes:)

what gobshíte thinks that? IQ tests for the right to vote now!

The organisation of working time act 1997 is very clear on peoples entitlements which everyone should know.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭Slig

are you being sarcastic? Isnt that normal. Ive never been paid for lunch when i was working at an hourly rate and always had to buy my own lunch. Never heard of anywhere any different

I worked in a large Irish fastfood franchise and didnt get paid for my half hour break either however all staff (except managers) got charged 50c per hour for food whether we ate it or not. You were allowed any regular meal from the menu but you still got charged 50c per hour for food even on your holidays

• Registered Users Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

11850....quite possible the most soul destroying job in the world.

Did you ever have any of these?

Slig wrote: »
    I worked in a large Irish fastfood franchise and didnt get paid for my half hour break either however all staff (except managers) got charged 50c per hour for food whether we ate it or not. You were allowed any regular meal from the menu but you still got charged 50c per hour for food even on your holidays

I dont understand. you got a half hour break and they actually deducted 50c from you for 'food' regardless if you ate it?

Im fairly sure thats not legal

• Registered Users Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Fluffer for Ron Jeremy

• Registered Users Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Claasman

Worst job ever?

would have to be selling doors, door to door.

Thank you bb