Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snow Reports/ Chat - Potential Blizzards & Heavy Snow - 29/11/2010

• Registered Users Posts: 6,042 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

MilanPan!c wrote: »
    Remember folks. The cold air is on it's way. Potentially we're in the calm before the storm. Literally.
    Where did you hear that? It's over, thaw underway.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

jimbojazz wrote: »
    Picking up in Waterford again......
    pp_me wrote: »
    and picking down again.

What parts of the city are you lads in?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,316 ✭✭✭sunbabe08

dak wrote: »
    Fiana Fail have just announced that the sequel to " Snow White and the seven dwarfs" has been canceled because Dopey spent all our money but with the current weather conditions they are pleased to announce that sequel to " The Day after Tomorrow" is on the way !

a bit over dramatic joke.:p

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭outsourced_ire

sunbabe08 wrote: »
    well theres one lone long dark cloud hanging low moving across the southside for the last half hour.

but theres big massive bank coming out way

I'd say that's the one I've been seeing out my window. Am out by CIT.

• Registered Users Posts: 413 ✭✭Tipsygypsy

:D:D:D:D:D:D:Dyay for Craughwell, finally getting a proper dumping of snow. We got a bit last night and now more beautiful soft fluffy whiteness bucketing down. Kids school is open but we live ages away so taking a snow day. Woohoo.I've never seen this kind of snow fall in Galway before, its fantastic:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,635 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Really?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,010 ✭✭✭Tom Cruises Left Nut

I think it will be somewhere between 12 - 2 pm :D

137332.png

Excellent !

Not as much of a thaw / rain in Kildare, need to top it up with a foot of new stuff !! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭pp_me

nkay1985 wrote: »
    What parts of the city are you lads in?
    Kilcohan area

• Registered Users Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

no its not over. the colder air is on the way as per met eireann and the experts on here.

I'd say that's the one I've been seeing out my window. Am out by CIT.

yup, nothing came out of it then?? and it's still going

i

• Registered Users Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭Cionád

When the cold air arrives will any precipitation be snow? - Even on the coast?

Heaviest "snow" so far this morning in waterford :)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,134 ✭✭✭✭maquiladora

06z gfs starts rolling out in 20 mins.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Nothing major around Castlebar, roads are icy enough but it was 0 degrees there, it was -6 on the car at the same time yesterday morning.

Have to go to "big smoke" for 8am meeting tomorrow, it could be fun! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,276 ✭✭✭kenmc

white stuff falling in Goatstown, either snow or sleet, doesn't seem to be rain any more than fcuk.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

t|nt|n wrote: »
    Excellent !

Not as much of a thaw / rain in Kildare, need to top it up with a foot of new stuff !! ;)

We shud be good , herself is a teacher as are the next door neighbors, and there is not any movement from any cars this morning .

I think most of the schools are off in the area today .

Stayed up late last night watching the show, was great fun

• Registered Users Posts: 12,845 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Can we lock this thread and start a new one for today!!

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭sean555

heavy snow from 7 to galway city up to moycullen back roads becoming impassable especially over higher grounds

• Registered Users Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭djhaxman

Feckin rain. Piss off rain.

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭jimmy.d

snowing in enniscorthy

• Registered Users Posts: 855 ✭✭✭smokin ace

t|nt|n wrote: »
    Excellent !

will this cold front hit us and will it bring snow or will it be a disappointment like the so called "event" last night

• Registered Users Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭token56

rainy sleet in maynooth and things are beginning to thaw,

is it going to stay like or this or is it due to get colder does anyone know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Sky clearing over me in Dublin14 and the temp has gone way up.:( Ah well it is Ireland after all.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

pp_me wrote: »
    Kilcohan area

So is it moving from your direction out towards mine in Ballygunnewr?

nkay1985 wrote: »
    So is it moving from your direction out towards mine in Ballygunnewr?

There seems to be 3 layers of clouds, each moving in a different direction. I just cant figure it :|

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Shane O' Malley

smokin ace wrote: »
    will this cold front hit us and will it bring snow or will it be a disappointment like the so called "event" last night

What disappointment.?

The forecast was for 48 hours and for between 4-8 inches in dublin area.

Many areas are already reporting significant snow over night and we still have 30 hours left.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 16,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

snowed alot last night, an extra inch or 2 on hte ground but massive thunderstorm and rain from about 5.30am so alot of melted and could have been much more snow if it had stayed that way. I reckon all the snow will melt during the day.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

not a chance it's over, the thaw is a short term thing.

expect the majority of the country to be totally fecked by tonight.

look for a post by M.T.Cranium around 7:30am. if you're going to take a weather forecast off anyone, you'd be wise for it to be him. :)

where's the snow??

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Precip turning abit more wintry here, to sleet and hail.

Bit wild at times.