Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Mr Slow: The Return

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

claralara wrote: »
    I'm pretty broke… don’t think I can jusitfy spending money until the 110 is dead and buried :(

Suffice to say "Jinx"... my charging clip spontaneously combusted circa 6 hours and 48 minutes after I wrote that!!

Mr Slow wrote: »

Can you not sell one of the staff?

No one in their right mind would pay the price of a new Garmin for Digdig ‘Digs’ Digger!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭Mr Slow

Suffice to say "Jinx"... my charging clip spontaneously combusted circa 6 hours and 48 minutes after I wrote that!! ;)

Amazon.co.uk do them for €15 ;)

4.25 miles average pace 8 min miles

Not happy :(

Chin up - you know the drill!!

You'll have a great run on Monday :)

Amazon.co.uk do them for €15 ;)

Yeah I’m on it. In the meantime, I have come up with an ingenious way of wedging my watch and the important bit of the charging clip between the bedside locker and the lamp in order to juice it up. Unfortunately, I can’t tell whether it’s working until I remove it which means I could end up wasting some valuable charging time! Anyhoo – needs must! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

Chin up - you know the drill!!

You'll have a great run on Monday :)

He better ;)

3:45:3x tough day out in the heat, enjoyed the run, report to follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭sunflowerRo

3:45:3x tough day out in the heat, enjoyed the run, report to follow.

Well done!! I never got to see you afterwards. Heard it was tough but yez did absolutely brilliant. Hope your mate had a good race. Enjoy the 7ups tonight :)

So, after a miserable drive to Cork in drizzly driving conditions I had resigned myself to a soaking, albeit in cooler and more conducive conditions to running than the recent heat wave but as I was ‘just trotting around’ I was determined to enjoy myself.
    I hadn’t been feeling 100% in the week leading up to the race but had been progressing nicely and felt human on race morning when myself and a mate made our way down for breakfast at 7am shielding our eyes from the blistering sunshine that had appeared from nowhere, a quick pop outside and the signs were that it was going to be warm, really warm.
    At the Start line I met up with Jcsmum and her team of supporters, a quick trip to join and hastily abandon the portaloo queue and we were off, the first few miles whizzed by but I was aware of any slight drag through my breathing and with confirmation from the HR monitor that I wasn’t imagining it I knew there were going to be a few tough miles ahead. At 6 miles I stopped for a bathroom break behind a perfectly placed wall on the Glanmire Rd and had gotten into a rhythm by the time we entered the Jack Lynch tunnel, out the far side I chatted with one of the 3:45 pacers who had run with me in Limerick on a training run and the miles started to fly by. At about 12 miles my hamstrings were tired, very tired but I persisted with chatting to everyone around me to take my mind off of it and it did, the Estuary was lovely and with some merciful cloud cover I was steeling my resolve for a solid finish. We went through halfway with 40 secs in hand and the next few miles came and went without issue.
    Onto the ‘hilly’ section and by 19 miles I was feeling it, the legs were running out of steam and the road ahead wasn’t getting any shorter, Mile 21 and I had fallen back from the pacers, my race buddy was powering ahead and I was considering my first DNF. Mile 22 and some teenage angel presented me with a banana which I ate over the next mile and by the Carrigrohane Road, I was feeling much better and had managed to join up with the pacers again, feeling strong and chatting away, this didn’t last long as a vicious stomach muscle cramp took hold, relieved by walking and antagonised by running, I tried digging my fingers in to ease it to no avail and shuffled along with 20 secs walking and 2 minutes running. Just as I was feeling my worst (Mile 25) Peter Mooney pops up with a big salute and a quickly snapped a few shots of my absolute misery. I had told my wife what time to expect me and knew if she saw the balloons pass and no sign of me she’d be worried, my goal now was to shorten the amount of time she was concerned as much as possible. The cramp obliged at this point and I dug in, gritting my teeth and growling as I turned onto the bridge at mile 26, a few seconds later and I spot my race buddy catching up in time for us to simultaneously cross the line in 3:45:36.
    Great day out all told :) and good craic with the gang in the pub afterwards.
    The moral of the story children is that miles in the legs will get you so far, if you haven’t trained for a marathon it will sting like a b1tch. My only hope is that the 2 marathons I have done in the last month will help with my endurance and not set me back further.
    Garmin Link

Am so lazy, can I just edit your post and paste it into my log. Pretty please.
    Even though we both suffered at the latter stages of the race and we missed out on our goal time, I really enjoyed it. Thanks so much for the chat and singalong, the fetching and carrying of water, oranges, powerade, sponges etc.... Much appreciated even if you did throw me across the finish line.

jcsmum wrote: »
    Am so lazy, can I just edit your post and paste it into my log. Pretty please.
    Even though we both suffered at the latter stages of the race and we missed out on our goal time, I really enjoyed it. Thanks so much for the chat and singalong, the fetching and carrying of water, oranges, powerade, sponges etc.... Much appreciated even if you did throw me across the finish line.

No, you must provide a tale of woe and joy and misery and elation and beer.

Twas nothing, we'll have to do it again! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭shazkea

No, you must provide a tale of woe and joy and misery and elation and beer.

Twas nothing, we'll have to do it again! :D

Yeah where's your report missus - I was hoping to use it to put me to sleep before my early flight ;):D:D. Only kidding :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Nules10

Well done again. Was good to meet you properly.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Well done. Ultra's are next.

As if!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭racheljev

Well done for keeping on moving with the horrible cramps, must have been very tempting to DNF. Bloody sun and heat - hate it! Congrats on a time I can only dream of :o

racheljev wrote: »
    Well done for keeping on moving with the horrible cramps, must have been very tempting to DNF. Bloody sun and heat - hate it! Congrats on a time I can only dream of :o

Thanks Rachel. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Well done, Mr slow will have to become Mr Not So Slow!!!! That sounds like it was a hard run but fair play for sticking with it and getting to the end!!! Great report!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

Well done C. Whats next on the agenda?

pistol_75 wrote: »

Thanks P, Dunshaughlin is not looking likely, Cork took a lot out out of me, thankfully I now have a grasp on the fatigue so I should recover quickly enough but can't see a pb in less than 3 weeks, my next goal race is the series half and a dance with sub 1:30 :eek:

pistol_75 wrote: »

Thanks P, Dunshaughlin is not looking likely, Cork took a lot out out of me, thankfully I now have a grasp on the fatigue so I should recover quickly enough but can't see a pb in less than 3 weeks, my next goal race is the series half and a dance with sub 1:30 :eek:

Want me to pace you? I promise not to trip you or push you across the line ;)

I may have tripped you but I caught you before you fell :P

And no doubt there was a camera right there.

Pity it wasn't DCM, the video would be like a trailer for Platoon with the state of the two of us :)

I can think of worse films than that. The opposite of 'chariots of fire' anyway.

1.5 Miles this morning with de Missus in the lashing rain. :)

4 Mile recovery run.

Achey and unhappy, will need a lot of these before I can start training properly.

7.34 Miles average pace 8:58 average HR 143

HR a bit high but to be expected, wasn't going to run today but had to take my new Mizuno Wave Prophecy's for a jaunt. :D It would have been rude not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭shivDCM

what did they set u back?
    I need to get new runners over the next few weeks.
    they look great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭sunflowerRo

7.34 Miles average pace 8:58 average HR 143

HR a bit high but to be expected, wasn't going to run today but had to take my new Mizuno Wave Prophecy's for a jaunt. :D It would have been rude not to.

I've heard great things about those shoes. Are they magical?