The Frontline 22nd November

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

Flimbos wrote: »
    Did I hear that ranter say "this isn't Pravda"? That made Kenny squirm a bit. A Shinner I'd say?

RTE werent far off Pravda last night when they cut Vincent Browne. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,586 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Motion of no confidence supposedly going to be held tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

That woman's head is going to explode

Really? Link???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

I love the frontline, I often wonder if they send out tickets to mental asylums :D Don't be bitching? Is this guy familiar with adversarial politics?

Bigcheeze wrote: »

Thought my head was gonna explode. her shrill voice could shatter glass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

telekon wrote: »
    A shinner no doubt...
    Your point

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

What does it matter if someone is a member of a political party? Are they not entitled to air their views like everybody else at the show? That's not the first time he has done it - And it's only when someone with a left-wing view comes on the mic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,586 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

We only want to be negative. He needs to get over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

tinkerbell wrote: »
    LOL!

Dude in audience "I'm a member of Sinn Fein".

Pat - "do you realise you won't have any part in the next general election"?

tee hee :D

What's so tee-hee about it? Is he not entitled to air his views? Condescending bollocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kwalshe

Bigcheeze wrote: »
    pics or GTFO!

Mister men wrote: »
    Your point

Always a protest argument, have to be in your face. If its not red paint smearing, its charging the gates of the dail.

Not necessarily a bad thing, its just the way they roll... Who amongst us thought loud man was a member of the mainstream political parties in fairness...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,610 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

yeah, getting the impression the Greens know the fuucked up.

I do understand what they were trying to do - ie tell the public, chill, you'll have your say. - BUT we cant give it toyou now, cos it'd de-stabilise the EU/IMF talks.

so em, we're gonna put through a budget with no real mandate and em, well, retire from politics...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Am I missing something? Are you all posting from the future? What are ye all watching?

edit: Please don't tell me the Frontline started early again!?!?! :mad:

Ah ffs! What an absolute fúcking joke!!! I hate you RTE you absolute shower of ****!!!

Am I missing something? Are you all posting from the future? What are ye all watching?

Ah ffs! What an absolute fúcking joke!!! I hate you RTE you absolute shower of ****!!!

Did indeed. Thought you were a bit confused there alright.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭stantheman8

Hello from the future.
    From here I can see what will happen after the election in January :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

dlofnep wrote: »
    What's so tee-hee about it? Is he not entitled to air his views? Condescending bollocks.

He's perfectly entitled to air his views! I just thought it was pretty cheeky / funny for Pat to come out with what he said! He hasn't got a clue really. Pat that is, he doesn't know how to act in these situations, he just comes across looking like a muppet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Got a ****load of entertainment from that. Loved the angry guy at the far back. Even Pat Kenny was funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

very good piece on Newsnight at the minute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,610 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

winner was O'Toole's statement both the condoms. thankfully they are morally acceptable now thanks to Il Papa's statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭Tucker.Tim

tinkerbell wrote: »
    He's perfectly entitled to air his views! I just thought it was pretty cheeky / funny for Pat to come out with what he said! He hasn't got a clue really. Pat that is, he doesn't know how to act in these situations, he just comes across looking like a muppet.

Pat Kenny is pretty fantastic as a host of this type of show - his no nonsense style usually cuts through the talking points and the unaimed emotional anger from both guests and audience members.

In the case in question the audience member was a councilor - never identifying himself as such until forced to - and was talking about how we should have an election, change of government, whatever. The fact that Sinn Fein, no matter if it's Fine Gael or Labour in charge neither will do a deal with them and that means they'll have no part in the governence of the country after the next election. I'm not going to even lend anyone a chance to get into the poltics behind that because it's not relevant to that fact in any way.

Pat just came out and said what was a very obvious fact. He didn't spare the man's feelings, but the man was no rabbit in the headlights - discussion in that format is a contact sport and if people think there was anything wrong with that they need to be a tad more realistic.

And I know it's the cool thing to bash Pat Kenny, but he was born to do current affairs shows like this and The Frontline is a significant improvement over Question & Answers, both in pace and in style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Wagner was mentioned on the show :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,130 ✭✭✭Yakuza

Bored senseless of all the waffle at this stage so I'm not really paying attention, but what was the quip that Fintan said about pregnancy that got the audience chuckling?

It was quite funny, imho. The gist of it was electing a new government *after* putting this upcoming budget through was akin to choosing which brand of condoms to use after you get pregnant. Bruton was grinning like a cheshire cat after Fintan said it.

We should have had this show 5 years ago. Kenny was wasted on the Late Late, light entertainment doesn't suit him, but politics / current affairs - he's right on the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Shane10

if i hear one more time "this government dosent have a mandate" or "let the people have their say" one more time from a politician im going to hit something or someone!!!!!!!!! pathetic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭Alwayson

Shane10 wrote: »
    if i hear one more time "this government dosent have a mandate" or "let the people have their say" one more time from a politician im going to hit something or someone!!!!!!!!! pathetic

What about the thousands of lonely women who don't have a man date either? I don't hear anyone speaking up on their behalf!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Shane10 wrote: »

Why ? It's true.

Much better to hear that fact than Cowen's pathetic "I don't accept that" stock answer to every question.......if Cowen "doesn't accept that" the Earth is round, he'd need to provide proof of his statement, but he spews out the phrase to deflect from valid questions.

If a cop tells me that I'm over the speed limit and I answer "I don't accept that" despite the obvious proof in the form of a radar speed trap reading, I'm still answerable, regardless of my statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Cole

Tucker.Tim wrote: »
    Pat Kenny is pretty fantastic as a host of this type of show - his no nonsense style usually cuts through the talking points and the unaimed emotional anger from both guests and audience members.

And I know it's the cool thing to bash Pat Kenny, but he was born to do current affairs shows like this

Well said. The ridiculous 'plank' type of jibe that some throw at Pat just demonstrates a complete ignorance of his broadcasting skills and his consistently excellent performances on radio and tv.

Granted, the lightweight chatshow stuff he's done over the years didn't always show him in the best light. I remember him back in the Today Tonight days and it's great to see him back at what he's best at.

Cole wrote: »
    Well said. The ridiculous 'plank' type of jibe that some throw at Pat just demonstrates a complete ignorance of his broadcasting skills and his consistently excellent performances on radio and tv.

Granted, the lightweight chatshow stuff he's done over the years didn't always show him in the best light. I remember him back in the Today Tonight days and it's great to see him back at what he's best at.

...except for the lions share of his radio show. His talents are criminally wasted on people flogging their books or interviewing experts on vegetable cultivation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭Alwayson

telekon wrote: »
    [/B]

...except for the lions share of his radio show. His talents are criminally wasted on people flogging their books or interviewing experts on vegetable cultivation.

"interviewing experts on vegetable cultivation" -presumably we're back to talking about the government again?