Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kevin Myers: FF will always be loved by Irish people

• 09-11-2010 1:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭

He said that even though FF have helped to ruin the country and in the past have mismanaged things and have a littany of 'dodgy' leaders, they will always recover and get back into power becasue the Irish people have an in bred love for FF. The other parties just dont have the same connection with the people
    So basically they will lose the next election and probably be out of power for a couple of terms and then back with a vengence to wreck things all over again :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

He said that even though FF have helped to ruin the country and in the past have mismanaged things and have a littany of 'dodgy' leaders, they will always recover and get back into power becasue the Irish people have an in bred love for FF. The other parties just dont have the same connection with the people
    So basically they will lose the next election and probably be out of power for a couple of terms and then back with a vengence to wreck things all over again :eek:

Is this where we go to call Kevin Myers a ****head?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Same everywhere, really. It won't be the same crew though, or nessecarily the same ethos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

He's 100% correct

Snakeblood wrote: »
    Is this where we go to call Kevin Myers a ****head?

No it's here that we acknowledge that he has a point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

In stark contrast, Kevin Myers will never be loved by the Irish people.

orourkeda wrote: »

Not really. The labour vote under Spring was huge, they went in with FF, it collapsed, now its back up. America - Republicans in, then out, then rising again. Its not really unique.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,139 ✭✭✭-Trek-

LOL, Kevin Myers is quite the troll isn't he :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Join us next week for Kevin's article.............. SS will always be loved by German people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Nodin

Labour have never formed a one party government and have never been a senior partner in a government. They do well only if other are doing badly. FF is the default setting of the Irish voter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

It is more or less true. I imagine that if there was an election soon, Enda would inevitably end up as Taoiseach. But then Fine Gael would have to do the necessary cuts and they would be become deeply unpopular. Thus Fianna Fail would be next into Government.

Pretty much like in every other democracy in the world. The UK has the Conservatives and Labour, USA have Democrats and Republicans. It is a never ending cycle.

mike65 wrote: »
    Nodin

Labour have never formed a one party government and have never been a senior partner in a government. They do well only if other are doing badly. FF is the default setting of the Irish voter.

The point is about cycles of popularity. They happen, and they happen everywhere.

He also presumes that Future FF would be the same as Past FF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Most voters don't give a damn about the country so long as "they're alright" in their own little backwater. A broken traffic-light or an uncut branch is of more concern to them than the national debt or current bond rates. This is what the FF'ers deliver in exchange for endless election wins for them and eventually their sons/daughters/grandchildren. It's an incestuous little set-up for a well organised group of grubby chancers to pitch their Faustian deals to a bunch of short-sighted yokels. Only now with the country visibly collapsing can it be seen what giving these people power results in.

I agree they'll be out at the next election but back in less than 10 to have another nice long stretch and opportunity to ruin the future for another generation of Irish people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

FF...FG...its all the same. A wolf in sheep's clothing is still a wolf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Attention-seeker looks for attention, gets it. Although to be fair, he probably has a point. Wouldn't be surprised if there will always be a love for Fianna Fáil among many generations of Irish (certainly not all of us though - hate this "we" bollocks) and a sneaky regard for the "cute hoor".

Nodin wrote: »
    Not really. The labour vote under Spring was huge, they went in with FF, it collapsed, now its back up. America - Republicans in, then out, then rising again. Its not really unique.

The republicans vote recovers when a poor democratic president is elected and vice versa.

It's normal that any political partys share of the vote will fluctuate from time to time. In fairness to Kevin Myers that is probably the point he is trying to make. The chances that FF' vote will rebound over an extended period of time are pretty high I'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I'm not quite sure if this is the case any more. I can remember having the discussion before the last GE in 2007 with my father. He has voted FF all his life, since he could vote. My grandfather was a civil servant - secretary to one of the Taoiseachs, staunchly pro-FF all his life. He claimed that "FF will always do right by business, they'll always do what's best for the economy".

When the last local elections rolled around, that had all changed. For the first time in 42 years, he thought that FF were not the candidates of choice, his words were, "I just don't know any more". I think he abstained for that one, unable to decide if any of them were any use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

The bigger problem is a system that favours local politics over national politics. Local work should be the remit of local politicians (i.e. councillors). Politicians in the Dail should not have to worry about sorting out pot holes or getting planning permission. But that is the way that they will get elected, so it is easy to see how they would put effort into sorting out affairs for local people.

Only when it is properly reformed will Ireland have a government that actually works for the national interest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭th3 s1aught3r

The bigger problem is a system that favours local politics over national politics. Local work should be the remit of local politicians (i.e. councillors). Politicians in the Dail should not have to worry about sorting out pot holes or getting planning permission. But that is the way that they will get elected, so it is easy to see how they would put effort into sorting out affairs for local people.

Only when it is properly reformed will Ireland have a government that actually works for the national interest.

This is true
    FF have a knack of putting 'popular' local people up , GAA heros etc. How this qualifies them to be a TD is another matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Everything has changed now and i believe they will get less than 20 seats in the next election

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

FF are getting the blame for the simple fact that they were in power at the time.

If any other party or collation were in power,the same **** would have happened.

We are a small country reliable on others,if the world looses its belt,were the pants that fall,

Ireland FF have been in much worse places before,I honestly laugh when people say they will never vote for them again,even if there was a total change of those who are in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Can't I do both?

Seloth wrote: »
    FF are getting the blame for the simple fact that they were in power at the time.

lol.
    They took decisions during that time that has made our problems MUCH worse than other countries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Myers is a pompus ass who does his best to get attention in a needy way. While it is true that a segment of the population will always vote for FF, Myers is simply feeding off people's misery and resentment once more. And just like there'll always be FF voters, there'll always be people whose self-esteem is low enough to read his inane right-wing imperialist fantasy drivel day in, day out. Vicious circle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

How a party that was instrumental in setting up and covering up a system of child sex abuse unparalleled in the western world could still be in existence with none of its members in jail is just shocking...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Myers is right.

Next election - Greens will take all the blame and go the way of the PD's. FF will lose some votes but probably still get in in coalition. Next election but one FF get back in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Seloth wrote: »
    Hah. They drove the bus, they drove too fast, they ignored all the red lights and stop signs, and then they crashed into a group of children and killed them all.
    But we're only blaming them because they're standing beside the bus trying to sort the mess out?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Myers has achieved what he set out to do. Get folk talking about him!

Anyway, as we all know, there will always be support for some people/orgs' no matter how stupid it may seem to others.
    FF will be around for some time yet to come as there is still a culture of traditional support alone at local levels.
    Its parish pump thinking sadly but thats what helps to keep the monster alive and ticking over till it jumps out at the next opportunity, given what ever tabloid drama it can use to its advantage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Is this online. I f*cking love Kevin Myers when he's not giving off about atheists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

This is true
    FF have a knack of putting 'popular' local people up , GAA heros etc. How this qualifies them to be a TD is another matter

I thought getting most votes qualifies you?

You'd like Myanmar.

seamus wrote: »
    Hah. They drove the bus, they drove too fast, they ignored all the red lights and stop signs, and then they crashed into a group of children and killed them all.
    But we're only blaming them because they're standing beside the bus trying to sort the mess out?
    If your using that analogy... then the FF driver of the bus (...drove the bus, drove too fast, ignored the red lights/stop signs, crashed into a group of children and killed them all.) might get off the bus and try and help out still...

...but he(they) are still accountable for their actions (previous and current) and if they are continuing to do the similar actions in other areas even now and/or support futile, poor choices, they most certainly should not be allowed drive any more buses!

Just a thought!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

His career peaked when he did the first Austin Powers movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

This is true

it's better than FG's celebrities candidates, who usually either make an absolute balls of getting elected (eg. Graham Geraghty), or make a balls of the job after they get elected (eg. George Lee)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Kevin 'MyArse' has a penchant for speaking through his ar$e!

Sadly, he's got too a newspaper to speak through as well! :(

How does one explain how man like Charlie Haughy and Bertie have been massively popular Taoiseach when they were in power even though we always knew they might be a 'little bit dodgy'
    Why do they attract criminals like Ray Burke, Padraic Flynn, Liam Lawlor into their ranks ?

How does one explain how man like Charlie Haughy and Bertie have been massively popular Taoiseach when they were in power even though we always knew they might be a 'little bit dodgy'
    Short version: people tend to overlook individual "flaws" because they appear to be of nice character/thinking and "Sure isn't he a grand chap!"
    ...Why do they attract criminals like Ray Burke, Padraic Flynn, Liam Lawlor into their ranks ?
    Birds of a feather, tend to stick together!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

topper75 wrote: »

No, that just appoints you. Being qualified to do a job and hiring someone to do a job are not necessarily going to be interdependent.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,225 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

He's 100% correct

Correct. To wit:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

I wouldn't lower myself to reading that Myers arsehole. But whatever he said: he's wrong. Trust me.

Back in 1996 he was going on about how Michael D. Higgins was the sperm of IRA men and women (or words to that effect) and that his idea to create TnaG/TG4 was the equivalent of creating "Teilifis de Lorean". TG4 is today far and away the best value TV station which Ireland has. He was wrong, gloriously wrong.

Myers is an undereducated English born and bred anti-Irish myopic fúckwit. Having said that I'm still laughing at his rant with George Hook earlier this year.

Thats Colonel Myarse to you, pal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Nodin wrote: »
    It won't be the same crew though, or nessecarily the same ethos.

A lot of people seem to forget this. Obviously the country doesn't need another Cowen or Bertie or Haughey, but who's to say future generations of FF won't produce another Sean Lemass instead?

Certainly they do not deserve to be in power after the next election, and the current lot don't deserve to ever be in Govenment again. But parties can change, provided their members change. Not saying it'll ever happen, but sure ya never know!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

I opened a thread in politics on the subject last night and before the publication of the article in the paper ( http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056084143 ). I have to say I disagree with kevin for the reasons I've outlined. There are too many people with huge mortgages, to forget the damage done to the economy that FF did. If the country is turning around in two elections time, it will be the final nail in the coffin of the FF party. After this election they will cease to exist as a major force and the following as a force at all. The brand is too damaged to resuscitate.

The only thing FF have is an excellent structure on the ground. This though will align itself with new parties that rise out of the ashes of FF

FF (1926 - 2010) RIP

No flowers please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Namabillion

Totally agree with Myers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

given that I never voted for either FF or FG, and anyone I ever votted for who ever gave a crap about ireland never got elected. i've always wondered who these people are who don't know anything about the people they are electing other than looking at telegraph poll signs and seeing which party leader makes the least slipups in the FF FG on the latelate the night before the election.

Unless we swamp the elections with proper independent candidates and break this party political bull**** once and for all, we will be back to square 1. we have to stop electing politicians and start electing people who care about the community and the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Presumably Myers means the bastardised version of "Irish people" that's doing the rounds these days......you know - the collective one that caused the crisis ?

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Presumably Myers means the bastardised version of "Irish people" that's doing the rounds these days......you know - the collective one that caused the crisis ?

One can only hope that this crisis will mean a generation of Irish will think twice about voting for FF in the future

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Those of us with sense will realise we have a duty to future generations never to let FF into power again, but moreso, to watch the people we elected to represent us like a hawk. In my opinion, Proportional representation has alot to answer for. I remember Mary Harney going on back in 2005/06 about Sinn Fein having no mandate from the people... ... Jesus ****! Who voted for her?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 gemscorp

So basically they will lose the next election and probably be out of power for a couple of terms and then back with a vengence to wreck things all over again
    He's right again. He just is. Anyone who says otherwise is one of the braindead of which there are many in this country.
    topper75 wrote:
    How old are you or how long have you been a student of politics?
    No, that just appoints you. Being qualified to do a job and hiring someone to do a job are not necessarily going to be interdependent.
    And is that all you have to say on the subject?

BOTTOM LINE: It barely matters who's in office from now on, just as it hasn't really mattered since the last European Yes that people voted for. Welcome to Europe. You voted for this. Didn't you read the fine print. Biffo didn't even bother reading the large print, he was too busy drinkin and toasting the dead tiger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Much as I loathe Myer, he's right on this one.

The "Republican" (snicker) Party will be back at the helm by 2016 - just in time for the century celebrations of the Easter Rising.

Where The Soldiers of Bankruptcy are concerned, a huge swathe of the Irish population seem to suffer from a politicised form of 'Battered Wives' syndrome.