Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you go clubbing alone?

• 05-11-2010 9:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭

Simple question really, think we've all been had some nights were your the only one looking to go out.

I did a few times when I was pissed, once just walking by a club. Don't think I'd enjoy it or have the self confidence to do it much though, but it's very annoying sometimes you plan to go out then find out people aren't then your stuck...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Leelaa22

As a girl ...not a chance!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

As a bloke,not a chance.

There were a few times when I was living in Dublin and was out that I stopped off in Bruxelles on my own for a night cap or 3 and to listen to some tunes but thats the height of it.

There is a guy I know from where Im living now and he tends to do this.Myself and 3 pals were heading towards the night club,the street was relatively quiet.We got to the doors of the night club and yer man literally appeared out of nowhere.There is an alley right beside the club and we reckon he was waiting there until he saw someone he recognised.

He is a funny fish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I live in a small town so I would be bound to see some people I know. Yeah I would.

Wouldn't go out in Dublin on my own though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Nah, I wouldn't bother. Gigs are another story though, I'd go see a band on my own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Been out with one other person a few times and I've really enjoyed it...but on my own...nah you'd have to spend your whole night trying to chat up girls to have any fun I'd imagine :D

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭Nip The Tip

Not anymore, as I'm a stranger in a city.

Back in college I was quite popular despite my foreskin problems, and on 2 occasions (I think) I wanted to go out but nobody in my direct circle of friends did, so I'd have a few cans with the lads and wander across the road to the college club on my tod.
    Always met rakes of people I knew there, so I never looked like a lone shark in the corner all bored. One of those 2 times it actually took me about 30 mins to get to the bar as I was inundated with people I knew bumping into me for a chat/****e-talk :)

But times were different back then.

Not anymore, as I'm a stranger in a city.

Back in college I was quite popular despite my foreskin problems, and on 2 occasions (I think) I wanted to go out but nobody in my direct circle of friends did, so I'd have a few cans with the lads and wander across the road to the college club on my tod.
    Always met rakes of people I knew there, so I never looked like a lone shark in the corner all bored. One of those 2 times it actually took me about 30 mins to get to the bar as I was inundated with people I knew bumping into me for a chat/****e-talk :)

But times were different back then.

was that a bit too much info?

But really you guys have it handy in that regard. There have been plenty of times I wanted to go out but no one was going, and I would like to go out on my own without the constant worry. I wouldnt even walk to my local in my old town, and it was a 2 min walk. There was one strech of path that was in darkness and there were a few attempted, half interrupted attacks there and I lived in a quiet enough town! CRAZY!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭blindpilot

No chance. Met a lad from work out one night who was on his own. Everyone seemed a little weirded out by it. Granted he is a little weird himself. But I cant say its something I'll ever do.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Have done twice in Ireland ,and did just last week when I was in San Francisco, went to a Halloween party with about 1000 people at it on my lonesome and had one of the best nights out ever at it. (pulled too :D)
    Irish people have this tendency to find anyone who isnt a sheep a bit wierd, I know people who wont sit and have a coffee by themselves or even walk into a pub unless someone comes out to the door to meet them for fear of being " a loner" I used to think that way a bit too but going abroad on my own really opened my eyes and once you're out of your comfort bubble and have to talk to people you'd be amazed how a night can turn out, everyone should try it once I reckon.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Have done on a few occassions, but I went to a specific club to see a specific DJ and not out generally clubbing like you'd head for after the pub with your friends. I only did that once, and didn't have the best night out - I missed having the banter with friends.

I agree with krudler though, it should be tried anyways, especially if you're not in a local area as you get to meet all kinds of people :) I even flew over to the Ministry of Sound in London and went clubbing there on my own though I had intentions of meeting people there.

but if you didnt want to meet anyone who did you talk to?

• Registered Users Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I wouldn't go to a night club on my own. However, the odd time I do wander off from the group to go 'exploring'. Sometimes I return to them. Sometimes I don't. It's good to have a group to fall back to in case you find nothing interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

nedtheshed wrote: »
    As a bloke,not a chance.

There were a few times when I was living in Dublin and was out that I stopped off in Bruxelles on my own for a night cap or 3 and to listen to some tunes but thats the height of it.

There is a guy I know from where Im living now and he tends to do this.Myself and 3 pals were heading towards the night club,the street was relatively quiet.We got to the doors of the night club and yer man literally appeared out of nowhere.There is an alley right beside the club and we reckon he was waiting there until he saw someone he recognised.

He is a funny fish.

He sounds like me. :o

Hang around until there's someone I know, then cling to them!

I dont live in Cork so you are safe enough.:pac:

Leelaa22 wrote: »
    but if you didnt want to meet anyone who did you talk to?

Strangers, thats the fun part, meeting new people :)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

If it's a gig/DJ I want to see I definitely would have no problem going on my own. I've never gone into town with the intention of going clubbing without someone to meet though. Although one of the best nights I've had out recently was when I got kicked out of the club all my mates were in (jumped a barricade) and went to another on my own I probably had one of my best nights in a while there.

krudler wrote: »
    Strangers, thats the fun part, meeting new people :)

Maybe im just very sheltered but that seems a dangerous thing to me to do ony our own

You are probably right being female but from a blokes perspective I wouldnt think most would have anything to worry about.

Except for other men starting on you for no reason, in my head this happens alot in real life, but i dont know

Talk to people? pubs and clubs are supposed to be a place for socialising, well maybe not clubs cos the music is so bloody loud, but thats why the smoking areas are great for starting conversations with people, and i dont even smoke. Ive never had someone start or even try to start something with me in real life once, unless you're in a pub full of scummers then you've nothing to worry about

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

Bit awkward when somebody asks you who are you here with though id say!

Eh im on my own!

OMG are you larry murphy!

Except for other men starting on you for no reason, in my head this happens alot in real life, but i dont know

I can honestly say Ive never had anyone start a row with me in my life.Ive been in 2 fights and both of those were because I was backing up my brother.

There have been 1 or 2 occasions where someone might get a bit lairy with me but Im so easy going I never get riled.I talked them down and made them feel a bit silly for being a dick.

krudler wrote: »
    Talk to people? pubs and clubs are supposed to be a place for socialising, well maybe not clubs cos the music is so bloody loud, but thats why the smoking areas are great for starting conversations with people, and i dont even smoke. Ive never had someone start or even try to start something with me in real life once, unless you're in a pub full of scummers then you've nothing to worry about

Yeah supposed to be a place for socialising, but even when im on my own just waiting for someone to arrive it can be weird. Men seem to think Im there to be hit on and am looking for someone to go home with, just cause im standing on my own. and thats just 10 15 mins on my own, imagine the hassle if I was there the whole night!!! Id imagine they start laughing at some stage and call me a loner.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

No chance!
    You'd want to be abit strange to go into a club alone imo!
    Different story if you know there'll be peolpe in there that you'll know though.
    But to go in & just stand at the bar on your own is very :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭MFZ

No chance!
    You'd want to be abit strange to go into a club alone imo!
    Different story if you know there'll be peolpe in there that you'll know though.
    But to go in & just stand at the bar on your own is very :eek:

The alternative would be to stay at home?
    Nah.

Go out, meet new people. Or just listen to the music and dance.
    Whatever you like.

MFZ wrote: »
    The alternative would be to stay at home?
    Nah.

Go out, meet new people. Or just listen to the music and dance.
    Whatever you like.

you'd dance on your own?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Skuxx

Its not something I'd ever plan to do although I did once before! Went out to the pub with a mate but he got turned away going into the club after and told me to go on as he was gona head home! I had a surprisingly good time, managed to pull my current gf :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

you'd dance on your own?

God yeah! What'd be the craic with holding up the bar all night?

Again, I'm not talking about heading to a regular Irish Saturday-night nightclub here. I've been to gigs in clubs (lets call it a gig because I went to see the DJ specifically, not Barry from down the road spinning some tunes) on my own, mashed in with the crowd and have at it. Sure you don't know anybody there, and who gives a sh*t what they think anyways. Besides, if ya bump into a girl there and start up a little chat you never know what'll happen - you could end up pulling, or just making a really nice friend and having a great night.

I most likely wouldn't go dancing on my own though, like being one of maybe 20 people on the dancefloor. Not unless I was properly drunk and really didn't care. But if there's a good crowd, like 100 or more on the floor then you better believe I'll be out there if I'm in the mood for a dance/mosh/good time

It's surprisingly easy to meet people when you don't have the safety net of your friends, though I can see why it's daunting for people. I'll freely admit that I'm not the best at it either but it's not a barrier for me

I can honestly say Ive never had anyone start a row with me in my life.Ive been in 2 fights and both of those were because I was backing up my brother.

There have been 1 or 2 occasions where someone might get a bit lairy with me but Im so easy going I never get riled.I talked them down and made them feel a bit silly for being a dick.

good for you talking them down when a guy gets in my grill I cry , I know there is no way I could take them. when a girl gets in my face, its the back of my hand! haha not really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

No. You need at least one other person to hold the seal down.