If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Its all about Time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

Saturday 20 th July

With holidays starting soon and also being registered for the fingal10k, the next days, I decided that longer miles would be more beneficial that a rest days and a race. Decided on club session with the gang, 5*1k with a warmup of 2 miles and warmdown of 1.5 ,miles. All 1k reps in around 3:35.

Sunday 21 st July.

With another of the lads wanting to watch the race, and normally running long on a Sunday we set off at 7:30am instead of the usual 8:00, got in. Handy 12.2 miles in 1:27ish for 7:14avg.

Then up to swords and watched the race, talked to B Roe before the off offering a few words of encouragement, he came in in 8th place with a strong finish.

Bit of catching up to do, difficult finding the time when away.:cool:

Monday 22 July. Just an easy 5 miles around malahide park in the sun.

Tuesday 23 July... I F***ing hate flying, sitting in a metal box 37,000 feet up with no room, little air, and probable turbulence, what's not to like.
    Given that we were not flying until 2:00pm, decided on a bit of a long tempo to tire myself out. 12.5 miles in 1:25, including corkscrew hill. Wreaked after it.

Mrs Drak got me a happy pill for the flight, which proved a great success. 7 hours never passed so fast.

Wednesday 24 July.

With the termeratures in Dubai in the 37-38 at 7:00am, that was no chance of a run outside, the treadmill in the gym had to suffice for 2.5 miles easy in 20 minutes. Collowed by an easy workout.

Thursday,

Ditto, see above, another 2.5 m.

Saturday,

Ok I had to give it a go... Set out for a run outside at 1.00pm with the temperature showing 47c in direct sunlight at the pool. If anything the city streets were warmer still. Managed 1.3 miles in 10 minutes. Head was pounding and legs wobbling, immediately into the pool for a cool off...

Wednesday 24 July.

With the termeratures in Dubai in the 37-38 at 7:00am, that was no chance of a run outside, the treadmill in the gym had to suffice for 2.5 miles easy in 20 minutes. Collowed by an easy workout.

Thursday,

Ditto, see above, another 2.5 m.

Saturday,

Ok I had to give it a go... Set out for a run outside at 1.00pm with the temperature showing 47c in direct sunlight at the pool. If anything the city streets were warmer still. Managed 1.3 miles in 10 minutes. Head was pounding and legs wobbling, immediately into the pool for a cool off...

Monday 29 July.

2 miles around the burning hot roads of Abu Dhabi. First mile hard, second mile in almost panic, with effort levels and internal core temperature.

Tuesday 30 July.

2 more miles around the burning hot roads of Abu Dhabi. Strangly i was the only runner at 12:00pm. Temp around 44c in shade, prob 50c in direct sun.

Wednesday 31 July

Back to Dubai, and 2 miles on the Palm. Facing into the wind is the worst, like putting your face over an open oven...

Monthly Summary.

165 miles covered (on holidays for 11 Days)
    25 Days running out of 31
    3 Rest complete rest days (other days were gym or doubles)
    4 LSR's 15.9m being longest (7:11 avg pace)
    3 Tempos 8-9 miles each.
    3 Track sessions 5*800, 5*800, 5*1000
    Races - 0 ???

Rock and Roll Half - 05/Aug/2013

The plan for this race was keep it conservative. Being on holidays for the previous 2 week and and only being able to run 12 miles in total, the fitness levels would have dropped. Would have been happy with a a 1:32-1:33, however in turning up on the start line, was met with 20-30 other club lads, and specifically 3-4 of the lads I do most of my Sundays LSR with. Decided to sod it and go for a sub 1:30.

Gun went off and settled in behind the 1:30 pacers, for 1st mile. Pace felt ok, and running well, 1st mile in 6:43. Luckly I was in first wave with the result there was little bunching, and plent of road to use. Kept with pacers until the Guinness Gate (mile 2) and then moved ahead. Moving well into the Phoenix park, but slowed up first 200m part of Chesterfield road drag (mile 3 7:05). The 1:30 pacers had caught me again at this point.

Bands were great (where they played live), weather was perfect, probably around 15c???, Half way up chesterfield caught sight of christeb returning for a toilet break. Caught up to him around ordnance survey road and exchanged a few words. Also go chatting to the _wolf who was running strongly. Opened up the taps here a bit (mile 5,6 - 6:25ish).

First hard part of the race was the hill up out of chaplizod (mile 9), pretty tough, that was followed by a second tough drag under dual carrage way. The lack of regular running was beginning to tell at this point, with it becoming more and more difficult to hold pace. I was now only conscious of again being caught by the 1:30 bunch (probably 50-60 in this group, so a lot of positions to be lost also).

Really hurting at mile 12, but lucky got a shout out from one of the lads to keep me going. Kept on holding pace, until the end and through the finish with 1:28:53 showing on the gamin. Checked results and placed in 300th...

Happy with the result, but what if I was running consistantly over the holiday period, would a 1:26 been available on the day? Ill never know !!!

13.2m (Garmin) 1:28:53 for 6:43avg...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭RunningKing

super run Dave.

I need to get my act together big time.!!

Cheers Alan.

Bit cooler that the Desert but anyway not complaining. :cool:

Wednesday 7 Aug

Kind of wreaked after the Rock and Roll Half, so gave the run a miss on Tuesday. Today Gym for light workout and core. Also 4 miles around swords fields easy in 30 minutes.

Thursday 8 Aug

Iv ditched my Phoenix Park lunch time run from work, two reasons. 1. If work is busy it can be stressful to get back into the office on time, 2. The natural 7 miles loop is a bit short for the mid week medium distance run now.

Opted to run with the club lads instead, and until the DCM. A nice group with about 8 of us. Plan was for 10miles steady (about 7:00min pace). Managed 9.2m in 65 min for 7:06avg. Was blown to bits after this. Probably still some half left in the legs.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/357592045

Saturday 10 Aug

Just easy miles around Malahide park in 50 minutes for 7:30 avg pace. Ran part of the park run course at the back. Must give it a go again after the Marathon.

Sunday 11 Aug

Plan called for 15 miles, but not many lads turned up for this handy run. Settled into a group fo 5 of us and grand for first 10 miles, with miles 3,4 both sub 6:5X. After 10miles i was dropped, and just couldnt hold the pace. Again im blaming the half, just 6 days earlier. Stuck with it and finished 15 miles in 1:50 for 7:19 avg. The last mile was an 8:00 (WTF), bit i was totally spent at that stage, and just wanted it to end.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/357592078

49 miles for the week (5 Days) not bad, but need to get up to around 55m for next few weeks...

Monday 12th Aug

Just 5 easy miles around Malahide park in 40 mins. No Garmin signal for first mile. Thinking about upgrading to the 610 with HRM in next few weeks.

Tuesday 13th Aug - 5 Mile Tempo.

Planned for a tempo session from the clubhouse. Was dredding this. JF was talking up a 6:30 pace for 5 miles, that was would not be a pretty at the end. Six of us turned up for the session, and started with a 2.2 mile warmup. Stopped for 1-2 minutes at the start point of the Raheny 5 course. Richie C, was to be the lead man for the Tempo, and promised a 6:30 pace. Off we went and following splits
    6:11, 6.21, 6:17, 6:19, 6:27.

Hard effort all the way around, and particularly difficult up watermill hill for final mile. But kept in touch with the lads. Finished in 31:40 for a new PB by 25sec for that course :D:D:D:D.....

My specific 12 week 10K training plan for the Raheny 5 last year gave me a 32:20 in January. A 31:40 turns up in training last night... F***ing happy with that..

Anyway 2 mile warmdown to finish a fantastic training session for a Tuesday. Was totally blown at the end. The lads were still chatting at the end, I was unable to speak, but delighted inside...

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/358662876

Very easy 6 tonight, then a 10m steady on grass for Thursday...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Solid tempo effort. Great to see the improvement over the year

Cheers Ecoli, "miles make champions" and all that.

I was comming to the raheny 5 in Jan with only 3 months of solid training in the legs. The combination of LSR, Tempos and track over the last 6 months has provided the improvment.. To early to look at 2014 though...

Wednesday 14 Aug.

Very easy 5 miles on the grass of Malahide park. Pretty tired after the Tempo on Tuesday so just kept the pace around 8min miles. Finished in 40 minutes.

Thursday 15 Aug.

Woke up with a pile of niggles, ankle, left knee, so skipped the run in favour of the TV.

Friday 16 Aug

Another easy run, for 6.5 mile around Phoenix park in 50 minutes. Ran on the grass, in the sun.

Saturday 17 Aug.

Planned session in ALSAA. Club lads had moved back to St Annes for Autumn, but decided to stay local and track based, as i had probably lost some speed in the legs during the holidays.

Planned Just 4*800, nothing special, and was holding back with the LSR the next day.

Reps all around 3:00min for the 800m. With 2 miles warmup and 1 warm down.

Sunday 18 Aug.

LSR with the club. Big crown down for the big miles. Planned 18, but only managed 17. Howth Hill and the sessions the previous day probably had me starting off to tired to do it justice. Also a sluggish 7:27 avg for the 17m, bit slower than normal. :mad::mad:

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/361472089

MisterDrak wrote: »
    Wednesday 14 Aug.

Also a sluggish 7:27 avg for the 17m, bit slower than normal. :mad::mad:

Nothing sluggish about that - they're meant to be slow!! :eek:

Monday 19 Aug.

Just an easy 5.1 miles around Malahide park in 40 minutes. 8min miles on Grass.

Tuesday 20 Aug.

Tempo Day with the lads (JF, RC, PD) 2.2 miles warmup at 8min miles on the wade avenue loop. Then 1 minutes break, re-set watched and off on the Raheny 5 mile route. Planning on 6:30 avg for the 5 miles. Held the pace well until mile 3.5ish, but probably fatugue and large lunch have me suffering to much.

Finished the 5m in 32:44m for 6:32 avg. Not as fast as last week, but ok all the same.

A easy 2.3m jog around St Annes to finish a total of 9.5 miles for the evening.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/362561773

The fatigues seems to be building with the 50 odd mile weeks and 6 day a week running. The legs were tired and heavy for most of the sessions / steady runs now.

Wednesday 21 Aug

Another easy 4.5 miles around Malahide in 35 mins. Just wreaked after the Tempo and wanted it to finish.

General

My feet seem to be overly hot at night in bed, to the point where I wake up:confused::confused::confused:? Iced them last night, and it seems to provide some limited help ?

Thursday 22 Aug.

Just 6.4 easy miles around Malahide park in 50 minutes.

Saturday 24 Aug - Frank Duffy 10mile

Got to the park nice and early, parked up just inside the Ashtown gate, and watched the inevitable traffic madness from about 9am on.
    A nice easy 2 mile warmup, and a few shuttles to the heart rate up. Lined up about 10 rows back from the start with FJ and M. We were off pretty quickly and for once there seemed to be no "misplaced runners", with everyone moving off at a good clip. After about 3 mins I spotted RunningKing, Running tall to my left, exchanged a few words, and he accused me of sandbagging at 6:10pace, :eek: before moving smoothly ahead. (Mile 1,2,3 6:18, 6:27, 6:32). Took on a swig of water at the first north road detour.

Just concentrated on holding form and staying on pace. Slight down hill before the turn and slight drag up to Castleknock gate. Moving well at this point and passed one of the other Raheny club guys. Mile 4,5 6:36, 6:33. Like the good surface on chesterfield, and always seem to run well here. Overheard a bystander call race places at mile 6 (think I was 265th). If i could hold this place I would be happy. Mile 6,7 6:24, 6:27. Military hill is always a challenge, and one of the club coaches was strategically placed to offere some kind advice "ignore the hill Dave, run through it"... Yeah Right... On to upper Glen road and the hill at St Marys, actually seemed easy, with the harder part coming after the hill leveled off (Mile 8,9 6:47, 6:53)

Really wound up the pace for the last half mile, and tried to reel in a few guys runners ahead, but got a bad stich in the right side almost immediately, Mile 10 6:39. Through the finish in 65:47 for a new PB by 3mins. Avg pace 6:33. :D:D:D:D

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/365360836

Exchanged a few words with RunningKing (nice time there mate), and the Wolf, (sweet revenge for the national half). Placed in 263rd - 23rd M45. Good days work...

Sunday 25 Aug.

Sunday LSR with the club. Last week I was thinking about only doing 6-7 miles at easy pace. But felt good after mile 1, if a little tired, Managed a decent 13.5miles in 1:43 (steady pace 7:42avg), proudly wearing my new PINK technical top... :o:o:o

Forgot to set the Garmin for first mile and a bit, but overall delighted with nearly 26 miles running in 2 days. Now just need to be able to do this in 3 hours (and a bit) 28th October.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/365360855

MisterDrak wrote: »

Saturday 24 Aug - Frank Duffy 10mile

After about 3 mins I spotted RunningKing, Running tall to my left, exchanged a few words, and he accused me of sandbagging at 6:10pace, :eek:

thats 'cos you were saying you were hopeful of 68/67 mins while running 6:10 pace. ;)

Nice time & nice PB. you're flying at the moment.

Its called being economic with the truth, thats all...

In the same vein, im looking for a 89min for the half ;););)

Monday 26 Aug.

Light workout + core in gym.
    Also 6.5 easy miles on the grass around malahide park in 50 minutes.

Tuesday 27 Aug. Tempo Day.

Was to tired from weekend to give this 100% and so decided not to go to club for this session. 2 miles warmup on the grass. Then trails around edge of malahide park for 2 laps (2.2 miles each). Total 4.4 miles in 30:30 for 6:56avg. A bit slower that usual, but the paths surface is uneven and at that time of the evening filled with walkers and dogs. Followed that with a 1.8 mile warmdown for 8.1 miles total.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/367450067

Wednesday 28 Aug. Easy.

Just more easy miles (6.5) around malahide park.

Thursday 29 Aug - MLR, at steady pace.

This was going to be a testing session for all of our group (except RC, who just bounces along regardless of pace or gradient).
    12.4 miles from the clubhouse down to sea front, Sutton, then up to the Howth summit. Great to get steep hilly miles in the legs, with still plenty of weeks to go before DCM.
    From Sutton to summit its 407 feet of climbing over 2.6 miles. Then the fun part all in reverse. Lovely evening for running, with great views over Dublin Bay and a balmy 20c.

Delighted with 12.4 miles in 1:30:37 at a decent 7:19avg. :cool:

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/367450107

Starving and thirsty after.

Saturday 31 Aug.

Decided not to do the club session, as I tend to give them everything I have, and with big miles planned for Sunday I would have nothing left for that. Just 2.5 miles warmup, followed by 4*800 on the ALSAA track. Followed by 1 mile warm down. 800 were @ 3:10 per rep.

Also got gels in town for LSR.

Sunday 1 September.

Big 20 miler planned. Left the house extra early and deposited 4 water bottles around the intended route, 2 bottles for myself and 2 spares for the group. Big group down for that > 40 runners. About 7-8 in our pace group, which fractured down to 4 from mile 10 on.

First 6-7 miles all very easy, next 5-6 pretty easy, until we hit Howth hill. Difficult going up and I got dropped by the others (caught them up going down Corkscrew hill). Also difficult heading back with a stiff wind in the face. JF organised us into single file, with each taking 2 minutes in the lead (inspirational stuff)...
    Dropped off the pace again at mile 18.5, but got home in under the 2 1/2 hours. Job done and a happy lad...

20.2 miles in 2:28:55 for 7:22 avg.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/369197788

pac_man wrote: »
    Solid run, What time are you aiming for the marathon?

Looking for a 3:08 - 3:09, all going well...

Monthly Summary - Aug13.

190 miles covered (on holidays for first 4 days of month, no running)
    23 Days running out of 31
    8 Rest days (Holidays or Rest days)
    3 LSR's 17m being longest (7:26 avg pace)
    3 Tempos 8-9 miles each.
    2 Track sessions 4*800
    1 Hill session
    2 Races R&R Half + Frank Duffy (65min - 3 minute PB).
    Biggest mileage week 58.7m
    Biggest mileage Month 190.4m

Monday 2 Sept.

6 miles easy from the house down to the park and a few laps on the grass. didnt worry about pace (prob 8min miles). Not to bad after 20 miles on the Sunday.

Tuesday 3 Sept

Tempo Tuesday, being busy in work there was little chance in getting down to run with the lads. Went to Malahide instead (which had the IRL V ENG cricket match). 2 mile warmup as easy pace. Then 2 loops of the park (2.2 miles) 4.44 total in 30:00 exactly avg 6:46

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/370338582

Then 2 mile warm-down. Had a few hamstring twitches in the right leg, with the rough trail and some down hill pace ruinning.

Wednesday 4th,

Gym for core and upper body workout. Also 5 easy miles around Malahide park in 40 minutes.

Thursday 5th, Med Long Run - Steady Pace.

Down to the club with the lads, and same group as last week. Planned 12.3 miles (club house to top of Howth hill and back). Fine going out on the sea front, but got dropped badly on first assent up the hill. Then had to work extra hard to get back to the lads on the first dip. Got dropped again on next climb, and again had to give 100% to claw them back. Finished about 200m behind them in 1:30:30 for 7:19 avg.

Not to happy with that really, but checked with same run from last week and apparently i ran at same pace, lads were just faster.

Friday 6th,

Gym for light workout + Core.

Saturday 7th - Track Session.

Session in ALSAA, rather than with the club. 2.5 mile warmup. Then 4*800 at just about 75% effort.

Rep1,2,3,4 - 3:05, 3:05, 3:10, 3:10

Fell off a bit on last two, as a guy parked a ford transit on the track, and had to run around it !!!

5 minute warmdown to finish.

Sunday 8th August. LSR. 7 Weeks to the Marathon.

Found out the lads had being doing 5*1 mile in session on the Saturday, so I guessed i would be a bit fresher than them. Ran with usual group (5-6) for first 3 miles, then moved ahead to catch up with lead group, but could'nt manage it, as they were running 6:50s. As a result kept ahead of usual group until mile 19, where JF got me. Good mental prep, running that far on my own.

Had water at mile 7 and mile 13 (and a gel), and more water at 19. Howth hill was easy (7:50avg), back along the sea front miles 15-20, averaged 7:04. Felt strong and positive all the way back.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/372883013

Finished 20.7miles in 2:29:46 for 7:14 avg.

Pretty happy with that.:D:D:D

Forgot to come back to this log. Quick question, why do you run your long run's on the quick side?

As you can see from most of my posts I run with Raheny, and the marathon group within the club. I just go at the "Group Pace", which is fast by LSR standards.

Possibly its a club thing? Iv suggested pulling LSR pack back, and its usually met with "yeah, we might look at that some time"...

Monday 9th Sept

Massage in Sports Med ireland, so no running after. Tuesday - Also was unable to run with the pain in both quads. Another day of rest.

Wednesday 11th Sept

Gym for light workout and core.

Also 6 miles easy around fields. Expected to be running free of niggles, but still plenty.

Thursday 12th Sept - MLR with Hills.

Planned 12.3 miles (club house to top of Howth hill and back). Lead out and for first 3-4 miles, strong running @ around 7:20pace. Once we hit the hills we actually maintained pace @ 7:22 for first mile up. Hard to keep up with JF. 1 minute resbite between each new climb. Last one particurarly steep, but short. Hit the summit in 46:30. Handy going down, but a few right leg hamstrings twitches.

Lads got away from me again on last mile. Finished in 1:31:18 for 12.3 miles 7:22avg. With 560ft of climbing...

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/374859535

Saturday 14 Sept

Another ALSAA session instead of a club one for me, again my feeling is that the club guys tend to do these to hard and dont leave to much for the long miles on Saunday Morning. 2.5 miles slow warmup on the grass in 20 minutes. Then 4*1000 with 2 min recovery @ 5:4X mile pace. Was only putting abour 80% into the reps...

Reps 3:52, 3:51, 3:48, 3:43.

Then 5 mins of easy recovery on the grass again.

Sunday 15th Sept

Sunday LSR, another big crowd down for the long miles. Unfortunately I set out ahead of my usual running group. But joined in with 2 of the faster girls for the early miles. Stuck with Maria until about mile 15 (19 for her), including up half of Howth hill. Savage wind on the sea front, which destroyed the last few mile splits.

18.59 miles in 2:17:21 for a 7:23avg.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/376522499

Without Howth and the wind, would probably be looking at 7:10avg for the run, which would be close to my avg marathon pace.

Just easy miles tonight, then Tempo Tuesday, and an easy rest of the week, until the half on Saturday.

Monday 16th - Easy run.

Just an easy 5.6 miles around malahide park in 45 minutes. Felt very stiff for first mile, eased into it then. Had hat and long sleeves on. Last thing I want now is to get a cold with 6 weeks to go...

Tuesday 17 Sept - Tempo Tuesday

Having not done any competitive speed work for a few weeks, i was expecting this session to be hard. 8-9 turned up for a hard 5 mile tempo on the Raheny 5mile course. 2.2 mile warm up and 2.3 warm down would make it an even 9.5 miles for the day.

Splits for the 5 mile were :-

6:15, 6:26, 6:20, 6:27, 6:37

Last 2 miles i was saying that I have a half marathon in a few days so lay off the hard running. So 5 miles in 32:06 for 6:25 avg. Plenty left in the tank.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/377493048

That's a very good run. Id imagine the last mile on that 5 mile course is a bit of a killer.

The last mile is up watermill hill, which is just a slight drag, but when your on the "ragged edge", and the lads are opening up a lead, it can be a bit more challenging.