If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Its all about Time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,751 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

Monday 17 June

Morning, gym for a medium workout and core work.

Evening, Ran Malahide park for 5.3 miles Tempo pace. Then abck to house and collected younger son and did a further 2 miles of the Parkrun course with him.

Tuesday 18 June

Malahide for 8.5 miles in 1:05, for 7:40 pace. Tired after gym work previous day.

Wednesday 19th June

Club sessions in ALSAA. Iv been promoted to one of the faster groups, and given 8*500 off 70sec is was going to be difficult to hold on for each rep. Confirmed, and was last in each rep. No shame as all of the guys was running with were, at least 10 years younger and / or had a 10K time in 35-36 range. 2 Mile warmup with Dynamics and off:-

Reps 1:42, 1:43, 1:45, 1:45, 1:43, 1:44, 1:40, 1:41.

Happy with the performance and finished off with a 1 mile warmdown.

Thursday 20th

Gym again, with core work and stretches.

Dunsaughlin 10K 22nd June.

Since the Bay 10K in May and my failed attempt to run sub 40 (purely down tothe storm on the beach), I've been itching to attack that time again. Training and my recent Parkrun 5K (18:41) time suggested it should have been reasonably straightforward on the night. Privately i was hoping for a 38:59.

We got to Dunsaughlin with plenty of time to spare, walked to a very organised registration and number collection. Collected the number and chatted to a few of other Raheny club mates. Overheard Damo M, motivational chat saying to the other Raheny lads "time to go to war lads", and "if theF***ing ambulance isn’t called at the end, then you haven’t run hard enough"...

Then off for a mile and a bit warm-up. Great race start location with plenty of width to lessen the clutter for the 1/4 mile. Ran for few sprints to get theheart rate up, then lined up about 3 from the front on the right most part ofthe road.

Off we went and settled into a fast but comfortable pace. First left turnand past the car Park, and got a hello from Mrs Drak. Spotted my one time phsyio "the man with the tan" Dave C, just ahead, but moving fasterthan me. Into the village and sharp left turn and under the Finish line, thenout to the countryside. First mile in 5:56. Second mile uneventful, passing some slower runners, and in turn getting passed by 1-2 faster lads. Mile 2 6:13.

The course was pretty flat, and almost no wind to speak of. Kept running strongly through the mid point and reached 5K in around 19:20. Mile 3 in 6:20.Quick mental calculation said I have plenty time in the bank for a sub 40, andprobably 10-15 for a sub 39... Things looking good...

Mile 4 still running steady, and wished that I had picked my racing flats instead of the Asics, DS trainers i was wearing. Definitely too heavy for a10K. Mile 4 in 6:14.

Shortly after this, and after being passed by a girl from Dunboyne, a few negative thoughts crept in. Found i was not concentrating on the race, more worrying about the thoughts of missing my time... Mile 5, 6:36 WTF.... The slight drag should not have accounted for a 20 second slower mile. Jesus.

Last full mile in 6:20, and now ready to really wind up for a strong finish.800 to go and head down, but got a savage stich on the right side. Backed off,and immediatly got passed by 2-3. Cursing I put in a final run for last 200m and crossed the line in 39:07. New PB by 1:28sec.

It was a good result but with better choice of foot wear, more concentrationin the latter stages, and no bloody stich, I think a low 38 is there for the taking...

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/332526634

Also nice to see that Damo’s chat had the desired effect, with the lad swinning the team gold, and no ambulance in sight....

Sunday LSR.

With the 10K only finishing 11 hours before, this was never going to be toofast or far. Got into my usual running pack and had a few laughs and congrats from the lads.8.8 miles in 1:05 for 7:26avg pace.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/332526647

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Well done Mister Drak. By the looks of your splits I passed you around 5k mark. I was wearing a red and yellow Tallaght Singlet and was tracking a lad in a blue singlet at the time. Were you in a group of 5/6 at that time including a couple of girls from Sportsworld?

Meno,

Bast**d... :)

Yes unfortunately the girls got the better of me (chicked), and did you see that girl in the blue top (no club), cant believe somebody with that crazy cadence could run that fast...

Also nice that the Irish weather provided showers for everyone after.

Well done on the big PB...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭RunningKing

Congrats Dave on a great PB.

(Pretty sure I'd have got my revenge on you though.......) :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

MisterDrak wrote: »
    Meno,

Bast**d... :)

Yes unfortunately the girls got the better of me (chicked), and did you see that girl in the blue top (no club), cant believe somebody with that crazy cadence could run that fast...

Also nice that the Irish weather provided showers for everyone after.

Well done on the big PB...

From the results it looks like you only got chicked by one of them....

I think I know of the crazy cadence girl. Did you start with her then she pushed on? She was actually wearing a Donore top- she is the club captain I believe; she was well ahead of me from the start but I just about managed to reel her in on the bigger of the two hills and hold her off at the end :D.

Monday 24 June.

Easy 4.5 miles around malahide park. Place warm and full of flies. Tired from the gym and core work in the morning session.

Tuesday 25 June. Tempo - Hard Effort

Quiet a while since I ran a hard tempo effort. The 10m loop that constutes some of my Tuesday runs was perfect as it is by the sea, flat, and devoid of flies.

Based off my recent Dunsaughlin 10K time of 39:07, (Vdot 53.3) daniels suggested a avg pace of about 6.52 for 8.5 miles. That might have been a bit optimistic given that race was only 3 days ago, so decided anything below 7:00avg would be fine.

Only a slight head wing on the sea front and the the miles ticked off. Finished in 1:09:43 for 10miles 6:58 avg. First time going below 70mins for this loop. The last mile (up Watermill hill was slowest at 7:30, most of the others were sub 7:00, so happy with that. :):)

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/333448976

That's a super super session holding that, shows a great level of endurance.
    I'd be proud of that myself!

One of my worries is holding the pace for 8miles plus, most of my tempos are interval type, rather than straight miles.
    I've a couple of the longer tempos pencilled in next week as prep for Clontarf. Dreading them.

Am I right to presume you're doing Clontarf?

Still not sure about doing Clontarf, I might leave it to a few days before and see what the weather is going to be like. 2years in the past we've been caught out badly on the beach section ( very similar to the Bay10k ).

In saying that, and without the possible wind the course is as fast as your libel to get, again if the sand is firm.

I guess you would be gunning for a similar time to myself 1:26/ 1:27 ???

Wednesday 26th June

Gym in the morning for medium workout, no legs, but core and crunches.

Also 4 miles around swords park in an easy 35 minutes.

Thursday 27th June

Had planned to go to Phoenix park for 6-7miles, but with the rain and going out with Mrs later decided against it. Gym instead for light workout.

Friday 28th June

Phoenix park for 6.6 miles easy in 51 minutes. Just easy miles 50% on road 50% on the grass 7:43 avg.

With sessions tomorrow and LSR Sunday, should hit 175 miles for the month. Just checking my run log for 2010 (last time i ran a Marathon), and i was only totalling around 120 miles for the 4 months before DCM.

Saturday 29 June - Club Session - ALSAA

Brought the son up to a club session for the first time, and did the warm up of 2 miles with him on the track. Nice to run with him... No to many lads there as the 5miler was on in the park.

Coach said the session was a speed one, which i actually like, until i started.

5*200 with 60s off
    4*400 with 90s off
    5*200 with 60s off

Completed the 200 in 35,35,36,34,37
    Completed the 400 in 77,76,75,80
    Completed the 200 in 37,35,36,41

Then a mile warmdown with himself again. Talked to Coach and mentioned that I wanted to do the Marathon, he suggested lengthening the LSR to 17-18 over next 3-4 weeks... Also the speed work will be 1KM from next week.

Sunday 30 June - LSR with the club.

Loads of lads down, and settled into 2nd pace group, with about 6 others. Good laugh until we stgarted to splinter around mile 4. Fair bit of slagging about my PB new 10K in Dunsaughlin, saying the course was short... B****rds... Some fast miles (for a LSR) here in 7:06, 6:51, 6:54.

Ran well until the turn at Sutton, then back into the head wind for the return, and mile splits dropped to 7:36, 7:58... Thirsty and tired and could'nt wait to get back to the car and brekie.

13 miles in 1:35 for 7:20 avg pace.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/335830068

June - Monthly Summary

25 Days running
    3 Races (Parkrun, Lord Mayors2, Dunsaughlin 10K)
    3 Club sessions (8*400, 8*500, 5*200-4*400-4*200...)
    2 Tempos
    4 LSR's
    8 light Gym sessions
    172 miles covered
    3 PB's (ParkRun-Malahide 5K, LordMayors 2m, Dunsaughlin10K)

July Races.

1 Park Runs (Malahide)
    1 Lord mayors 2m
    Fingal 10K

Decision Made : DCM13 :D

Monday 1 July

Gym in the morning for light workout and core work. Then 5.6 easy miles around Malahide park on the grass. Then a further 1.3 miles with the son.

Tuesday 2 July

Ran Raheny which was supposed to be the usual mid week Tempo effort, but just didnt have the energy for a hard session. 7.6 miles in 56 mins. Had to cut it short and meet her self for Dinner. After we watched the Lord mayors 2 miler and Davy Byrne win another race.

Thursday 4 July

Phoenix park for 7.1 miles in 50:29 for 7:06 avg pace. Session was suppose to be a 30 minute Tempo, but forgot to set the Lap after 10 mins... Still ran well for the whole circuit. After work did a light weights session.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/337297738

Saturday 6 July

Club session in ALSAA. After talking to coach last week, iv been moved from the shorter faster stuff to longer and slightly slower stuff. The plan was for 5*800 off 100sec recovery, the a "wrinkle at the end"???

5*800 - (2:52, 2:48, 2:48, 2:49, 2:43)

Then "the wrinkle"

6 laps with a hard 100m on the straight and back straights, and easy on the rest. So effectively 12 * 100, at probably 80% effort. Good end session.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/339308492

Wreaked after this session and for the rest of the day.

Sunday 7 July

Sunday LSR with the club, Big turn out with our group having about 12 similar paced lads all doing 10+ miles. My plan called for 14+. Good bit of slagging as usual, and the miles flew past. Had a bottle placed at mile 7.
    Got dropped by John F at mile 11, and had nothing left to catch him up. I guess the sessions had emptied me.

14.6 miles in 1:47 for 7:21avg.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/339308505

After run went for brekie, and with all tables in the place full, shared with a guy. He was a 2:28 Marathon guy from "back in the day"... 59 years now and looking to break 3 for Dublin this year. Great brekie talking about nothing but running / sessions / LSR and planned Races before DCM... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Decision Made : DCM13 :D

RACE YA!!
    Monday 1 July

Sunday 7 July

Sunday LSR with the club, Big turn out with our group having about 12 similar paced lads all doing 10+ miles. My plan called for 14+. Good bit of slagging as usual, and the miles flew past. Had a bottle placed at mile 7.
    Got dropped by John F at mile 11, and had nothing left to catch him up. I guess the sessions had emptied me.

14.6 miles in 1:47 for 7:21avg.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/339308505

After run went for brekie, and with all tables in the place full, shared with a guy. He was a 2:28 Marathon guy from "back in the day"... 59 years now and looking to break 3 for Dublin this year. Great brekie talking about nothing but running / sessions / LSR and planned Races before DCM... :D

Nice week D, I was dropped by John F on a Howth 10 miler during the week too. I had my excuses but he's running well !

Christeb, Bring it on !!! Always up for a bit of healthy competition.

John F , did a lot of big miles in the Spring, and i think its paying dividends in terms of strength now...

Monday 8th July (AM)

Hard workout in the gym, with lots of core work.
    PM
    6 Miles easy around Malahide park in 47:47 minutes for 8:00avg

Tuesday 9th Tempo Effort (PM) -Trail

To the club house early and decided to go it on my own, after half mile met up with John F, and got talked into a group Tempo session around St Annes, with 6-7 others.

Very hard in the heat and trail to hold pace. Effort levels were way beyond 2 weeks ago, where I did 10m at 6:58pace. Anyway 8.5 miles with .5 warmup and down added in (not below). 9.5m in total.

Then Dinner in the Italian (outside in the sun) and finished in time to watch the Lord Mayors 2 miler, and Davy Byrne take another win in 10:14...

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/340262216

Feels like 79°
    6 mph E wind
    Humidity 51%

Wednesday 10th July (AM)

Hard workout in the gym, with lots of core and arm work.

I F***ing love running !!!

Thursday 11th July - Phoenix Park - Trail run.

Just one of those days when everything is fantastically good. I usually do 6-7 miles at lunch time in the Phoenix park. Sometimes its hard, some times fast (Tempo), something boring (just banking miles), but today was fab. Decided on trails as the legs were still sore after Tuesday's efforts in StAnnes park. Decided on the trails for a bit or verity, and ran with the shirt off, from the off.

Things I seen today while running :-

1. Loads of Deer, including babies !
    2. Lads flying model planes
    3. Dust Devils (Hay Devils) - Mini tornados only with hay.
    4. Tractors cutting the grass
    5. Combines collecting and bailing the grass (hay)
    6. French students on bikes. (Im saying no more) !
    7. New trails never on before

Anyway great stuff, and 7.7 miles in 59 mins for a easy 7.41avg pace. But brutally hot at 72f.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/340823551

Wednesday 10 July - Easy

Handy 4 miles around swords fields in 30mins. Tried the new Asics DS Racers. Cant wait to try these out for the Finghal 10K.

With the holidays starting in less that 2 weeks, im trying to cram in miles, as i wont be running in Dubai in 47c.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Great runners, I reckon they add about 10secs per mile when compared to 2170's

Gavlor wrote: »

Galvor,
    The DS felt good last night, but probably waisted on the grass, and easy running.

I have the Puma Fas 300 for track and park runs, and going to use the new DS racers for > 5K < Half's. Also got a new pair of Kaynos 19s for the marathon. I dropped €280 in Elverys on Tuesday :(

So much for running being a cheap sport !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Gavlor wrote: »

Maybe I meant take 10 seconds per mile....

Basically they help me run faster!

This running business is only cheap if you are winning races :D

Galvor,
    The DS felt good last night, but probably waisted on the grass, and easy running.

I have the Puma Fas 300 for track and park runs, and going to use the new DS racers for > 5K < Half's. Also got a new pair of Kaynos 19s for the marathon. I dropped €280 in Elverys on Tuesday :(

1st Dubai.........now this....

did you buy a Euromillions in Beaumount recently???

Galvor,

on a serious note - you reckon you can save the 19's until October??

Not too sure what my Marathon shoe will be - I plan to use the Brooks ST5 for my long runs and try it out - might trhreaten to use it during the marathon. Many do.

Loved your post on the Phoenix park - I run 90% of the time there and quite a lot, part of my runs are on the trails. An amazing place.

Might meet you some Thursday for your usual Ph P run....after the holidays.

Iv a good history with Kayano's, so i guess ill just stick with what i know, Michael, the sales guy in Elverys recomended the Brooks ST5 to me, but...

Alway up for a bit of company to pass the time on the longer stuff...

Saturday 12 July - Interval session

Session in ALSAA, unfortunatly had to head into town at 10:, so had to do session on my own for a change. 5*800 off 100sec static recovery.

Rep 1 - 2:54
    Rep 2 - 2:52
    Rep 3 - 2:51
    Rep 4 - 2:45
    Rep 5 - 2:56
    With a mile warmup and down also.

Sunday 13 July - Sunday LSR.

Decent turn out for the sunday run. The plan called from 16 miles, and i duly complied (almost). A couple of the fast lads joined in with us, and the overall pace for 16miles was challenging. When anyone moved to the front of the group to lead, they usually upped the tempo and put the hurt on the rest of us.:p

I felt reasonably fresh after the lighter track sessions on Saturday. From 11 mile to the end there was only 2 of us, and between us we posted a couple of sub 7min miles here.

Hit the Half Marathon point in 1:33:27 which is my fifth fastest half time. Completed the run in 1:54:19 for 15.9 miles (I just ran out of road !), for 7:12 avg... Would not have got there without John F...

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/342819619

Going to drop the Saturday track Session for 1 weekend in early September, and go long and hard on the Sunday to see what if feels like to really put the hurt on myself...

that's a super training run!

Thanks RK, the phrase from yesterday was very much "go hard or go home"..

Seen a few disgarded bottles from the Half on my run yesterday...

Hows the legs / body feel today ?

Body and legs feel super actually. Obviously those last few miles of the Half were my recovery run!

You're doing super stuff with Raheny, it's putting thoughts into my head about joining a club.

Monday 15 July - Recovery run

AM - Gym for upper body workout and lots of core work.

PM - Just an easy 6.9 miles around Malahide park in 55 mins. Wreaked after the gym session this morning 8:01avg. Glad to just get the miles in.

Also got my race numbers for the Fingal10K, the Frank Duffy 10m, and Half marathon.

Tuesday 16 July - Tempo Run

Usual Tempo Tuesday run around St Annes park with the lads. They were doing a "Steady" effort, but I got talking to one of the fast lads, (coming back from injury), and the we drifted ahead of the rest for a faster run. 9 miles in 64 mins for 7:07avg. Bit slower that Tempo pace for me, but running on grass / trail is probably worth 10-15 sec per mile.

Wednesday 17 July

AM

Gym for a hard upperbody workout + Core.

Wednesday 17 July - Easy Run - Malahide Park

Bit wreaked after the gym and core session in the AM, so this was going to be an easy run around the park in the sun. 5.5 miles in 45 mins for an Easy 8.11 avg.

Thursday 18 July - Steady Run - Phoenix park.

The plan called for 4*400 hill, but due to niggles, general fatigue and the 26c, decided on an easier steady run. 7.2 mile in 53 mins for 7.11. Got a stich twice during the run, which slowed progress somewhat, but overall happy with the pace and effort. Sweating like a **** on the way back to the office...

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/344412077

Friday 19 July - Rest Day.

Also off on holidays for 2 weeks from Tuesday.:) But no chance of running the the heat... :mad::mad::mad: