Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Take Me Out - Irish Version [ATTN: Please read Mod Note in OP)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 TheDudez

Singing. That's it, lights out. Regardless of how good or bad he will be.
    Buttersuki
    U keep quoting ur own threads (strange) in all fairness they birds on that show have no reason to be picky in all fairness :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,719 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

poor standard of men tonight TBH.. :(

We must have different tastes...Good news is that i have had fun tonight, bad news is that i was going to make a stir fry tomorrow but i have no cumin left for it...that footballer has a lot to answer for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

TheDudez wrote: »
    Buttersuki
    U keep quoting ur own threads (strange) in all fairness they birds on that show have no reason to be picky in all fairness :cool:

Nope, technically quoted myself just once, and that was accidentally; and I couldn't be bothered to go back and enter it as a normal (unquoted) comment. I probably commented tonight more than anyone else so it's logical that some of my comments followed on from one another.

I think the pickiness comes from the herd mentality, they just all gang up on the guys.

Well, that's my fix of shoyte tv for the week. Now for a couple of episodes of 'In Treatment' to balance it all out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 TheDudez

Indeed its really poor tv and the standard of women and guys is poor!!
    Are u also a fan a fade street its worse than this show!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

Why does Ray talk to Avril so much? :confused: Her personality doesn't seem the best to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭santana75

Watched this for the first time since new series began and its gone downhill(having already started on a steep decline last series). Gloves are off and Im not going to sugar coat it, the standard of women has really gone through the floor. It makes the first series look like a promo for the playboy mansion. I think at a squeeze, you'd say theres one or two half decent looking women. I think the men are in a way higher league looks wise than the girls. And its a ridiculous situation were the women are being picky????? Jaysus those girls have no business being picky.
    Felt really sorry for the final bloke on last night. Ok, he wasnt exactly a giant, but he achieved something no other guy on the show has been able to pull off: He sang in tune. I thought, well done mate, for sure you've scored now. But they blacked him out! Crazy.
    The sad thing is I think this show is actually a fairly accurate microcosom for Irish society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Quote of the series, "he looks like he smells nice"!

i saw a bit of this last night. i thought the quote of the series was 'what decent man doesn't have a kid?'

now i know what i've to do!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭stripysocks85

santana75 wrote: »
    Watched this for the first time since new series began and its gone downhill(having already started on a steep decline last series). Gloves are off and Im not going to sugar coat it, the standard of women has really gone through the floor. It makes the first series look like a promo for the playboy mansion. I think at a squeeze, you'd say theres one or two half decent looking women. I think the men are in a way higher league looks wise than the girls. And its a ridiculous situation were the women are being picky????? Jaysus those girls have no business being picky.
    Felt really sorry for the final bloke on last night. Ok, he wasnt exactly a giant, but he achieved something no other guy on the show has been able to pull off: He sang in tune. I thought, well done mate, for sure you've scored now. But they blacked him out! Crazy.
    The sad thing is I think this show is actually a fairly accurate microcosom for Irish society.
    Yeah to be fair, almost embarrassed to be a woman with some of the crap they spout. But I don't think any of them, male or female, are really there to meet the love of their life - just a bit of fun.

WTF is up with the videos that the fellas friends make?! 'He's a real ladies man/only wants one date/spends his time playing sport' because all the women turn their lights off!! And singing is a definite no no!! The poor short dude last night was good though, I'd have left my light on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Yeah to be fair, almost embarrassed to be a woman with some of the crap they spout. But I don't think any of them, male or female, are really there to meet the love of their life - just a bit of fun.

WTF is up with the videos that the fellas friends make?! 'He's a real ladies man/only wants one date/spends his time playing sport' because all the women turn their lights off!! And singing is a definite no no!! The poor short dude last night was good though, I'd have left my light on!

I know i thought he looked mortified.I mean are they told to say worst thing they can about their friend or family member?
    In that then it would start making me think the whole show is scripted and they paid people to go on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,633 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Personally thought last night was a real low-point..

Is dating a man with a kid that much of a turn-off? Some of the excuses like "oh, couldn't be changing nappies" - you're going on a date with a guy - you're not becoming his kids new mother. Ridiculous! :rolleyes:

But quote of the night was from one of the new girls who wanted a man that was "tall, medium and dark". I'm sorry - tall and medium? So removable legs would be a plus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

basquille wrote: »
    But quote of the night was from one of the new girls who wanted a man that was "tall, medium and dark". I'm sorry - tall and medium? So removable legs would be a plus?
    Perhaps she was referring to another "thing" that people often measure. If so, at least she was being honest and well as not being greedy.

rebel10 wrote: »
    Perhaps she was referring to another "thing" that people often measure. If so, at least she was being honest and well as not being greedy.
    But "that other thing" is proportionate to your height.. everyone knows that!

Regards,

basquille (height: 7"6'... around, it's like a baguette!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

basquille wrote: »

Is dating a man with a kid that much of a turn-off? Some of the excuses like "oh, couldn't be changing nappies" - you're going on a date with a guy - you're not becoming his kids new mother. Ridiculous! :rolleyes:

You would be surprised when you meet their ex gfs how much of a put off it could be.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

santana75 wrote: »

100% agree with everything you have said there. IMO Carla & Lauren (I think that's their names anyway) are the only nice looking girls on the show plus they seem decent enough but the rest are your typical out of shape, plain as day looking Irish girls with absolutely atrocious attitudes and a deluded sense of self-importance to top it all off. But it's nothing new, even when I was a teenager in the 90's Irish girls were exactly the same but at least the young fellas of today have thousands of foreign girls to fall back on when they eventually give up on Irish women.
    basquille wrote:

Is dating a man with a kid that much of a turn-off? Some of the excuses like "oh, couldn't be changing nappies" - you're going on a date with a guy - you're not becoming his kids new mother. Ridiculous!

Exactly! I find it extremely hypocritical that women find men with children a complete turn-off when men with children usually only get to see their kids once a week while the mother of the child is pretty much with the child 24/7 for the rest of the week. So in theory most men with kids would have alot more time for the self-centred women who quip stuff like "When will he have time for me", "I want to be the centre of attention, not his child" & "I don't want to be stuck looking after his child and changing it's nappies" etc.

Actually since I'm on the subject, how many women on these shows actually have children? I'd say a good few had children on the first series and at least 3 have already admitted that they have kids on this series so far (with alot more keeping their cards close to their chests I'd reckon). My point is, if so many women are blatantly hitting their lights off because some bloke is a part-time dad then would they really expect a guy to choose to be with them if they were a full-time mother? It really is hypocrisy at is finest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 no01dolly

Raekwon wrote: »
    100% agree with everything you have said there. IMO Carla & Lauren (I think that's their names anyway) are the only nice looking girls on the show plus they seem decent enough but the rest are your typical out of shape, plain as day looking Irish girls with absolutely atrocious attitudes and a deluded sense of self-importance to top it all off. But it's nothing new, even when I was a teenager in the 90's Irish girls were exactly the same but at least the young fellas of today have thousands of foreign girls to fall back on when they eventually give up on Irish women.

Exactly! I find it extremely hypocritical that women find men with children a complete turn-off when men with children usually only get to see their kids once a week while the mother of the child is pretty much with the child 24/7 for the rest of the week. So in theory most men with kids would have alot more time for the self-centred women who quip stuff like "When will he have time for me", "I want to be the centre of attention, not his child" & "I don't want to be stuck looking after his child and changing it's nappies" etc.

Actually since I'm on the subject, how many women on these shows actually have children? I'd say a good few had children on the first series and at least 3 have already admitted that they have kids on this series so far (with alot more keeping their cards close to their chests I'd reckon). My point is, if so many women are blatantly hitting their lights off because some bloke is a part-time dad then would they really expect a guy to choose to be with them if they were a full-time mother? It really is hypocrisy at is finest!

Jebus would you calm down, its only a game show, ffs, its not reality tv, its a game show!!! the guys and girls that were on the show are actually all good friends, so i dont know what your yaking on about, the guys dont mind that they turned of their lights..... and as for the girls been average joe soaps, stick a pic up of urself here, your prob as uglyt as and nothing better to do with your time then to come on here and mouth of about how most the girls aint good looking, you'd seriously need to get a reality check here cause you have no clue as to wat you are talking bout, i was on the show and im friends with all da guys and girls and there are no hard feelings with anyone, so get ur facts straight before you go pointing out crap remarks. now get real a-hole

Infraction issued for no01dolly for personal abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭not1but4

First heard about this show (before it even started being aired) as there was going to be a Dundalk player on it http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Garry_Breen and I was told then that he already had a girlfriend.

Jessica and the one from Castleknock are really hot. There is also a girl who Ray never speaks to but is really hot as well.

no01dolly wrote: »
    Jebus would you calm down, its only a game show, ffs, its not reality tv, its a game show!!! the guys and girls that were on the show are actually all good friends, so i dont know what your yaking on about, the guys dont mind that they turned of their lights..... and as for the girls been average joe soaps, stick a pic up of urself here, your prob as uglyt as and nothing better to do with your time then to come on here and mouth of about how most the girls aint good looking, you'd seriously need to get a reality check here cause you have no clue as to wat you are talking bout, i was on the show and im friends with all da guys and girls and there are no hard feelings with anyone, so get ur facts straight before you go pointing out crap remarks. now get real a-hole

:D LOL

Another contestant from the show posting typical nasty verbal diarrhoea that is barely legible and proving what all the negative comments about the female contestants are infact true. You're making this too easy for us! :D

You know what, I actually don't even want to know which one you are because I couldn't care less but I'd say my "typical out of shape, plain as day looking Irish girls with absolutely atrocious attitudes and a deluded sense of self-importance to top it all off" comment cut to the core. The truth hurts unfortunately but then again if you are a salad dodger that trowel's on make-up jumps into a glorified bin liner then goes on national television to criticise and insult men then you are fair game IMO.

Btw "the guys dont mind that they turned of their lights"........really, I mean if you wobbled went out on stage in front of 30 men, a live studio audience and 300,000 viewers at home to get totally ridiculed about your appearance, dress sense and personality would you mind? Oh I forgot, it's only a game show and it's only a bit of craic. Yeah right! :rolleyes:

not1but4 wrote: »
    First heard about this show (before it even started being aired) as there was going to be a Dundalk player on it http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Garry_Breen and I was told then that he already had a girlfriend.

Jessica and the one from Castleknock are really hot. There is also a girl who Ray never speaks to but is really hot as well.

Is that the foreign girl? Irina or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭brianblaze

Another contestant from the show posting typical nasty verbal diarrhoea that is barely legible and proving what all the negative comments about the female contestants are infact true. You're making this too easy for us! :D

You know what, I actually don't even want to know which one you are because I couldn't care less but I'd say my "typical out of shape, plain as day looking Irish girls with absolutely atrocious attitudes and a deluded sense of self-importance to top it all off" comment cut to the core. The truth hurts unfortunately but then again if you are a salad dodger that trowel's on make-up jumps into a glorified bin liner then goes on national television to criticise and insult men then you are fair game IMO.

Btw "the guys dont mind that they turned of their lights"........really, I mean if you wobbled went out on stage in front of 30 men, a live studio audience and 300,000 viewers at home to get totally ridiculed about your appearance, dress sense and personality would you mind? Oh I forgot, it's only a game show and it's only a bit of craic. Yeah right! :rolleyes:

Okay, first off, lay off the girl, she made a comment based on being insulted, it's a natural reaction. Is this 'salad dodger', and referencing wobbling rubbish, just your way of calling someone fat? I'm sure it makes you feel very good to personally insult people you don't know on the internet? I'm sure that by criticizing people about the way they look, and making assumptions about them makes you feel great. Fair enough, I'm sure you'll say 'She called someone an a-- hole,' and she shouldn't have, but that's a natural reaction!

As and for 'troweling on make up,' that would have been the make up artists and stylists who did that.

You're making assumptions about people's characters, and wrongly so, by a few seconds of edited television footage, and insulting them on here, knowing that in this Parochial country we live in, there's a good chance they'll read it. Calling people fat? Insulting their dress sense? Insulting the guys on the show? I think maybe you need to realize that you're offending people. Real people.

Have some regard for their feelings before you go on a rant on a website about girls and guys you don't know. That goes for all this negative rubbish on here, like I said before, fair enough, insult the format of the show, the editing, even what people say, but enough with this getting personal crap. I'm sure you'd love to read a thread calling your friends fat/ stupid/ ignorant/ racist...

brianblaze wrote: »
    Okay, first off, lay off the girl, she made a comment based on being insulted, it's a natural reaction. Is this 'salad dodger', and referencing wobbling rubbish, just your way of calling someone fat? I'm sure it makes you feel very good to personally insult people you don't know on the internet? I'm sure that by criticizing people about the way they look, and making assumptions about them makes you feel great. Fair enough, I'm sure you'll say 'She called someone an a-- hole,' and she shouldn't have, but that's a natural reaction!

As and for 'troweling on make up,' that would have been the make up artists and stylists who did that.

You're making assumptions about people's characters, and wrongly so, by a few seconds of edited television footage, and insulting them on here, knowing that in this Parochial country we live in, there's a good chance they'll read it. Calling people fat? Insulting their dress sense? Insulting the guys on the show? I think maybe you need to realize that you're offending people. Real people.

Have some regard for their feelings before you go on a rant on a website about girls and guys you don't know. That goes for all this negative rubbish on here, like I said before, fair enough, insult the format of the show, the editing, even what people say, but enough with this getting personal crap. I'm sure you'd love to read a thread calling your friends fat/ stupid/ ignorant/ racist...

Get off your high horse and stop being such a hypocrite, I was personally insulted by someone who claims to have been on the show so I retaliated with a much milder retort yet you are defending this person? Seriously? Who voted for you to defend the undefendable? So you were on the show and made friends with some of these girls, so what? Do you want a medal or something?

IMO these girls went onto the show out of there own free will and probably knew in advanced that they would be open to ridicule for their actions (actually if they didn't then they are obviously stupider then they look!) All I'm doing is calling a spade a spade. These girls waltz onto this show and ruthlessly dissect male contestants in a very cold and callous manner yet they expect to be above criticism themselves? Unfortunately it doesn't work like that and if they don't like the criticism that they are receiving then that's just tough and singling out my posts isn't going to stop other posters from exercising their right to have an opinion.

Btw the comments on this series have been extremely mild compared to the comments from posters on the last series, I don't remember you diving in to defend anyone then. Oh you didn't know any of them from the last series? Ah, that makes all of the difference so.

Finally for the record I have never insulted any of the male contestants from the show, I have nothing but respect for them, standing in front of the gates of hell every *Friday night (*I know the show wasn't shot every Friday night, just saying).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

While agree you had valid points in principle you do seem to have a real loathing that, imo, extends beyond the show per se. and it's mostly directed at Irish girls, not that you points in some cases aren't valid....but it just seems there is a deeper issue/agenda going on beyond a tv show.

But yeah, these contestants coming here to scream offense is getting a bit :rolleyes: ...getting sick of these guys actually :mad:

What a load of crap! :rolleyes: - TV3 are TOO cheap to do makeup for all them girls, they do it all themselves. + do the girls on the show have ANY regard for the hurtful and unnesscary comments directed at the men?....no, but ah sure....it's all for the craic, oh i'm just making good tv.....i bet you if it was one girl and 30 men there would be WAR!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Phat Cat

While agree you had valid points in principle you do seem to have a real loathing that, imo, extends beyond the show per se. and it's mostly directed at Irish girls, not that you points in some cases aren't valid....but it just seems there is a deeper issue/agenda going on beyond a tv show.

But yeah, these contestants coming here to scream offense is getting a bit :rolleyes: ...getting sick of these guys actually :mad:

I noticed that too but in fairness to Raekwon he is hardly the only one to vent their frustration about Irish women on this thread. In my personal opinion this show represents a real insight into the backwardness of the Irish dating scene. Men get a really hard time from women on this island and it's a hell of alot more difficult to interact with women socially in Ireland then anywhere else in my opinion. It was only when I met my wife (not Irish, but close enough) that I could see it all from a different perspective and I can actually sympathise with people constantly venting about Irish women on boards. It is getting tedious, but it's obviously a big issue but the main problem here is that the female contestants on the show are doing nothing but adding fuel to the fire every single week.

Btw I find it hilarious when the contestants of this show come running to boards to defend themselves. It's actually more entertaining then the show because season two absolutely sucks!

^ i'm not saying Raek is wrong per se in his observations, but perhaps there is a more personal pet peev going on, not nesscarily colouring his opinion but just grinding his gears more then others, i accept that his opinions are shared by many posters, both male and female.

What annoys me is the double standards that goes on, women always go into feminist rages but us poor ba*tards have to sit and take it like twonks. Can you imagine the UPROAR if the show was reversed?

Protests outside TV3 studios, Joe Duffy flooded with irate wimmin...but sure the lads can take a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭santana75

^ i'm not saying Raek is wrong per se in his observations, but perhaps there is a more personal pet peev going on, not nesscarily colouring his opinion but just grinding his gears more then others, i accept that his opinions are shared by many posters, both male and female.

My God Richard, you're becoming very diplomatic in your old age.
    What annoys me is the double standards that goes on, women always go into feminist rages but us poor ba*tards have to sit and take it like twonks. Can you imagine the UPROAR if the show was reversed?

Protests outside TV3 studios, Joe Duffy flooded with irate wimmin...but sure the lads can take a joke.

Agreed. My mate is only back form Australia and he told me that the situation is reversed on the Aussie version of take me out: 30 men, 1 woman. Its a very civilised affair though, the fellas are very respectful of the women, they get a very easy time of it relative to the way the lads are treated by the girls on the Irish show.

@brianblaze,

Brian, your (overly) staunch defence of the show and its contestants lead me to believe you're involved with the show, its production team or TV3 in some capacity. If you do have a vested interest in any aspect of the show, I think you show declare same.

@brianblaze,

Brian, your (overly) staunch defence of the show and its contestants lead me to believe you're involved with the show, its production team or TV3 in some capacity. If you do have a vested interest in any aspect of the show, I think you show declare same.

I already said I was on it...

But I've not been on it yet, I should point out! I just heard that some of the girls were upset reading on here about it so I said I'd give it a look see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

But I've not been on it yet, I should point out! I just heard that some of the girls were upset reading on here about it so I said I'd give it a look see.
    To be honest Brian, its lovely that you have come on here to defend the girls, if that is what you are doing, haven't been bothered tuning into the show after the first few weeks of the first series, so can't really comment on anyone. However, if the girls are getting upset, maybe advise them to avoid the thread, and also avoid putting themselves in the public spotlight if they can't handle comments from people who judge them from comments made to a dodgy presenter for two seconds at a time. Honestly, there is more to life, I suggest they get over it and just get on with things