Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An accurately representation of some Irish women?

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭KylieWyley

Raekwon wrote: »

Okay I'm obviously painting in broad stokes here but when I first seen this ad I was stuck at how accurate it represented some Irish women in their late 20's/early 30's; clannish mentality, loud and obnoxious, probably very unapproachable & all going home together, most likely for a bitch and gossip session..........and not a man insight for the whole evening.

Jesus man, you just sound pissed off because you've been shot down when you drunkenly stumbled up to them when they're dancing with their mates. Perhaps these women "in their late 20's/early 30's" are out with their mates and have their boyfriends/husbands waiting for them at home. So why the feck should they show any interest in you or any other man for that matter?

STFU and get on with it. If your missus won't leave you alone when you're out on a lads night, you need to get a new missus.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

why exactly are you with a control freak?

KylieWyley wrote: »
    Jesus man, you just sound pissed off because you've been shot down when you drunkenly stumbled up to them when they're dancing with their mates. Perhaps these women "in their late 20's/early 30's" are out with their mates and have their boyfriends/husbands waiting for them at home. So why the feck should they show any interest in you or any other man for that matter?

STFU and get on with it. Sincerely yours, a fella.

More abuse......and this time from someone who read one line from one of my posts and took it completely out of context :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I thought I explained it in my long post above? Obviously not well enough. Okay I made the 'not a man in sight' comment because the women in the ad are obviously having a girlie night with no men around, which is grand, they want to be alone to enjoy their own company, no harm in that. I see this in real life situations too, if my girlfriend goes out with her mates then I don't see her until we both arrive home or she calls me to meet up with her. But what pisses me off is when men want to have an 'men only night' then I feel that some women take exception to this and either bombard them with texts and calls during the night or arrive to where we are unexpectedly to drag their beau away, or both.
    You "feel" or it actually happens? Still don't see how that necessitates the "No man in sight" comment.
    It's hypocrisy at it's finest
    Of course a woman wanting to have a girls only night and then being pissed off at her partner for having a men only night is hypocritical, but where in the ad is there anything alluding to that double standard? What about those women who have girls only nights and DON'T give their partners sh1t for having men only nights? And if you're saying the reverse doesn't happen, I personally know of examples where the man has gone ballistic over his girlfriend only going out with her female friends and not bringing him. Admittedly, I would imagine instances of it are more likely to be woman pissed off at man, but that doesn't mean the reverse doesn't happen at all.
    and I guarantee that the vast majority of people here of a certain age will agree with me........even if they won't openly want to admit to it ;)
    I'm sure anyone of any age would agree it's hypocritical - why do you say they wouldn't want to admit it?

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭KylieWyley

More abuse......and this time from someone who read one line from one of my posts and took it completely out of context :rolleyes:

Nah man, I read your entire OP and I think you're bang out of order + I'm a lad so could be considered objective.
    I think you're fighting a losing battle with this whole thing here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

If people cant have a civilised discussion then I will have no choice but to lock the thread.Any further bitchy or snide comments will result in infractions,if you have nothing to add then dont post in the thread.

KylieWyley wrote: »
    Nah man, I read your entire OP and I think you're bang out of order + I'm a lad so could be considered objective.
    I think you're fighting a losing battle with this whole thing here.

You didn't read my other posts though did you? If you did then you would know that I am not out to pull, far from it actually. You are right though, I am fighting a losing battle here, but hey, when you are my age then you will understand what I am talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 aluna

as a twenty-something female i feel that this (highly irritating) advertisement is not an accurate representation of some irish women. well, certainly not the women i socialise with or meet out. perhaps there are women like that in different social groups to me, but i have not met them yet.

in a separate issue from the question posed in the op, but that rose in the course of the thread, i will say that if women want to go out together, with no men, for a dance and a drink, they have every right. i find it strange to read people belittling this. in addition, i think it is highly innacurate and wholly inappropriate when individuals tar all women or men with the same brush. the habits of either gender cannot be generalised.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Cat Melodeon

I am female, in my 30s, sometimes go out with my female friends without my husband, get a bit tipsy but generally not drunk out my mind (hangovers don't sit well when dealing with a baby the next day), usually end up singing at some stage of the night and quite often end up having a nice cup of tea (yes, with toast) before heading home/to bed. And yes, I'm a culchie. This ad is actually about my life, albeit about 2 nights of the year, not exactly a large portion of it. It's very rare that me and my friends all manage to get sitters on the same night. They're not my husband's friends, he'd be bored ****less if he came with us and I have no problem with him going out alone with his mates, although usually we go out as a couple, being in love and all that. As for me and my friends, none of us are goddesses, but we still have to deal with the usual couple of drunken horny sleazebags that haunt every club round the country.

OP, you'd probably hate me if you ever met me. That makes me cry inside, really.

Dudess wrote: »
    You "feel" or it actually happens? Still don't see how that necessitates the "No man in sight" comment.

No it actually happens, obviously people are diverse and every relationship is different but it does happen. On the ''No man in sight'' comment, I really don't know what you want to hear because I've explained it twice already.
    Of course a woman wanting to have a girls only night and then being pissed off at her partner for having a men only night is hypocritical, but where in the ad is there anything alluding to that double standard? What about those women who have girls only nights and DON'T give their partners sh1t for having men only nights? And if you're saying the reverse doesn't happen, I personally know of examples where the man has gone ballistic over his girlfriend only going out with her female friends and not bringing him. Admittedly, I would imagine instances of it are more likely to be woman pissed off at man, but that doesn't mean the reverse doesn't happen at all.

I never said that the reverse doesn't happen, it obviously does but like you yourself said it is more then likely women to be pissed off rather then men and that is my point. Plus I never said that the ad represents anything other then it struck a chord with me on a personal level because the women in the ad have a striking similarity to people that I personally know and who I happen to resent.
    I'm sure anyone of any age would agree it's hypocritical - why do you say they wouldn't want to admit it?

Because some people are too wrapped up in their own lives and relationships to see the bigger picture.

OP, you'd probably hate me if you ever met me. That makes me cry inside, really.

I've actually taking quite a shine to you after that post :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Cat Melodeon

I've actually taking quite a shine to you after that post :D

Hmm, you mightn't be all bad, unless you're one of these people:

I like a bit of hate smeared on my low-low and toast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

On the ''No man in sight'' comment, I really don't know what you want to hear because I've explained it twice already.
    Yeah you did - and it still has sod all relevance to the explanation you gave. I don't see how "No man in sight" instantly signifies "Some women like to have girlie nights without the men present but go mad when their men want to have men only nights".

• Registered Users Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Haha! Touchée! That ad annoys me as much as the low low ad. Skateboard indoors (ooooh, controversial!), the lad from Finglas wearing a trilby (ooooh, individual!), the arty guy with the water pistols (so damn kooky!)

The "oh my gaw-ed!" one with her "scandel".

Haha, touché indeed :D

I think the one thing that we can all agree on is that the Irish media churn out some god awful TV ads on a regular basis.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭Flojo

I think the one thing that we can all agree on is that the Irish media churn out some god awful TV ads on a regular basis.

Now you're starting to talk sense.... :p

• Registered Users Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Haha! Touchée! That ad annoys me as much as the low low ad. Skateboard indoors (ooooh, controversial!), the lad from Finglas wearing a trilby (ooooh, individual!), the arty guy with the water pistols (so damn kooky!)

The "oh my gaw-ed!" one with her "scandel".

There's an interesting side question; would people rather go on a night out on the town with the girls from the Lolo ad or go to the party in the meteor ad?
    Not great options :o

Galvasean wrote: »
    There's an interesting side question; would people rather go on a night out on the town with the girls from the Lolo ad or go to the party in the meteor ad?
    Not great options :o

Not great options at all but I reckon I'd take my chances at the party then go home and have some LoLo and see what all the fuss is about ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭magneticimpulse

Well she has done a good job of stoking the flames and strengthened some peoples opinions and arguments.

I thought I explained it in my long post above? Obviously not well enough. Okay I made the 'not a man in sight' comment because the women in the ad are obviously having a girlie night with no men around, which is grand, they want to be alone to enjoy their own company, no harm in that. I see this in real life situations too, if my girlfriend goes out with her mates then I don't see her until we both arrive home or she calls me to meet up with her. But what pisses me off is when men want to have an 'men only night' then I feel that some women take exception to this and either bombard them with texts and calls during the night or arrive to where we are unexpectedly to drag their beau away, or both.

It's hypocrisy at it's finest and I guarantee that the vast majority of people here of a certain age will agree with me........even if they won't openly want to admit to it ;)

this is nothing to do with Irish women...this is women no matter what country they come from. Im fed up with your little agenda because your mate cant go on holidays with you. boo hoo...maybe if it bothered your friend so much, he would be assertive and make his own choices in life....or maybe your mate actually likes his girlfriend?

just because you think its great that you have a foreign gf (good for you)...doesnt mean you have to slag off your mates...who im sure are old enough to decide who to date or not date.

• Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭force majeure

A few friends who want to have a ball off a night out and not be bothered about anything... no big deal me thinks.
    personally I liked the blond with a silvery jacket... sob she appears to have a wedding ring on.... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭sunshineoh9

i sure as hell hope not! if that is really how most irish women are i am going to be very lonely once i move.. lol! that or i'll only be having male friends..

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭ruahead

What is the issue here? If you think they are loud and obnoxious you obviously don't get out much!! These girls are having a girly night out more a laugh and a dance rather than drinking themselves silly and :)on the pull. I think that is a good thing!!
    Yes they are having toast, it happens not everyone gets out of their head and gorges on chipper crap.
    Live and let live.

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

wow sorry lads, but are you all loooking for some sophisticated models who are sitting quietly in a club and taxi or something.

That looks like a few girls having a nice night out, enjoying each others company not pulling random guys and going home to chat about their night out.
    So what if there isnt " a looker" between them. Again how sad is that? Most groups of girls who go out, have a laugh with their friends. And those girls are naturally pretty in my opinion, not caked up with make-up and slutty outfits. If they were falling around drunk, you'd be complaining about that too. Seriously get real!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

This ad to me just says these girls are having a watcha m'call "girly night out" which confounds men, as no man would endure such terrible music (go to pretty much any well known dance bar), such high priced alcohol (and/or entry fee), taxi fares, etc WITHOUT the attempt at at least getting a number from a woman.
    Its a great example of a certain type of Irish lass - going out, laughing at seriously silly sh*t, shallow dialogue, hysteria, giving men the wrong signals and general mind numbing antics. I see nothing wrong with it if you're of the same league, plenty of Irish lads behave the exact same way.
    But these are far from the worst of the bunch! It's the princesses that are clopping the streets as though they have some divine sense of entitlement to tear the gutts out of men who even say hello. "Like owe my gawd like! She like sooo like...".
    I think some Irish lads are probably getting fed up with having to come across as a clown all the time to impress Irish women. Yes, sense of humour is important but getting into the 'Jack the Lad' character every weekend, making sure shes constantly amused, dulling down ones higher thoughts just to keep her happy does get a bit tiring. We are a great ppl but our development into adulthood, especially for women these days is up for target practice.