Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Men Shaving their bits... Like?.. or Dislike??

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ordinary_girl

Definitely should be trimmed and neat, but completely shaved off? Hell no! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭alex73

Men who shave down below are definitely gay
    For me trimming is better than shaving.

100%... Men who pay that much attention to their privates are doing it for other reasons than their wife....

My opinion... useless the wife wants them shaved... then don't shave.

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Haha, funny story...

I went away for a weekend a while back and when I came home my OH had shaved his pubes off.

Apparently, he got bored while I was away :P

(I thought it was adorable. That he was bored enough to shave his pubes [wtf??]... not the actual look, wasn't big on that)

• Registered Users Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

alex73 wrote: »
    100%... Men who pay that much attention to their privates are doing it for other reasons than their wife....

My opinion... useless the wife wants them shaved... then don't shave.

That's just completely ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭alex73

obsfucated wrote: »
    Haha, funny story...

I went away for a weekend a while back and when I came home my OH had shaved his pubes off.

Apparently, he got bored while I was away :P

(I thought it was adorable. That he was bored enough to shave his pubes [wtf??]... not the actual look, wasn't big on that)

Hmmm bored (heard that one before)... Lets hope HE shaved them.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

My opinion is that you're trolling.

bye bye!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,334 ✭✭✭✭starlit

It wouldn't really matter to me, but once its neat and trimmed I be happy with that. Once he doesn't make a song and dance about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I don't even get why guys think it's the standard of attractive, judging from the responses in this thread it's a minority of women who actually like men shaved, and more than a few who view it as an actual turnoff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

liah wrote: »
    I don't even get why guys think it's the standard of attractive, judging from the responses in this thread it's a minority of women who actually like men shaved, and more than a few who view it as an actual turnoff.

but what if the guy prefers it himself? maybe it's not about impressing anyone?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Weird that women pretty much unanimously do not like shaved genitals on a guy whereas the vast vast majority of men prefer shaved/waxed vaginas.

People say it is porn but I think they have the order the wrong way round. Porn didn't always have shaved vaginas, I think the ones that did it were successful so now they all do it.

IMO it may be to do with the fact that pubic hair hides the vagina whereas the penis itself has very little hair on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I don't know why I got drawn into this thread.

I started to shave one day herself was away, and I got bored. (I see someone else has that down as well. Well, I was genuinely bored. Xbox wasn't doing anything for me, there was nothing on TV.)

I got out an electric trimmer and trimmed it all off. Tidied it off with her Venus razor, and finished with a little powder. Felt nice and clean. Let it grow back then. Herself thought it was odd to start with, but grew to like it.

Second time, I trimmed most off, but left a little "goatee" on my daddy sack. Was amusing, and herself thought it was funny.

The last time, I just trimmed it. Still feels nice and clean, and is quicker to do. I like it, herself likes it.

Thats about all that I care about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Links234 wrote: »
    but what if the guy prefers it himself? maybe it's not about impressing anyone?

Fair enough, but that's rarely the reason men do it as far as I'm aware, I'm pretty sure an awful lot do it because they think that's just what's done. Or at least, "for himself" rarely why they try it in the first place.

I don't judge people's reasons, but I'm curious as to their origins.
    Weird that women pretty much unanimously do not like shaved genitals on a guy whereas the vast vast majority of men prefer shaved/waxed vaginas.

People say it is porn but I think they have the order the wrong way round. Porn didn't always have shaved vaginas, I think the ones that did it were successful so now they all do it.

IMO it may be to do with the fact that pubic hair hides the vagina whereas the penis itself has very little hair on it.

Well, since oral sex became more popular in porn and mainstream culture in general I assume that may have something to do with it. I've never had trouble with a man's bush when going down and it seems totally unnecessary to shave it all off, but I can easily see why men would have trouble with a woman's bush while downtown, the hair is a little more concentrated in the bits you wanna get at and there's a far greater chance of ending up flossing with pubes if it's not cleaned up. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭yungwan

I dont think I care either way tbh.... as long as it isnt an out and out afro.
    Trimmed should suffice I would have thought though?

And maybe Im being naive as my OH isnt that hairy... but I always thought the shaft part was primarily hairless?! Why would you need to shave that part as another poster said above? Now that part being hairy would be gross!! :eek:

Anyway my OH started trimming lately and as another poster said - I think he gets more enjoyment out of it than I do! I dont be that bothered either way! Suppose it is more hygenic though.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Cos its neater, cleaner, and feels better as well. for me at least. I havent let it go au natural in years, have no intention of ever doing it again either tbh. its a personal preference. the fact my last 2 exes have liked it just a bonus really.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭Misticles

I find it a turn off!!
    Nothing worse than a giant bush - I would apply the same mentality towards girls too.

I hate hair down there, be it on me or on anyone else that I have an encounter with.

Trim FTW

• Registered Users Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Well I've never thought about it as a 'standard' of attractive. I just find it more attractive. And that in itself and not just for the practical oral sex reasons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭Subtle Troll

It would be a bit weird lookin if I did.

What with the hairy legs, stomach, arse, chest, arms, everything else basically bar back, so thats ok I suppose.

Its not ridiculously bad now, think rugged, but a shaved patch and the wee troll hangin out would be a bit weird lookin.

Body hair girls, yay or nay?

well I dislike body hair in general.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭Subtle Troll

Links234 wrote: »
    well I dislike body hair in general.

I dislike farts but I wouldn't condemn someone who does them, I would like to hear something more positive!

I would like to hear something more positive!

I positively hate body hair. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Audie

I don't mind hair on a guy! What I hate more than hair is a male brazilian or any sort of design.. turns me right off! Goes against the whole rugged guy thing I suppose. A trim is ok though to stop overflow, as long as it looks natural :)

Can also understand why guys prefer no hair on girls' bits, totally different situation!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭Katgurl

i hate it when men are shaved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

zenno wrote: »
    I just thought i'd throw this in . most men trim (sorry not shave) the lower parts and i can't see anything wrong with it. most women would rather a guy trimmed below thats already a fact. neater and cleaner nothing wrong with that as far as i can see. oh and i am a man on the womens forum lol but there ye go.
    ... I meant trim not shave what was i thinking... glad thats sorted out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

It's up to them what they do with it but I like 'em woolly! I did have a bf once who Veet-ed his....total turn off.

• Registered Users Posts: 523 ✭✭✭makarov

im a man hellooooooooooooo..... and im not gay by any meens ... im in a relationship have been for two years now and i shave my bits all the time ... yes with a mac 3 .. and my girlfriend likes it like that and so do i .....so there you go ...you like it or you dont up to you ???????

• Registered Users Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

I generally like to keep it neat, but not a bald eagle.

I did that once (yes, once again out of boredom - must be a man thing), and NEVER again.

The growing back was awful, the raw balls after shaving was awful.

Now it gets the beard trimmer, and it looks good and tidy, but still 'manly' :)

Surprising this thread has no poll..... That would have er, cleared it right up!

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Firstly I'm a guy.

Myself and an ex decided one evening while having a candle lit bath together that it might be fun to shave each other.

She always kept herself neat and trimmed "down there". She was considering a hollywood but wasn't too sure about how much it would hurt. So with one thing and another we had a fun romantic evening and both ended up completely bare.

From my point of view the result on her was amazing. Looked fantastic and felt even better. From her point of view she was glad we had the experience but definitely preferred the look of a tight trim for me instead.

Bit itchy growing back for us both but we definitely felt the experience was worth it and learned a bit more about what we both liked.

As a "special treat" my ex would occasionally suggest that I shave her and she give me a pretty tight trim. (Note, the shaving part definitely works best after a soak in the bath)

It doesn't bother me whether its there or not (on me). If she likes it gone or trimmed then that's fine by me, I'm happy to oblige or let her do it if she wants.

Definitely feels different between natural, tightly trimmed and completely gone. Although I must admit to finding the hollywood the best thing ever on her and grooming each other (in the right setting naturally) adds to the bedroom experience.

Delighted to see this thread and the various points of view. I guess we're all different in what we like and so long as both parties are in agreement then that's all that matters.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭TechnoPool

shaving can lead to an all mighty itch and redness from expeirence :o

trimming is the way forward

• Registered Users Posts: 4 citeog3

I use Veet to remove the hair down below and behind.I just keep a short 'lawn' above.My girlfriend loves it which is the main thing.She does the same and we both love the feeling.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

I'm not looking forward to mainland European men, from what I've heard it's more likely you'll find a guy as bare as a baby down there than one with hair :(

Gutted.
    Not true.;)