Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Downton Abbey

• Registered Users Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Is Aunt Rosamund not Rose's mother :confused::confused::confused:

Or have I got that completely arseways? I know Rose is at Downton because her parents are divorcing - I thought that was Shrimpy and Aunt Rosamund.

Please don't shoot me if that's a ridiculous suggestion :eek:

Haha! I think these boarders are a friendly bunch so you are safe!

Shrimpy was married to Susan, The Earls cousin. Aunt Rosamund unless I'm mistaken does not have any family, and is a widower.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,946 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Haha! I think these boarders are a friendly bunch so you are safe!

Shrimpy was married to Susan, The Earls cousin. Aunt Rosamund unless I'm mistaken does not have any family, and is a widower.

I hope, in deference to her lovelieness, that she's a widow :eek::D

And phew, I'll survive - hopefully - my monumental misunderstanding of the complicated relations....... I'll try to keep up in future.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

yup I missed the latest ep. the upc didnt record it but the date on the latest ep on the planner is sunday so I dont know what happened it.
    :(

edit: Caught up now :)

janny mack I think Edith is very brave. but she knows nothing about the practical side to raising a child.
    Mary is such a b***h. why does she always have to be so horrible to Edith. and how come no one ever stands up for her.

Isis is preggers I bet. and remember someone else said they were feeling frumpy too ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

It tells a tale that the topic that concerns most of us is the ongoing health of Isis. I think even Julian Fellowes may be dropping hints that he's getting tired of writing this. At this point he's minted on US re-runs anyway.
    Any takers on Edith heading for Munich and getting off with an eligible bachelor with a Chaplin mustache. Go on Julian, lets go down in flames.

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭madrabui

SarahBM wrote: »
    janny mack I think Edith is very brave. but she knows nothing about the practical side to raising a child.

I think when she was hugging her child in her arms in the bedroom - she said something like ordering ice-cream and champagne, but it really sounded like the order was for the two of them!

madrabui wrote: »
    I think when she was hugging her child in her arms in the bedroom - she said something like ordering ice-cream and champagne, but it really sounded like the order was for the two of them!

Surely she should have been ordering the child's supper, not ice cream. Wait til marigold has a tantrum! That will really test Edith.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,631 Mod ✭✭✭✭pinkypinky

It's too early for Edith to play Unity Mitford - Hitler was still in prison for the putch at this stage. She'll absolutely be caught though, they've spent too much time on the story for her to disappear now.

I'm not sure about the redemption of Thomas. He seemed perfectly fine being gay last season, coming on to Jimmy, etc.

Genealogy Forum Mod

I know a lot of the posts on this in relation to Mrs Drewe/the farmer's wife were negative, along the lines of how stupid she was not to cop on to Edith being Marigold's mother etc, but I found the scene where Edith took her child to be absolutely heart-breaking.

I never liked Edith but I found her behaviour to be absolutely appalling dealing with this situation. First she cancels the first adoption abroad (and that letter from the mother saying she had adopted another child proves nothing), next she lands her daughter onto these tenants and then changes her mind on that again, without any warning rips another family apart. I know she was only doing what she feels right for her child but she really has left a trail of destruction and heartbreak in her wake. I can only hope she is gone out of it for good! End of rant!!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,930 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

^ I agree completely. I said it a few weeks back too.

I get that she thought it was the best option, bringing her back to live with the Drewes but it was never going to work. I know Aunt Rosamund and Granny may have seemed cold or harsh when they were telling Edith what to do last year and it sucks but given the times the live in their was really was the best option for the child and Edith.

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

I know a lot of the posts on this in relation to Mrs Drewe/the farmer's wife were negative, along the lines of how stupid she was not to cop on to Edith being Marigold's mother etc, but I found the scene where Edith took her child to be absolutely heart-breaking.

I never liked Edith but I found her behaviour to be absolutely appalling dealing with this situation. First she cancels the first adoption abroad (and that letter from the mother saying she had adopted another child proves nothing), next she lands her daughter onto these tenants and then changes her mind on that again, without any warning rips another family apart. I know she was only doing what she feels right for her child but she really has left a trail of destruction and heartbreak in her wake. I can only hope she is gone out of it for good! End of rant!!

I fully agree. that Edith has behaved appalingly. And given that due to her status, she will likely engage a nanny and the norm for that class was for the children to get dressed up and wheeled in to the parents in the drawing room for a quick kiss and cuddle before being shunted off back to the nursery again, I felt really sad for that little girl who, as she looks about 2.5 or so, is ripped away from the only mother and father she knows, away from her siblings, her home, and only for Mrs. Drew jumping in and explaining to the little one what was happening, would have been distressed and confused and sad and would have had her little dolly/ teddy left behind too. :(

I dont doubt that she loves her. But some other woman was that childs mother now, not her and she only thought of herself and herself alone.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 12,915 Mod ✭✭✭✭iguana

Why does Tom talk as if he's still exiled from Ireland? It's 1924, I can't imagine Cosgrove gives a toss about a British judgement that a former journalist should be arrested for setting foot in his country for attending the arson of a country house. In fact with Tom's amazing career progression from chauffeur, to journalist, to country estate manager, he'd surely be a shoe in for minister of agriculture of the Free State. After all, his grandfather was a sheep farmer.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭Radio5

Mary really is a horrible person. She has been consistently horrible to Edith and last night was only the latest. I was surprised that Violet didn't reprimand Mary with a subtly cutting remark, after all she alone in the room knows the true depth of Edith's grief.

Mary was a bit civilised when Matthew was alive bu that was it really.

Aunt Rosamund is widowed. There was a brief reference to her desire to have a family and it not working out, I think it was when Mary was going to the specialist in London.

• Registered Users Posts: 447 ✭✭daviecronin

Radio5 wrote: »
    Mary really is a horrible person. She has been consistently horrible to Edith and last night was only the latest. I was surprised that Violet didn't reprimand Mary with a subtly cutting remark, after all she alone in the room knows the true depth of Edith's grief.

Mary was a bit civilised when Matthew was alive bu that was it really.

Aunt Rosamund is widowed. There was a brief reference to her desire to have a family and it not working out, I think it was when Mary was going to the specialist in London.

Why is everyone annoyed at Mary. Mary is the only reason I watch the show a bit of style and class. Edith is the 'poor me' type giving out about Mary getting her hair cut? Come on.

+ Nobody every liked Edith and nobody will ever either!!! ;)

Why is everyone annoyed at Mary. Mary is the only reason I watch the show a bit of style and class. Edith is the 'poor me' type giving out about Mary getting her hair cut? Come on.

+ Nobody every liked Edith and nobody will ever either!!! ;)

I really like Mary! I think her put downs are great and she (along with Cousin Violet) has some of the best lines - "where did she think he was this whole time? Living in a tree house?!" I really like her dry sense of humour. While she can come across as unfeeling and insensitive (any interaction with Edith!) she does care about the welfare and happiness of people close to her...Anna, Tom and the legacy she will leave for her son. Team Mary all the way!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

I think Edith is to be pitied and I put her in the same situation as any woman who is forced to give up her baby.

My heart did break for Mrs Drewe, but I'm glad marigold is with her mummy finally

Team Edith!!!

No matter what she does or how hard she tries it's never good enough for anyone. All the things she did to help during the war, never got any thanks. Her writing for the newspaper, never got any support or credit. She tried to do the right thing and marry the old fella, and she got humiliated. She finally fell in love with a man, and through no fault of her own again ends up alone and the only thing she has that's good in her life, marigold, is a secret that would destroy her. All her family treat her like crap. I think she is dead right to get away from them all.
    Mary has turned back into the wagon she was before she met Matthew.
    Sorry, rant over.

SarahBM wrote: »
    Team Edith!!!

No matter what she does or how hard she tries it's never good enough for anyone. All the things she did to help during the war, never got any thanks.

Things like learning how to drive a tractor and having an affair with a married farmer??! I know she also helped out in the hospital....

I'll agree to disagree with you! Happy Halloween!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭Radio5

Mary is a selfish lady, so naturally she gets the best lines. As the eldest she was prioritised and pampered and has continued in that vein all her life. Her younger sisters were really 2nd class citizens and made to feel that way.

If Sybil hadn't rebelled, she'd have been married off to some Lord Dumbo, some guy similar to Mary's current suitors. Any caring Mary might show for staff isn't that deep, it's only to ensure that her own comfort isn't disturbed too much or her reputation damaged.

At least Edith and Sybil made some practical effort during the war. All Mary did was gad about with the rich newspaper guy she was going to marry and make eyes at Matthew, though he was engaged to someone else.

In time of course, George will be become more important than her which will be nice.

Radio5 wrote: »
    Mary is a selfish lady, so naturally she gets the best lines. As the eldest she was prioritised and pampered and has continued in that vein all her life. Her younger sisters were really 2nd class citizens and made to feel that way.

If Sybil hadn't rebelled, she'd have been married off to some Lord Dumbo, some guy similar to Mary's current suitors. Any caring Mary might show for staff isn't that deep, it's only to ensure that her own comfort isn't disturbed too much or her reputation damaged.

At least Edith and Sybil made some practical effort during the war. All Mary did was gad about with the rich newspaper guy she was going to marry and make eyes at Matthew, though he was engaged to someone else.

In time of course, George will be become more important than her which will be nice.

So you think her reaction after Anna was assaulted and her continued support of Bates during his trial (and subsequent protection when herself and Mrs Hughes found the ticket to London) was to ensure her own comfort isn't disturbed?? :confused: If she was so worried about her reputation surely she would have insisted Bates be removed from employment at Downton and Anna too, by association. To me, her and Anna have a greater bond than that of any of her family. Anna is her confidant, friend and first person she turns to. Why doesn't she ever confide in Edith?? Because Edith will use anything she can against her. Might I remind you she was the person who wrote to the Turkish Ambassador about Pamuk? All because Matthew prefered Mary to Edith.

As for being prioritised and pampered - her own father didn't fight the entail for her to keep Downton despite encouragement from nearly all of his family. Even after Matthew named her heiress, Robert was slow to accept her involvement in running the estate. She fought her father in support of Tom's decision to have the baby baptised - insisting its what Sybil would have wanted, and continued to back Tom in his plans for the estate.

Of course she has her faults, maybe more than any other character in the show but her redeemable qualities (unwavering loyalty and strength to name two) make her by far my favourite character. ;);)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Lady Mary is becoming seriously unlikeable, she is so cold towards her sister, Lady Edith :( I hope the family welcome Edith and her daughter back with open arms.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

DELIGHTED granny got that dig in...cop on Mary.

Things like learning how to drive a tractor and having an affair with a married farmer??! I know she also helped out in the hospital....

I would hardly call it an affair, they had a fairly tame kiss in the barn once!

A woman learning to drive was a pretty big deal back then, and also I think she helped the soldiers more than could ever be shown.

I think tonight Mary (and to a certain extent other family members) really showed how little they care about Edith. Tom Rose and Cora seemed to be the only ones who give a damn. Rosamund and Granny wanted Edith to send the child away. Im glad Cora stood up for Edith and her right to make her own decision.
    I do hope it works out for Rose and Atticus.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

I thought it was very good this evening. Poor Isobel bring humiliated like that at dinner.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,930 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Merkin wrote: »
    I thought it was very good this evening. Poor Isobel bring humiliated like that at dinner.

Yeah, Yer man's sons are a bit old to be acting like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

Never mind the humans, what about poor old Isis? :(

• Registered Users, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

madmaggie wrote: »
    Never mind the humans, what about poor old Isis? :(

A quick exit.... it's a shame they called him that or he'd still be part of the furniture.:(

• Registered Users, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

Merkin wrote: »
    . Poor Isobel bring humiliated like that at dinner.

Felt really bad for her......she deserves a loving relationship!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,247 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

I like Edith and Mary - they are both so different and bring so much to the show :)

leahyl wrote: »
    I like Edith and Mary - they are both so different and bring so much to the show :)

You have to pick a side! :P

Poor Isabelle, felt so sorry for her, just wanted to give her a hug after that dinner she looked completely crushed.

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

Excellent performance from Isabel - the way she conveyed so much in her face without a word. You knew exactly what she was feeling, that horrible hot and cold shock you feel in a situation like that.

Overall a decent episode. Go Cora!

Wasn't Mrs. Drew a bit of a wagon to go to Edith's mother and tell her about the baby though? What was to be gained from that only spite?