Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All your ''I was on the bus and this happened'' storys,

• 16-09-2010 12:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

we all have a story of being on the bus and something happening, 1 of mine, is getting off the bus and being polite I always say 'cheers mate thanks' to which I got the reply, ''its ok I was goin this way anyway'' another time I was on a bus and a guy was sitting at the back on the bottom floor, he proceeded to take off his shoes and socks, and pick all the dead yellow crusty stuff from his toes, I nearly threw up,? Was violently disgusting, well anyways we all have a ''i was on the bus and'' story, so lets hear em, :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

All your ''I was on the bus and this happened'' storys belong to us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I was on the bus and it brought me to my destination!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

kfallon wrote: »
    I was on the bus and it brought me to my destination!

Was it Dublin bus? If so, that's impressive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I was on a bus, and this lad stood up and said he didn't know what a tracker mortgage was.

I was going to tell him, but I don't know either.

Fishie wrote: »
    Was it Dublin bus? If so, that's impressive

Sure was, got on at Eden Quay and the 20B brought me to Collins Avenue, hilarious anecdote for this thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I was on a bus and I read a thread on After Hours about people on buses.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I was on the bus once and a woman started giving out to the bus driver because she didn't have enough change and that he couldn't accept notes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭PaddyBomb

I was on a bus and this african woman just left her expensive brand new pram there and said "Its ok, the government will give me a new one"!*

*Never happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

PaddyBomb wrote: »
    I was on a bus and this african woman just left her expensive brand new pram there and said "Its ok, the government will give me a new one"!*

*Never happened.
    Replace African with traveller and the same happened to me.

Also Roma.

Also teenage mother.

Also taxi driver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Overheard in Dublin must be short of material for the 2010 edition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I was on the bus picking the dead, yellow, crusty stuff from my toes and this bleedin dzope nearly got sick on me !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭baztard

I got sick on a Bus Eireann bus once after a few too many pints, just before my stop. I stood up and walked to the front of the bus to get off. As the driver braked by the stop, a stream of guinness puke ran up the aisle after me for all to see. Not my proudest moment.

Another time on a dublin bus a group of 6 or 7 scangers got on the top deck. A few of them started shouting abuse at some student down the back who was wearing a pink scarf. They were shouting at him calling him pinky and a fag*ot and the likes. One of the skangers knew yer man with the scarf though and started shouting at his buddies telling them to shut the fuk up. His buddies didnt like that, so next thing you know theres 7 scumbags beating the schite out of each other on the bus! It was fuking hilarious. The driver copped what was going on and pulled the bus over. Everyone got off except for the scumbags who were still laying into eachother. There was blood and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Tandey

I got on a bus then i fell asleep choosing not to listen to stupid aul ones giving out bout the weather:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Jagera

I was getting on a bus and the driver said he only takes coins, and they give the change back in receipts and I was "like what twit thought up that system?" and he was like "I'm outta here" and I didnt even get on the bus, he sped off up to 50 miles per hour, and jumped the liffey over a gap in o'connell bridge, and headed off towards the airport without slowing down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

I was on a bus once and it brokeded so the guy comes out and fixes it but tells the driver not to stop again if possible and we had to take a route to college with very few traffic lights and when picking people up we slowed down and let them jump onto the bus...

I was on a bus once and the driver got shot in a tussle between a police officer and some hoodlum despite the fact the cop wasn't after the charlatan in question. Anyway the cop had to drive the bus over a speed of 50mph otherwise a bomb would explode killing us all. We had some fun and highjinx for about 90mins until the cop finally saved us. Man that was a wild bus journey, think it was on the 27B, my memory aint what it was.

Anyway the cop looked very familiar, he reminded me of the guy in the Matrix, funny that.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Jagera

kfallon wrote: »
    I was on a bus once and the driver got shot in a tussle between a police officer and some hoodlum despite the fact the cop wasn't after the charlatan in question. Anyway the cop had to drive the bus over a speed of 50mph otherwise a bomb would explode killing us all. We had some fun and highjinx for about 90mins until the cop finally saved us. Man that was a wild bus journey, think it was on the 27B, my memory aint what it was.

Anyway the cop looked very familiar, he reminded me of the guy in the Matrix, funny that.....

that story is so 7 minutes ago.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

I drive a car. What the heck is a Bus??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Stompbox

Faith+1 wrote: »
    I drive a car. What the heck is a Bus??

If you don't know what a bus is why would you bring up the fact that you drive a car? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭rhythm90

^ Got there before me!

I was on the bus once... thought about it, then copped the f**k on and got a car.*

* Not true, I cant afford one. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

phasers wrote: »
    Replace African with traveller and the same happened to me.

Also Roma.

Also teenage mother.

Also taxi driver.

**reports post for blatant discrimination and attacking minority groups.** After hours doesn't tolerate that kinda thing.........................................anymore :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

It was a warm day and I was on a bus going through rathmines around 4/5pm on my way to tcd student accomadation for a particularly awesome session. The bus was in especially heavy traffic and pulled up to the stop. At the stop there was an exceptionally good looking arty/studenty looking girl wearing a loose top (and as it later transpired no bra) who started bending down to fix something in her bag. From my privileged top-deck position I couldn't help but sneak a peak and to my surprise her breasts were on full display :pac:!

Yeah, that's about as exciting as my bus stories get. The poor guy in front only started looking when it was too late, and he probably got caught too :pac:. Put me in a good mood for the night though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I was on a bus and it was full of people I would have gladly killed.

On the bus home one day and this nice older french couple were looking a bit lost. They asked the driver finally at one point "is this the right direction for going to x"
    He pulled over at the bus stop, explained to them for a few mins what to do to get to where they wanted, let them off and then off we went again. I thought that was lovely of him. It was on the way out of town in the late evening so I guess nobody was in a real rush anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

I was once sitting at the back of the bus, downstairs.

The bus pulled over to let a Granny on. As I was looking out the window at her boarding, one second she was there, next she disappeared.

She fell. It was horrible and I'm not proud, but I did laugh a lot :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

bluewolf wrote: »
    It was on the way out of town in the late evening...

Which town?

Which town?

Does it make any difference?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

bluewolf wrote: »
    Does it make any difference?

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭alexa5x5

Some things I've unfortunately observed over the years on Dublin bus:
    *on my daily bus ride to the city centre a woman would sit and tweeze the hair off her chin and upper lip

*was on a bus going through town, a guy gets on, sit down then hops up again wait for the bus to stop at the next stop. While he’s waiting the $hite that he'd just done falls out the bottom of his trousers.
    *a loved up couple fcuking at the back of a night link.
    *a guy wa*king off a few in the seat ahead of me.
    *lots of fights
    *lots of smoking hash
    ...I wonder why I avoid taking the bus, hhhhhuuuuummmm :rolleyes:

alexa5x5 wrote: »
    *a guy wa*king off a few in the seat ahead of me.

Could have been worse. He could have been in the seat behind you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Once our bus had to speed along maintaining a certain speed, if it went under that speed it would be destroyed, I think it was called the bus through tallaght...

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I was on a bus journey one time an there was an altercation between an older fellow and another passenger. After a minor scuffle there was some leaking and someone calling for an amber lamps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭alexa5x5

bonerm wrote: »
    Could have been worse. He could have been in the seat behind you.

True, true :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Nodster

I got the 46A, went upstairs, sparked up a joint....now what was the question again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

You are all BUS ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭Banji

I was on a bus and two junkies sat next to me. Not cool junkies, not cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

i was on a bus and a few young lads gone on beside aul Mr. Murphy... and they started messin with him!

They even made him wear a bra...

I heard there were 200 cases of force transvesticism involving Mr Murphy last year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Bangbus. The only way to travel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Dartz

It was summer with a bad smell over the city,
    I got on this bus to DunLaoghaire, and this drunk **** told me how to get rich.
    Glad I wasn't going to far on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

I used to get the Score-B or the Deuce 7 home.

Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Public transport is for jerks and lesbians!

I used to get the Score-B or the Deuce 7 home.

Did you ever get thrown off the bus for talking like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

A few years ago..............

Every morning Andrew gets on the Bus at Deansgrange, he gets off in Bray where he goes to this school for the specials. He's one of these lads that has a bit of cop on like being able to work a mobile phone but at the same time will be telling himself jokes and laughing as if he never heard them before, you know, one of those lads! Anyway, he always has his tin of ambrosia creamed rice for the journey. The big tin, he was a big lad though!. He must have forgotten his spoon one morning because i was just sitting there and all i can hear is screaming laughing by a bunch of polski labourers at the back of the bus, i look around and theres poor andrew with a face full of rice and i mean his whole face and neck were fully covered. Unrecognisable so he was. He must've tilted his head back too much craving the creamed rice and.............plop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭mp3kid

Dartz wrote: »

Did you pick up your guitar ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I was on a bus once and some drug addict in front of me made a piss and the bus was sadly going up hill at the time. I tend not to use public transport much anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭bubbaloo

I was on the bus once - Nightlink - and fell asleep and the bus driver had to wake me up when we got to Donybrook terminus. It was the last bus so he had to bring me home in his car! Him and the rest of the drivers gave me some slaggin'! :D

Seriously!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

bonerm wrote: »
    Did you ever get thrown off the bus for talking like that?

noone except a few of my friends and myself called them that, and it was more a joke about the scangers who used to get the bus home too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭flyton5

Dartz wrote: »

Yeah I remember that summer....in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

PaddyBomb wrote: »

*Never happened.

I actually saw something like this happen once. About 3 years ago I was getting the bus to work in the estate I used to live in (bus came through the main road of the estate) and as the bus was coming 2 women were running to the bus stop. One of the women was carrying a toddler and pushing a buggy. She proceeded to give up pushing the buggy and just left it on the path and got on the bus with her friend and (i presume) son. She didnt say anything about the government getting her a new one though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

I was on a bus once and almost got thrown off by the driver of the 75 for not having paid the correct fare. It was 2 days before Christmas and I remember I was in college at the time....he stopped the bus, came down the back, and told me I hadn't paid the extra 20p to go the 3 more stops I needed so I should get off. I told him that as far as I was concerned I'd paid the correct fare, and he told me I was a fare dodger and then went back to driving his bus