Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keep Improving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭PDCAT

Saturday 29/08/15

Tullamore Half Marathon

Plan was to run this at Marathon pace, as part of an 18 mile LSR.
    My half marathon PB was 1.34.56 achieved last year on this course. My planned MP for this race was to run a similar time.

Before the race, I ran a 3 mile warm up at 9.05 pace, then went down and lined up at the start. Plan was to keep the pace at around 7.10 minute per mile.
    Was fairly concerned about my ability to do this. Even though i have already ran 10 mile @ MP twice (once in a race, once on my own), i was expecting my legs to be tired.
    I had ran a 10 mile GA, 48 hours earlier, had ran another 10 mile with 3 mile at 5K race pace earlier in the week along with a VO2 Max Test on Wednesday evening.

For the first mile, i kept to the required pace of 7.10. Due to a lapse in concentration in the second mile, my average pace drifted out to 7.22. Decided here to get a move on, started to catch groups of runners, staying with them for a short while and moving on. Kept my average pace at 7.09/7.11 range for the next number of miles. Was feeling pretty comfortable for the first 6/7 miles and was actually enjoying it. The only issue i was uncomfortable with was the heat. I hate running in the heat and it normally has a negative affect on my performance.

Passing runners, moving on to the next group. I was expecting the legs to start feeling it at some stage and sure enough at about the 8 mile mark, i started to feel it. It wasn't that the pace was too fast, i was feeling fairly comfortable at 7.10 pace, but my legs were like lead. It felt like i was dragging weights behind me. i started to find it tough all of a sudden and was concerned whether or not i'd manage to finish at this pace.

I was thinking of making it to 10 or 12 mile marker and then shut off the pace and run the last couple at recovery. At this stage i had more or less stopped passing people bar one or two. About 4 runners came passed me at this stage. My average pace was starting to slip out to 7.12, then 7.13. I decided if the average pace slipped past 7.15, i'd stop and run the rest at recovery pace. I managed to keep the pace constant at 7.12 for the next couple of miles and on the last mile which is a faster one, managed to speed up slightly.

Crossed the line in 1.34.35 (PB by 21 seconds), managed to complete the race at MP, so happy enough with that.

Done another 1.9 mile cool down after the race to complete the 18 miles. Legs tired, ran it at a very slow 9.27 pace).

Last 5 miles were very tough though. I think having a 10 miler 48 hours earlier and a couple of other tough run's earlier in the week affected my legs. Another day's rest before tackling this would have made a difference i think.

Also, my pace for this Half was targeting a Sub 3.10 Marathon, when my main target is to get a sub 3.15 to get qualifying time for Boston. So my pace's in this training plan are slightly tougher than they need to be.

Sunday 30/08/15

6.00 - 54.46 - (9.08) Recovery

Legs not too bad, a little tired. Took it handy, nice to have an early finish on Sunday. Was able to head off with the two little ones up to Bray for the day.

Monday 31/08/15

6.00 - 53.44 - (8.57) Recovery + Strides

Have moved my runs forward this week. Due to the All Ireland Final on Sunday and my trip to Dublin, i'm going to run my LSR (20 miles) on Saturday. Have moved all runs forward one day to accomodate the change. Legs a little tired last night running this. Threw in a few strides on the last mile.

Tuesday 01/09/15

12.00 - 1.44.32 - (8.42) MLR

Hard one to get motivated for last night after work. Went ok, dark evenings definitely drawing in. Rest day today, another 12 miler with [EMAIL="7@LT"]7@LT[/EMAIL] on Thursday. Definitely not looking forward to that.

Thursday 03/09/15

12.00 - 1.34.57 - Lactate Threshold

Had spotted this run in the plan a couple of weeks ago and was not looking forward to it.
    Plan was 4.5 mile @recovery, 7 mile @LT, .50 mile @recovery (trying to avoid the hills as much as possible, but still very undulating route).
    Plan was to keep pace between 7.03 - 7.08.

4.5M = 9.06

7M = 7.06

.5M = 8.36

Went really well. Legs felt very good last night. Fairly comfortable the whole way through and probably could have kept going at LT pace for a little bit longer.

Friday 05/09/15

5.00 - 45.42 - (9.08) Recovery

Handy run after the LT run the evening before.

Saturday 06/09/15

20.08 - 2.47.30 - (8.20) LSR

Another challenge to complete. Thought the legs would still be in a bad state from Thursday's run, but was ok. In fairness, they felt heavy from the very beginning of this run, but didn't get any worse.
    Glad to get this done.

Have been a very bad boy since this. On Sunday, went to All Ireland Final and heavy drinking (not running) sessions on Sunday/Monday.
    Finally got myself in order today. Am taking a couple of days off from running. Will start back on Friday with a recovery run.

Friday 11/09/15

4.00 - 35.54 - (8.58) General Aerobic

First run since last Saturday, took a few days off after the all ireland celebrations which went on too long. Just wanted to blow off a few cobwebs this morning. Thinking of running Ferns Half Marathon tomorrow. Was supposed to run Athlone but missed the cut off date for entry. Plan is to try and get somewhere around 1.32. I'm not sure what the course is like or what shape i'm in after the weekend.

Saturday 12/09/15

Ferns Half Marathon

Not going to say much other than that this was a disaster and it was all my own doing. Ran 1.34.35 (pb) in Tullamore two weeks ago. Plan on Saturday was to try and get 1.32.xx, which would set me up for Sub 3.15 in Chicago. Planned to run approx 7min miles.
    I struggled right from the start, nothing in the legs, managed to keep going at this pace until mile 8, but was finding it tough going. Then legs just died on me. Stopped to walk for 5 minutes, thinking what to do next. Decided just to jog the last 5 miles to the finish. Came in 1.41.32.

In bits afterwards, legs wrecked, sweated really bad, just wanted to get home.
    What went wrong? Simple:
    Two days of drinking celebrating All Ireland win, no running all week, just a 4 miler on Friday morning, then i expected to PB a half marathon.
    Nothing in the legs, only myself to blame. Trying not to dwell on this - have to move on.

Sunday 13/09/15

12.00 - 1.49.01 - (9.05) Recovery

Original plan was to do this at first half (recovery), second half (MP+20%).
    However, my legs are just shattered after the half marathon, wasn't sure what to do here, cancel the run, shorten the run.
    In the end, ran all 12 miles at recovery pace. Legs still wrecked this morning.

Monday 14/09/15

7.00 - 1.03.42 - (9.06) Recovery

Legs still not great. First mile felt stiff enough, loosened out and last few miles were enjoyable in the pi**es of rain.

Tuesday 15/09/15

10.00 - VO2 Max Session

This run consisted of 4 X .74M (1.2K) reps @5k pace. The last two attempts at this went ok, except for the third rep where due to hills i failed to hit the required pace. Changed route tonight to take a more flatter terrain.
    Warmed up with 2.4 miles recovery jog.
    Plan for the reps was to keep pace between 6.10 - 6.16 (minute per mile pace).
    Went ok, paces were (6.10, 6.13, 6.09, 6.11) with 4.10 minutes jog recovery between reps.

2.4M (9.07 pace)

4 X 0.75m (1.2K) reps @5k pace (4.10 jog in between reps)
    (6.10, 6.13, 6.09, 6.11)

3m (9.08 pace)

Friday 18/09/15

11.00 - 1.35.22 - (8.40) General Aerobic

Legs a little sluggish to begin with, probably because i hadn't ran in two days. However, loosened out after a couple of miles and went ok after.

Saturday 19/09/15

4.00 - 36.43 - (9.10) Recovery

Handy run early Saturday morning. Off to Bunratty Folk Park & Castle for the day with the little ones. Great day out.

Sunday 20/09/15

22.00 - 3.03.35 - (8.20) LSR

Last of the really long run's before taper begins. Went well, felt good. Legs felt a little tired during the last two miles but overall happy with it.

Monday 21/09/15

Spinc & Glenealo Valley Hike

Took a day's holidays from work and myself and the missus travelled up to Glendalough for the day. Drove the two hour drive up to Glendalough. Have completed all the marked trails in Glendalough at one time or another, but decided to do this one as it's probably my favourite. Took about 3 to 3.30 hours, took it handy, stopped for a sandwich on route.
    Legs a little tired after the 22 miler the day before. Stopped off at the Wicklow Heather for dinner afterwards. Great day, especially when you know most other people are working. Good crowd walking around Glendalough today and brilliant weather conditions.
    Probably not the best way to start a three week taper.

Tuesday 22/09/15

8.00 = Total VO2 Max Session

Glutes a little sore, probably from the hiking yesterday.
    Plan was recovery warm up, 5 X .37m (600 meters) @5k pace (2 minute jog recovery), recovery CD. Plan to run intervals between 6.10 - 6.16 minute per mile pace.

2.4M = 9.07 pace

5 X .37m (600meters) = (6.11, 6.10, 6.02, 6.05, 6.10) (2 min jog recovery

2.65M = 9.07

Went ok, ran third & fourth intervals too fast.

Wednesday 23/09/15

6.00 - 54.41 - (9.07) Recovery

Legs very sluggish for this run. A mixture of working evening shift and getting to bed late & also running/hiking for six days in a row.

Friday 25/09/15

4.00 - 36.03 - (9.00) Recovery + Strides

Legs sluggish for this run. Threw in a few strides during the last mile which seem to waken them up somewhat. Plan at the moment is to run a 10k tomorrow and 16 mile on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Bez Bing

Have you got a particular race in mind for the 10K?
    Flat out or leaving a little in the tank?

Your target is Chicago, right?

Bez Bing wrote: »
    Have you got a particular race in mind for the 10K?
    Flat out or leaving a little in the tank?

Your target is Chicago, right?

Thinking of the St Farnan's 10k in Prosperous or maybe the Moone 10k, both on tomorrow. Haven't decided yet. Following the P&D plan and it says to run flat out. So that's what i'll probably do. Have still just over 2 weeks recovery time for Chicago.

I'm following the same plan for NYC ( a couple of weeks behind you).
    I might just do a time trial for the 10K as I don't think there is a race close to me that suits.

Best of luck tomorrow.

I'm following the same plan for NYC ( a couple of weeks behind you).
    I might just do a time trial for the 10K as I don't think there is a race close to me that suits.

Best of luck tomorrow.

Cheers bez bing, I've an hours drive to/from both run's tomorrow. Any further than that and i'd probably have done a time trial myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭hawkwing

I'm on 4 weeks to go of P&D also.
    Did the dublin half on Sat,5*600 Mon, 11 Tues, tried to do a 6.5m time trial last night but it was stormy and the legs were shot--managed 6.5 at MP instead,also a calf soreness flared up.
    This morning did 17m LSR which was really tough going and 40secs/mile slower than the last 17miler which was after a 5 mile time trial the night before 2 weeks ago when i hit the desired race pace.
    The whole 17 miles today was like an extended version of the last 6 in a marathon and the calf was sore also--was near 11min miling at times (Planned MP of 8'30) :o
    I don't see myself doing a race pace 10k followed by a 16 miler 2 weeks out now as i think it is an injury waiting to happen and might do 7-8 GA run instead followed by the 16..

hawkwing wrote: »
    Did the dublin half on Sat,5*600 Mon, 11 Tues, tried to do a 6.5m time trial last night but it was stormy and the legs were shot--managed 6.5 at MP instead,also a calf soreness flared up.
    This morning did 17m LSR which was really tough going and 40secs/mile slower than the last 17miler which was after a 5 mile time trial the night before 2 weeks ago when i hit the desired race pace.
    The whole 17 miles today was like an extended version of the last 6 in a marathon and the calf was sore also--was near 11min miling at times (Planned MP of 8'30) :o
    I don't see myself doing a race pace 10k followed by a 16 miler 2 weeks out now as i think it is an injury waiting to happen and might do 7-8 GA run instead followed by the 16..

Yeah, it might be a good idea to give the 10k race a miss if your legs are feeling it. This is the third time i have used P&D 55 mile plan. The other two times i did not race the 10k three weeks out. On those occasions i just ran 9 -11 mile at GA pace. This was because i couldn't find a 10k located near me to do on those dates. Not running the 10k race had no impact on my marathon performance on both of those occasions.
    Probably the only reason, i'm doing it this time, is i need a bit of confidence back after my recent half marathon disaster.
    Also, i'd like to try and get a sub 42 if possible.

hawkwing wrote: »

Hey hawkwing,
    I don't think the plan has two races back to back like that?

Definitely after a 1/2 marathon the week should be easy enough. I wouldn't would be trying to do a 10K race followed by a 17m long run the week after racing a 1/2. That's just asking for trouble IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭hawkwing

Hey hawkwing,
    I don't think the plan has two races back to back like that?

Definitely after a 1/2 marathon the week should be easy enough. I wouldn't would be trying to do a 10K race followed by a 17m long run the week after racing a 1/2. That's just asking for trouble IMO.
    Hi Bez Bing, I overdid this week for sure.5 weeks to goal had 18 with 14@MP but i did the half instead and raced it,6/4 and 2 weeks to goal have the races before 17 milers,i have done 5*race pace and 6.5* Mp but will prob do a GA of 6-8 now for the third one,better to be safe than sorry at this stage.
    Best of luck PD in the sub 42.

Saturday 26/09/15

Kilomarathon 10K

Decided late Friday Night to travel up to Moone to do this, instead of the St Farnan's 10k in Prosperous as wasn't sure they had on the day registration. Had a look at the course profile for Moone 10k and didn't like the look of the last 1k and wasn't sure if the course was a fast one.
    Anyway, my 10K PB was 42.26, ran three months ago in Portarlingon. On that occasion I had raced a 5K, 48 hours earlier, and thought that i should be able to do better. Goal was sub 42 today. Target 6.40 - 6.45 pace.

Ran a 2 mile warm up before this. About 200 people lined up for this. Could see their were lots of walkers and slower runners, so i lined up near the front. Slightly uphill for the first km and i joined a group of three other runners (Two Newbridge AC runners and a young fella in a red top). Was tracking my average pace per mile trying to keep it close to 6.40 pace. At 1km marker avg pace was 6.38.
    Then steep downhill for the 2KM, avg pace dropped to 6.24. i was concerned this was too fast as it's nearer my 5k race pace.

Course levelled out here and pace dropped to 6.29/6.30. Kept this for the next few Kilometers. Basically i was just tracking the two Newbridge runners who were pushing the pace alittle. The guy in the red top dropped off the pace at the 4km mark. I was feeling fairly comfortable at this stage, pace was averaging 6.31, the newbridge guys would pull away a few meters and then i would join back with them. This happened multiple times during the race. Went through 5k at 20.12, realised that sub 41 might be on.

Around 6k, the two newbridge guys pulled away from me and stayed about 20 meters ahead for most of the rest of the race. We passed another runner at 7k. I went through 4mile at 26.08 (current PB - 26.42). Went through 5mile at 32.44 (current PB - 34.21). Still feeling pretty good at this stage. At about 8KM mark, i started to think about the hill towards the finish. Wasnt sure how steep or long it was and was hoping that it wouldn't slow me up too much.

Pace held pretty constant at 6.33 pace, passed 9km mark. Around this time, passed a guy in a white long sleeved top and then entering the last KM, saw the hill, didn't seem too bad, passed one of the newbridge runners and held my pace pretty much up to the finish. Battled as hard as i could as really happy to finish in 40.37 (PB by 1 minute 49 seconds).

Really satisfied with that run. Restores some confidence after the Ferns half marathon disaster. Start of this year i had a soft 43.56 10k pb. Have knocked over 3 minutes off that this year which is decent enough going for me. Mcmillan has my 5k & 10k pb's matching up perfecting for the first time ever. Based on this run, mcmillan has me knocking nice size bites off all the other distances and 3.10 for marathon.
    All in all a good day and would definitely recommend this course and race.

Sunday 27/09/15

16.00 - 2.21.04 - (8.49) LSR

Decided to run this a little slower due to the 10k the day before. First 8 miles at recovery pace (9.04). Second 8 miles at MP+20% (8.34). Ran the second 8 miles about 10 seconds per mile too fast. Legs ok, upper body a little tired alright. Maybe if done more core work, this wouldnt be an issue.

Monday 28/09/15

7.00 - 1.00.37 - (8.39) General Aerobic + Strides

Plan was to rest on Monday and do this run on Tuesday.
    However, very early into work meant was home nice and early yesterday. Decided to get this out of the way. Legs/Body tired after the run's over the weekend and long day in work.
    Looking forward to the rest today as i need it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Sharkey47

Hey pdcat, well done on your 10k PB . A nice pick up after your disappointment in the last half marathon. If it wasn't for kk winning the all Ireland sure the training cycle would have been perfect! Not long to go to Chicago now...

Sharkey47 wrote: »
    Hey pdcat, well done on your 10k PB . A nice pick up after your disappointment in the last half marathon. If it wasn't for kk winning the all Ireland sure the training cycle would have been perfect! Not long to go to Chicago now...

Thanks Sharkey47, yeah was happy with that. Never thought i'd be close to the 40 minutes. Regarding KK winning, i wouldn't have it any other way (well maybe if i went easy on the beer).
    How's Frankfurt training going? You haven't got too long yourself. Is there many of ye going over?

Wednesday 30/09/15

8.00 - VO2 Max Session

Ran 2.4 mile warm up, followed by 3 X .99mile (1,600metres) @ 5k pace with 5.40 minute jog recovery in between. Then 1 mile CD.
    Only my third time ever to run this session - Went ok, tough going at times - hit the required paces. However was generous to myself with 5.40 minute recovery.

2.4M = 9.10 (pace)

3 X .98M Intervals (6.10, 6.10, 6.11)

1M = 9.09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Sharkey47

Believe it or not I amn't running Frankfurt. I had a chest infection which knocked me for six. I didn't run at all for two weeks and even after that the recovery was slow. So just trying to build it up slowly again. Will be in Frankfurt supporting ( not the first marathon doing that !). There are a good crew from the brother's club going and they are all going really well. My next race will be Stook with Rotterdam in April being in mind.

Sharkey47 wrote: »
    Believe it or not I amn't running Frankfurt. I had a chest infection which knocked me for six. I didn't run at all for two weeks and even after that the recovery was slow. So just trying to build it up slowly again. Will be in Frankfurt supporting ( not the first marathon doing that !). There are a good crew from the brother's club going and they are all going really well. My next race will be Stook with Rotterdam in April being in mind.

Sorry to hear about Frankfurt. Gives you decent amount of time to train for Rotterdam which is a fast course anyway. Might bump into you at the stook. Haven't looked beyond Chicago yet, so not sure how i'm fixed for the stook run.

Friday 02/10/15

5.00 - 45.21 - (9.04) Recovery + Strides

Handy run after work with a few strides during the last mile.

8K Sponsored Night Walk

Just back from my run and the missus asked me to do this night walk in a local village. Started at 7.30pm, up a local mountain using back roads. About 200 people walking in the dark, so torches needed. Lots of food after.

Sunday 04/10/15

12.00 - 1.40.00 - (8.20) LSR

Ran first 6 miles at MP+20% (8.41) and second 6 miles at MP+10% (7.59).
    Legs didn't feel great for the first few miles but ok once they warmed up a little.

Monday 05/10/15

6.00 - 55.02- (9.10) Recovery

Virtually all recovery pace run's this week. Working evening's so expecting legs to be a little tired in the morning for these.

Tuesday 06/10/15

7.00 - 1.00.05 -(8.35) Recovery with 2M @MP

Always dislike this run as when i'm finished the 2m @MP, i always say, 'how the hell am i going to run 26 of these on Sunday'.
    Ran 2 mile at recovery, 2 mile @MP, then 3 mile recovery.
    Whilst running the 2 mile at marathon pace, it felt like i was racing, wasn't as comfortable and easy as i'd hoped.

2M = 9.11 (minute per mile).

2M = 7.11

3M = 9.07

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

I'm always the same for that last mp session! Best of luck man - enjoy the trip.