Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keep Improving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Time?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭PDCAT

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    Time?????

Apologies Bulmers - Only back to work today, so haven't been logged on.

3.17.50 was the time. Pace was between 3.16 - 3.18 for most of the marathon. Probably lost about 40 - 50 seconds (nothing major) in the last couple of miles as i slowed slightly.
    Will stick up some type of report later..

menoscemo wrote: »
    Cracking run on Sunday!!

Thank Meno. Great run yourself.
    Enjoyed the few scoops Sunday night.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

PDCAT wrote: »

3.17.50 was the time. Pace was between 3.16 - 3.18 for most of the marathon. Probably lost about 40 - 50 seconds (nothing major) in the last couple of miles as i slowed slightly.

Congratulations! Enjoyed following your training and looking forward to the report!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

When is the your next race PDcat? What time are you hoping to finish it.

Not sure yet Greenmachine.

Next Marathon looks like it could be chicago.
    Got email confirmation today that i'm in.
    Have to convince herself. If i race it, i'll go for sub 3.10.

Plan is to get some speedwork done in the next couple of month's. I really need to improve my times at shorter distance's or else i can't see much improvement on London.

I'll probably be running a few shorter distance's over the next couple of months.

Ososlo wrote: »
    Congratulations! Enjoyed following your training and looking forward to the report!

Thanks Ososlo.

London Marathon

Backround

When i booked this marathon after Berlin, my initial goal was just to run and enjoy it, no time goal. Then i thought maybe i'd train for sub 3.20 and make a final decison based on how training was going.
    This was my 6th marathon. Previous attempts were:
    Dublin 2011 (4.13), Florence 2012 (3.43), Amsterdam 2013 (3.36), Connemara 2014 (3.51 - not racing), Berlin 2014 (3.26).

In the first 3 marathon's i had trained using the Hal Hidgon intermediate plan. After a kind of disappointing run in Amsterdam, i changed to the P&D 55 mile plan for Berlin having seen from boards the success some were having with this.
    Was very happy with the performance in Berlin, so decided to stick with this for London, just changing some paces.

The 18 training plan went well. Completed 88 out of the 90 training sessions and met most of the training paces. However, i didn't feel that i had progressed too much. i ran both 10K and 10 Mile PB's. However, these were two year old PB's and i felt they were soft and the majority of the gains were made pre Berlin.
    No improvement in a recent 5k race, didn't help my confidence either.

I was basing my sub 3.20 on:
    1. Was very comfortable in Berlin. I think i could have ran a couple of minutes faster if i had pushed.
    2. Online calculators were putting me somewhere between 3.16 - 3.24.
    3. Had completed some MP training runs. (10 mile on my own, half marathon in Wicklow).

Race

Miles 1 - 5

I started in the Blue Start area, in Zone 3, no far behind the 3.15 pacers.
    I found the start a little more congested than any of the other previous marathon's that i'd done. i wasn't too panicked but still my first mile was 7.52, about 20 seconds outside my target pace.
    In the second mile, i started to increase my pace as the crowd thinned a little. However, i had to pull over for a toilet break, which knocked me back again. Went through 2 miles, about 40 seconds down on my target pace.
    The next three miles went fairly quickly, legs feeling good mixed in with some downhill, i managed to pull my average pace from 7.45 to 7.25.
    At five mile i was ahead of planned pace by about 1 minute.
    Went through first 5k in (23.31).

Mile 5 - 10

Took my first gel at mile 5.5. i was getting a little confused at the water stops. I normally take on a little water every 3 miles, but water seemed to be dispensed at every two miles. i was skipping some stations and just grabbing a bottle when it suited me.
    Was finding the pace at this stage fairly comfortable. Passed the Cutty Sark, crowds were great. Having watched this race every year on TV, it was surreal to be running around this area. Felt like i was dreaming to be honest. Kept tipping away, passed my Wife & Sister at mile 7.
    Nearly missed them as the crowds were just so loud, it was almost impossible to hear them shout out my name.
    Second 5k was (23.06). Next few miles ticked along very quickly, a sign that i was feeling good.
    Third 5k was (23.17), so was running consistent splits.

Miles 10 - 15

Again, next couple of miles went ok. Took another gel at mile 10.5.
    Went through half way point at 1.38.13, about one minute faster than planned. Was happy enough as the legs felt ok. Fourth & Fifth 5K split's were (23.18) & (23.08). Crowds were great at Tower Bridge, had a good look to see could i see Denise Lewis on the bridge, but alas, no sign of her
    Wife and Sister were supposed to be at mile 14, so i spent about 10 - 15 minutes looking out for them. Never spotted them, but looking for them, took my mind off the race and it actually was a help.
    Took another gel at mile 15, as i felt i needed it.

Mile 15 - 20

Around Mile 16, i started to feel it a little. I was thinking, here it goes, i'm going to blow up. My pace wasn't actually slowing, it was just that i was working slightly harder. In fairness after about one mile, this feeling went away and i ran through miles 17, 18, & 19 feeling good.
    My sixth & seventh 5k splits were (23.16) & (23.36), so i was still holding pace fairly well.

Miles 20 - Finish

Went through mile 20 & 21 with no problems, still wondering when i was going to blow. Saying to myself, 'how am i doing this', surely im not in shape to get 3.20'. Passed my missus at mile 22, gave them a wave. They said i was looking good, however it was around here that i started to feel it. I knew now, it was down to how much i'd be able to dig in.
    That's exactly what i did, just concentrated on keeping pace as best i could. Counting down the last few miles, taking water on, and took gels at miles 21 & 24. Poured water over my head and ran through some of the shower's to cool me down.
    Eight 5k split was (24.11), my slowest of the race, about 30 seconds slower than the other's. I actually didn't feel like i was slowing, obviously i was. Passed Big Ben, but was so focused, i never realised it, was getting impatient now to get to the finish.
    Onto Birdcage walk and passed Buck House, knew i had it, put my fist in the air, saw my time was 3.17 and i pushed for the line to make sure i'd get the sub 3.18. Stopped the watch at 3.17.50 (PB by 9 minutes 06 seconds)

Absolutely delighted with this and a little emotional at the finish line.
    It was back to the hotel for a couple of hours kip, nice shower, lovely mexican and few beers with some boardies inthe coal hole.
    All in all, it couldn't have went much better.....

Wednesday 29/04/15

4.00 - 37.36 - (9.22) Recovery

I normally take a week off running after the Marathon, but decided to get straight back into some form of running this week for two reasons.
    Firstly, i'm pacing 1.50 for the Limerick Half Marathon this Sunday, so want to get out a couple of times to loosen the legs.
    Secondly, have a minor medical procedure to get done early next week. Posposed this surgery until after London, which the doctor was fine with. Told me i can't run for two weeks post this procedure, so i wanted to get some running done this week as i don't want to be idle for three weeks.

Plan after the two weeks at the moment, looks like:

1 week recovery running
    6 weeks speed work (Parkruns, 5k paced runs, tempo's etc)
    14 week P&D Marathon Plan (not sure whether 55 mile or 70 mile plan)

Got email confirmation that i'm in for Chicago in October.

At the moment that's the plan, all subject to change of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Sharkey47

Hi PDCAT , congratulations on your time. You have made tremendous progress over the past two marathons. I had seen your time on Sunday but didn't want to comment before you did. All your fears beforehand about sluggishness were unfounded! I see you got into Chicago.....would you consider giving yourself a break from intensive mararthon training and just do it as a more enjoyable long run?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Cracking run PDCAT - you have me by 17 seconds :) Great report, loved the way you dug in over the last bit.

Sharkey47 wrote: »
    Hi PDCAT , congratulations on your time. You have made tremendous progress over the past two marathons. I had seen your time on Sunday but didn't want to comment before you did. All your fears beforehand about sluggishness were unfounded! I see you got into Chicago.....would you consider giving yourself a break from intensive mararthon training and just do it as a more enjoyable long run?

Thanks Sharkey47. I think the key for me over the last two Marathon's has been switching to the P&D 55 mpw training plan.

To be honest, i was half hoping that i wouldn't get in to Chicago.
    From what i can ascertain, New York & Boston are slower marathon's and not PB course's where i wouldn't be going for time.
    If i had not got in to Chicago this year, i would have travelled with Sports International and done New York as an easy enjoyable run.
    The fact that im in for Chicago, my thinking at the moment is to race it as apart from New York & Boston, i don't have any interest in doing any other marathons and Chicago may be my last fast one for a while.

My longer term plans (2016, 2017) revolve around doing (New York, Boston & Conn Ultra and not racing marathon's.
    I dont really want to turn down running Chicago as it may be a while before i come out in the lottery again.
    So, I have a bit of thinking to do, as i didn't really want to be racing another one this year.

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    Cracking run PDCAT - you have me by 17 seconds :) Great report, loved the way you dug in over the last bit.

Thanks Bulmers74 - Don't think your PB will last too long. I've no doubt you'll smash it this weekend..

Friday 01/05/15

4.00 - 36.37 - (9.09) Recovery

Nothing much to report. Legs felt good and found it difficult to keep this slow.

Sunday 03/05/15

Limerick Half Marathon (Pacer)

Got a late call up to pace the 1.50 group yesterday.
    Really enjoyed it, had done the 2.00 group last year and found running at the faster pace even more enjoyable. Nice size group of people and quite a number of them pushed on in the last couple of miles to finish ahead of us.
    Crossed the line in 1.49.28. (8.20 pace).
    Always a very good atmosphere for this run. Would have loved to stayed down in Limerick for the night but no baby sitter so had to rush off home.

No running for the next two weeks as have a minor medical procedure to get done this afternoon. Will be pulling my hair out the next two weeks......

Monday 18/05/15

7.00 - 1.03.43 - (9.06) General Aerobic

After two weeks off running due to a minor surgery, i was very glad to be back out there this morning.
    Last time out was the Great Limerick Half Marathon and wasn't sure how the legs would be. However, no major issues.
    Plan this week is follow P&D post marathon recovery plan (starting at the final week)
    Then follow a self made 8 week plan which incorporates two speed sessions per week.
    Will see how it goes.

Tuesday 19/05/15

5.00 - 46.02 - (9.12) Recovery

Felt very tired & sluggish during this run. Working evening shift, so that didn't help, but woke up this morning with a slight sore throat. Don't feel great, hoping it doesn't get any worse.
    Very busy week ahead with two doctor appointments, long shift's at work and friends 40th Birthday party on Sat night.
    Going have to juggle things around in order to get all my run's in this week.

Thursday 21/05/15

8.00 - 1.11.54 - (8.57) General Aerobic + Strides

Wasn't planning on getting in this run until tomorrow, but got out of consultant's appointment very quickly so had time. Legs felt good, a few strides at the end went ok.
    Slight discomfort/soreness in my right lower stomach area which has been annoying me on and off for the past 4/5 months.
    Only seems to affect me when running at fast pace (strides +5k pace runs). As i'm heading into 8 weeks of faster stuff, hope this isn't going to be a problem.

Friday 22/05/15

4.00 - 36.47 - (9.11) Recovery

Bit of a slog, even though it was a short run. Put too much gear on me because it was raining when i left the house. But unusually warm out and felt the heat. 11 miler tomorrow morning.

Saturday 23/05/15

11.00 - 1.37.44 - (8.53) LSR

First LSR in three weeks. Found the first half fine, second half tough. Think it may have been the heat that caused me to struggle a little.
    Attended a mate's 40th party on Saturday night. Late night and overindulged myself.
    Done a 4K walk Sunday morning to clear the head.

Tuesday 26/05/15

8.00 - 1.12.43 - (9.05) Easy

Start of an eight week self made plan to hopefully improve speed.
    Plan looks something like:

Tuesday = 8 mile Easy
    Wednesday = Total 6 mile includes either(4K Club race, 4M Tempo, 5k reps, Hill repeats) changing each week.
    Thursday = 6 mile recovery
    Saturday = 5k Park run
    Sunday = 14/16 mile LSR

Plan involves 2 X speed, 1 X easy, 1 X recovery, 1 X LSR (Mileage approx 40 - 42 miles per week).
    i do very little speed work, hoping the two faster run's each week will help me improve.
    However, this weekend i won't get to run as i'm off to Wales for three days. Target at beginning of the year was to hike up Mount Snowdon, so off this weekend to do this.

Wednesday 27/05/15

6 Miles = Total

Drove to Rossmore outside Carlow for the St abbans 4k Fit for life run.
    Started with a 2 mile (9.30 pace) warm up before the run. Very hilly country up there.
    Then ran the 4k (2.5 mile). Didn't go very well. Was hoping based on my 5k time to get under 16 minutes. How ever due to the toughness of the course and my lack of speed work, struggled home in 16.22, quite a few seconds off where i wanted to be.
    Not too disappointed though as the purpose of these are just to improve my speed and i'm not taking them too seriously.
    Cool down with another 1.5 miles.

One worrying thing at the moment is a dull ache in my lower stomach area. Felt it during the run last night. Hurts when i cough or sneeze. Hope it's not a hernia issue.
    Will watch it over the next few days, while in wales. May have to drop into the physio next week and see what he thinks.

Thursday 28/05/15

6.00 - 55.20 - (9.13) Recovery

Took it nice and easy.

Saturday 30/05/15

Snowdon

Another Target of mine this year was to hike up Snowdon (highest mountain in Wales). Went over on the boat on Friday for three nights, brought the car and stayed in (betws-y-coed) a small tourist town in snowdonia.
    On Saturday morning, got the sherpa bus to Pen Y Pass car park and myself and the missus used the Pyg Track to ascend and the Miners Track to descend. Really enjoyable trek, lovely weather, great views and lots of people on the route. Took about 4.5 hours in total.
    Sunday was mainly driving and taking tours of Llechwedd Slate Caverns, Sygun Copper Mines, Harlech Castle, Portomerion and lots of driving around the National park.

Tuesday 02/06/15

8.00 - 1.12.01 - (9.00) Easy

Ran this a little too fast. After a couple of days rest, had no issues with the lower stomach area until i started running again. As soon, as i commenced this run i could feel it. Nothing to prevent me from running but concious of it nonetheless.

Wednesday 03/06/15

6.00 = Total Miles

Went into the Watershed track this morning.
    Plan was to run 10 x 400m reps at approx 92 seconds with 200m recovery.

Found this very tough and decided to stop after 8 reps as plan to do a Parkrun 5k on Saturday.

1.10 Miles (9.05 pace)

8 X 400m reps (93, 94, 90, 91, 90, 91, 92, 92) 200m recovery

1.90 Miles (9.01 pace)

Thursday 04/06/15

6.00 - 55.06 - (9.11) Recovery

Really nice morning for this run. Luckily i'm fortunate to live in a quiet country village with little traffic passing through. Very quiet out this morning with lovely weather. Perfect morning for running.

Saturday 06/06/15

6 Miles = Total

Parkrun 5k

First time to run one of these. Travelled the few miles into the Castle park in Kilkenny. Done 2 mile warm up, then the 5k race and 0.9 mile cool down.
    It's a slower course so wasnt expecting a great time. Anywhere between 20.30 - 21.00 would have done. Started off too fast and by 0.5 mile marker i was at 6.01 pace (much too fast for me). Let a few runners pass me as i steadied my pace. Passed four of them later on. By 1.5 mile marker my pace was at 6.22 which was much more reasonable. However last mile or so i struggled a bit. Passed out a few runners but my pace had slowed and finished in 20.51 (6th place).
    Four of us crossed the line within 2 seconds of each other with me last of the four. Very enjoyable run on a beautiful morning.
    Due to the tougher nature of the course and my two weeks off running due to operation, i'm not expecting great times from these run's. Hoping they'll improve over the coming weeks.

Sunday 07/06/15

14.00 - 2.05.54 - (8.59) LSR

Savage weather for running. Started this at a very comfortable pace, enjoying the morning. As the legs warmed up the pace increased. Found the run very easy and most enjoyable. Great start to the day.

Tuesday 09/06/15

8.00 - 1.11.01 - (8.52) Easy

Really hot evening and an enjoyable run. Ran this too fast. Plan to run these between 9.05 - 9.10. Tried to slow down but legs felt good. No stomach issues last night for first time in a week or so.
    Plan to run St Abban's 4k Club League tonight, so that'll show up any problems if its still there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Tuesday 09/06/15

8.00 - 1.11.01 - (8.52) Easy

Really hot evening and an enjoyable run. Ran this too fast. Plan to run these between 9.05 - 9.10. Tried to slow down but legs felt good. No stomach issues last night for first time in a week or so.
    Plan to run St Abban's 4k Club League tonight, so that'll show up any problems if its still there.

Good luck at St Abban's hope it goes well for you.

Wednesday 10/06/15

6 Miles = Total

Drove to Newtown outside Carlow for the St Abbans 4k Fit for life run.
    Started with a 2 mile (9.13 pace) warm up before the run. Then ran the 4k (2.5 mile).

Very hilly course, similiar to two weeks ago. First 1.25K was all uphill.
    I took my time a little here, two groups seemed to form, first group made up of good club runners, second group more slower runners, led by me.
    Their was about 30 metre gap between myself and the first group which never closed. Noticed at the 1K mark that the course distance was off by about 100+ meters. Every K mark after this to the finish was about the same distance off. At the top of the hill my average pace was 6.46 minutes per mile. Then next 1.5K was steep downhill, held back slightly here as i knew their must be uphill to come. Average pace at the bottom of the hill was 6.27.
    Then turned for home and the last 1.5K was all uphill. Knocked the stuffing out of me, seemed to go on for ever. Passed two runners here and was gaining on another but couldn't quiet get there.
    Crossed the line in 16.08, (14 seconds) quicker than two weeks ago on a different course. Noticed the distance on the garmin was 2.41 miles, so course a fair bit short, hence the improved time.

Cool down with another 1.5 miles (9.38 pace). Good workout though and not really bothered with the time. These courses are just dog rough....and just using them for some speedwork.

Some spread of food after these events. Its worth coming just for the free buns, cakes & sandwiches. I'll never lose weight at this rate.

Thursday 11/06/15

6.00 - 54.56 - (9.09) Recovery

Little bit of a slog, not too bad though. Rest day today and Parkrun 5k on Sat morning.

Saturday 13/06/15

6 Miles = Total

Parkrun 5k

Done 2 mile warm up, then the 5k race and 0.9 mile cool down.

Brought the two little ones in with me and they had a picnic in the park with the Au Pair while i was running.
    I started off a little slower than last week. After half a mile my pace was 6.21 minute per mile. I was lying in about 10th place. Soon after this we hit a hill, i passed 5 of the runners in front who were all grouped together. Shortly after, one of them passed by me fairly comfortably, he was obviously pacing himself much better than me.
    Passed through the end of lap one with average pace of 6.31, and basically try to maintain this pace for the rest of the race. Passed one more runner on the final lap with another guy just behind me breathing down my neck.
    Crossed the line in 20.52 (5th place),one second slower than last week. Found it tougher than last week for some reason.
    For the second week the course measured 3.17 miles on my garmin, so it might be slightly long. In addition to this the narrow twists and turn's, running on trails and two short hills which have to be encounted on each of the three laps make it a more difficult course.

Sunday 14/06/15

14.00 - 2.04.15 - (8.52) LSR

Another really beautiful morning for running. Out early enough, nobody on the roads, legs felt good. Was buzzing when i got home after this run.

Tuesday 16/06/15

8.00 - 1.12.36 - (9.04) Easy

Mind was elsewhere this morning as the family dog was knocked down by a tractor. Unfortunately she didn't make it and quite a few tears around the house this morning. She used to come on lots of hikes with myself and the missus through the years, Slievenamon, Mount Brandon as well as lots of local ones as well.
    Legs felt good, time flew by and hardly noticed the run as i was still thinking of the dog....:(

Tomorrow's run is a 6 mile including 4 mile tempo at 10k pace. Will be tough enough as a few hills in the route.