Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's your opinion on how James Toney will do in UFC ?

• 25-08-2010 06:54PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭

He's fighting in the UFC against former UFC champion Randy Coutoure. So boxing fans, is James Toney gonna prove Boxing can out fight Mixed Martial Arts ?

Not in a cage he won't. If Couture is stupid enough to keep it standing he has the fight won. But if Couture can take Toney down then the momentum would hugely be in favour of Couture. The only positive for Toney is that Couture's takedowns have been getting slower in his last few matches and Toney may catch him with an uppercut while he's shooting for one. It's a sideshow. This fight doesn't represent anything other than a horrible mismatch. I think Boxing and MMA should be viewed as what they are. Two totally seperate sports. It's only hardcore fanboys that make comparisons between the two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

Tooney hasn't a hope.Boxer v grappler... ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,284 ✭✭✭✭walshb

digme wrote: »
    Tooney hasn't a hope.Boxer v grappler... ridiculous.

No offence, but what you are saying seems ridiculous, and very vague.

If it's a grappling match I could understand, but it's a fight, which can
    mean nearly any method they care to use. In order for the grappler to gain advanatge, he must first get close enough to begin to grapple, now do you think a boxer will simply allow this without any defence or opposition?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,025 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Toney hasn't a chance in hell once he's off his feet and I suspect Couture won't want to leaving Toney standing for too long either as that's the only danger he possesses.

I can't imagine Toney's takedown defence being great either so basically his best(only) defence will be his offence. He's got to knock Couture out with a shot as he comes in to take him down and that could be very difficult.
    IMO he's got a less than 1% chance of winning this fight.

With that said if Couture is stupid enough to do what Tim Sylvia did(he tried to stand up and fight with Ray Mercer) then Toney possibly becomes the favourite.
    I seriously doubt Randy Couture is that stupid however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

Imagine if Chuck Lidell challenged Vitali Klitschko under the marquess of queensberry rules. Coutures best days may be behind him but he should deal with Toney with ease.
    Its a fight and anything can happen but the only way Toney can win is with excellent coaching, sticking to a game plan and Couture making a huge mistake.
    Dana white couldnt have picked a better boxer to put in the ring. He really couldnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Toney is going up against Couture, who is one of the smartest fighters in the World in MMA. Couture knows every little trick, escape and move to make Toney look very amatuerish. It is going to happen. I also think Randy is going to use a lot of low kicks on Toney and if he uses a lot of them early against Toney, Toney could easily be stopped by the third because they are MMA's equivalent of the body shot. Randy wins this imo by UD (30-27 on all 3 cards)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Toney hasn't a hope.Boxer v grappler... ridiculous.

Not accurate or true, Randy is not just a grappler, he is a trained Mixed martial artist who uses his Grappling as his main tool, if he had nothing but wrestling it would be a fair comparison but then he would not be skilled at Ground and Pound, Submissions and his stand up would be poor, at the moment he knows enough Boxing to cope in the stand up range, he's training Boxing many years so a fair comparison would be if Toney had the same time learning Wrestling.

Pure Boxing V Pure Wrestling is still a talking point but in reality the wrestler who could challenge in this type of match will need to be tough and able to take punches and not your normal every day wrestler, like most of the MMA wrestlers, not every wrestler would have the balls or the chin to do that. then even after saying that it would really depend on the day, or if 1 actually trained to fight the other, if not then its just, throw them in and see what happens.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,594 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

If Couture takes Toney down...it'll be over quickly. I doubt Couture will be foolish enough to try and prove he can trade with a boxer, so the only outcome i see is a quick takedown by Couture, resulting in a win for him early in the first round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭iii Stevo iii

Toney when first putting on UFC Gloves:

"when I first put these on I said 'pop what these for' ,I said, 'are they for me to hit the speed bag or the heavy bag?'
    he said no son you fight in them ........ i said 'bull****, are u kiddin me?'
    I said "you better get the bail money ready, cos whoever i hit ...... aint gonna be nothin left."

Legend.

Toney when first putting on UFC Gloves:

"when I first put these on I said 'pop what these for' ,I said, 'are they for me to hit the speed bag or the heavy bag?'
    he said no son you fight in them ........ i said 'bull****, are u kiddin me?'
    I said "you better get the bail money ready, cos whoever i hit ...... aint gonna be nothin left."

Legend.

Dickhead if you ask me. All he did for the Countdown show was talk smack. Couture has said that he is not going to finish him but instead give him a 15 minute beatdown to shut all the boxers who talk smack about MMA up. I hope we see that.

walshb wrote: »
    No offence, but what you are saying seems ridiculous, and very vague.

If it's a grappling match I could understand, but it's a fight, which can
    mean nearly any method they care to use. In order for the grappler to gain advanatge, he must first get close enough to begin to grapple, now do you think a boxer will simply allow this without any defence or opposition?
    i'll give tooney 30 seconds and he's on his back like a tortoise

Since when does Randy take people down that early in a fight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭TechnoPool

unknown13 wrote: »
    Since when does Randy take people down that early in a fight

it will be up against the cage for a bit before a takedown but i dont expect it to stay standing too long, all in all a ****e fight

Well, at least now you are giving a little insight into why Toney gets whupped, as opposed to your original, "Tooney hasn't a hope.Boxer v grappler... ridiculous."

This may well happen, and plenty of other scenarios may well happen.

I think some are being far too confident of the outcome here, when they really know **** all about Toney's conditioning, skills, new skills etc etc.

This is pretty much an "anything goes" fight, and this alone should logically lead folks to believe that anything can happen.

Too many permutations in this for me to confidently pick a winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

unknown13 wrote: »
    Dickhead if you ask me. All he did for the Countdown show was talk smack. Couture has said that he is not going to finish him but instead give him a 15 minute beatdown to shut all the boxers who talk smack about MMA up. I hope we see that.

As much of a mismatch as it is I dont think he should be that cocky. Toney might be shot but he isnt beyond landing one perfect punch if presented with the oppurtunity.
    No boxer in his prime is ever gonna take part in an mma fight to save the name of boxing. Fss some boxers wont even participate in boxing matches to save the name of boxing!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭keane=cock

is this on tele?

keane=cock wrote: »
    is this on tele?

ESPN at 3 am sunday morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

Cotoure TKO1... no other result makes sense.

Jaysoose wrote: »
    Cotoure TKO1... no other result makes sense.

Personally I think some of these posts aren't making sense.

How about his result: Toney wins KO 1 from a perfectly timed
    heavy head punch? Could this make sense?

Look fellas, it's a fight, and in a fight, anything can pan out when
    you have two skilled combatants.

Personally I think some of these posts aren't making sense.

How about his result: Toney wins KO 1 from a perfectly timed
    heavy head punch? Could this make sense?

There is no way toney will be able to compete In this fight as hd will get taken down with ease. Fair play to him for taking on a high level fighter as his debut, but he will be out of his depth on so many levels. Cotoure will clinch and put him against the cage and from that point on toney won't have the first clue what to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭whaaames

Randy is an old man now, an absolute legend who has my total admiration and respect but is the last 18 months he has shown he has slowed and is capable of being whipped, only the UFC have matched him sensibly and not let that happen....

James Toney is another legend but its a different ball game altogether, he's going into unknown territory. He says he's training hand and wants this but all he keeps saying is that he's gonna knock Randy out...if that's what he's relying on then he'll lose...
    Randy won't let the fight stay standign, he'd be mad.
    I'd say they'll suss each other out for a few minutes, but once Randy has a chance to take Toney down he will, and that's where the fight will be won...

Obviously if Jamesn catches Randy that's gonna be it but Randy has too much experience to stand there trading with him...

I'd imagine randy will win by submission but it won't prove anything at all...

whaaames wrote: »
    Randy is an old man now, an absolute legend who has my total admiration and respect but is the last 18 months he has shown he has slowed and is capable of being whipped, only the UFC have matched him sensibly and not let that happen....

James Toney is another legend but its a different ball game altogether, he's going into unknown territory. He says he's training hand and wants this but all he keeps saying is that he's gonna knock Randy out...if that's what he's relying on then he'll lose...
    Randy won't let the fight stay standign, he'd be mad.
    I'd say they'll suss each other out for a few minutes, but once Randy has a chance to take Toney down he will, and that's where the fight will be won...

Obviously if Jamesn catches Randy that's gonna be it but Randy has too much experience to stand there trading with him...

I'd imagine randy will win by submission but it won't prove anything at all...

Brandon Vera, Big Nog, Brock lesnar is being matched sensibly? Hmmmm kay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

due to randy's experience and around skills he would be clear favorite. But with MMA you never know, one well connect punch with 4 ounce gloves and its all over.

Plenty of styles of martial arts have made a successful crossover to mma I don’t see why not in time we start to see boxers cross training and doing well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭whaaames

Jaysoose wrote: »
    Brandon Vera, Big Nog, Brock lesnar is being matched sensibly? Hmmmm kay.

I was talking about Mark Coleman, a shot Nogueira and yes even Vera, even Randy being an old man he was always gonna be too much for Brandon...

And i did say 18 months so thats after Lesner which was a title defense...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭BoxingIrel.com

I hope Toney brings a knife into the cage with him and stabs Randy in the heart to solve once and for all that boxing is superior to MMA! :cool:

toney weigh-in and checked in at a ridiculous 237 pounds :rolleyes:

70 pounds or 5 stone in excess of what he was at his peak.

Forget Boxing v. MMA, the only debate that settled was that the UFC is a circus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,357 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

This is true.

But in this fight there is only one skilled combatant.

Toney is a great Boxer, but he is not a skilled Mixed Martial Artist.

Forget Boxing v. MMA, the only debate that settled was that the UFC is a circus!

Spoken with true ignorance!

this is not boxing versus mma , this is an mma fight.
    Toney is a lump and he won't be winning anything tonight. :)

70 pounds or 5 stone in excess of what he was at his peak.

How ?

siochain wrote: »
    How ?
    siochain this has been done to death.... add +5 pages of mma v boxing bs.....

How ?

you really need to ask.

Even Dana White said this was a circus and only allowed the fight because Toney was relentless.

you really need to ask.

Even Dana White said this was a circus and only allowed the fight because Toney was relentless.

Obviously, that’s why I asked!

I'm sure he was stating this fight is a circus as opposed to the UFC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I hope toney gets a decent check for this.

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    I hope toney gets a decent check for this.

If i was gonna be embarrassed the way he's gonna be i'd want a big cheque too!

MrStuffins wrote: »
    If i was gonna be embarrassed the way he's gonna be i'd want a big cheque too!

to be honest, I would be embarrassed to be anywhere near an arena that was hosting any UFC event.

Its like a convention for the mentally deformed. I just thank the clothing brand Affliction for helping me avoid these clowns in my day to day life.

to be honest, I would be embarrassed to be anywhere near an arena that was hosting any UFC event.

Its like a convention for the mentally deformed. I just thank the clothing brand Affliction for helping me avoid these clowns in my day to day life.

Well the topic of conversation is not how embarrassed you'll be, it is how James Toney will do against a Multi Dimensional fighter, rather than just a boxer.

In my opinion, the guy deserves a lot of credit for testing himself like this. Not many boxers have the balls to do what he's doing!

Well the topic of conversation is not how embarrassed you'll be, it is how James Toney will do against a Multi Dimensional fighter, rather than just a boxer.

In my opinion, the guy deserves a lot of credit for testing himself like this. Not many boxers have the balls to do what he's doing!

Where is the "laugh out loud" smiley??

Go back to the MMA forum and keep whinging about "trolls" - when you hit puberty then come back and lets have a grown up conversation.

I'm not sure how Cowzer puts up with ye WWF wannabees!

What was the last event you attended?

I’ve been a fan of boxing for years I’m also a fan of UFC. Having attended UFC at the O2 and Cage contender in Tallaght recently both were well run class events. Another plus with the UFC is the fighters are contracted to the UFC which ensures well matched fights and generally very good cards for most shows.

Where is the "laugh out loud" smiley??

Go back to the MMA forum and keep whinging about "trolls" - when you hit puberty then come back and lets have a grown up conversation.

I'm not sure how Cowzer puts up with ye WWF wannabees!

Your post is amazing it has to be said.

so you have a retort to the points i made in the post? Or are you just going to throw personal insults at me?

EDIT: By the way, you said yourself, you think Couture will take Toney down and submit him, so i don't see your problem here.

What was the last event you attended?

I’ve been a fan of boxing for years I’m also a fan of UFC. Having attended UFC at the O2 and Cage contender in Tallaght recently both were well run class events. Another plus with the UFC is the fighters are contracted to the UFC which ensures well matched fights and generally very good cards for most shows.

I got free tickets for UFC 105 - I left after an hour. Jokers to the left of me, jokers to the right! Couldnt stomach it to be honest, its a sad indictment if this truely is the way that combat sport is going.

Your post is amazing it has to be said.

so you have a retort to the points i made in the post? Or are you just going to throw personal insults at me?

EDIT: By the way, you said yourself, you think Couture will take Toney down and submit him, so i don't see your problem here.

welcome to my ignore list you sad whining child!

Wow, having someone but forward a reasoned argument and not having a retort must be incredibly hard!

And does it not take serious balls to get inside a boxing ring?

BTW, Toney will win tonight. Couture is even more past it than James.

Couture's only hope is the ground....

And does it not take serious balls to get inside a boxing ring?

BTW, Toney will win tonight. Couture is even more past it than James.

Couture's only hope is the ground....

Randy is not past it at all, dont know why people say that, Toney is years past it, just over a year ago randy dominated Brock who is a monster, people forget that. Randy has been given an easy fight here, Toney may win but would maybe win 1-10 if they fought 10 times.

cowzerp wrote: »
    Randy is not past it at all, dont know why people say that, Toney is years past it, just over a year ago randy dominated Brock who is a monster, people forget that. Randy has been given an easy fight here, Toney may win but would maybe win 1-10 if they fought 10 times.

Randy is not what he was. He is 47 now, that cannot be close to what he was years ago. One fight, ten fights, who cares. It is all down to this fight.
    I think too many are underestimating Toney. He can punch, is ridiculously skilled at this art, and will be wearing 4 oz gloves...:eek:

Also, I think it is inaccurate to say Toney is past it. Remember, at peak he was 168 lbs, he is now 230+. He rose
    thru the weights to meet the bigger men, that affects performance, and appearance. The first weapons a person has are his hands, these are almost always preferred as the striking weapon. I think Toney gets Couture out early here.

Hey, he falls, stumbles, misses and ends up on the ground, and then Couture can win, but it's still not a certainty.

Randy is not what he was. He is 47 now, that cannot be close to what he was years ago. One fight, ten fights, who cares. It is all down to this fight.
    I think too many are underestimating Toney. He can punch, is ridiculously skilled at this art, and will be wearing 4 oz gloves...:eek:

The first weapons a person has are his hands, these are almost always preferred as the striking weapon. I think Toney gets Couture out early here.

Agreed about hands, there the best striking weapon, but its not a striking match-a 42 year old punchy boxer who is out of shape against an in shape Randy who is not battle worn and is known for his super work ethic, Randys fitness will not under any circumstances come into question-Randy will look by far the younger man in the fight, mentally and physically he is younger, i promise you that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭seadnamac

Also, I think it is inaccurate to say Toney is past it. Remember, at peak he was 168 lbs, he is now 230+. He rose
    thru the weights to meet the bigger men, that affects performance, and appearance
    . The first weapons a person has are his hands, these are almost always preferred as the striking weapon. I think Toney gets Couture out early here.

Hey, he falls, stumbles, misses and ends up on the ground, and then Couture can win, but it's still not a certainty.

Walsh he rose through the weights because he couldn't stop himself eating, and had no self control and very little self discipline. He is completely out of shape, washed up and past it. He made walking up four steps to the podium for the weigh ins last night look hard. I say he hasn't a chance. Now I'm not saying he hasn't a chance because he is a boxer, I'm saying he hasn't a chance because he's James Toney and it's 2010.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭SDTimeout

I just hope the rest of us MMA fanboys were equally as offended by boxingirel's two posts and reported them as see fit.

One which said he hopes james toney murders ( literally ) a MMA star
    I hope Toney brings a knife into the cage with him and stabs Randy in the heart to solve once and for all that boxing is superior to MMA!

And second the fact we are all allegedly mentally deformed.

Now while i'm not going to complain i have taken the proper actions and personally was very offended by these remarks ;) in which we simply tried to have a civilized talk.