Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sheds and good auld skkanger sh***

• 09-08-2010 1:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭

Right so, this weekend some distinguished members of the skang€r community decided to break into my shed for the 3rd time this year. Up to this point my shed had lived without a hassle for the last 4 years with only a 32mm locker-type padlock on a hasp.

Anyway, fortunately this time the bigger 50mm lock stopped them, not before they caused some amount of damage to the hasp and the door itself.

I have since installed 3 padlocks and reinforced the door but I don't feel right. I need more. I need a solution that make the f**ckers suffer, I want them to cry with embarrasement, pain or some powerful yet legal chemical sprayed on their shinny tracksuits.

People with common sense need not apply :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Thank you for shedding light on your problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Bees

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Booby trap the door , but don't forget you have done it. That would be silly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Get a wire matress and a car battery and go McGyver on their ass. Just somethign to cause them pain the next time they break in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

Bore a 20ft hole at the entrance to the shed and leave one of them fall in, just make sure you don't fall in first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

WindSock wrote: »
    Bees

Dogs With bees In their mouths and when they bark they shoot bees at you

Cool Story Bro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Take notes from Home Alone! Electrify the handle, rig up a blow torch inside and leave upended nails all over the floor.

Granted, you won't be able to get into it yourself, but that's the price one pays for security.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

call the gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭KingMambo26

call the gardai

a) That would make sense sooo... nahhh
    b) I'd be 60 by the time they called in

call the gardai

Eh...
    People with common sense need not apply :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

ok so, blast them with piss

thats your answer to everything...

but i agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

hire The Citizen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Nice username OP btw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Shoot them. Someone told me you can do that now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Dig a 90 metre deep pit in front of the door, with stakes at the bottom, and cover the top with branches. When the pit's full of dead skangers, move the shed and dig another pit.

No-one will notice that the skangers are missing, except the local guards and lawyers, who won't have as much work to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Watch Home Alone, you might get a few pointers from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I think this link sums up a reasonable and proportionate response.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Remove good lock
    Get shítty lock or remove lock altogether
    Remove items from shed
    Put guard dog in shed every night
    Wait
    Laugh as you hear the guard dog attacking skangers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

paintball gun.. when it happens call the garda.. lean out ur window, spray the fúckers and watch them run and get caught red/yello/green handed..

and it REALLY hurts

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,630 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Turn the shed the other way around, so the door is against the wall. They will be very confused when they arrive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

Smear nitro glycerine all over the hasp and lock. Then they whack it with a hammer/chisel combo and...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭D.R cowboy

I need a solution that make the f**ckers suffer, I want them to cry with pain

Call in the blackrock crew

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hiyakyVX9c4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ayndgvqnBqU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GhgP0qEjNn8

They would not f**k with these guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,016 ✭✭✭✭klose

Light one bag of dog ****e, place on other side of door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

That could be good; fill a super soaker with stale urine. Or put a bucket of urine over the door so that when they open it it falls on them. Or fill the bucket with glue, so it gets stuck on their head and they can't see your face while you're giving them a good kicking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭D.McC

If you can find them maybe you could hire

The A Team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Punji pit and don't forget to smear your excrement on the ends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

move

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

This sounds like a question for twoshedsjackson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭KingMambo26

I feel much better already, full of positive thoughts and a couple of good ideas especially around the use of pits and excrement. Good for the neighbourhood, good for the environment too and everyone's a winner!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Set a bear-trap in front of the shed. Skanger steps in it and loses foot.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Something crazy like a sensor activated light? Suppose you could also get one of those fake cctv cameras and put up a sign or something.

Either that or place C4 charges around the perimeter of the shade, stay up on your roof with your night vision goggles, and remotely detonate the charge when you see them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭sponsoredwalk

NothingMan wrote: »
    I think this link sums up a reasonable and proportionate response.
    Wikipedia wrote:
    Ever since the theft of a chainsaw, Nally slept with his shotgun by his side.
    He said he had become convinced he would be shot by robbers and had
    spent five hours a day sitting in his shed with the gun
    [11].
    He threw water on soil at his gate to record footprints, and noted the registration of strange cars.
    He told the jury he was at the end of his tether.
    Nally, who had taken to sitting in his shed cradling his gun for up to five hours at a time while his farm fell into disrepair,
    was “agitated and fearful, even paranoid” about his safety, according to counsel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Hook up a powerful electric fence to the lock but make sure you can switch it off from inside the house. You could also set up the shed that it only opens from the outside and have the door spring loaded that it closes behind them, trapping them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Bucklesman

Build a trebuchet in your back garden and camouflage it with foliage.

Place the shed in the sling.

Wait for those no-good scumbags to break into shed.

Set off the trebuchet and giggle maniacally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Place a banjo outside the shed door...beside a sign saying

'You got a purty mouth'

Then pounce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

call the gardai

Yeah or even just stick up a note warning that you will call the gardai i'm sure the mere thought of the gards will terrify them to the very core and make them cower at the very sight of the warning on your shed door....

Back in the real world what about a guard dog?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Essien wrote: »
    hire The Citizen

I work for no man...oh...uhm...carry on, nothing to see here.

Sonic assault is the only way to thwart them in my humble opinion. Hitch up a sound system in the shed of such a frequency that their bowels liquify. You may need some Bounty to mop up after them..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Irishcrx wrote: »
    ...Back in the real world what about a guard dog?
    ...Or a mother in law!

I run a mile from mine! Seriously!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

Arm your self with a supersoaker full of tabasco sauce and jays fluid, blind the ****ers! It's the only way they'll learn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

Irishcrx wrote: »
    Back in the real world what about a guard dog?

The scumbags would probably end up stealing the dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Get yourself an adorable little puppy that will become a noisy guard-dog with time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭mcdoogle

Someone suggested a claymore mine earlier however if you're a tree hugger and object to the real deal look at the link below, will definatly scare the **** out of them opening the door (rigged on a tripwire).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nObb-KvRSzg&feature=related

Ask the dudes in the airsoft forum where to buy them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Essien wrote: »
    hire The Citizen

Pfft.
    Kick them in the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Terry wrote: »
    Pfft.
    Kick them in the face.

Don't do it yourself, you are not a professional facekicker and might pull a muscle or something!!

Track down the original facekickerTM, get him to come and sit in your shed every night. When they open the shed door, he can kick them in the face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Stay up ,shoot them and drag them into the sitting room. Call Gardai . Cut and dried protecting your property.

Case closed.

Off topic
    Recommend you watch the movie Harry Brown for tips on how to deal with scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

Put a neighbourhood watch sticker in the window. That way they'll know when you catch them and rape the **** out of them the whole neighbourhood will watch, Maynard style.