Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Miss Piggys Battle for the Big Plates

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

ninamc wrote: »
    Oh God girls, I'd be your worse nightmare. Late for absolutely everything. (

I don't think we can be friends anymore sry

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭gymfreak

Oh God girls, I'd be your worse nightmare. Late for absolutely everything. And that's not even my biggest flaw. I also misplace/lose everything, except my kids.
    I frustrate myself something terrible :(

LOL.

I'd probably kill you....frustrates me no end.:pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 24,554 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I'd arrive late, wearing a Frankie Say Relax t-shirt.

I'd probably have a big box of Valium for y'all as back-up though...

Thursday 20th of October

Jerks from the Blocks

35kg x 3 (2sets)
    40kg x 3
    45kg x 3
    50kg x 3
    53kg x 3
    55kg x 3 (meant to be 56:()
    56kg x 3 (4sets)...these felt piss easy:):):) SO happy!!! I havent been confident with the ole jerks for the last 2 months....and all of a sudden they go back to being easy...:rolleyes:..aaaah weightlifting...what an annoying sport:D

Back Squats
    35kg x 5
    45kg x 5
    55kg x 5
    60kg x 5 (3sets)

Pullups
    6 x 3
    Was meant to do 10 sets but my elbow pain got progressively worse so there was no point:(
    Gonna give up on the pullup program..doesnt suit my poor elbows..I only got one extra day done the last time I tried it before the elbow pain kicked in.

Workblock
    10 Goblet Squats 12kg
    10 DB Bench 8kg DBs
    10 RDLs 16kg DBs
    10 Twin Row 6kg DBs
    7 rounds in 15mins

Circuit
    30sec KB Swings
    30sec skipping
    30sec rest

Happy out!!:):)

Person videoing it didnt realise I was going for a triple, that's why the vid cuts out and restarts!

Saturday 1st of November

CRaaaazy busy week. Didnt get bodyfat done and didnt get my ass to a physical therapist either:o Way quieter week this week so I should be on top of things then!

Snatches
    25kg x 3 (2sets)
    30kg x 2
    35kg x 2
    38kg x 2
    41kg x 2
    44kg x 2..first time doing a double at 44kg from the ground...so yaaay!!

It's funny what a lil bit of positivity does to my training..I failed doubling 40kg a good few times last week...coach was down this week..a bitta praise and positivity and all of a sudden training takes off again:pac::confused::rolleyes:

Powerclean into clean

Not a fan!
    35kg x 2
    45kg x 2
    51kg x 2 (3sets) graaaaand

Snatch DL w/shrug + Snatch DL atk w/shrug

50kg x 1 + 2 (3sets)

Pullups
    5, 4, 3

Gunz x 3sets

Workblock-15mins

5/5 Split squats
    10 Standing DB Press 8kg DBs
    10 Rows e/s 16kg DB
    8 rounds in 15mins

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

gymfreak wrote: »

Reset my pelvis about 6 times this week:(:( And then started getting a pain around my piriformis yday and today. Spent aaaages loosening out my left hipflexor today so that I could move and it was grand during training but gonna have to see someone this week before I hurt myself. :(

Just curious, do you get a physio to reset your pelvis or what it entails? It could be relevant to my interests. Also fair play on the Olympic lifting , it looks like it would be physically tough doing it day to day :D

Remmy wrote: »
    Just curious, do you get a physio to reset your pelvis or what it entails? It could be relevant to my interests.

I read how to do it in Kelly Staretts book 'Supple Leopard', but here's a vid that shows ya what to do

You'll know straight away if you've reset it..its a really freaky ouch. I never have to do all the rounds like they show in the vid mine always pops straight away.
    Also fair play on the Olympic lifting , it looks like it would be physically tough doing it day to day

Sunday 2nd of November

AM
    Snatch pull + Snatch from low hang

25kg x 1 + 1
    30kg x 1 + 1
    33kg x 1 + 1
    35kg x 1 + 1
    28kg x 1 + 1
    40kg x 1 + 1 (3sets)

Deficit Snatch pull + Snatch pull atk
    55kg x 1 + 2 (3sets)
    Position felt easier than last week

Single Arm DB Press
    15kg x 5/5 (3sets)

Hanging Leg Raises
    Reverse Hypers
    Russian Twists

Workblock
    10 Goblet Squats 12kg
    10 Pushups (on knees)
    10 KB Swings
    10 Twin Row 8kg
    8 rounds in 15mins

Con Block
    Partner Prowler Pushes
    Up and back
    8 Millitary Burpees 8kg DBs
    x10 (rest is when your partner is working)
    Way easier than last week and I did 2 extra rounds.

I'm quite amazed/happy at how quickly my conditioning is coming back :)

PM- 50 walk

• Registered Users Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭dylbert

Person videoing it didnt realise I was going for a triple, that's why the vid cuts out and restarts!

Jerks look solid!

dylbert wrote: »
    Jerks look solid!

Thank ya!!

Aim is to hit 60kg for triples by the end of the cycle.....I'm feeling optimistic:)

Monday 3rd of November

Snatch Balance + Sots Press

15kg x 1 + 2 (2 sets)
    18kg x 1 + 2 (2sets)
    20kg x 1 + 2
    25kg x 1 + 2

Muscle Snatch + Muscle snatch btk

15kg x 1 + 2 (loads)
    18kg x 1 + 2 (loads)

Tempo Front Squats + Powerjerks

35kgx 5 + 2
    40kg x 5 + 2
    44kg x 5 + 2 (3sets) hard

Cleanpulls
    69kg x 3 (3sets)

Tuesday 4th of November

Quick workout after coaching this morning.

45sec Prowler pushes + 10kg
    45sec DB Burpees...really dont get the fascination with these:(
    45sec Box Jumps...I jumped ridiculously high!!...well..for me
    45sec rest

Couldnt believe how high I jumped for the box jumps! Was told to do it and didnt really wanna wimp out

Finally went to see a physical therapist...and ya...my hip and neck are ****ed. No surprise.

• Registered Users Posts: 393 ✭✭ninamc

What did they say exactly?

Tuesday 4th of November

Finally went to see a physical therapist...and ya...my hip and neck are ****ed. No surprise.

What did they say exactly?

Ah, I'm not surprised at all like. Just old injuries flaring up. My regular physio told me a good few years ago that I had torn cartiledge in my hip and last year that I had a bulging disc in my neck

Only went to a physical therapist to get a massage and he pretty much said that my piriformis was extremely tight and that my hip is inflammed, hence the pain. He also discussed the lack of a Range of motion in my neck...which was a precursor to the bulging disc last time..not too concerned..just need to work on gettng the mobility back.

My hip and glute are only flaring up cos I've spent a ridiculous amount of time sitting doing college work lately:(

Once it's something you can work on :)

Wednesday 5th of November

Legs felt a bit jelly-ish during the snatch warmups...but I'd already got it in my head that I was gonna do a PB double today so just went for it despite my uncooperative legz.

Snatches
    25kg x 3
    30kg x 2
    35kg x 2
    39kg x 2
    42kg x 2
    45kg x 1 + F
    45kg x 2...YAY PB Double +1kg
    47kg x 1 + F..was greedy going for this :D
    Didnt get a vid of the double..but I did get a vid of the failed first attempt at a double. I'm using my new start position in the vid...but still rocking onto my heels and swiiiiinging the crap outta the bar:(

Powerclean into clean.....dislike
    35kg x 2
    40kg x 2
    50kg x 2
    53kg x 2...my legs were like jelly
    52kg x 2 (2sets)

Clean DL with shrug + clean DL with shrug atk

65kg x 1 + 2 (3sets) surprisingly hard

Box Jumps
    Been told twice in the last week that I need to start doing box jumps...so...
    2 Pulling Blocks + 10kg plate 1 x 5
    2 Pulling Blocks + two 10kg 3 x 5

Gunz + Abz

ate a tonne of food...drank a load of coffee..then

Workblock

8 split squats e/s
    5 Band Pullups
    10 DB Pres 8kgdbs
    7 rounds in 15mins

Con Block

30sec KB Swings
    30sec skipping
    30sec rest
    x 10..easy

Thursday 6th November

Jerks from the blocks

35kg x 3
    40kg x 3
    45kg x 3
    50kg x 3
    54kg x 3
    58kg x 3 (4sets)
    60kg x 3 YAY +3kg PB:):):)
    My coach had said to aim to finish out my programme with 60kg for a triple...and I managed to do it 6 weeks ahead of time. Boom!!
    Just uber confident with them en ce moment :)

Backsquats
    35kg x 5
    45kg x 5
    55kg x 5
    62kg x 5 (3sets) :( I preferred when I allowed do triples

Single Leg Squats to bench
    5 x 5/5

Pushups
    3 x 8

Twin Row
    3 x 8

Wasnt feeling the ole conditioning buzz so just did a short and sweet workout

Con Block
    Skipping
    1min on
    30sec off

Tabata Burpees w/8kg DBs
    20sec on/10sec off
    x 8...my poor legz
    managed 8 reps the first round..and being a stubborn bitch tried to keep it up the whole way through:(

Happy out :)

• Registered Users Posts: 24,554 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Con Block
    Skipping
    1min off
    30sec off

That's not a lot of skipping ;)

Well done on the PR!

That's not a lot of skipping ;)

Well done on the PR!

LOL...ya...just stood there holding the rope.

Who needs to be lean anywayz:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Burped while holding DBs?

I'm awfully confused Ted

Burped while holding DBs?

I'm awfully confused Ted

The dude that gives us conditioning stuff to do as part of our bet won't let me do regular burpees, always makes me use dumbells

Normal burpee on DBs and then stand and jump with DBs in hands...in fairness to him...it kills my legz

• Registered Users Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

That answer gives to more questions.

What bet?

What dude?

I'm intrigued now!

That answer gives to more questions.

What bet?

What dude?

I'm intrigued now!

LOL...we all made bets in the gym for the run up to Xmas. The lads bets were all based around weightlifting and mine and sarahs was to see who could lean out the most. Hence the extra conditioning and cardio lately.

Dave from the Edge Gym has been helping us out. Did our skinfolds a few weeks ago and we're due back with him tomorrow:o :(

Saturday 8th of November

Snatch pull atk + Powersnatch atk

25kg x 2 +2 (3sets)
    30kg x 2 + 2
    35kg x 2 + 2
    38kg x 2 + 2
    36kg x 2 + 2 (3sets)

Clean and Jerks
    35kg x 2
    45kg x 2
    50kg x 2
    55kg x 2 (3ests) Waaaay easier than last week
    Sneaky singles
    59kg x 1
    62kg x 1...but missed the jerk:(
    62kg x F, F...was getting under the bar...but couldnt stand up:(
    Was freaking myself out with cleans but then I looked back at vids and they looked good. Jerks felt good too today:)

Front squat w/ pause + Front squat
    45kg x 1 + 2
    50kg x 1 + 2
    54kg x 1 + 2 (3sets) easy

Partner Prowler Pushes
    Up and back + 10 DB burpees
    x 8 rounds
    Much easier than last time...happy out!

Got bodyfat done yday and I'm pretty impressed with the results!! Weight didnt change but mm went from 113 to 96. Pretty savage considering the amount of chocolate I've been eating. Turns out conditioning helps you out train a bad diet:pac::pac::pac:

Theres only 0.01% in the difference between Sarah and I now, and with 2 weeks left to go I'm actually gonna put in a proper effort and track kcals and macros and steer clear of the chocolate.....hopefully!

Sunday 9th of November
    Trained on my tod cos my training partner was hungover:(

Snatchpull + Snatch from Low hang

25kg x 1 + 1 (3sets)
    30kg x 1 + 1
    35kg x 1 + 1
    38kg x 1 + 1
    41kg x 1 + 1 (3sets)..these felt soooo smooth today. No major hip banging. The pull first is helping me get a feel for it.

Deficit Snatch pull + Snatch pull btk

58kg x 1 + 2...need to get my ass lower

Box Jumps
    2 Blocks + 10kg- 1 x 5
    2Blocks + 15kg +10kg- 3 x 5

Normally jumps scare the **** outta me...but was feeling good today so..
    2 Blocks + 15kg + 2 10kg
    2 Blocks + 15kg + 3 10kg
    2 Blocks + 15kg + 4 10kg
    Yay....didn't die :)

Weighted Pullups

+4kg x 2, 1, 1 ,1 ,1, 1

Standing DB Press

12kg x 5/5 (3sets)

Reverse Hypers x 15
    Russian Twists x 12
    3 sets

Conditioning

1min Prowler Pushes +10kg
    1min DB Burpees 8kg DBs
    45 sec rest

Happy out!

Monday 10th of November.

Down a kilo since friday...hooray!! My poor glycogen stores were well and truely depleted over the weekend.

Snatch Balance + Sots Press
    15kg x 1 + 2
    20kg x 1 + 2
    25kg x 1 + 2 (4 sets)

Muscle Snatchs btk

15kg x 3
    18kg x 3 (4 sets)
    20kg x 3 (3sets)...these are finally feeling good

Tempo (fast) Front Squats + Powerjerks

25kg x 5 + 2
    35kg x 5 + 2
    40kg x 5 + 2
    44kg x 5 + 2 (3sets)...these never get any easier:(

Cleanpulls

72kg x 3 (4sets) easy

Pushups

3 x 8

Twin Row

3 x 12 w/ 8kg DBs

Split Squats

3 x 10/10

Work Block

5 Reverse Lunges e/s
    10 Floor Press 8kg DBs
    5 Blue Band Pullups
    10 rounds in 15mins

Conditioning
    30sec skipping
    30sec KB Swings
    30sec Rest
    x 10 rounds

Happy out! But a stressful week ahead:(

Tuesday 11th of November
    Body is finally not happy with the conditioning and dieting...brought my kcals down to 1500 from Sat-today and I'm starting to feel the effect. Also, I don't have time to train this weekend so trying to get all my training done Mon-Fri..but if I can't/I need a rest I'll just catch up next week. Supposed to have a down week weights wise...so it mightn't be too bad.

Snatches

25kg x 3 (2sets)
    30kg x 2
    35kg x 2
    38kg x 2
    41kg x 2
    43kg x 2
    44kg x 1 + F...just shattered
    44kg x 1 (2sets)
    Hoping to be confident enough to open at 44kg in an upcoming comp...so just wanna hit is as often as possible between now and then.

Powerclean into Clean
    35kg x 3
    45kg x 3
    50kg x 2 (3sets)

Snatch DL w/shrug+ Snatch DL atk w/shrug

55kg x 1 + 2 (3sets)

Gunz

Conditioning

(Probs wont be doing any more this week)
    45sec Prowler pushes-low and high handles
    45sec box jumps (2snatch blocks)
    45sec DB Burpees w/ 8kg DBs
    45sec Rest

Happy out

Wednesday 12th of November

Spent the day doing motor skills testing on kids...so was absolutely shattered after. Decided I'd take a rest day...but got a text to go for coffee with my training partner....and ended up training:p:pac:...easily persuaded!

Jerks from the blocks
    35kg x 3
    40kg x 3
    45kg x 3
    50kg x 3
    55kg x 3
    58kg x 3
    60kg x 2 + F
    55kg x 1
    57kg x 1
    59kg x 3 (4sets)
    Shouldn't have done so many triples warming up... Not sure what the **** has happened to my jerk in the last month but they all seem piss easy:confused::confused::eek:

That was all one set...training partner just paused the vid between each rep

Backsquats
    35kg x 5
    45kg x 5
    55kg x 5
    60kg x 1
    64kg x 5 (3sets) hardish
    Most I've worked up to in the backsquat is 65 for 5s so pretty happy with doing 64kg on my 5th day training in a row.with that today

Front foot elevated Split Squats
    3 x 10/10....my poor legz:(

Pullups

4, 3, 3, 3, 3

Conditioning
    10 Goblet Squats 12kg
    10 DB Bench 8kg DBs
    10 RDLs 16kg DBs
    10 Twin Row 6kg DBs
    7 rounds in 15mins...grand!

Plank
    3 x 60sec

DB Side Arches

16kg x 10/10 (3sets)

Very productive day...and body feeling great again:confused::confused:

Must have been some cuppa coffee :) Wanna fix a girl up???

Great workout :)

Must have been some cuppa coffee :) Wanna fix a girl up???

Great workout :)

Lol.

I just LOVE Costa Coffee! It's our favourite haunt....that and Camille...NOM!!

Probs wont sleep tonight after a large americano and a preworkout....whooops!:pac::pac: