Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Miss Piggys Battle for the Big Plates

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Just FTR I never said to do those in the same workout, or as close to the previous workout...

...before people start calling me an idiot.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭gymfreak

Hanley wrote: »
    Just FTR I never said to do those in the same workout, or as close to the previous workout...

...before people start calling me an idiot.
    :pac::pac:

Lol...Seriously...What do you expect? Unless I'm specifically told 'don't' of course I'm gonna get carried away.

Friday 6th April

Made the decision last week to give weightlifting a proper shot and have been looking into coaching etc..so decided to just have a mess about this week and do whatever I wanted training wise...as a result..have really, REALLY enjoyed training and feel great! Great banter in the gym this week too!

Warm up
    Spin Bike - 20mins

Foamroll
    Stretching-IT band, glutes, hip flexorsMobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

Tush was a bit sore cos I've done a wee bit of light squatting the last 3 days but havent squatted heavy in 2 weeks so wanted to give it a go.

Squats
    20kg x 12
    20kg x 12
    30kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    50kg x 5
    63kg x 3..only did 3 cos I was overthinking..tush is sore..havent squatted heavy in a while..feels heavy...blah..blah
    *Tried harder*
    63kg x 5
    63kg x 5
    63kg x 5
    63kg x 5...sets were grand, not easy but grand all the same

GHR
    3 x 15
    Med Ball Toss
    3 x 10/10

Pull Ups
    2 x 8 Blue Band
    10sets of 3
    Bit of a problem with the pullups, tried to attack them the same way I did last year but elbow and shoulder started to ache. So new plan of action...Stop doing them everyday:rolleyes: I'll do bodyweight pullups maybe 2x weekly and then 1 day with bands and loads of reps

Med Ball Slams
    3 x 10...someone else was doing it..and it looked fun

Bridge
    3 x 60/60
    +20kg
    Ouch:( Havent done alot of bridging lately so this hurt..lots of shaking.
    Bicep Curls

3 x 12..to see if they'll stop the elbow/shoulder aches

Plenty of foamrolling. Tried to attack my shoulder with a tennis ball...ouch:(

Happy out:)
    Maybe some rep stuff tomorrow...I know I'm up on my quota of 4 days a week...but..Im feeling great...I'm on midterm so waaay less stressed..and Im heading away for a few days next week so that can be my rest!

Sunday 8th April-Rep Session

Mobility

A bit of alcohol still in the system so picked all the nice easy effortless stuff to do

Leg Swings
    Fire Hydrant
    Cable Facepulls
    Scap Push ups
    Wall slides

SLDL-60sec rest
    Same hand, Same foot
    15kg DB x 12
    25kg DB x 10
    25kg DB x 10...easy, weight needs to be upped here

Plate Shifting
    5 x 60/60

Bench Press
    20kg x 12
    20kg x 12
    34kg x 10
    34kg x 10
    34kg x 10
    34kg x 10
    34kg x 10.:)Happy with this! No great struggle at all

Pull ups
    Purple band
    5 sets of 8

DB Shrugs
    25kg x 10
    25kg x 10
    27.5kg x 10
    27.5kg x 10
    27.5kg x 10

Overhead Tricep Extensions
    @30kg x 10
    @30kg x 10
    @30kg x 10
    @30kg x 10
    @30kg x 10

Easy session...that i took even easier:)

Plan for the day...eat chocolate and sleep..that's all I wanna do!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭Dotcomdolly

Your easy reads pretty amazing to me! Well done :)

If you actually saw me bounce around the gym and natter constantly for 2hours..you'd see it was faaaaaaaaar from even good :D

Thanks all the same!! Been a while since there was anything positive in this log:pac::pac::P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭Dotcomdolly

gymfreak wrote: »
    If you actually saw me bounce around the gym and natter constantly for 2hours..you'd see it was faaaaaaaaar from even good :D

Thanks all the same!! Been a while since there was anything positive in this log:pac::pac::P

and I missed it all! :eek:

Monday 9th April-Con
    Woke up fairly groggy again this morning but wanted to get to the gym just to do something and get the blood flowing.

Picked random conditioning stuff from different programs to do because
    1. I wanted to do no fast con blocks..cos i find them the hardest..just wanted heavy, slow stuff
    2. wanted to up the volume of curls to see if it'll help my self inflicted elbow pain.
    3. wanted to get a bit of volume in with the band pullups

Mobility Stuff
    Over and unders
    Hurdle Steps
    Leg Swings
    Scap Push Ups
    Cable Facepulls
    X-Band Walks

Con Block
    7.5kg Waiters Walk + 16kg Suitcase Carry
    50m up and 50m back
    9 up and backs in 10.35..:)

Work Block
    5 e/s Lunges with 15kg DBS
    10 Bicep Curls and Press 5kg DBs
    10rounds in 15.20..happy enough

Con Block-something heavy
    Farmers Walks 60m with 50kg TB
    60m jog (refusal to sprint)
    5 up and backs in 10mins..:( not too good
    Think I'm gonna pull back the weight here and get it going much quicker and build back up

Work Block
    10 KB Swings 16kg
    10 pushups
    10 Red Band Pullups
    12rounds in 16.03...
    easy enough

Other people were slamming med balls...and
    I've developed a mild obsession with slamming them too...sooo
    Workblock-10 rounds of messing
    10 O/H Med Ball Squats
    10 Med Ball Slams
    10/s Russian Twists
    10 rounds in 13.19

Tuesday 10th April

Spin Bike
    -20mins

Mobility
    Fire Hydrants
    Cable Face Pulls
    Leg Swings
    Over and Unders
    Hurdle Steps
    X Band Walks
    Scap Push ups

TBDL-no touch and go reps
    60kg x 8
    70kg x 8
    82.5kg x 5:o...misloaded the bar and didnt even notice
    85kg x 5
    85kg x 5...purty
    90kg x 5
    90kg x 5
    90kg x 5..90s were looking grand, last set I set up nicely but still initiated with my lower back. 90kg 5 x 5 next day maybe

Pull Throughs
    10 @ 34kg
    10 @ 43kg
    10 @ 50kg
    10 @ 57kg..just getting used to these

Bench Press
    20kg x 8
    20kg x 8
    30kg x 5
    43kg x 5
    43kg x 5
    43kg x 5
    43kg x 5
    43kg x 5:D :D
    Chuffed with the benching, first time to get 5 x 5 with 43kg..onwards and upwards!!

Pullups
    3, 3, 3, 3, ,3, 3, 3...too exhausted to do anymore

Ab Roll outs
    5 sets of 10

Cable Tricep Extensions
    30kg x 10
    30kg x 10
    36kg x 10..finally was able to up the weight here
    36kg x 10
    36kg x 10

Turkish Get Up with 7.5kg KB
    5mins, 1 rep each side and keep switching.

A Good Day!!:)

Saturday 14th April-Rep Session
    I've been away for a few days and decided to use the time to take a proper 'rest'. Was ABSOLUTELY dying to get back to the gym today..hips and shoulders had started to get a bit too tight.

Warm up
    Spin Bike-20mins

Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Pushes
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Spiderman Walk

Attempted to loosen out my hips
    Goblet Squats 16kg KB
    3 x 10

Windmills 7.5kg KB
    3 x 5/5

Decided to check out my pullups and see where they are.
    Pullups- 5:D:D
    Yay!!!!!!!!!..getting back on track...delighted..and I wasnt even using my preferred pullup bar.

Squats...90sec rest
    20kg x 12
    20kg x 12
    45kg x 10
    45kg x 10
    45kg x 10
    45kg x 10
    45kg x 10..hard but doable. I'll shorten the rest next day

GHR
    5 x 10

Good Mornings
    20kg x 10
    20kg x 10
    20kg x 10
    25kg x 10
    25kg x 10...could really, really feel these

Hi-Lo Cable Chop Things
    18kg x 10/10
    23kg x 10/10

Band Assited Pullups
    Skinny Purple Band - 10, 10, 10, 8, 8

Elevated Pushups
    5 x 10

Hanging Leg Raises
    5 x 10

Bent Over DB Raises
    7.5kg DBs x 10

Turkish Get Up
    7.5kg -one rep each side for 5mins
    Weirder than usually..hips were doing a lot of clicking.

Happy to be back training:)

So you rested, trained fresh and trained better?! Awesome!! ;)

Sunday 15th April-Con

*Ouch* Woke up a bit sore today..quads especially:(

Some foamrolling:(

Mobility Stuff
    Over and unders
    Hurdle Steps..hip made a massive click sound..then felt great:)
    Leg Swings
    Scap Push
    Cable Facepulls
    Windmills with KB

KB Goblet Squats
    2 x 10

Gym and tracks were pretty busy so..out to the corridor
    Con Block 1-10mins
    25 KB Swings 16kg
    50 Skips
    12 rounds in 12.28...a few secs slower than last day..but no problems whatsoever with grip:confused::confused: Strange considering it hurt so much last time

Work Block 1 - 15mins
    5 Burpees
    5 Double DB Pushpress 12.5kg
    10 Red Band Pullups
    9 rounds in 14.28
    Pushpresses were ridiculously hard today..dunno what was up!!

Con Block 2 -10mins
    7.5kg Waiters Walk + 16kg Suitcase Carry
    50m up and 50m back
    8 up and backs in 10mins..1 round down.
    Waiters Walks killed me today..normally they're easy enough

Work Block- 15mins
    5 e/s Elevated Split Squat
    10 T-Pushups
    5 e/s DB rows 22.5kg
    9 rounds in 14.30.
    .didnt use a weight for the squats cos my legs were sore enough alreadyShattered after!! That's what I get for taking a few days rest!

5mins of Turkish Get Ups

1 e/s and change

Foamrolling:(

Tuesday 17th April-Strength Session

Warm up
    Spin Bike-20mins

Mobility
    Over and Unders
    Hurdle Steps
    Leg Swing
    Rotational Thoracic Spine thing
    BB Scap Push
    KB Windmills
    YTW

Squats
    For some strange reason I've developed a mild fear of squats.:o:o I'm pretty sure that its down to not squatting heavy as frequently anymore.
    20kg x 8
    20kg x 8
    40kg x 5
    65kg x 3
    65kg x 3
    65kg x 3
    65kg x 3
    65kg x 3..all sets felt grand enough but didnt wanna throw in extra reps cos I think I may be reverting to old habits of goodmorning the bar up.

Good Mornings
    20kg x 12
    25kg x 12
    30kg x 12
    30kg x 12
    30kg x 12...could really feel it in my hamstrings

Med Ball Toss
    3 x 10/10

Pullups
    10 sets of 3..pretty easy:)

Single Arm DB Pushpress
    15kg x 10
    15kg x 10
    15kg x 10
    15kg x 10
    15kg x 10

Bridging + 20kg
    3 x 60 on/ 60 off
    A bit of a nightmare:( Normally find bridging pretty easy...but today..literally praying for it to be over

Bicep Curls
    7.5kg DBs x 10

Turkish Get Up
    7.5kg -one rep each side for 5mins

Wednesday 18th April- :) The start of something new!!

The plans have been in the pipeline for a few weeks now to start to go down the weightlifting route for a while. Had my first proper session with Wayne tonight and really, really REALLY enjoyed it:D

Mobility Stuff
    Fire Hydrants
    Thoracic spine rotation
    Hurdle Steps
    Quad Walk
    Hamstring Walk
    Sumo Squats

I'll be terrible at logging for a while cos I literally amnt able to remember anything when it's all new..takes me a while to cop on what's going on!!

Focused on just snatching today
    Some overhead squats, drop snatches, weird shrug things, and then snatch from above the knee..a few sets at 15kg and a few at 18kg

Front Squats
    A few sets at 20kg and a few at 30kg

Back Squats
    20kg x 3
    30kg x 3
    40kg x 3
    40kg x 3
    40kg x 3

Then I was let loose to do random stuff:)
    Good Mornings
    20kg x 12
    30kg x 10
    30kg x 10
    30kg x 10
    35kg x 10

Hanging Leg Raises

5 x 10

Pull Ups
    8 sets of 3...was going for 10 sets but my belly started to get hungry!!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,049 ✭✭✭COH

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

• Registered Users Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭token

The plans have been in the pipeline for a few weeks now to start to go down the weightlifting route for a while. Had my first proper session with Wayne tonight and really, really REALLY enjoyed it:D

Don't worry after a full months you'll be as miserable as the rest of us.

token wrote: »
    Don't worry after a full months you'll be as miserable as the rest of us.

I'm gonna purposely annoy the hell outta all ye EMOs with my positivity:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭Paudee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

emofreak.....

Paudee

I'm allowed blame you if it all goes wrong, yeh?:D

Thursday 19th April- Con

Mobility Stuff
    Bird Dog
    Thoracic spine rotation
    Hurdle Steps
    Over and Unders
    KB Windmills
    Leg Swings
    BB Scap Push
    Xband Walks

KB Snatch Practise
    7.5kg KB
    10e/s x 5 and then they started to get sloppy so I stopped
    REALLY amazed with these today! Dunno what happened. Havent tried them in about 4months and normally I end up whacking my wrist every few reps but today they were just flying up:D:D Might be able to use them for a con block soon...exciting!!!

Con Block-10mins..something fast
    50m sprints, ever 30sec
    ~9/10sec
    First time doing something fast in a wee while and by god was I the opposite of fast!

Work Block-40sec on/ 20sec off x 4 rounds
    Single Leg Split Squats
    Inverted Rows
    Pushups...not a fan at all at all. Just found that I got bored during the rests and waiting for something to beep is not as fun as counting reps

Con Block-10 mins
    Forward Sled Drag without belt
    50m with 40kg
    10 lengths in 12mins..
    would of been faster only the rope was annoying my hands

Workblock-15mins
    5 Sit-thrus e/s
    10 Red Band Chin Ups
    5 knee touches e/s
    10 rounds in 15.10

Continous KB snatches
    7.5kg x 5e/s x 8 sets

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭howtomake

YAY!:D I'm happy for you. Now don't go and get distracted with some new thing like the "thigh master shake weight glee dance" class :p

howtomake wrote: »
    YAY!:D I'm happy for you. Now don't go and get distracted with some new thing like the "thigh master shake weight glee dance" class :p

YEAH!! Don't get distracted with any kind of ...dance class.

howtomake wrote:
    YAY!biggrin.gif I'm happy for you. Now don't go and get distracted with some new thing like the "thigh master shake weight glee dance" class tongue.gif
    Hanley wrote: »
    YEAH!! Don't get distracted with any kind of ...dance class.

Jeeez...nothing gets away from ye boardsies at all at all.

I may possibly have enrolled myself into...em...a type of dance class already:D:D

Friday 20th April-WLing:)
    Just uber excited about the whole WL buzz..wonder how long the excitement last:pac:

Mobility Stuff
    Rotational Thoracic Spine
    Hurdle Steps
    Bird dog
    Leg Swings
    BB Scap Push
    KB Windmills
    x 2..didnt do much mobility work cos I was too excited and impatient

Snatch
    Messed around with some of the drills with the 15kg bar...dont remember them
    Overhead Squats
    Drop Snatches
    Itty bitty movement snatches
    Big Shrug Thing
    Above the knee snatches

Then we started adding some weight to the bar:D
    Worked up to 25kg from above the knee.....some triples and some doubles on the way to those singles

Cleans from above the knee
    Was let loose on this one to do it my way.
    Started at 25kg and worked up to 30odd kg..possibly 32kg

Off to mess.....
    8kg KB snatches
    5 x 10/10 all continuous
    New obsession with these may be starting...purely because I discovered I can do these without walloping myself with the KB

Workblock-15mins
    10 KB Swings 16kg
    10 Pushups
    5 DB Row e/s 20kg...faaaar too light..but it was either this or something far too heavy
    14 rounds in 14.50mins..everything was far too light. Heavier next time

10 Band Pullups
    5 e/s DB press
    10 Prisoner Squats
    5 rounds then got bored:o

Bicep Curls
    8kg x 10
    8kg x 10
    8kg x 10

One of the kids asked me today why I don't have muscles anymorefrown.giffrown.gif Harsh I say...harsh....and hence the curls:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭howtomake

Friday 20th April-WLing:)
    Just uber excited about the whole WL buzz..wonder how long the excitement last:pac:

Then we started adding some weight to the bar:D
    Worked up to 25kg from above the knee.....some triples and some doubles on the way to those singles

Sees you're already going strong! Took my little weak muskles a little time to work up to 25kg, especially my weakly wrists. You'll be up there in no time. No time for dance classes, pretend you're dancing with the bar.

Er but wtf are itty bitty movement snatches? Get Mr Healy to write things down for you so I know whats going on. I still can't load anything on my spine & therefore to WL for another couple of months.

Sees you're already going strong! Took my little weak muskles a little time to work up to 25kg, especially my weakly wrists. You'll be up there in no time. No time for dance classes, pretend you're dancing with the bar.

Technically, the classes I enrolled in are about dancing with a bar...a fixed vertical bar...but a bar nonetheless!:pac::pac:
    Er but wtf are itty bitty movement snatches? Get Mr Healy to write things down for you so I know whats going on. I still can't load anything on my spine & therefore to WL for another couple of months.

Ahhhh..but his speak and my speak are totally different..have to use the words to make me remember.

Poor you!:( At least your being a very good patient!! It'll stand to you..and not lengthen your recovery!

Saturday 21st April-Rep Session

Had a tiny pain in tummy before training, which then decided to get progressively worse during training and now has me bed-ridden...on a Saturday:(:(

Mobility

Leg Swings
    Fire Hydrant
    Scap Push
    Rotational Thoracic Spine
    Birddog
    KB Windmills

SLDL-60sec rest
    Same hand, Same foot
    15kg DB x 12
    25kg DB x 10
    25kg DB x 10 grand..was meant to up the weight here but forgot

Hi-Low Cable Chop
    23kg x10/10 23kg x10/10
    23kg x10/10
    30kg x10/10
    30kg x10/10

Bench Press
    20kg x 12
    20kg x 12
    35kg x 10
    35kg x 10
    35kg x 10
    35kg x 10
    35kg x 10.:)Happy out! Gonna try bench heavy this week too!

Pull ups
    Purple band
    10, 10, 8, 10, 8

DB Shrugs
    27.5kg x 10
    27.5kg x 10
    27.5kg x 10
    27.5kg x 10
    27.5kg x 10

Overhead Tricep Extensions
    @30kg x 10
    @30kg x 10
    @30kg x 10
    @30kg x 10
    @30kg x 10

Back Extension
    Went to do these and realised mid attempt that my quads are in bits:(the minute i leaned against it it was like lying on a foam roller:(:(

KB Snatches
    7.5kg
    5 x 10/10

Turkish Get Up
    5mins 1 rep each side continuous...im loooooving these right now..they are making my hips feel a lot looser and my tummy tighter:)
    Need to do a LOT of foamrolling tomorrow:( Hamstrings, quads and back are a lil sore it would seem

Wasnt the best session in the world..but it was helping take my mind off my tummyache:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

I'm very confused as to whats happening in this log...

you seem to have taken up 15 new sports and have a pain in your tummy...

I'm very confused as to whats happening in this log...

you seem to have taken up 15 new sports and have a pain in your tummy...

Perhaps I should backtrack a bit for some of ye...

After listening to Paudee badger me for a good year about Weightlifting and then after I had Hanley do a few sessions with me I kinda decided that I really reallly enjoyed it and wanted to give it a proper go.

Sooooo Wayne is now coaching me a few times a week and I'll be doing whatever he wants me to do...but its hard to get a leopard to change his spots. So this week after weightlifting practise I was let loose to do some of my own stuff!! Which made me uber happy:) That'll all be weaned out in due course.

As for the dancing...yup, ya guessed it...I'm going to pole dancing classes..solely to help me build my upperbody strength so I can do 10 pullups:pac::pac: