Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are most of the Garda in this country such f^%king pricks?

• 27-05-2010 7:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭

It seems to me that every time I get pulled over some some minor traffic violation the Garda who pulls me over is on some sort of over the top power trip. I was pulled over there yesterday for entering a one way street and from the way the guy was acting towards me you would think I just shot someone. He came out of his car like a raving lunatic screaming at me, I kept completely calm and asked him to lower his voice and slow down, to which he replied I was being hostile. I swear to god next time I get pulled over I'm going to record the whole thing on the sly.

I have a theory though, the only person from my school class to become a garda was the guy the entire class bullied, so I think they are all such pathetic losers that they think the only way they can get respect is forced respect. Also what kind of girl becomes a ban garda? Seriously, what girl dreams of becoming a garda when she grows up. In fact I question the sanity of anyone who becomes a Garda, there should really be a strict psychological test for anyone applying to become one.

The funniest thing is they never actually catch anyone, not once have I heard of a case where someone was robbed and they got the guy. They just inconvenience you with bullsh!t

Love to hear your opinions and stories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Cause you touch yourself at night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Aww, what really happened to you?:pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Well, you basically drove down the "wrong side" of a road. He should have gave you a few cracks of his shtick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

Maybe if you didnt do stupid shít you wouldnt be pulled over and get the ear chewed off ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

crime>>>>>>>>>>>Garda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

kjl wrote: »
    It seems to me that every time I get pulled over some some minor traffic violation the Garda who pulls me over is on some sort of over the top power trip. I was pulled over there yesterday for entering a one way street and from the way the guy was acting towards me you would think I just shot someone. He came out of his car like a raving lunatic screaming at me, I kept completely calm and asked him to lower his voice and slow down, to which he replied I was being hostile. I swear to god next time I get pulled over I'm going to record the whole thing on the sly.

I have a theory though, the only person from my school class to become a garda was the guy the entire class bullied, so I think they are all such pathetic losers that they think the only way they can get respect is forced respect. Also what kind of girl becomes a ban garda? Seriously, what girl dreams of becoming a garda when she grows up. In fact I question the sanity of anyone who becomes a Garda, there should really be a strict psychological test for anyone applying to become one.

The funniest thing is they never actually catch anyone, not once have I heard of a case where someone was robbed and they got the guy. They just inconvenience you with bullsh!t

Love to hear your opinions and stories.

You would get less hassle of them if you knew how to drive correctly! You sound like a serial offender TBH

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I have a theory though, the only person from my school class to become a garda was the guy the entire class bullied, so I think they are all such pathetic losers that they think the only way they can get respect is forced respect.

My My... aren't we a stand up guy...

Right... prisons are over crowded because..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

M5 wrote: »
    You would get less hassle of them if you knew how to drive correctly! You sound like a serial offender TBH

Not at all, stupid sat nav drove me down the street, didnt see any sign.

Last time was because my Tax was up about a week.

My My... aren't we a stand up guy...

If you had to deal with the cocksucker I did today you would feel exactly the same way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Probably cos they're dealing with scum all day instead of holed away in some nice little office. Same reason I reckon most busdrivers are pricks too. Automatic defence mechanism.

(anyway, nice troll. It'll be interesting to see how long it lasts.)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

minor traffic violation..... I was pulled over there yesterday for entering a one way street....
    Does not compute
    Also what kind of girl becomes a ban garda? Seriously, what girl dreams of becoming a garda when she grows up.
    Have you any valid reason why women wouldn't make good Gardaí?
    The funniest thing is they never actually catch anyone,
    They caught you going the wrong way down a one-way street!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

If you had to deal with the cocksucker I did today you would feel exactly the same way.

No...

I'm not a moran that blindly follows a Sat nav without looking out for road signs around me...

Have you any valid reason why women wouldn't make good Gardaí?

Clearly you missed the point of that one, I'm not questioning weather they are capable, I questioning what kind of girl actually does it.

And yes they caught me, but still no leads on the scumbag who beat up the old lady 4 doors down from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

Blindly following instructions from your sat nav would suggest you weren't paying attention to the road. I'm sure there were warning signs. It seems the Gard was right to give out.

No...

I'm not a moran that blindly follows a Sat nav without looking out for road signs around me...

Which brings up my next point, there was no sign, I went back and checked, but how do I argue that? I "tell it to the judge" according to the cop, so instead of paying a €60 fine I have to take time off from my job where I make €60 in 30 min to go down to some court room and deal with explaining to the judge why I was not in the wrong. good luck to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

If it's not AGS it's the GPS. Ah the good auld blame game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

And yes they caught me, but still no leads on the scumbag who beat up the old lady 4 doors down from me.

Well, if you didn't follow your sat nav the wrong way up a one-way street and taxed your car, we could spend more time looking for real criminals.

Nice to see original thread topics on AH,though.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

.... my job where I make €60 in 30 min....

Well laa tee daa Mr. Fancypants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Sorry, but the Gardaí are some of the nicest, most polite people I have ever come across. It is a shame they do not get enough respect. The only stories you hear about them are negative ones, which is a shame. The majority of people who deal with Gardaí do not speak out and praise them. People seem to only look out for flaws.

It should be their duty to behave harshly towards offenders. I know OP you were only pulled over for a minor violation, but the Gardaí have to do their job whether aggressive or not.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

No...

Your post reminds me of this...
    http://24ahead.com/images/get-a-brain-morans.jpg

deadwood wrote: »
    Well, if you didn't follow your sat nav the wrong way up a one-way street and taxed your car, we could spend more time looking for real criminals.

Nice to see original thread topics on AH,though.:D

Still not answering my question, why does the cop have to be some egotistical power tripping asshole, he could have dealt with the situation a lot better than he did. Ok I made a mistake, but come on I'm not a criminal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

So... let me see if i have this right, you broke the law (numerous times it seems) and you call the gardai pricks for doing their job??

Hmm....:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I've met some right pricks in uniform down the years - mostly at football, but to be fair, most Gardai are fine and do a hard job.

As for being hassled for minor traffic violations - the key is in the word violation. Don't break the law and you don;t get hassle. Seems simple enough to me. Being polite when you get nabbed is the best approach, to be honest.

It was a mistake, I didn't intentionally break the law, I wasn't aggressive with the guy and I certainly didn't deserve the way he treated me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ordinary_girl

I've met some Gardaí who are really sound, and some who are not so sound. I hardly ever come into contact with them (law abiding citizen and all that) but the odd time I have been in contact with them it's usually the bean Gardaí who are quite arrogant. But, credit where credit's due, fair play to them for becoming Gardaí, no doubt it's a difficult job. I certainly couldn't do it. The hostility towards Gardaí in this country baffles me.

Still not answering my question, why does the cop have to be some egotistical power tripping asshole, he could have dealt with the situation a lot better than he did. Ok I made a mistake, but come on I'm not a criminal.

Maybe the few egotistical power tripping assholes keep meeting the same people who are qualified to earn 60 an hour but still can't accept when they're caught driving in the wring direction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Smcgie

Shoulda maced you or tazered you IMO

It was a mistake, I didn't intentionally break the law, I wasn't aggressive with the guy and I certainly didn't deserve the way he treated me.
    www.gardaombudsman.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭ClutchIt

You seem to be quite egotistical. I'm pretty sure that even if a garda was being mad at me I could take it without having to start a thread about it. Also you bullied someone in school and still seem to think that was ok so you sound like a bit of a 'asshole' not the guard. I'd prob treat you like shít too if I had to deal with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭ocokev

I was pulled over there yesterday for entering a one way street.
    He came out of his car like a raving lunatic screaming at me, I kept completely calm and asked him to lower his voice and slow down,

The funniest thing is they never actually catch anyone.

1.You entered a one way street, cop on and read the signs you could have killed someone.
    2. Thats what gards dont want is someone breaking the law and then being cheeky to them.
    3. He caught you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

You drove the wrong way up a one way street? What an idiot.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Larkin91 wrote: »
    Sorry, but the Gardaí are some of the nicest, most polite people I have ever come across. It is a shame they do not get enough respect. The only stories you hear about them are negative ones, which is a shame. The majority of people who deal with Gardaí do not speak out and praise them. People seem to only look out for flaws.

It should be their duty to behave harshly towards offenders. I know OP you were only pulled over for a minor violation, but the Gardaí have to do their job whether aggressive or not.
    Problem is, they can act aggressively towards victims of crime too. I was assaulted by a gang of lads a few years back and I needed to get to the hospital as I was bleeding with a swollen eye and lip and I needed tetnus shots for cuts on my arm as I caught one of them in the mouth trying to fight back. They told me to go home, I said I NEED to go to the hospital, they again told me to go home or I'd be arrested...

When I went home two different guards stopped me to see if I was alright and they told me I had to go to the hospital. I told them the situation with the other guards and they were shocked. Someone rang me a taxi and the taxi fair play to him left me up free of charge.

Some of them are pricks, others are grand. Just depends on your luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭davrho

The hostility towards Gardaí in this country baffles me.

Same in every country towards the police. Some people just don't like authority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

have to say OP i agree with you - i seriously cannot stand them!

few years ago, i was in rented accom and got broken into (while i was in the house) i called guards and took them over 2 hours to get out to me (i live bout 10 min walk away) and even then the ones that came out clearly had no interest in it

another time there were 2 ppl on my street fighting - the man was kicking the woman, she was curled up in ball on the road and i rang the guards and the never bothered to come up to it.

was in car with someone and got stopped in routine traffic check and guard asked driver did he have full licence, which he did, he then asked to see it - he didnt have it on him so he told him he had 10 days to produce it to his local guarda station (fair enough) he then asked me for my licence and i said i didnt have it and he told me i also had to produce it within 10 days! ( i was a passenger!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

The hostility towards Gardaí in this country baffles me.

I think it's a result of their interpersonal skills - or lack of. There are a few nice Gardaí out there who speak correctly to the public, and don't take the job personally, however the majority do speak down to the public like a teacher would to a child. Compare that to any of the UK shows on TV where no matter how much of a scumbag they're dealing with they always remain curteous, professional, but also strict. It's a much more pleasant way of doing things, and fosters much more support in the community.

I've - through my own weakness of being a speed freak - encounter police in Ireland, the UK, Poland, France, German, Isle of Man, USA. The only time I felt hostile was towards the Irish Gardaí, purely because of the 'I'll show this guy who's boss' attitude that unfortuantely most have. Not all, but most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ordinary_girl

He came out of his car like a raving lunatic screaming at me, I kept completely calm and asked him to lower his voice and slow down, to which he replied I was being hostile.

I'm sure you're aware of how very condescending this is to do. Really? Telling a Garda to calm down when you've just gone the wrong way down a one way street? Seriously. If you did get into a car crash guess who'd have to be called out to assist? Argh.

No...

Yeah, you're a moron, who can't spell or click spell check.

Taht cahgnes mi pint becuase?

I'm sure you're aware of how very condescending this is to do. Really? Telling a Garda to calm down when you've just gone the wrong way down a one way street? Seriously. If you did get into a car crash guess who'd have to be called out to assist? Argh.

I only entered the street, and pulled over instantly, I told him to calm down because he was screaming at me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭davrho

messrs wrote: »

was in car with someone and got stopped in routine traffic check and guard asked driver did he have full licence, which he did, he then asked to see it - he didnt have it on him so he told him he had 10 days to produce it to his local guarda station (fair enough) he then asked me for my licence and i said i didnt have it and he told me i also had to produce it within 10 days! ( i was a passenger!)

They garda sound grand.

Your mate just broke the law and they gave him a 10 day reprieve.

If your mate had no license and you did have then you are responsible.

Again this is the law. You can't blame garda at a check point for checking.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭magicface1

Which brings up my next point, there was no sign, I went back and checked, but how do I argue that? I "tell it to the judge" according to the cop, so instead of paying a €60 fine I have to take time off from my job where I make €60 in 30 min to go down to some court room and deal with explaining to the judge why I was not in the wrong. good luck to you.

ha ha

Can I ask what age are you?

Taht cahgnes mi pint becuase?

Well if you can't even spell a simple word, then I question your opinion.

magicface1 wrote: »
    ha ha
    Can I ask what age are you?

I'm 29, The point is I can't argue my case without it costing me more money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I've - through my own weakness of being a speed freak - encounter police in ....

You make this sound unavoidable - like a genetic condition or a disease.

To be honest, I can't even take valid criticism of the Gardai seriously from people like yourself and the OP because if this is the (no doubt sanitized/subjective) account you're both giving to us here, fuck knows what you are actually like on the road in real life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

lol

29 you say?

lol...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

OP what if you were going up the correct way and some idiot came the wrong way and frightened the sh1t out of you? Would you prefer if the guards just "calm down" and not give that driver a talking to aswell?

You went the wrong way, and it's obviously not the first time you've been pulled. Get a few refresher driving lessons and it might eliminate some of the Garda attitude.

stovelid wrote: »
    You make this sound unavoidable - like a genetic condition or a disease.

To be honest, I can't even take valid criticism of the Gardai seriously from people like yourself and the OP because if this is the (no doubt sanitized/subjective) account you're both giving to us here, fuck knows what you are actually like on the road in real life.

Point taken, and I know there is now way for me to prove that this is how I reacted, but come on, I made a mistake and I feel like I was verbally assaulted. If it was just the guy being a little rude I could take it, but the guy was completely over the top.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Not at all, stupid sat nav drove me down the street, didnt see any sign.

Last time was because my Tax was up about a week.

I didn't know satnavs came with autopilot.
    Clearly you missed the point of that one, I'm not questioning weather they are capable, I questioning what kind of girl actually does it.

You'd prefer they remained at home as a "lady" should. I take it you aren't a fan of females security or soldiers? What do you let your woman do for a living?

How do you know?

If there is no sign there would have been road markings. If not just take a picture. Send the picture and a copy of the fine to the local super with a letter explaining why the ticket was wrongly issued. If you are right and there was no sign or road markings he can cancel the ticket.

If a person accepts they are in the wrong a garda will usually be quite easy going. If a person argues black is white the garda can get quite exasperated. Let me ask you this, if you had turned up the one way street right into an oncoming car would you still be blaming the garda?
    messrs wrote: »

In case your friend didn't have a full licence. Some people lie to the shades.

OP what if you were going up the correct way and some idiot came the wrong way and frightened the sh1t out of you? Would you prefer if the guards just "calm down" and not give that driver a talking to aswell?

You went the wrong way, and it's obviously not the first time you've been pulled. Get a few refresher driving lessons and it might eliminate some of the Garda attitude.

Well about 3 years ago I had some guy smash into the back of my car and I was civil and calm with him, so if I did see a garda acting in that way, I would whip out my phone and record him. That's how bad it was.

Say what you want people I understand I made a mistake, Ive openly admitted it, what upset me what the reaction of this guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭magicface1

I'm 29, The point is I can't argue my case without it costing me more money.

Your 29 years old... Your acting like a 17 18 year old giving out about a crap mistake YOU made... I know the garda may have over reacted but ffs. Coming on bitching about every garda over one persons actions and if you make €60 euro every 30 minutes thats €120 per hour (can I ask what job your in and are they employing?).