Why are most of the Garda in this country such f^%king pricks?

• 27-05-2010 08:21AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭

It seems to me that every time I get pulled over some some minor traffic violation the Garda who pulls me over is on some sort of over the top power trip. I was pulled over there yesterday for entering a one way street and from the way the guy was acting towards me you would think I just shot someone. He came out of his car like a raving lunatic screaming at me, I kept completely calm and asked him to lower his voice and slow down, to which he replied I was being hostile. I swear to god next time I get pulled over I'm going to record the whole thing on the sly.

I have a theory though, the only person from my school class to become a garda was the guy the entire class bullied, so I think they are all such pathetic losers that they think the only way they can get respect is forced respect. Also what kind of girl becomes a ban garda? Seriously, what girl dreams of becoming a garda when she grows up. In fact I question the sanity of anyone who becomes a Garda, there should really be a strict psychological test for anyone applying to become one.

The funniest thing is they never actually catch anyone, not once have I heard of a case where someone was robbed and they got the guy. They just inconvenience you with bullsh!t

Love to hear your opinions and stories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Cause you touch yourself at night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Aww, what really happened to you?:pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Well, you basically drove down the "wrong side" of a road. He should have gave you a few cracks of his shtick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

Maybe if you didnt do stupid shít you wouldnt be pulled over and get the ear chewed off ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,039 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

crime>>>>>>>>>>>Garda

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

kjl wrote: »
    It seems to me that every time I get pulled over some some minor traffic violation the Garda who pulls me over is on some sort of over the top power trip. I was pulled over there yesterday for entering a one way street and from the way the guy was acting towards me you would think I just shot someone. He came out of his car like a raving lunatic screaming at me, I kept completely calm and asked him to lower his voice and slow down, to which he replied I was being hostile. I swear to god next time I get pulled over I'm going to record the whole thing on the sly.

I have a theory though, the only person from my school class to become a garda was the guy the entire class bullied, so I think they are all such pathetic losers that they think the only way they can get respect is forced respect. Also what kind of girl becomes a ban garda? Seriously, what girl dreams of becoming a garda when she grows up. In fact I question the sanity of anyone who becomes a Garda, there should really be a strict psychological test for anyone applying to become one.

The funniest thing is they never actually catch anyone, not once have I heard of a case where someone was robbed and they got the guy. They just inconvenience you with bullsh!t

Love to hear your opinions and stories.

You would get less hassle of them if you knew how to drive correctly! You sound like a serial offender TBH

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I have a theory though, the only person from my school class to become a garda was the guy the entire class bullied, so I think they are all such pathetic losers that they think the only way they can get respect is forced respect.

My My... aren't we a stand up guy...

Right... prisons are over crowded because..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

M5 wrote: »
    You would get less hassle of them if you knew how to drive correctly! You sound like a serial offender TBH

Not at all, stupid sat nav drove me down the street, didnt see any sign.

Last time was because my Tax was up about a week.

My My... aren't we a stand up guy...

If you had to deal with the cocksucker I did today you would feel exactly the same way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

Probably cos they're dealing with scum all day instead of holed away in some nice little office. Same reason I reckon most busdrivers are pricks too. Automatic defence mechanism.

(anyway, nice troll. It'll be interesting to see how long it lasts.)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

minor traffic violation..... I was pulled over there yesterday for entering a one way street....
    Does not compute
    Also what kind of girl becomes a ban garda? Seriously, what girl dreams of becoming a garda when she grows up.
    Have you any valid reason why women wouldn't make good Gardaí?
    The funniest thing is they never actually catch anyone,
    They caught you going the wrong way down a one-way street!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

If you had to deal with the cocksucker I did today you would feel exactly the same way.

No...

I'm not a moran that blindly follows a Sat nav without looking out for road signs around me...

Have you any valid reason why women wouldn't make good Gardaí?

Clearly you missed the point of that one, I'm not questioning weather they are capable, I questioning what kind of girl actually does it.

And yes they caught me, but still no leads on the scumbag who beat up the old lady 4 doors down from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,372 ✭✭✭kirving

Blindly following instructions from your sat nav would suggest you weren't paying attention to the road. I'm sure there were warning signs. It seems the Gard was right to give out.

No...

I'm not a moran that blindly follows a Sat nav without looking out for road signs around me...

Which brings up my next point, there was no sign, I went back and checked, but how do I argue that? I "tell it to the judge" according to the cop, so instead of paying a €60 fine I have to take time off from my job where I make €60 in 30 min to go down to some court room and deal with explaining to the judge why I was not in the wrong. good luck to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,264 ✭✭✭rednik

If it's not AGS it's the GPS. Ah the good auld blame game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

And yes they caught me, but still no leads on the scumbag who beat up the old lady 4 doors down from me.

Well, if you didn't follow your sat nav the wrong way up a one-way street and taxed your car, we could spend more time looking for real criminals.

Nice to see original thread topics on AH,though.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

.... my job where I make €60 in 30 min....

Well laa tee daa Mr. Fancypants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Sorry, but the Gardaí are some of the nicest, most polite people I have ever come across. It is a shame they do not get enough respect. The only stories you hear about them are negative ones, which is a shame. The majority of people who deal with Gardaí do not speak out and praise them. People seem to only look out for flaws.

It should be their duty to behave harshly towards offenders. I know OP you were only pulled over for a minor violation, but the Gardaí have to do their job whether aggressive or not.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

No...

Your post reminds me of this...
    http://24ahead.com/images/get-a-brain-morans.jpg

deadwood wrote: »
    Well, if you didn't follow your sat nav the wrong way up a one-way street and taxed your car, we could spend more time looking for real criminals.

Nice to see original thread topics on AH,though.:D

Still not answering my question, why does the cop have to be some egotistical power tripping asshole, he could have dealt with the situation a lot better than he did. Ok I made a mistake, but come on I'm not a criminal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭Tefral

So... let me see if i have this right, you broke the law (numerous times it seems) and you call the gardai pricks for doing their job??

Hmm....:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I've met some right pricks in uniform down the years - mostly at football, but to be fair, most Gardai are fine and do a hard job.

As for being hassled for minor traffic violations - the key is in the word violation. Don't break the law and you don;t get hassle. Seems simple enough to me. Being polite when you get nabbed is the best approach, to be honest.

It was a mistake, I didn't intentionally break the law, I wasn't aggressive with the guy and I certainly didn't deserve the way he treated me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ordinary_girl

I've met some Gardaí who are really sound, and some who are not so sound. I hardly ever come into contact with them (law abiding citizen and all that) but the odd time I have been in contact with them it's usually the bean Gardaí who are quite arrogant. But, credit where credit's due, fair play to them for becoming Gardaí, no doubt it's a difficult job. I certainly couldn't do it. The hostility towards Gardaí in this country baffles me.

Still not answering my question, why does the cop have to be some egotistical power tripping asshole, he could have dealt with the situation a lot better than he did. Ok I made a mistake, but come on I'm not a criminal.

Maybe the few egotistical power tripping assholes keep meeting the same people who are qualified to earn 60 an hour but still can't accept when they're caught driving in the wring direction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Smcgie

Shoulda maced you or tazered you IMO

It was a mistake, I didn't intentionally break the law, I wasn't aggressive with the guy and I certainly didn't deserve the way he treated me.
    www.gardaombudsman.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭ClutchIt

You seem to be quite egotistical. I'm pretty sure that even if a garda was being mad at me I could take it without having to start a thread about it. Also you bullied someone in school and still seem to think that was ok so you sound like a bit of a 'asshole' not the guard. I'd prob treat you like shít too if I had to deal with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭ocokev

I was pulled over there yesterday for entering a one way street.
    He came out of his car like a raving lunatic screaming at me, I kept completely calm and asked him to lower his voice and slow down,

The funniest thing is they never actually catch anyone.

1.You entered a one way street, cop on and read the signs you could have killed someone.
    2. Thats what gards dont want is someone breaking the law and then being cheeky to them.
    3. He caught you.